Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Turtle Wax Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Turtle Wax Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

The Lens Clarifying Compound quickly removes surface discoloration and may be all that is needed to restore clarity. The three multi-stage wet restoration pads allow the consumer to focus on deeper discoloration and scratches to restore the lens to like-new condition. No buffers or battery-operated machinery are required. Each Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit includes three restoration pads of various grits, four-ounce Spray Lubricant and four-ounce Lens Clarifying Compound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%31 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Saved a pair of headlights!

08/16/2011
By ,
Bedford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For less than $10 you can save some pretty rough headlights. It took about 30 minutes for both and the pics show the night and day difference, only one try did the trick!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Made my lights look brand new!!!

11/13/2013
By ,
Yucaipa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't hesitate to buy this product! Worked miracles on my car!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit
08/03/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good product and i would highly recommend it to restore your headlights. To get the best out of this product in my opinion, i suggest that you spend a few extra minutes with the "level 1 pad (green pad)" to get out most of the oxidation. If you do have a buffer and know how to use it, then you will get an even more cleaner finish at the end. There are cheaper ways of cleaning your headlights like rubbing toothpaste on them (use at your own discretion), but if you do have a little extra money then get this product you wont regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

This Stuff is Amazing !

09/20/2013
By ,
Franklin, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used this stuff many times on my cars, from a headlight that looked like it was painted yellow to looking like New !, i just recently bought more to do my 1999 Legacy Outback, the passenger side looks like it is Brand new ! posted pictures on facebook and my fellow subie nuts are impressed ! they had to ask me what i used and i sent a link.
also i didnt have to use the sanding pads, the compound made the headlights like New.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

TURTLE WAX HEADLIGHT LENS RESTORER 10.5 oz

04/05/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff really does work!
You HAVE put in the effort and do just as the instructions say.
See my before and after shots here:
http://james-lynch.com/turtle-wax-headlight-lens-restorer/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Sooo Worth it!!

03/24/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works great! I did it myself and it took me about 25-30mins total. I doubt my headlights have ever been replace or cleaned and I always hated how "not so bright" the lights appears when I had them on, compared to newer cars. The spray lubricant is REALLY what gets the job done, when using that with the pads you can SEE the yellow coming off the headlights. They only give you one little small sealing wipe (This is the finishing touch) but it was well lubricated to shine and protect both headlights. Wait until both headlights are done to use it. I've attached a picture so the proof is in the pudding. Less than 10 bucks with taxes at my local Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Works Great

04/14/2014
By ,
Woodbridge NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My headlights were very cloudy and this product really made them as close to clear as I would expect. Recommend going over headlights a couple of times with the 4 sanding pads. Do them once; dry then do again until you are happy with results. I don't know who curtisisjunk is. My name is Tony and it would not allow me to edit nickname.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Trust this product!

06/04/2012
By ,
Cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried the Turtle Wax lens restorer kit on my 2004 Hyundai Elantra GT, which had severe oxidation on the headlamps. I mean, these things looked like they been sitting in a room of cigarette smokers for 20 years - that's how yellow they were! After spending about 20-25 minutes and barely any elbow grease, my headlamps look practically new. The lenses are crystal clear now!
The directions on the product state to use the clarifying compound, and if it doesn't remove all the haze and oxidation, to continue with the sanding pands and spray lubricant. After just the first step, I was surpised to look down at my towels and see how much of the yellowing was on them! You can tell as you use the spray lubricant, too. The whole process takes very little effort and not much time.
Driving at night, I could immediately tell a difference in the effectiveness of my clean headlamps. The projection is noticeably brighter, which means this product is not only a cosmetic, but a safety enhancer as well. It's well worth the $10 vs. purchasing brand new headlamps and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Great Value

07/15/2011
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used the kit on my 03 Tundra and was pleasantly surprised. My headlights look like new (95%) and they weren't the worst, but they were pretty bad. Only took a star off because it leaves fine scratches. If you're thinking about replacing your entire lens, try this first. You won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crawfordsville, IN
Works Great But Doesn't Last Long
Posted 10/29/2011
This product actually works much better on a cloudy lens than the kind you use a drill to power buff. The Lens Sealing Wipe is what does the trick. The only problem is it lasted for only a few weeks before the cloudiness returned and I had to redo it with a new kit.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Amazing product!

