Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

It's time to cook up a little fun with the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen. Featuring a hip, modern look that young chefs are sure to love, this KidKraft kitchen set is full of fun details that enhance the fun. A cordless phone lets your son or daughter chat while cooking and a refrigerator chalkboard is great for grocery lists or leaving messages. The KidKraft play kitchen's composite wood components look like brand-new appliances, with a refrigerator, freezer, microwave, oven and dishwasher. With a sleek design and endless play opportunities, the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen is a great addition to your family's playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(322 Reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
222
4 stars
74
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation96%309 out of 322reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
222
4 stars
74
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Looking Kitchen!

12/10/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our two year old son. The quality seems really good and it looks WAY nicer than any other kids kitchen I've seen in the market. We wanted something we could put in our main living area that wouldn't look too cheesy. This really fit the bill. Our son love it as well! It is the perfect height and has plenty of extra little features he enjoys (i.e. phone, clicking nobs he can turn, faucet with turning handle, pegs to hang utensils, towel holder, etc.) We have it near our kitchen and he plays in his kitchen the whole time we are cooking! It is pricier than the other models, but we researched different sites and Walmart.com had the best price by far. Shipped it free from site to store, which was very simple! Only drawback is the assembly process has 45 steps!? Takes some time...but the price and assembly process was all worth it in the end!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Perfect for the grandchildren!

07/02/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my two grandchildren. It is handcrafted and although it took me awhile to put together it was well worth it. Just follow the pictures and use the well organized nuts and bolts packet and it will come together fairly easily, I had no mismatched drilled holes. It is so well built it will last for years. It is very attractive and my grandchildren have made me a lot of nice meals with it. : )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso
12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually brought it for my 3 year old son!! He wanted it for his third birthday.... I wanted something that looked less like it was only for a girl.... He's absolutely loves it... I've been asked my many where I got it from... Overall a great buy.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome Kitchen!

12/25/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my husband just finished putting this together on Christmas Eve and although it took like 3 hours, the instructions were easy to read and the unit was easy to assemble. The construction of the kitchen is great. It's sturdy and looks like it will hold up well. I also like that the knobs make noise when you turn them as if you were clicking them on and off. Can't wait to see my daughter's face in the morning!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent item

08/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves her kitchen! The look on her face was all we needed to know her thoughts. She inspected all items and abilities of her new kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great play kitchen

12/12/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my granddaughter when she comes to visit. She absolutely loves it and watching her use her imagination is priceless! Sent pictures to relatives after the three hours set up my husband had to do, which instructions were easy by the way. Relatives all made comment how realistic it looked and how they wanted to play with it. We are really enjoying our purchase and the quality it is we know our grandchildren will have years of enjoyment also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

looks great; daughter loves it

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchen was delivered ahead of schedule, no damage to the box or pieces inside. Assembly went smoothly. My daughter woke up on her 2nd birthday, and ran to it. It's been a great addition to her toys.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Kitchen!

12/11/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this kitchen for my daughter for Christmas. It arrived earlier than expected (within 2 days) and my husband and brother-in-law put it together early. It did take them a few hours to assemble but all the parts/pieces were in the box and they had no problems. The kitchen looks great and I think it was a value for the price. I can't wait for my daughter to start playing with her new kitchen!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome Kitchen - Extensive Assembly

12/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kitchen is great! It is larger than expected and very detailed. Plenty of storage space for all my daughter's pots/pans and food (not included). It is also very durable, great value. Free shipping made the purchase even better.
The assembly was extensive, MANY pieces. I am very good at assembling things like this and following instructions. With no hiccups, this item will take about 3 hours to assemble and this product is worth trouble. The instructions that came w/ my purchase were NOT complete. There was a duplicate copy of pages 4-5 and NO pages 6-7. This left me guessing on 4 separate steps during assembly. I was able to figure it out, but the total assembly time took 5 hours! I tried to search online for the instruction manual, but could not find the current/complete instructions. My advice: MAKE SURE TO OPEN THE BOX WELL IN ADVANCE TO MAKE SURE THE PRODUCT IS COMPLETE. I opened it three days before Christmas and was stressed to find incomplete instructions.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

