Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cosco Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Cosco Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(608 Reviews) 485
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
324
4 stars
216
3 stars
35
2 stars
18
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation94%571 out of 606reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 256 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
324
4 stars
216
3 stars
35
2 stars
18
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Easy to install and fast shipping

07/10/2013
By ,
Conroe,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was suppose to recieve the seat between Friday and Monday. I was surprised to find the Fedex woman knocking on my door to give me the car seat on Thursday, I did not expect the fast shipping. Apart from the fast shipping, it has a beautiful square pattern and it I did not have to attach anything or install anything, well except for the cup holder. By the way I measured the cup holder with an Evenflo(R) eight ounce bottle and the cup holder is four and a half ounces deep. Its an awesome product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Great for travel

08/19/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently traveled from NY to CA with my three-year-old son. We needed a car sear not only for plane travel but once we arrived in CA. After doing a LOT of research into traveling with a toddler and comparing prices/reviews of car-seat transporters, I decided to go with the Cosco Scenera. It was the least expensive option and it WORKED WONDERFULLY. It was light enough that I could (and did) bungee-cord it to the extended handle of our large carry-on and wheel it through the airport. We flew on Southwest and the small base if this car seat fit perfectly into the seat with the armrests down; we were able to attach and detach the seat using the lap belt with no problem whatsoever. True, it's not as padded as the Britax Marathon we have in our cars, but he still fell asleep in the seat after boarding our connecting flight and slept right through take-off; so it must be comfy enough! I am SO glad I chose this seat for our trip--it made traveling with a toddler so much less stressful!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Great Seat for Great Price!

05/22/2012
By ,
Tullahoma, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scenera is a good safe seat. All ratings you will find of car seats are user reviews or ease of use ratings not safety ratings. Currently, there are no safety ratings available to consumers. Consumer Reports is not a reliable source for car seat ratings. All not expired/new seats sold in the U.S. passed/pass the federal tests so they are safe when used correctly. Scenera will rear-face most children to AT LEAST 2yrs old, which is recommended by AAP and NHSTA. It will get *most* to 3-4 yrs old forward-facing. Forward-facing child must be 34" or taller. I definitely think this is a great budget seat. Excellent for a spare, travel, or for a full time seat. There's no reason to buy used when you can get this for ~$40 :) Don't forget to read the manual thoroughly and follow it.
I've owned this car seat , a different pattern, for 3 yrs. We are currently using it rear-facing for my 32 month old. (She is within the RF limits of the seat) It can fit rear-facing in almost any vehicle. It's my spare so I have installed in several vehicles even small 2 door cars. Tip: Flip harness adjuster tail into the seat when installing RF so you don't get it stuck between the car seat and back seat. I have also used his seat forward-facing for my son, who was 4yrs old at the time. He was almost at the top harness slot and below 40 lbs. It was easy to use each direction. I did have trouble installing with LATCH. I find it's easier to install with the seat belt for both rear-facing and forward-facing.
*Pros:
Cover is easy to remove for cleaning (never wash straps, though)
Easy to adjust
Decently padded for child's back
Cup Holder for either side
Plastic storage bag
*Cons:
1) Can be tricky to install rear-facing---You can get the recline by using rolled towel or pool noodles. For tightening, it helps to get behind it and push toward the back of back seat , kind of into it, rather than down when tightening the belt. This will help you get the correct angle and a nice tight installation
2) Not much padding in the seating area ---This doesn't bother most kids from what I've heard
3) No harness pads --- They aren't necessary ,and I don't expect them on a no-frills type seat.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this seat to others.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Graco - MyRide 65 Convertible Car Seat, Edgemont Dots
4.7 out of 5(253)
 
 
 
 
Evenflo - Momentum65 DLX Convertible Car Seat, Olympia
4.3 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Love Em!!!

