Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Singer SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

The Singer 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine is equipped with automatic features for easy sewing. This Singer Fashion Mate sewing machine has 100 built-in stitches, including six fully automatic 1-step buttonholes, 1 endless buttonhole for custom sizing and over 70 decorative stitches. The Singer 5500 Fashion Mate also includes an extension table, hard-sided cover and an instructional DVD.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation79%19 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Great Machine and Easy to use right from the box

11/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonder nice looking machine. Tension is wonderful from the start. Easy to use and understand. Love the extension table it comes with. Has 100 decorative stich patterns, and they all look and work great. Ther only thing is it does not sew bulk. It will struggle and struggle and needle breaks or bobbin gets jammed. Is good for light sewing no more than 3 layers of fabric. But is great buy it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Hemming a pair of jeggins was a nightmare ~~~

12/29/2011
By ,
Joliet, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've owned a few different sewing machines in my day and recently mine broke so I bought a new one. I have owned this machine for only a few hours and I am considering returning it.
The treader is not automatic like it states. You have to move a device and place the thread in little hooks and then swing the arm into the needle which eventually threads the needle. You then pull loop of thread.
I tried to hem a pair of jeans with the hem folded only once and the machine would not stop getting jammed and giving me error code 4 which is a machine jam. Upon inspection I found wads of thread under the jean leg. The machine does not like thicker than usual thread either. I can't count how many times this happened. I was using jean thread and jean needle and it couldnt handle it. The jeans were actually jeggins which are leggings that have jean material to them. I honestly don't think I would be able to hem a real pair of jeans with this machine.
The gap under the foot is too short. I couldn't get a folded hem of the jeggins to go underneath without a fight!
The only positive thing I can say about this machine is that it has a lot of stich options and somewhat of a cover to it.
Other than that I can't say I would recommend it especially at almost $200
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
ALL automatic needle threaders are like yours....
Posted 11/22/2012
I paid much much more for my Janome machine than what this machine normally retails for. The automatic needle threader on my machine is the same as on your Singer. They're all that way. It's really not a big deal.
Jeans aren't particularly easy to hem on most machines, either. You probably need to adjust your tension or you may have a bent needle if you are having thread problems. Cheaper machines tend to have more problems with this than more expensive ones, but even the most expensive machines can do this if the tension is wrong or the machine is not maintained.
Sewing machines can be frustrating. I'm not sure you've got a particularly bad machine, though, especially when you consider the number of features you got for the price of this one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Great Sewing Machine for Regular work

01/01/2012
By ,
Bridgeport, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the 7256 and have used it regularly for 2 years. Its easy to use, works great, the Machine has a lot of decrotive stitiches but I usually end up using the straight or zig-zag stitches. I've read some reviews about the threader not being "automatic" but I've used it a thousand times and yes you do have to put the thread on the threader hook, but its easier then fishing it thru the hole alone! Overall this is a simple machine to use and its a hard worker. Also, I love the automatic button hole feature -night and day compared to a machine without one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Which is better? 7256 or the 5500
Posted 06/17/2012
If you own both, which is better, or could you compare the two? Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Beginner! LOVE LOVE LOVE MY MACHINE1

10/09/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this machine! It's my first sewing machine and at first the threading might be a little difficult to get down but if you get frustrated just take a short break like I did and try it again. I used youtube videos for help and that's how I got it down. The machine is very easy to use once you get past the threading it really is EASY. DVD is helpful when trying to learn what each needle is used for. How to choose your fabric for certain projects and important info as such.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Pleased with my purchase

12/26/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked out this machine for christmas to make things for my horse, which often involve thick materials like fleece, velcro, web strapping, and cordura. Before now I had been using a very old singer that still used plastic cogs to change the stitch type and my friend's fancy Pfaff. I am very pleased with this machine, it is not too loud (but by no means silent) and sews quite nicely, even when sewing fleece and velcro together. The decorative stitches are very nice, and the automatic threader is a great feature that I am in love with. My only concern with the machine is the front load bobbin, as I had a cheaper singer machine a few years ago that stopped working when the bobbin case would no longer stay in. But only time will tell on that front. Other than that, it looks, sounds, and sews great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case
07/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this over similar models since it has a greater choice of buttonholes. Not too interested in the embroidery features although they may came in useful. I make clothes since I can never find what I want in the stores (that I can afford), love tailoring and this machine should take care of all my needs. Shame that Singer doesn't have more authorized repair places is the only downside but their machines have served me well in the past.
Several users had complained about the authomatic needle threader. First time it was easy. Tried a few days later and it just didn't work - I wasn't threading it correctly, there's a final hook which goes through the eye of the needle. Is that the problem everyone else is having? Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Very happy with purchase