So modern and stylish but difficult to assemble

08/05/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this modern kitchen for our daughter's 2nd Birthday. After much internet research, we liked that this looked very modern and stylish and matched the espresso furniture in her room. I would have given it 5 stars if it had not been so difficult to assemble. It took my husband a period of 4 nights (2-3 hours a night) to assemble. You really need two or more people. The holes didn't line up and we couldn't get the back on and the board cracked when we slid it down. Otherwise this kitchen is gorgeous, very realistic with lots of detail and storage. It keeps our daughter entertained for hours. We put plastic bins in the fridge and freezer to hold food so that it wouldn't roll around and placed a dish drying rack in the bottom of the dishwasher to hold plates and dishes since there isn't a cabinet for them. I also used an extra basket from our dishwasher for play silverware since there aren't any drawers. Overall I am very pleased with the quality and looks of this kitchen and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Gorgeous, Realistic Kitchen!!

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we were researching which kitchen to buy our 21-month-old, she asked to watch the demonstration video of the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Kitchen over and over. Since it's arrival (warning: it took my very handy husband a couple of hours to assemble), she has played with it non-stop! It seems super sturdy, is VERY realistic looking and is simply beautiful. Since our girl doesn't have a dedicated playroom, we wanted something fun for her that didn't look too "girly-ish" in the living space when we have company. We also wanted something tall enough that she has room to grow into & this kitchen is perfect! It also has that "counter" space to the right of the sink so she can place her plate there while she's "cooking" on the burners.
This kitchen's stove/burners are larger than many play kitchens, so if you're looking for (stainless) pots & pans that are suited to its bigger scale, I'd recommend sticking with either the KidKraft or Melissa & Doug brand sets...all of the others I've seen look too small for this kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great looking, fun, and sturdy

07/26/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a play kitchen that wouldn't be an eyesore in the playroom, it is going to stay for a while so I wanted it to look classy and be durable. (Not one of those cheap looking plastic ones that isn't going to last.) I love the way it looks! And more importantly my daughter loves playing with it. This is a sturdy kitchen that seems like it is made of good quality materials and has all the features a child needs to play pretend. I also appreciate that it is gender neutral colors - can't boys be chefs too? I have two comments, more to be prepared than anything: 1. make sure you bring someone strong with you to pick this up, it is quite heavy. 2. You will need to assemble it after your child is in bed or is at school because it takes serious concentration to put together! There were a few places where I found the instructions to be confusing, but overall we were able to put this together without any serious problems. I'd say total it took about 5 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Granddaughters Loved their kitchen

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kitchen arrived at our local WalMart for pick up on schedule. The helpful staff at the store loaded it on my truck for me (the shipping box weights about 80 lbs.) And thanks to my fantastic son-in-law, the kitchen was assembled in a little over two (2) hours. All of the parts and screws were labeled for proper and logical assembly. It is substantial in size and well constructed for what I imagine will be years of imaginary cooking for our two granddaughters, ages 3 1/2 and 7. Both love to pretend cooking when they visit us. They also love to help Granma in the kitchen when they spend the weekend with us. On Christmas the kitchen proved to be the winner and produced lots of squeals of delight and awesssss from the girls who immediately went to work taking orders and cooking a pretend lunch for all of us. Thanks Walmart! This was a grand slam Christmas gift that will long be remembered by our two granddaughters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Upscale

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice, quality kitchen. We bought this for our 8 year old daughter who needed a "new" kitchen :) Upgraded from the pink and white little girly kitchen to this more grown up one. The presentation of it is great. It does take time to put together so just be patient, and pay attention to the direction of the pieces in the instructions to avoid any "redo's" on parts. My husband put it together himself in a couple of hours or less. I just wish this kitchen came with some pots and pans and food as a starter. But we found some nice ones separately that she loves. The kitchen is large so two children can play together. Because our daughter is 8 and quite tall, putting the kitchen on a platform is a good idea to raise it a bit. But she also likes to sit in her chair and play with the kitchen. I am thinking she will get a good 2 years out of this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Cool kitchen

