Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Hoover Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Featuring a sleek, lightweight design, the Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright delivers thorough cleaning power at a practical price. Multi-Stage Cyclonic technology captures dirt and dust before reaching the filter made with HEPA media with no loss of suction. The Performance Check Indicator lets you know when to clean the filters so you always run at optimal performance. A rinsable filter means there's no need to purchase a replacement filter, and the 8 foot stretch hose with air powered hand tool makes hard-to-reach cleaning a snap. With a bottom release dirt cup, dirt disposal at the end of cleaning is easy, and the cord rewind lets you store the cord neatly inside with a simple tap of your foot. The Hoover Elite Rewind bagless upright brings fast and easy cleaning to a whole new level.
Average Customer Rating:
3.337 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation58%49 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Great Vacuum, excellent price!

11/07/2011
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time using a bagless vacuum, I was impressed. I put this vacuum to the test with some major fall cleaning. As soon as I had it out of the box and set up I was immediately impressed by several features.
• First was it automatically pulls itself forward, meaning less arm muscle for pushing a pulling. Making much faster to zip around the house. Great option for an elderly person or someone with a bad back.
• Secondly I thought the retractable cord (Elite Rewind) was genius. Every vacuum I've ever owned has had cord problems. After your done vacuuming you just step on a lever and it pull the cord back into the vacuum as quickly as it come out.
• Love all the attachments! Especially the upholstery brush worked really well on my couch and chair. I thought the hose was very easy to detach for quick vacuuming in tight spots.
• Wasn’t sure I was going to like the bagless option but found it very quick to empty with little to no mess. I like the idea of a reusable filter – just need to rinse off and then reuse. Much better than buying vacuum bags.
Overall I really liked this vacuum. It held up to a deep cleaning. Would make a great gift – excellent price point too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Great features for a Vacuum at this price

10/21/2011
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the box, the vacuum required only minor assembly (had to attach the handle with three screws) before putting to immediate use. The unit comes with the standard tools and a power hand-tool that's great for the tight corners or cleaning stairs.
My favorite feature, easily, is the 25ft retractable cord. It will ratchet out as you clean and, with the press of a button, will automatically rewind into a spool on the vacuum. You don't even have to bend over to press the button.
The motor was powerful to pick up some small pebbles and even some coins (though I would recommend avoiding vacuuming up your spare change). The bag-less collector for the dirt was pretty easy to empty, but I would recommend doing it outside to keep any stray dirt from reentering your freshly vacuumed space.
Another great feature that I liked is the reusable HEPA filter. With my last bag-less vacuum, I had to replace the HEPA filters, mitigating the convenience of not having to locate bags. Being able to rinse and reuse the filter makes this bag-less even more convenient.
It's not a super-featherweigh, but it's lighter than some vaccums I've owned. The only other thing I would have preferred would be to have the power switch on the handle instead of the side, but that's only a minor inconvenience.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Size & Weight, washable hepa filter
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Amazing vacuum for the price!!!

07/03/2012
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum works so well it made me feel like I have been a bad mom! I vacuum every 2-3 days because we have 2 kids and 3 dogs. I had a Bissell Lift-off Pet vacuum for the past two years. I thought it was doing an adequate job on my carpet until we bought this Hoover Elite Rewind this week after our puppy ate the power cord off our old vacuum. I had just vacuumed like 3 days before and first used my new Hoover in the kid’s rooms. This vacuum pulled 3 canisters full of dirt and hair out of their high pile carpet!!! The suction is amazing! I love the easy trap door way to empty the canister, so much less of a mess than my Bissell was and much easier on my allergies. I also LOVE the “rewind” feature of this vacuum, you push a button with your foot and it sucks the cord right up back into the vacuum. No more puppies eating cords. Buy this vacuum, excellent value for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Belt Keeps Coming Off!!!

03/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box, this vacuum was great. Suction is good and I love the rewind feature. BIG PROBLEM, the belt comes off after just minutes of use. Imagine how long it takes to complete the task??? Of course, this didn't start happening until after I had already thrown out the packaging and misplaced the receipt! I've read other reviews regarding this problem and there is apparently some "solution" but when I call the number, the representatives seem to be or are acting clueless to the issue. Very frustrated! Do not purchase!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Poor quality

