Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Parent's Choice Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Parent's Choice Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Parent's Choice baby formula is certified USDA organic and does not contain growth hormones, antibiotics, steroids or potentially harmful pesticides or herbicides.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation84%48 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Ingredient Lists Don't Match

02/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am extremely displeased with this formula. I read the ingredient list online and matched it up with the name brand organic formula I am currently feeding my son. They matched almost exactly. I was in Wal-Mart today and picked up three cans of this. When I got home, I noticed that on the can it says the first ingredient is Organic Non Fat Milk, instead of Organic Reduced Minerals Whey as listed here online. Organic Reduced Minerals Whey, Organic Lactose, and Organic Whey Protein Concentrate are all listed here is main ingredients but on the cans I bought, they aren't listed at all. The can also lists Organic Maltodextrin as a main ingredient and this isn't listed in the description above. This means this formula has a different Whey/Casein ratio than what I am feeding my son and may have upset his stomach. I am glad I double checked it against the can and will be returning this stuff immediately. You get what you pay for, I'll go back to using what I know. Glad I didn't order a ton online as I planned to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+41points
Review 2 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Quit shaking, just swirl! We love it.

08/19/2012
By ,
Ocala Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to find a generic organic formula. I drink organic store brand milk because I don't want the hormones and antibiotics from typical dairy cows. It is even more important when I was ill and had to supplement, that the formula also be organic.
I read reviews and ordered online. My local store did not carry any organic choices. I was concerned with the stories of frothing I was worried about gas. To my surprise the powder dissolved completely with a few gentle swirls, no need to vigorously shake it into a frothy mess. The oils used are not as chemically altered, so they create tiny particles on the side of the bottle. It is good that they are not altered, and okay that it seperated slightly like breast milk. It is fully dissolved.
So from a working mom who both breast and bottle feeds and tried all the samples, my summary would be a wonderful product for those times when you can't use breastmilk. If you have a froth problem it is not a product issue, it's your angry compulsive shaking!!!! Shaking fills the milk with tiny air bubbles making gassy tummies anyway.... SWIRL. PEOPLE DON'T SHAKE JUST SWIRL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Good point
Posted 12/26/2013
Thanks for mentioning the difference between swirling and shaking. I knew to swirl breastmilk, but didn't realize that shaking might cause unwanted results when mixing formula. It makes sense that shaking would cause air to mix in with it, and air=gas. I never noticed any frothiness anyway when I mixed up this formula, but this is a good point to keep in mind anyway.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz
04/24/2012
By ,
Salem, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had been using a more expensive organic formula for my son and was pleased to see that Parent's Choice Organic had the identical list of ingredients according to this website. Upon receiving my shipment I noticed that the formula has been reformulated and has several ingredients that I had previously wanted to avoid. For example it now contains maltodextrin and cane sugar. I was already not keen on the palm olein since it can hinder calcium and fat absorption however we cant have everything perfect. On top of that the new formula has an unpleasant odor and does not mix well. I know that the last 2 are not important however in addtion to the reformulation it makes it even worse.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

I switched!

07/02/2013
By ,
davie, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OKAY I have to chime in here! I used to use Similac Organic, I switched to Parent's Choice simply because a Walmart opened up by my house and I lost my lost job so money was tight. What an awesome surprise to see my baby boy has done amazing on this formula!
My son cannot take regular formula. He has to have Organic or he will start wheezing. I was a bit worried about trying this formula but figured if it worked we would wind up saving 1/2 the money so we tried it. It was a seamless transition. He loved it from the start and the consistency seems to be the same as Similac. (Organic formula separates just as breast milk does so don't be surprised at all at this or the film it can leave- this is exactly that breast milk does)
I want to encourage any of you who are on the fence about trying this product to just go ahead and try it, I think you will be very pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Great formula...and Organic!

01/16/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The parents choice Organic formula is the one we chose to use with our little one. It seems to work fine and we really like the fact that it's USDA organic. To the reviewer that found chunks of black in it; I don't know what that was but it was clearly a tainted batch. I've bought over 20 cans of this stuff and have never experienced such issues. The powder is always consistent and mixes really well with the spring water we use with out infant. Hope this helps anyone out there trying to select a Organic formula option for their little one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

love it

04/06/2014
By ,
Louisville, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out breastfeeding because of course thats the best milk but I wasn't producing enough so I needed to supplement at times. I tried using similac organic but this was very very sweet so sweet that I was concerned about obesity for my baby and not only that is really expensive. I decided to let my daughter try the parents choice organic and she loves it, she doesn't spit up and her bowels are the same consistency as when she Is only breastfed. It has went up a dollar since I started using it a month ago but I still get the savings buying it in a bulk online. And its still less expensive than most organic brands. It is easy to mix as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

They changed the formulation

02/25/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The formulation of this changed from Lactose based to Glucose based, and that is unfortunate. Batches expiring Oct 2013 were Lactose, Nov 2013 batches are Glucose based. Sadly PBM Nutritionals seems to have changed all of their forumula that way, so Bright Beginnings is the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DC Burbs
Formulation
Posted 02/26/2012
My Nov 2013 batch is glucose based, but my Dec 2014 batch is lactose based?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Great value, but disappointed...

03/11/2013
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this when I found out Walmart had an organic formula for such a good price. I was so excited that I would actually be able to afford organic formula for my little guy. Unfortunately, he did not do well on it and I think it may have to do with the glucose ingredient and the lack of whey. He does well on a formula with whey as the top ingredient, but this is formulated differently. He was grumpy and irritable so I switched him back...needless to say I was bummed. But hopefully, not all babies will react the same way, and if your child can do well on it, it is a great value! :0)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 9 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

great product at a great price

04/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my son tolerates it very well
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

No tummy troubles!

