Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eureka Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Eureka Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Powerful, efficient cleaning is what the Eureka 4703F Vacuum Cleaner is all about. It features a washable allergen filter, five height adjustments, and a dusting and upholstery brush combo tool. Its powerful 12 amp motor efficiently removes dust and debris to leave your carpets and upholstery fresh and clean. This Eureka Power Plus vacuum cleaner is bagless to make cleaning and maintenance easier. With a lightweight design and a 20-feet power cord, this upright vacuum cleaner offers easy portability and maximum reach for complete cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
3.494 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation66%53 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Great deal

11/30/2012
By ,
Inez ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you cant beat it. They do clean get the job done. If you have bad mess get a shop wet vac. I have rainbow and other high dollar vacuum cleaner. I wouldnt buy another high dollar vacuum cleaner these cheaper one r way to go people. if they do stop working in a year or two, it better that paying a lot and not getting year, two or three years.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum

12/18/2013
By ,
Mount Laurel NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eureka vacuum was very nice work well clean up very good.
only thing it did not have setting for the floors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Do NOT buy EUREKA

08/07/2012
By ,
Tomball, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vacuum is fine once you finally hammer in the screw to be able to put the canister on. I thought maybe it was just that one I bought but when I went back to Walmart to exchange with no problems the same thing happened when trying to assemble the second one. I literally had to hammer the screw and part of the canister to even get passed the first step. The reason you should not buy this is because of the brand of EUREKA and the absolutly horrible customer service. They not only insulted me saying maybe I didn't know how to screw in a screw but then wanted me to take the vacuum to a service center and utilize my warranty. WARRANTY... I haven't even got past the first step and already having to take my time and gas to find a service center to screw in something that simply doesn't fit. The service center swears this is not a common problem but I see from the reviews it is a problem and they have a problem. Don't waste your time and energy on this product. NOTE: This is not a Walmart problem but the manufacturer Eureka.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Lightweight, but efficient--love it!

07/26/2012
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't understand the bad reviews, either; I love this vacuum! I bought it for a beach house with some easy-to-vacuum BR carpeting, but area rugs in the LR, DR, kitchen and hall. Several rugs were new and still "shedding" a bit, some with thick pile. We take care to hose off the sand before coming inside, but the easy-to-empty cup fills with sand and lint at every vacuuming. It does a great job, moves easily, doesn't blow dust ahead of it on the hardwoods, and freeing the hose for small spaces is a one-handed operation (It's so powerful, I accidentally sucked up a clothespin with the hose from 2 inches away!) It's so lightweight vacuuming is not an effort. I used to have a stick vac that was nearly useless---unlike the stick vac, this has a long cord and it WORKS! I have to empty the cup regularly, check the brush and wheels, and occasionally remove the filter to remove the gobs of stuff it collects, but this is the most efficient and easy to use vacuum I've ever owned. I'm buying another for our permanent "city" home where my heavy upright is hard to push, overheats on thick carpets, and the hose requires two hands to attach.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Horrible

12/18/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this vacuum for only 2 days. First thing.....could not assemble the parts. The holes were smaller than the screws it came with. Called Eureka customer service. Was told to take it to their service dealer. The service dealer had to use a power drill to put the vacuum together. Took it home, used it. Worked well, until the brush quit spinning. Have to return to the service dealer tomorrow to find out what belt came loose. Never had this type of problem, even when I purchased a Dirt Devil, but that vacuum's wheels fell off after 6 months. Do I really have to spend over $200 for a quality vacuum?
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F
01/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great vacuum for the price, I bought this to replace the same model 6 years old. still worked but the brush was very warn and the clip on canister was broken. With daily use in a house of 5 it had many miles.
I am amazed by some of the poor reviews on here, a vacuum is a simple machine.
that being said keeping it clean filter/brush/hoses will go a long way.
"suction" is not a mystery force, if the motor is running it has suction period. if you don't have suction at the hose find the garbage you jammed in the thing and remove it :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

well... it WAS good until....

01/08/2012
By ,
Russell KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used the vacuum maybe 5 or 6 times. It was working surprisingly well for the price i got it at. it was on sale for $40 if i remember correctly. It had to be emptied quite often, but that didnt bother me. But the last time i was using it, it suddenly quit on me! i tried other outlets, so i know it wasnt the outlets, plus other things were working just fine that were plugged in. What a hunk of junk! i didnt even use it for very long either of the times. So im guessing it burnt up or something.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Why it stopped
Posted 06/17/2013
Likely the reason it stopped is the same reason mine has stopped before. The canister got too full and the contents were no longer swirling around. This reduced air flow and put a strain on the motor which caused it to over heat. After leaving it sit for a few hours to a day to cool down, depending on how hot it got and after emptying the canister it worked again.
If it did not work again for you, try calling the manufacturer, their number is usually listed in your operators manual.
The biggest thing to remember about this vacuum is to make sure the canister contents are moving, otherwise it is getting too full and has the opportunity to over heat. This can happen with many vacuums and I am just glad this one shuts itself off and refuses to turn back on since over heating can cause a fire.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Cheap

11/29/2013
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not as powerful as I thought it would be and I do not like having to unscrew the tube to clean it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F
12/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Worst vacuum I have ever owned! works for about two days then progressively loses suction until it wont pickup anything, worthless ! Don't waste time ,will never buy eureka again.
Recommends this product? No
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
College Station, Texas
worst vacuum and worst customer service ever!!!
Posted 06/28/2013
I bought this vacuum 4 months ago, worked fine for a couple of times and the third time stopped sucking anything ,the brush roll suddenly stopped spinning which was really weirdoohh!! I live in a very small apartment. I bought another one "Hoover" which was excellent compared to that Eureka thing and then called the customer service"for Eureka" to return it for me or even exchange it with another working one, BUT the lady on the phone was soo mean and told me it's not their policy to do so which was really frustrating to me!! Never will buy Eureka again, plus very very heavy vacuum machine ...Save your money ,,VERY BADDD
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Easy to set up

03/04/2014
By ,
New haven ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this vacuum bcuz it does a great job and is so easy to clean. It was also very easy to set up. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was bcuz it's so loud but otherwise I luv it!! It's not too heavy so it's very easy to maneuver around the house
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Good Vaccum Cleaner for the price....