12/02/2011
By ,
Lancaster, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the very beginning I was not impressed with this vacuum. It did not leave the prominent vacuum marks on my carpet as I had expected, and it did not have great suction. The extensions were nice, and the rewind feature was awesome... But after a month of use my vacuum clogged up and the suction indicator turned red. I tried my best to find out what clogged it, and after cleaning out the hoses and filters, there was no change. The cyclonic action where you could see the dirt whirl around stopped, and my vacuum stopped cleaning properly. Today, while I was vacuuming the whole thing just shut off and ceased to operate. Its a total piece of junk! Some may say that I am to blame for it not working properly, but there is something to be said about a mechanism that breaks within only a month of operation. I owned a 25$ Bissel that cleaned just as well as this vacuum, and it didnt break like this one did! I'm returning this piece of junk tomorrow!
I would not recommend this product to anyone! I assume that all of the other reviews were done when they just bought the product, and were still excited about it... but coming from a person that owned the thing for more than a month, I'd advise not to get it... it stinks!
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Good price for a powerful vacuum

11/08/2011
By ,
San Bruno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item was almost ready to use right out of the box. All I needed to do was put in ONE screw for the handle portion and I was vacuuming away. The suction power was is pretty good on this item and cleaned my floors relatively well. The product is slightly on the heavy side but not too bad at all. Bagless is also great cause I always had problems replacing the vacuum bags. My one complaint would be that the hose attachment is a little bit shorter than i'm used to. Overall a very gd product for this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Belt comes off all the time

02/05/2014
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this vacuum in every way EXCEPT the belt. It comes off easily if you bump it against the wall, suck up a shoelace, the edge of a rug or even transition from one carpet height to another. You then have to remove 6 screws in order to remove the bottom cover, remove the brush roll, reattached the belt, and then muscle the roller back into its slots. Very, very annoying. There is nothing to hold the belt onto the part where it slips off. It's just a metal rod open on the end. Very bad design flaw. Ruins an otherwise good vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Not sure what to think

09/09/2012
By ,
Endicott, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this unit from my local walmart about a month ago and here are my quick pros and cons
pros:
1 Easy to dump canister
2 strong 12amp power
3 easy to retrack power cord
4 efficient cleaner
5 long electric cord
The cons is this. While the cord is auto retrackable it puts the cord at the bottem of the vacumm and thus making it in the way more than average I have to grab the cord and in my hands at the handle while vacuuming to help keep it out of the way.
Also the belt came off after an accidental run in with a shoe lace. That never happened with my other hoover vacuum cleaner. After putting the belt back on, I had noticed a lack of protection that would prevent the belt from comming off often. The main protection is pressure from motor to brush with little or no belt guilde.
There is also a burning smell but that smell seams to be comming from the heat generated off friction from the beltdrive to the rubber belt.
I have not had a need to test the accesories yet
That is it from me. I havent used it long enough to recommend yet.
But even with the cons it seam to be a good Vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

This vacuum has a belt problem...

12/02/2012
By ,
Zanesville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After purchasing this vacuum and getting home with it, I took it out of the box and assembled it, very easy to assemble… then I turned it on and it wouldn’t pick up anything, I looked at the vacuum and realized the brush wasn’t spinning, I then took the bottom off and the belt wasn’t in place, put the belt in place, replaced the bottom and started it up again… it worked beautifully, picked up everything in it’s path, then the belt came off… took bottom off the vacuum, put belt back on, put bottom back on and continued vacuuming, then my husband took it our family room (big room) and he had the same problem, belt kept coming off, after taking apart the bottom and putting bottom back on 8 times, I knew this vacuum was going back to the store for a refund… and that is exactly what I did… Walmart’s Customer Service was wonderful with my return… So if you want to buy this vacuum, keep a philips screw driver around, you're going to need it... a lot...
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Wonderful Powerful Vac

02/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two small girls and I have to sweep the carpet 3 or 4 times a day and this is the best vac I have ever used it pulls its self and gets my carpet and vinyl floor clean. My old vac didnt get the floor clean the first time and I had to clean it twice sometimes 3 times. With just one use this one got it clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Best one I have had in years!

11/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is just no comparing this to anything else. I have used 2 of the other top brands the last few times, for them to only last a year or two. This one cleans better, is so light weight and that retractable cord is fantastic! I am in love with my vacuum! We have a dog and cats, and the pet hair is gone. Its the way they used to make them. You remember the ones? The ones that actually worked! You will not be sorry for taking this one home. Promise.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

This Vacuum Really Sucks BUT IN THE GOOD WAY

07/03/2012
By ,
lansdale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had another vacuum and used it regularly. It was okay but I never seemed to really get the rug clean. I decided to try a bag-less vac and after checking out recommended models decided on this one, The Hoover Elite. Now remember I had just vacuumed my rug with my old vacuum cleaner. After unpacking it my son and myself quickly assembled the Hoover Elite. 5 minutes tops to have it ready. I asked my son to re-vacuum the area we just did and he obviously complained,"But we just vacuumed the carpet." He complied and after ten minutes had the first floor re-vacuumed. He showed me the vacuum and the Elite's catch cup was full of debris. I do not me there was some dirt. It was packed. I took the vacuum over it again and even more came out. Obviously for the first time in years my carpet was finally getting cleaned. Thank you for selling such a great product. Dennis of Lansdale PA
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Powerful Vacuum at a great value!