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for our 2.5 year old daughter. It has a lot of storage to keep all her play food and kitchen gear. It is heavy and well constructed. It is very stylish and closely resembles our own kitchen. The stovetop knobs click and the faucet lever moves which add to her pretend play FUN! She really enjoys playing with it. We are VERY happy with it.
The Walmart price was significantly lower than the Amazon price at the time of our purchase. The ship to store option worked very smoothly.
There isn't a lot of counter space for little ones to prepare meals, cookies, etc. She has a lot of play food for making things that are assembled, like sandwiches and cookies. It doesn't bother my little one as she just sits on the floor to put them together.
It does take a long time to assemble. Keep this in mind so you have enough time to assemble it before giving as a gift. All the parts were well organized.
My only concern is how well the paint and decorative details will hold up with the rough play of a toddler and her play date buddies. So far though I am very satisfied and would recommend this kitchen to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Best Play Kitchen Ever!

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this play kitchen for our 2 year old daughter for Christmas. When it arrived we took all the pieces out to make sure no pieces were broke. We have NEVER bought anything online that hasn't been broke, scratched or dented before. So we fully expected something to be broke. But to our surprise there wasn't a single scratch, dent or anything broke. Our daughter absolutely loves her kitchen! It took my husband & my dad 2 1/2 hours to put it together. Not bad at all. The kitchen is somewhat heavy and feels like it's made of real wood. Which is nice. Most play ktichens are plastic. This one looks & feels like the real deal. Love it! We also ended up buying her a toddler bed from KidKraft too. Her bed showed up in perfect shape as well. No scratches, dents or anything broke. KidKraft really knows how to ship their products.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

A kitchen to rival my own!

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I know better...alas, we waited until after the kids went to bed on Christmas Eve to put this together. We started at 11pm and finished at 2:30, and my husband is extremely handy. The "package" of screws, nuts and bolts is pretty intimidating when you pull it out of the box, and it lived up to the hype. Just be prepared if you have a particular event you are assembling for. That said, once together, this kitchen is beautiful. Looks great siting in my own kitchen...as I did not want a pale pink or blue kitchen...I wanted something that will blend, and it does. They thought of every detail...chalkboard on the fridge, shelf for dishes, swirl burners, not that click as you turn them. Plenty of storage place for play food, plates, pots and pans. My sons eyes lit up like the Christmas tree when he saw it. Well worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

CUTEST KITCHEN EVER

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughters ages 6 & 8 asked for a kitchen set for Christmas and I was looking for one that didn't seem too young for them. I found this one and was hoping it would be as nice as it looked online. I read all of the reviews and decided to purchase it . I am very happy with it ... the girls just love it. Everybody compliments it and can't believe how sturdy it is. It is more like a piece of furniture than a toy.
It did take some time to assemble. I spent about 5 hrs on it by myself. It is not difficult, just a lot of screws. Pay close attention to the color of the screw heads, they are color coded to match the parts .. I didn't realize that at first and had to change a few around. The instructions are mostly pictures but not too hard to follow if you just use common sense. It is definitely a quality product and I would recommend it for both boys and girls.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kitchen play set gives the real feel of a kitchen to my little one. He enjoys making me different meals everyday and likes to hand me the phone to talk to Papa!
NIce job KidKraft!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

A very sturdy and quality product!

09/16/2012
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our 5-yr old granddaughter. She had had a couple of cheaper kitchens and would spend hours pretending she was cooking and serving meals. She absolutely loved her new kitchen as soon as she saw it. It is so realistic looking and has plenty of room for storing play food, utensils and dishes. Her mom and dad said it took awhile to put it together, but they were thrilled with the results. One board cracked, so my daughter called the company to see if they would replace it. She said they immediately said they'd send a new one out without even questioning her about how it happened! (She actually thought her husband had probably tightened the screw too tight, but it didn't seem to matter how it happened.) I would definitely recommend this kitchen to anyone who's in the market for one! Kidkraft definitely stands behind their products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 313 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next