12/12/2013
By ,
New Haven, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a breastfeeding mother, I was reluctant to give my four month old formula when returning to work, however, pumping at work is not always possible. After much research on infant formula, I decided to go with an organic version. There are only four manufacturers that produce ORGANIC formula; the manufacturer that makes this formula also makes some of the more pricey brand names. Our little one has not experienced any discomfort with using this formula to supplement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Great formula! Even better price!

08/30/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy to find an organic formula that doesn't break the bank. It used to be available in our local Walmart store but now I have to buy it online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

We love this formula!

03/14/2012
By ,
Corydon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We started my now 3 year old out on the Similac Advance (blue) when she was 3-4 months old after breastfeeding. She spit up terribly on it. We switched to the Parents Choice Organic on recommendation from my cousin. She did fantastic. We just switched our second daughter, five months old, to formula after breastfeeding and I started out with the Parents Choice Advance (blue compared to Similac Advance) and she was spitting up a whole lot. She rarely spit up on breastmilk. Our walmart store didn't have the Organic so I thought it had been discontinued but I did some research and found it at another store, we've done two cans now and she is spitting up much less. I have now written my Wal-Mart store to see if they will carry the Organic on their shelves. We are very happy with Parents Choice and we save a great deal of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Good Organic Formula - The new box will be better!

09/23/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good organic formula, comparable to the other ones on the market. Will be even better when it will have it's new box design. Will buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

An AFFORDABLE, ORGANIC baby formula!

05/01/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A baby formula that is ORGANIC and AFFORDABLE at the same time?? YES!! I am a die-hard breastfeeding advocate and I thoroughly support breast feeding as a first resort if it can be helped but with my second child circumstances made it extremely difficult -- if not almost impossible -- to continue breastfeeding him at 2 months. It was a really difficult decision for me to switch because I didn't really want to feed him a chemical-laden powdered product that I knew wasn't best for his health since I am pro-organic and despise chemically created food products. I tried looking into other organic formulas at first but discovered the pricing to be way too expensive so I gave up and purchased Gerber Soothe formula instead. My son did really well on Gerber but it really made his poo green and smell ABSOLUTELY horrific! hahah :)
A few weeks later I stumbled across Parent's Choice organic formula while looking around at all the options that were on the shelves and it really peaked my interest that there was an organic formula that was HALF of the price of what I was paying for a big company label -- with the same amount in a can! I researched it more online (btw, you can research it more on www.storebrandformula.com if you are skeptical about store brand formulas like I was) and decided to give it a try! So far my son has been doing excellent on the formula!! He is gaining weight really well, is very healthy and his poo does not stink hardly at all anymore!! (I'm use to sweet-smelling poo like breastfeeding poo tends to be... not formula poo!) AND his poo is no longer green, but more like yellowish-pale which is closer to the color of exclusively breastfed poo.
The only con I have to point out is that with Gerber his poo was very mushy but with this formula it has been much more firm which has caused very occasional discomfort for my son. It has not been to a degree where it would have caused concern, however I was aware this might happen since there was a customer review on it further below that mentioned one of the ingredients listed can have that as a side-effect. Other than that, I LOVE the formula!!
I am so happy I switched because it has literally SAVED me money!!! And my son gets the benefit of it being organic as well!!! You could not have a happier mother!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz
01/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this product to be most similar to Gerber Good Start. My daughter did not do well on many of the typical formulas; however, she did well switching between this one and the Good Start.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

Not comparable to Similac

06/29/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had been using Similac Organic and decided to change to this formula for my little one (to save some money). However, ever since we changed to this formula she has been extremely constipated to the point I have had to give her glycerin suppositories. Her stools have been so hard. I then did some research and saw that Palm Olein oil causes constipation and hard stools in most infants. Similac does not contain Palm Olein oil! Needless to say I feel very bad for putting my daughter through the numerous stomach aches and constipation issues to save some money. This formula is terrible! It's not worth the money you save!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz
01/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this product, organic and one of the most inexpensive formulas out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

so far so good

03/20/2014
By ,
az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this formula occasionally for emergencies. When I go to the gym, or take longer than expected while running errands. The description says free of pesticides but the container doesn't so im hoping this is true for the product. Also I wish they made a 12oz version. Once a container of formula is opened it has to be used within 30 days. I strictly breastfeed so im sure im going to end up having to toss some out. Ive tried searching other brands and they don't seem to have the smaller cans in organic either. Over all so far so good and happy to know im giving my baby organic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz
07/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this on my 3rd child now, first as a supplement then for all feedings, and I am really pleased. It does foam when shaken hard, however over the years the formula must have improved b/c the foaming isn't as bad (that doesn't bother me though anyways). The last I checked, the FDA has strict guidelines for the way formula is produced, so store brands and name brand both have to abide by the same guidelines. Therefore as of now I am not as concerned as others with the makeup of the formula. I have done a lot of research on pesticides and the effects they have on the body (especially estrogenic effects), so my personal concern has been trying to avoid my children having heavy exposure to those especially at an early age, hence choosing this economically priced organic formula over others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
0points
Review 20 for Parent's Choice - Organic Milk-Based Powder Formula with Iron, 23.2oz

great price for an organic baby formula

02/04/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 6 months exclusively breastfeeding my daughter, we started to use earth's beast organic because it is easy to find in the stores. After the first box we changed to parent's choice because of the price. My daughter didn't show any preference, drank the same amount of milk. We don't have more problem for the dissolution, and less bubbles than with eart's best. I find the taste is a little different, no idea wich one is better.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next