09/21/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought FOUR of these. Two for each car for my 14 month old boy/girl twins. We have had them for 2 weeks and so far they are wonderful. Jayce and Jayli hopped in and immediately loved them!!
The only thing that I struggled w was the cup holders. It didn't seem like they fit down in the groove they r supposed to go in. Then again maybe I wasn't a "forceful" as I needed to be.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

great for travel

04/29/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as spare/travel car seat for a recent trip we took. I love how lightweight it is! It was so easy to bring through the airport, especially since we used a simple ratchet strap to attach it to my roller suitcase (see picture). It's also very sturdy and easy to install. It's not extra cushy like her other carseat but my daughter still find it comfortable enough to fall asleep in! We bought this as a spare but it's definitely good enough to use as a primary seat! I haven't used it rf so I can't say anything about that.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

great carseat

06/21/2012
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this one for the second car and a much nicer Evenflo model for the main car. This one was so much better we returned the Evenflo and got a second one of these so now there's one in both cars. It's a very simple car seat, but that also means it's very easy to use. Don't let the lack of padding fool you - all car seats have minimal padding in the center which is essential for safety; all the padding on most car seats is really on the sides (if you put too much padding behind the baby, the car seat is less safe because it will all compress in an accident). Regardless, our son is perfectly comfy in the seat. It's also a little narrower than most (because of the lack of padding bulk other seats have on the sides) so it's a little easier to sit someone next to the baby in the backseat if you have it installed in the center. This is one of the highest rated car seats for safety, which we learned after a ton of research. Sometimes simpler really is better. I STRONGLY recommend this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Lightweight and great for carting through airport

01/29/2014
By ,
Renton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this Cosco Scenera for my 26 month old son to sit in on a recent flight. We have 2 really expensive seats in our cars but needed something narrow and lightweight for the plane and you can't beat $39.99. This seat is lightweight which is great for lugging through the airport and it is narrower than most car seats so it fit great in the airplane seat. We could have never kept our Son seated for take off, landing and turbulence if it weren't for this seat. FYI- FAA rules say you child should be in a carseat until they are 40lbs. It was easy to travel with. I only gave it 4 stars because when you secure the seat with the airplane seatbelt the buckle ends up being right behind your child's back with only the flimsy car seat cover between them. I hear that is a problem for a lot of car seats but when in the car it's a non-issue. If you are looking for something cheap for travel this is the seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Great option for budget conscious and air traveler

01/03/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seat is highly rated by Consumer Reports, and is often mentioned in other reviews as an ideal seat for air travel due to its very light weight. We did have some difficulty installing the seat rear-facing in our Nissan Altima, but it was fine once we figured out through car seat safety videos on other web sites that it's ok for the seat to flop up and down by the head.
You get what you pay for, so no the seat isn't plush and well-padded, but my 18-month-old seems comfortable enough in it--he hasn't fussed or complained at all in the week or so that we've been using the seat. Also, the straps don't slide as smoothly as they did in our Chicco infant seat when you tighten and loosen them to adjust the fit. But these are minor flaws that I'm totally willing to live with for the price and safety rating of this seat.
We have yet to use the seat on a flight or in a rental, so we don't know how easy it is to travel with, but it certainly seems lightweight compared to other car seats I've seen, so hopefully it will work well for travel.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
south haven
Best one yet
Posted 04/09/2014
I love this seat, it is easy to get into the car and its not a hassle to adjust the placement of the straps like most other car seats. great price for it and glad that it goes forward and rear facing so saves money to.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Fast Delivery

04/06/2014
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in Austin, Texas. I had friends arriving from Italy who were needing an inexpensive child car seat for the month they would be here. To my surprise none of the big box stores had the lower priced seats in stock, so at the last minute I had to order one online. (I did find that Burlington had some in stock, so that would have been my fallback option.) I ended up ordering this one from Walmart and another from Target in hope that one of them would come in time, even though both were showing a possible ship date as one day after my friends would arrive. The Walmart one came within a couple days (which put me at ease.) The Target order arrived on the very last day possible. My friends decided to use the Target seat and so I returned the Walmart one. I don't know what made them chose the other so I can't tell you how they compared, but I was pleased with the prompt shipping. My only complaint is that I ended up having to "eat" the cost of the shipping when I returned the seat. I feel like Walmart should have these lower priced seats in the store and if they don't, they should wave the shipping costs, especially given the fact that these are supposedly their best selling seats.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Easy to install, slim design, RF, good CR review

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sent this seat to my dad for my daughter to use while we were on vacation. I based the choice on price and good ratings on Consumer Reports. He was able to install it properly and said it was easy to do so. I checked the installation and found it also to be simple, especially when comparing it to our other seats that my husband and I use daily. The design is simple and slim, so it does not take up a ridiculous amount of room in the back seat. The 5 point harness was easy to clip and unclip and the restraint was easy to adjust (again compared with our other, more expensive, seats at home). If I had tried this seat before the Graco MyRide and the Safety 1st that we have at home I would have purchased this. Bonus: It can be installed rear-facing, which was why originally I selected the more expensive car-seat options we use at home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Great seat and kept child safe in a crash.