01/19/2014
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good product but the only problem is it's too loud....my kids get startled when I switch it on. But apart from that the product does it's job. I hope it goes on for a longer time.
Thank you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Great Value

07/18/2012
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I my mom had bought this same vacuum for me a few years ago as a cheap way to clean my dorm room. This summer while helping to clean my parents house, I got fed up with their Oreck upright vac and decided to use mine instead. To demonstrate what the Oreck was missing the carpet was first vacuumed with the Oreck and then re-vacuumed with my older version of this model. My mom couldn't believe how much dirt was in the can after I finished or how well the vacuum worked when she tried it out. When dad got home he thought we actually had carpet cleaners come. It really improved the look of our 20 year old living room carpet. It also has done a wonderful job cleaning my dorm room. The attachments also are great for vacuuming off the couch of pet hair and for getting down that stray spiderweb. Needless to say mom will be getting this model in the near future as I will not part with this gem of a vacuum. To all the people who says theirs quit easily I am pretty sure that this vac comes with a warranty but also make sure to unplug it check the brush to see if any hair is caught if it starts making funny noises, has a burning smell, or stalls. Also this has pretty powerful suction so if you are vacuuming a small throw rug be aware that because it is so powerful it will try to "eat it". If you vacuum an small area rug it works best to keep a foot on the rug to prevent the vac from eating it and also I would not recommend using this on rag rugs, faux fur, or loosely put together yarn rugs. If you want to vacuum those types of items the attachments will work wonderfully but not if you use the vac as an upright. This is also basically self-propelling and fairly light weight while being sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Works well.

11/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight, powerful and easy to use. Only down side, it could have a longer cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Get a Different Vacuum!

08/19/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the vacuum on sale for about $35-$40 - Thought it was a steal. It worked very nicely during the first few uses. About five months in the belt snapped. I replaced the belt without much difficulty. The belt snapped again after the first use on the new belt. Upon switching out the belt for a second new belt, I found the brushroll has melted at the edges. The cost of the belts and a new brushroll comes to about half the cost of the vacuum - and chances are it will break again. I'm going out to look for a new vacuum today and doubt that it will be an Eureka.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Unreliable Good Economical Vacuum!!

01/15/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one of these vacuum Dec.2011. It worked great. Great suction, light weight, easy handling and really cleaned the carpet well. About January after using it about 3-5 times, it started shutting off and not coming back on until a few hours later. It continued to do this so I exchanged it at Walmart with no problem. The next one worked fine, and then the brush stopped working. I got use to cleaning the canister often, when lets you know when the dirt clogs up in the hose and stops picking up and the dirt blows back in your face when you pull out the hose to do the spot cleaning etc.. So I took this one back and exchanged it for another one which worked great for about 4-6 months only to pick where the first one left off, shutting off and not coming back on. It is a good priced vacuum, that works very well when it works but seemingly unreliable. I will check my warranty and probably get a better built or designed unit. (Note: the old Eureka I had for 22 yrs. worked great until it died!! The new ones seemingly are only designed to last for a little while so that they can be quickly replaced!!)
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Eureka power plus upright vacuum, 4703F

02/01/2014
By ,
Mount prospect
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my friend who just moved to a new apartment. We used to have the similar model 12 amp maxpower. We owned that one over 2 years, it makes a lil bit noise but it still does the job. The new one is probably the same machine. For me it is worth for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Lightweight and powerful!

11/19/2012
By ,
Beacon, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this vacuum today - my old one just broke, and I didn't have a lot of money to spend on a new one at the moment. I've only gotten to use it once, but already I love it. It is so lightweight and powerful, it almost pulled me over when I turned it on! Also, I have a cat (and haven't vacuumed in over a week not having one), and this did a great job quickly cleaning up. So far, so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

very good product at low price

02/01/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very reliable product for home use. Easy to use and powerful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Excellent Performance

10/12/2012
By ,
Saint Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been roaming around so much, looking for a good vaccum that will clean my carpet perfectly because I have a Sheltie dog who sheeds a lot. This is the perfect vaccum I ever had... You can adjust it into Low or high on Carpet. This is the best vaccum if your looking for deep cleaning collects dogs hair, humans hair, dust powder. Eureka Power Plus is a lot better performance compare to any other brand. I highly recomend these product to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eureka Power Plus Upright Vacuum Cleaner, 4703F

Great Vacuum for the Price!

01/19/2012
By ,
NE Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these at Walmart a couple months ago to replace the $170 piece of junk we had. It was only $48 and, it Works Great! Sure...there's like 6 screws to put it together, but no biggie! You don't always get what you pay for with vacuum cleaners. More expensive rarely means better (unless your rich and, can afford a Kirby).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next