03/21/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this new Singer. It is replaceing one I had for 40 years. I wish it had a drop in bobbin, but I will get the hang of this. The needle threader is a bit trickey, I also have a Singer Futura & that threader is so easy, they should make them all the same. Very happy with all the features for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Almont, MI
Posted 09/12/2012
I have a Futura CE200 embroidery machine and an elecronic secondary machine for regular sewing. I have had issues with the embroidery machine needle gouging the plastic bobbin case and had to replace them several times. Electronic machine uses same parts and no problem, but I have borrowed the parts occasionally till new ones received. I had a feeling of relief when I saw the side bobbin case and used that kind years ago so it is not new to me. Do you still feel that is a bad choice of engineering since you have had this longer now? I am still shopping and comparing and plan to go to the Sewing Expo in Novi in a couple weeks so will wait until after that to decide for sure what I want.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case
11/08/2012
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife. she loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Waste of money

05/26/2013
By ,
Collierville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but frustration with this machine. First, the tension setting is so sensitive that one minute click on the dial caused intense aggravation with the tension that was not easily corrected. Took a good two hours to figure out the issue. The second time I used it, it kept jamming with C4 error. A C4 error means there is a jamb in the bobbin mechanism. Other than telling you to clear the jamb, there is NO instruction to help one figure out how to PREVENT a C4 error. Caveat emptor......
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case
03/10/2013
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is a very good machine. It replaces my 33 year old machine that finally died. It is very quiet and sews through 5 layers without any problems. Have owned it a week and just finished a quilt and will now start next project...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

terrible machine

02/03/2013
By ,
Livonia, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine isn't worth the money. The bobbin kept bird nesting after only a couple of inches of sewing. If you sew anything with thickness it tangles up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

not worth the money! ***

09/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well to start off with both manual and dvd are extreamly difficult to understand has alot of shoppy information it took whole day to figerout the treading part and honestly still haven't learnt will have to take a class for basic to help me. the description said it has dvd that shows everything and automatic threader but let me tell you its a big joke. please don't waste your $200 you are better off buying a simple machine for $89
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

very impressed overall

09/10/2013
By ,
Rehoboth Beach DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this from Walmart and have had it for nearly a month now, use it almost everyday. I very much like its style, form and function. it is handsome, feels solid, controls are just right for me, and I think is a very good value. It comes with an VERY well produced DVD that is easy to listen to and understand, full of content, lots of extra tips and project ideas, and proceeds in logical textbook order. Although it's generic for mechanical and computerized machines, the key principles are all covered regardless.
The factory refurbished unit I purchased had one minor flaw...one of the tabs securing the accessory case compartment had broken off, but it stays on pretty well anyway. With the included accessory table I really can't complain especially given the refurbished price. I did try to contact customer service but like others have said, the queue was never ending and I hung up. I'm hoping I don't need to call back.
I'm amazed at the technology packed into this and what it can do. I have not yet had any problems that some reviewers have often mentioned except that I agree the LED light could be a bit brighter, and the color temperature of the light is a bit too blueish white for my taste. Though I see fine by it, the Other Company features TWO LEDs providing a more daylight hue, and fuller coverage. Same general price point, but this is minor stuff. The needle threader is great once you understand how it works. Expect to fail at it once or twice, but don't give up, you'll get it and be amazed how you did without it.
The SINGER is quiet and moves along with a confident thrum, the stitches are tight and well-defined, the decorative patterns are crisp and pleasing, and stitch best with some ordinary tissue paper placed between the fabric and feed dogs. The laundry washes what doesn't tear away. By using this household 'stabilizer' found in any closet, I've had no 'fabric-swallowing' problems at all that some have mentioned. I use only new, good quality all-purpose thread. For denim I used the proper thread with the proper needle and it handled double and triple seams just fine. I did tug the fabric a bit when the foot got to a heavy seam but that just seemed like common sense to me. This machine seems to have a bit more power than my Other Company machine, although I like that one a lot too. There's a lot to take in, so I take my time, follow directions carefully, double-check, then do. I'm amazed there aren't more problems with machines that are as complicated and easily victim to operator error as sewing machines are.
I DID take the time to watch the whole DVD, and I highly recommend that as you don't know everything, believe me. Even the music is supportive and easy to listen to. Next to the machine, it's the best feature in the whole box.
Like others have said, I found the instruction book a bit confusing. Too many languages, too much hopping around. (The Other Company includes a separate English manual as well as a multi-language one, and it is much better overall) Also, important details like which foot to use with which stitch or fabric seem to be misplaced, at least I can't find it. A downloadable English manual would be nice. Also, a simple decal on the bobbin door indicating the direction of the bobbin thread and general placement illustration (like the Other Company does) would be a nice touch.
I got into sewing recently after admiring my neighbor's cushions and was told her husband made them. Fascinated by anything mechanical, and loving to see the fruits of my hands, I thought, if he can do it, I can do it. We're the two guys on the block that sew!
Overall, considering the price point and what I intend to do with it, I'm very pleased so far. Will update if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Good basic machine