12/07/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a powerful vacuum and a great value for all of the features that it includes. There's a little bit of assembly for the handle, but it took me less than 5 mins to put it all together. The screws were taped on the corresponding areas, so it made it very easy to follow directions. I have a combination of hardwood floors, tile and carpet and this vacuum did a great job on all floor types - just adjust the dial on the front. I love the attachments for those hard to reach corners. I even vacuumed my couch and got the crumbs out of the crevices with the fabric attachment. I also love that it's bagless and somewhat lightweight which means you don't have to worry about buying vacuum bags. Overall, an effective and lightwight vacuum that's worth every penny.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

WOW!!

05/22/2012
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a Bissell vacuum and was noticing it was not working as well as it should. I took it apart and cleaned it to the best of my ability and it still didn't clean that well. Thought it was time for a new vacuum. I got it out of the box and it was completely easy to assemble. I turned it on and oh my LORD does this thing suck it up! I own about a 1,200 square foot house. It sucked up so much stuff I had to empty it once per ROOM. I ended up using that vacuum about 3 hours around my house. My carpet hasn't looked better!!! For the price? This was just AWESOME!!! I'm finding myself using it almost every day, just to see what else it will suck up. I have a Maine Coon cat that I thought didn't shed that much....I was soo wrong...soooo wrong..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009
05/30/2012
By ,
Bergholz, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this sweeper recently and have to say the suction was great and picked up stuff that i didn't even know was there. plus i love that it is light enough that my 5 year old can push it around without help. my old vaccum was much heavier than this one. the reason i only give it 4 stars is because i just realized tonight that when the handle is in the upright position and you are using the hose tools the brushes still spin. i lifted it up slightly to move it to another area of our bathroom and it caught on the rug by the tub. it sucked it in and popped off the belt. it took me a few minutes to figure out this is what had happened and thought i was going to have to return it. it was and easy enough fix. however, in my opinion it is a design flaw on hoover's part. if i had known that it did this i would have turned it off before i moved it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

I love it!

10/09/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this vacuum for over a month, and it's great. Very good suction! The attachment w/ the roller works like magic when it comes to sucking up dust and pet fur from my sofa! And the color looks like grey in the pics to me, but it's a lovely lavender color in person, so pretty. The cannister is super easy to empty, it comes off easily with one little click of a button, and there is a button at the bottom you just push and the bottom falls open and the trash falls into your trashcan. With my old Bissell bagless vac, trash was always falling out whenever I took off the cannister to dump it. The Bissell was also heavier and much louder then my new Hoover.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009
02/29/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was great for the 4 months that it actually worked. If you buy it make sure to keep the warranty and hope that you have a service area close by. Mine just stopped working in the middle of vacuuming.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009
10/27/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am always buying a vacuum. I like a vacuum that has and keeps power no matter how often you use it. So far I like this one especially the fact that it pushes forward on its own makes it easy to maneuver. The pet brush seems to work really well,and its easy to remove an empty. I also like the price an the fact I got a bonus vacuum for the price of one. Also the fact that I just have to step in the pedal to rewind the cord makes this vacuum a hit with me. I would recommend this vacuum just hope it does what it states which is:no suction loss.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Great Suction & Power

03/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how much power this vacuum has. It picks up REALLY well and I love the Rewind option for the power cord. It was sooo easy to set up from the box. I have had this now for a couple of months. I have to say I am glad I made this purchase and I don't get what some of the other reviewers said about set-up and power. I have a couple of rooms with berber rugs as well as some large area rugs and you can hear and feel the power of it picking things up. The attachments are also well placed and easy to attach on and off quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Elite Rewind Bagless Upright, UH71009

Bought two; both duds

09/30/2012
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this vacuum! I was impressed with the reviews. Brought it home and it cleaned really well for about five seconds. At that point, the brush would spin but it wouldn't suck. Figuring it was a fluke, I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it for the exact same model. This one worked really well for two days. Then the belt came off while vacuuming the carpet--I didn't run over anything. By this time I had no confidence in this model so I took it back and bought another brand.
Maybe I got a fluke, but twice? From two different Walmart stores in my city? Very frustrating.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next