Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

It's time to cook up a little fun with the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen. Featuring a hip, modern look that young chefs are sure to love, this KidKraft kitchen set is full of fun details that enhance the fun. A cordless phone lets your son or daughter chat while cooking and a refrigerator chalkboard is great for grocery lists or leaving messages. The KidKraft play kitchen's composite wood components look like brand-new appliances, with a refrigerator, freezer, microwave, oven and dishwasher. With a sleek design and endless play opportunities, the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen is a great addition to your family's playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
38
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%171 out of 179reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
38
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Looking Kitchen!

12/10/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our two year old son. The quality seems really good and it looks WAY nicer than any other kids kitchen I've seen in the market. We wanted something we could put in our main living area that wouldn't look too cheesy. This really fit the bill. Our son love it as well! It is the perfect height and has plenty of extra little features he enjoys (i.e. phone, clicking nobs he can turn, faucet with turning handle, pegs to hang utensils, towel holder, etc.) We have it near our kitchen and he plays in his kitchen the whole time we are cooking! It is pricier than the other models, but we researched different sites and Walmart.com had the best price by far. Shipped it free from site to store, which was very simple! Only drawback is the assembly process has 45 steps!? Takes some time...but the price and assembly process was all worth it in the end!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Perfect for the grandchildren!

07/02/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my two grandchildren. It is handcrafted and although it took me awhile to put together it was well worth it. Just follow the pictures and use the well organized nuts and bolts packet and it will come together fairly easily, I had no mismatched drilled holes. It is so well built it will last for years. It is very attractive and my grandchildren have made me a lot of nice meals with it. : )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent item

08/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves her kitchen! The look on her face was all we needed to know her thoughts. She inspected all items and abilities of her new kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great play kitchen

12/12/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my granddaughter when she comes to visit. She absolutely loves it and watching her use her imagination is priceless! Sent pictures to relatives after the three hours set up my husband had to do, which instructions were easy by the way. Relatives all made comment how realistic it looked and how they wanted to play with it. We are really enjoying our purchase and the quality it is we know our grandchildren will have years of enjoyment also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso
12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually brought it for my 3 year old son!! He wanted it for his third birthday.... I wanted something that looked less like it was only for a girl.... He's absolutely loves it... I've been asked my many where I got it from... Overall a great buy.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome Kitchen!

12/25/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my husband just finished putting this together on Christmas Eve and although it took like 3 hours, the instructions were easy to read and the unit was easy to assemble. The construction of the kitchen is great. It's sturdy and looks like it will hold up well. I also like that the knobs make noise when you turn them as if you were clicking them on and off. Can't wait to see my daughter's face in the morning!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Kitchen!

12/11/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this kitchen for my daughter for Christmas. It arrived earlier than expected (within 2 days) and my husband and brother-in-law put it together early. It did take them a few hours to assemble but all the parts/pieces were in the box and they had no problems. The kitchen looks great and I think it was a value for the price. I can't wait for my daughter to start playing with her new kitchen!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

So modern and stylish but difficult to assemble

08/05/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this modern kitchen for our daughter's 2nd Birthday. After much internet research, we liked that this looked very modern and stylish and matched the espresso furniture in her room. I would have given it 5 stars if it had not been so difficult to assemble. It took my husband a period of 4 nights (2-3 hours a night) to assemble. You really need two or more people. The holes didn't line up and we couldn't get the back on and the board cracked when we slid it down. Otherwise this kitchen is gorgeous, very realistic with lots of detail and storage. It keeps our daughter entertained for hours. We put plastic bins in the fridge and freezer to hold food so that it wouldn't roll around and placed a dish drying rack in the bottom of the dishwasher to hold plates and dishes since there isn't a cabinet for them. I also used an extra basket from our dishwasher for play silverware since there aren't any drawers. Overall I am very pleased with the quality and looks of this kitchen and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great looking, fun, and sturdy

07/26/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a play kitchen that wouldn't be an eyesore in the playroom, it is going to stay for a while so I wanted it to look classy and be durable. (Not one of those cheap looking plastic ones that isn't going to last.) I love the way it looks! And more importantly my daughter loves playing with it. This is a sturdy kitchen that seems like it is made of good quality materials and has all the features a child needs to play pretend. I also appreciate that it is gender neutral colors - can't boys be chefs too? I have two comments, more to be prepared than anything: 1. make sure you bring someone strong with you to pick this up, it is quite heavy. 2. You will need to assemble it after your child is in bed or is at school because it takes serious concentration to put together! There were a few places where I found the instructions to be confusing, but overall we were able to put this together without any serious problems. I'd say total it took about 5 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent product!