03/28/2013
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this machine just for a little while and have had no problems with it. The stitch quality is good and all the basic and seem to be excellent. I would have liked it if the bobbin had been drop in and the needle threader is hard to get to work. But for the price I am well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case
02/05/2013
By ,
pikeville tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this machine about 6 months and had nothing but problems with it, when youi try to sew, the thread bunches up in the bottom, then its hard to get the material out because its bunched up in the bottom. this time been working on it for 2 days, and I can't get it to sew at all. just a big headache.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case

Love my new sewing machine!!!

03/31/2013
By ,
Frisco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, my old Kenmore that I purchased new in 1979 was finally handed down to my daughter. I was a little leary about purchasing a new sewing machine because of the cost. I paid more for the Kenmore purchased over 30 years ago than what this machine costs today. Some of the comments in reviews by others talking about thread jamming and foot pedal sticking, etc. also caused me concern. I've not really done what I would consider to be a lot of sewing. I had a sewing class in junior high and I've made a few simple items of clothing over the years. We purchased the Kenmore in 1979 because we had decided to reupholster our couch (a big undertaking which turned out great by the way). After that project, I mainly used my sewing machine for light mending or altering my clothes as necessary. My adult daughter has recently taken an interest in sewing (mostly mending) and asked to borrow my machine a few times. Also, my 19 year old granddaughter has taken an interest in sewing and asked for my help with a few very creative projects of her own design (comforter set, with matching pillow shams, and curtains). So i decided to buy a starter machine for my granddaughter and a new machine for myself so I could hand down my old machine to my daughter. Well, I'm one to research everything before I purchase, and frankly, I was a bit overwhelmed by all the different sewing machine brand names, models, and features available today. It was a YouTube video that finally convinced me to purchase this machine for myself and the Singer Simple for my granddaughter. When my new Fashoin Mate 5500 machine arrived, I read all the instruction booklet, plugged in the machine, and followed each of the "Getting Started" steps without any issues. I even learned a few sewing tips that I was not aware of before. Then I proceeded to alter and re-hem three pair of pants to fit my odd shape without one glitch (and yes, they were demin pants). This machine purrrrssss like a kitten and runs smooth as silk. Yes, there is a little bit of a delay sometimes when you go from forward sewing to reverse and then back to forward again (unlike my old machine) as another reviewer had mentioned was a problem for her because she thought the foot pedal was not operating properly. My guess is that this is a safety feature so you don't sew your finger into your project accidently (ha ha). You just have to come to a complete stop before going in the opposite direction whever this happens. This is somethng that will become second nature after using the machine a few times. And I absolutely love the automatic threading feaure. Like another reviewer mentioned, I also had to read through the instuctions a couple of times, looking very carefully at the diagrams, until I figured it out. Remember that you shouldn't have to force anything. It should work very smoothly. And It Does! Once you get it, you'll love it!!!! I have yet to try any of the beautiful embroidery stitches this machine can do. Embellishing some pillow cases sounds like a fun future project. I can't wait to give that a try. . . I say Go For It!!! Have some fun with it!!! Happy Sewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SINGER 5500 Fashion Mate Sewing Machine with Automatic Features, 100 Built-In Stitches, Extension Table and Hard-Sided Case
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5