11/01/2011
By ,
Dover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parents never want to have to say that they can recommend a car seat based on performance in a crash but we have experienced it and can't be more pleased with this seat. We were involved in a deer hit on an interstate going 66mph on cruise. The deer leaped over the guardrail and landed directly in front of our car. We had no reaction time and hit it head on (buck was parallel to the front of the car). Our 2010 car is totaled, front and side and side curtain airbags all went off. This seat was installed in the back behind the passenger seat. The passenger side of the car took the most damage. This seat was installed properly and when the paramedics and firemen checked it, it didn't even move. Our daughter was securely strapped in to the seat (22 months old and about 34 pounds) and she didn't even have a bruise, didn't cry, and is perfectly fine. The seat did it's job and I can't say enough about this seat. It doesn't have all of the bells and whistles that other higher-end seats have but in the end, it did it's job and we are so very grateful for that. Thank you, Costco, for making a product that protected my child in a high speed collision.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1,051points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Treasure coast, FL
Quick question?
Posted 10/06/2013
I was just wondering if your child was forward or rear facing my 17 month old baby is about 20 pounds so I'm thinking of continuing to rear face
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Thank you for the peace of mind
Posted 08/18/2013
Thank you so much for writing your review! I had tears in my eyes reading it! As a parent on a budget I'm constantly second-guessing my choices for my son. I feel like I SHOULD be buying the $200 carseat because it's "the best". I just simply can't afford it though. Reading this review makes me feel like I can purchase a product for my son without compromising his safety or his college savings account, which as a mom means everything. I am so sold on this carseat now. I'm going out today to purchase it without having to second guess his safety. Thank you so much for the peace of mind you just gave me!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Sandston, VA
Thank God!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
Thank you for such a detailed review...I started to tear a bit because I know (not to this extent) what it is to get into an accident with a baby. Thank God your whole family walked away well and yes this definitely helps me to make a good decision in choosing a car seat. This just shows that a car seat need not cost hundreds of dollars to protect your loved one. I am definitely sold!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Miami
Wow!
Posted 04/07/2013
I'm definitely buying it now! Thank God your child was protected!!
+4points
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 05/19/2012
Thank you for your very detailed review. I am glad that your family is safe and that this car seat did exactly what it was meant to do.
+10points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 12 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Billed as is- perfect travel convertible seat

02/09/2014
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As others have noted, don't waste time doing the research (others have done it for you)- this IS your travel car-seat. Lightweight- easy no fuss installation in cars and airplane seat. 2.5 yr old daughter slept thru plane ride- so must be comfortable enough without all the bells and whistles.
And when we get back from our trip- perfect for the 2nd car (used only for short rides to babysitter- pickups and dropoffs).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Poor Quality

03/19/2014
By ,
mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 Car Seats for our grandchildren, ages 4 and 2 1/2. I was very disappointed with the quality, especially the padding on the sides, back and seat. THERE WAS NONE. The fabric was nice but it was applied directly to the plastic molded chair. I feel that there was no comfort level and safety for the child riding in it. I bought online. Picked them up at the store and returned them when I opened the damaged box to inspect the contents. I think you get what you pay for.. think comfort and safety for the little ones.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

More comfy than expensive seats

03/03/2014
By ,
Cullman, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought my daughters first convertable carseats after she outgrew her carrier, I bought this carseat for my husbands trick (since it was cheaper and she wouldn't ride with him as much as she does with me) and I bought a more expensive and prettier seat for her to ride in every day in my car. We've had both seats for over a year now. With the more expensive seat I bought, she would fall asleep and her head would fall forward and she couldn't sleep comfortably. When she fell asleep in this cheaper carseat, she was much more comfy and her head layed comfortably to the side of the seat. I would say this seat is a great buy. It's not only cheap but it's safe and comfortable for your toddler.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

A great car seat !!