08/01/2011
By ,
Naugatuck, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer kit for my girlfriend's 99 Subaru Legacy wagon after watching a YouTube video about it. I went to the store right away to purchase it and let me tell you what an amazing job it did on her lights! They were VERY yellow and foggy and after following the step by step instructions, they looked crystal clear! I put about 10-15 minutes of my time using the step #1 scrubber on each lens and then proceeded with the other scrubbers as instructed and they came out fantastic. Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
Great Product Its Worth the Money
Posted 08/11/2011
I just used this kit on my 2000 Volkswagen Passat. My headlights were in pretty bad shape they were really yellow and dull looking. I picked this kit up after looking up some reviews on youtube about it. It really helped my car out my headlights look practically new and restored the lights are brighter. Now dont get me wrong this product does consume a lot of time but thats only if you want to do it right so you get the best results like i did. But if your looking for a rush job then dont buy this. I would recommend this to a lot of people looking to do their headlights buy this and save ya money it works!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

incredible product

03/18/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this stuff. it works great i have even recommended this one facebook auto groups and so many people want me to do their headlights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE!

11/14/2011
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great kit I was skeptical because it was half of the price of the other kits on the shelt but I figure what is a few dollars. It took roughly 25 minutes to finish both of the lights I wish I would have taken a picture but it came out really clear. One thing you will need is two terry cloths or wash cloths but everything else is included. If your headlights aren't that bad you will spend less time mine were really really yellow but they came out very clear! I recommend this it worked perfectly for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

good, must try if your headlight a blur and whitey

07/29/2011
By ,
maricopa , AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried it on my 2001 Hyundai accent. Headlight lens were very blur and whitey. After I used this, by instructions given on the box. the head light look very good, no blur or whiteness.
I would say this is a must try if you are planning to replace head light lens. Worth the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thibodaux, LA
I tried and tried
Posted 04/10/2013
I followed the directions with little effect. the clear parts shined up ok but the dull parts are still rough and don't let the light shine through efficiently.
I repeated the steps 3 times with longer duration each time but the rough parts won't smooth out or clear up.
this stuff seems to work only if there is very little needed to clean it up.
I bought it because it costs less than most of the others.
now I have to buy the more expensive product and hope this stuff didn't harm the surface beyond repair.
didn't do the job; wasted my money, effort, and time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Great money saver

10/30/2011
By ,
McKinney, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It transformed my headlights to like new condition again. No power tools are necessary so that's a plus. Its kind of messy, so use before you wash your car. For 8 dollars, verses 20 or more for other kits that require power tools, its a steal of a deal. I will continue using this product at the excellent price in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Really works!

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1994 Explorer, lots of oxidation, used the rubbing compound, then used the pads - at least a 95% improvement. Not perfect, but you can now see through it and see the reflective surface and light bulb, which you couldn't before.
Only problem (if you can call it a problem) is that there's a LOT left, and they only include one sealant wipe. I could probably do 5 more treatments, may have to use regular wax or something.... Recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Wonderful Price, Wonderful Product

02/01/2014
By ,
Macon, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2006 Sonata headlights were moderately oxidized and now they look great. They aren't perfectly clear but really close. I went through the steps twice to be safe. The final step with the base coat and sealer really brought out the clear and shiny look!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Great Product

03/29/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had low expectations, but seeing as how i'm picky about my car and the cost was so much less than competing products, I decided to give the kit a try. Absolutely amazing results for the money. Requires no special tools, and clear instructions are included that anyone can follow. Would highly recommend for anyone who wants their headlights to look new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Got to give it a try.

06/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lenses on my 95 T-bird were in very bad shape and I considered replacing them. Thought I would give this product a try and was really surprised at how well it worked. Some advice, you really need to spend alot of time with the first sanding pad to get good results. Saved me big bucks on replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

Better than expected

07/10/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had to use the restoring creme and a soft cloth to return the lens to nearly new. 2002 Toyota Tacoma pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Turtle Wax Headlight Lens Restorer Kit

very happy

10/20/2012
By ,
south jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1999 Chrysler Town and Country - very foggy and yellow.
the lens seemed to have a plastic coating that was not so bad on the bottom but was totally gone on the upper half of the lens.
I used the green #1 pad until the lens was sanding smoothly over the whole lens.
then pad, 2, 3 and 4 as directed.
my suggestion is to do the #1 pad completely until the lens is even all over.
pads 2,3 and 4 are simple.
then buff with the polish until the lens is bright all over.
if you are not satisfied, go back to the #1 and repeat.
once satisfied, use the gel pad that seals the lens. this is the key. it will fill in all the little buff marks, but the better you polish, the better the result.
if I had to do it again, I would get the drill bit attachment to save some time, but this kit is well worth it and my lights are completely restored.
PLEASE NOTE : that once you polish, turn on the lights. if you see internal cracks, you may need new lenses. these hundreds of little cracks are deep in the plastic and will not be buffed out.
this kit will make the lens near factory clear, but cannot fix those deep cracks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next