03/01/2014
By ,
Middlesex, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this to transport my youngest grandchild. It's light weight an easy to get in an out of the car as I don't leave it in unless needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Safety first

04/05/2014
By ,
Waukesha wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started looking at forward facing car seats I of course looked at height weight age requirements. When I was sure I met all that, I decided I wanted this model but in fun colors. Then I realized that fun color meant more money for no reason. Really? I went back to this basic look and reminded myself, it is about safety not style!
It's my grand babies life that will matter most not the color of the fabric in the car seat!
Loved it once it arrived. It was super easy to install and the instructions were great. Once in my car it looked terrific with the very simple pattern, and best of all is my grand baby is facing forward safely!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

great "extra" carseat!!

06/12/2012
By ,
Skokie,Ill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this carseat to have for my granddaughter (14 monthes) when I need to pick her up. this is the third carseat I've tried and the first one I am happy with . the other ones were all way too big/heavy/clumsy and I had to put towels underneath to make sure they were at the right recline ( level).the other ones were so big that I had to move the front passengers seat up to make room ( and I drive a Honda Odyssey- which is a pretty big car!!) this one is lightweight and smaller but still roomy enough. I highly reccommend this carseat as an extra one. My granddaughter seems happy in it. Is it as comfortable as the Britax my kids have for her? probably not- but that carseat is huge, heavy and I still can't figure out how to tighten the straps etc!!! this one is very simple and straightforward. a GREAT value for the money!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Excellent Car Seat

10/06/2012
By ,
St Petersburg FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for many car seats for my boy, since I am a first time mom I wanted the best so I saved money and bought him an expensive one GRACO. But we have 3 cars so I need one more to be on the other car just in case. So I bougth the Cosco since the price was realy good compare to the other.
Last Thursday my 2 year old boy was on the COSCO seat, we were involved in a major car accident, a man run off a red light and hit us really hard. MY SON doesn’t have any injury, not even a scratch, I am so thankful to this chair that protected my boy!!! I highly recommended!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

"Very Good Crash Protection" -Consumer Reports

03/02/2012
By ,
San Francisco, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most parents shopping for a car seat, I wanted the safest car seat possible within a reasonable price. I chose this car seat after reviewing Consumer Reports. It had the highest rating for a car seat with a 40lb harness capacity.
When I opened the box, I felt that the car seat wasn't as padded as I would have like it to be in comparison with his infant car seat. After I installed it, I had an appointment with a car seat technician the next day. When I arrived to my appointment, I had to wake up my son since he had fallen asleep in it during the drive there. I let the technician know that I was concerned about the comfort of the car seat and she asked me, "did your son cry, or do anything that would indicate that he was uncomfortable in it?" I humbly replied no. I realized that although I didn't feel that this car seat was comfy, my son did! (He's fallen asleep in it now several times).
Now in terms of safety, the technician assured me that this car seat is as safe as a Britax when installed properly. She stated that there is no need to buy an expensive car seat since ALL car seats including this one and the Britax, must meet or exceed Federal Safety Guidelines.
Another thing I like about this car seat is it's size. It is not bulky compared to other convertible car seats. I have a mid size sedan and I am able to comfortably able to sit in the back seat with my son.
Last but not least, the price! You cannot beat it. The technician recommended that if I were going to splurge on a car seat, to save my money for the toddler booster which they will be using for a very long time! (40lbs-100lbs). I hope this review helps. Thanks for reading!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+377points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marshall,Tx
Will it work in a regular cab truck
Posted 09/20/2013
The only thing i have is a pick up truck and its a regular cab. So i was wanting to know will this seat work in my silverado?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Renaissance

Okay product

04/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Light weight and easy to install into my car. The only issue I have is getting the cup holder on because the instructions included doesn't have instructions on how to add it to this specific car seat. Straps are also very short. When I had to add length to actually be able to strap my son in the strap you use to loosen the shoulder straps it's just at the base of the car seat not leaving much room if my son were to grow more.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 486 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next