08/25/2013
By ,
Bedford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I investigated a number of kitchen sets when we decided to purchase one for our grandson's birthday. I was surprised that so many reviews of these sets talked about the difficulty in assembling them, holes not lining up, special screwdrivers required, and etc. I chose this set because there was none of that, and it didn't look too girlish. Yes, it took some hours to assemble, but every hole lined up and I am very impressed with the quality of every component. Every piece was in the box, and it was well packaged. The instructions weren't the best, but looking ahead and doing a practice run before screwing things together helped greatly. I didn't have to find any unusual tools. I was impressed with the clever design and the high quality materials. I expect this set to last a long time, and it is sufficiently realistic that I feel it will provide a learning experience along with fun. I would highly recommend the set to anyone. Our grandson loves it, and yes, HE plays with it constantly. Oh, and the ordering process from Wal-Mart was a joy too! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

A very sturdy and quality product!

09/16/2012
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our 5-yr old granddaughter. She had had a couple of cheaper kitchens and would spend hours pretending she was cooking and serving meals. She absolutely loved her new kitchen as soon as she saw it. It is so realistic looking and has plenty of room for storing play food, utensils and dishes. Her mom and dad said it took awhile to put it together, but they were thrilled with the results. One board cracked, so my daughter called the company to see if they would replace it. She said they immediately said they'd send a new one out without even questioning her about how it happened! (She actually thought her husband had probably tightened the screw too tight, but it didn't seem to matter how it happened.) I would definitely recommend this kitchen to anyone who's in the market for one! Kidkraft definitely stands behind their products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

2 year old daughter is thrilled about it

07/02/2013
By ,
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for our daughters 2nd birthday to encourage pretend play. As I expected after reading other reviews, the assembly was long and tedious. My husband spent over 3 hrs putting it together and improvised on a number of parts as an entire set of screws were missing. One of the doors would not align properly and there were multiple chips on the boards. However my husband said there was no way he was taking it apart again for those defects - to much of a hassle! Considering the price, I was disappointed by the defects/chips/missing screws.
On a positive note, children don't notice the same things Mommies and Daddies do. Our daughter couldn't be happier about her new kitchen which in turn makes us happy parents. I definitely prefer the look and quality of this kitchen over a plastic one.
I would recommend ordering the kitchen far in advance of when you need it to allow additional time for replacement parts if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Beautiful Play Kitchen

08/04/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our five daughters to play with. My husband is not a fan of noisy toys or big plastic toys, they always seem to get taken apart. This is very good qaulity and looks really nice when assembled. It took us about two hours to put it together. The instructions are not that informative so you need to have some skills. There are also certain screws and bolts that have differnt color heads, that need to be used in certain areas. The instruction do not specify which goes where, so pay attention. The girls love it and its big enough for all them to play together at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Very happy!

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It went together well, but it was LOTS of parts so it took a while. But everything fit nicely and the directions were pretty easy to follow. The finished product looks great and it seems very sturdy and well made. The price was very good compared to many other similar products I found. My grandkids LOVED it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Nice entire wooden kitchen.

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good looking play kitchen, safe and all wood, but take too much time for assembling over 3 loooong hours, it's big but looks bigger in the web side picture. Still been beautiful after all the effort!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great product!!

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kitchen takes some time to assemble but the smile on my Granddaughter's face when she saw it was so worth it!! Very well made and looks really nice...not like all the other cheap plastic ones I have seen.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Solid Product

08/01/2014
By ,
Staten Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my granddaughter and she loves it. Well constructed and durable, but assembly instructions could be clearer. Mfr has made a single set of instructions to cover a number of languages - cost effective but reduces clarity. For example, same size screw comes with three different color heads but all are identified by same part number - not clear in instructions as to which to use - better to have given then different part numbers. Took about 3 hours to assemble but finished product is solid and well constructed. Should last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Very nice!

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a huge hit for my 2yo daughter's bday. I love that it is not plastic and is nice enough to have in our main living area. It took us about 4- 5 hours to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. Our daughter loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Beautiful piece but took forever to assemble

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give it 5 star if it didn't take my husband and me 2.5 hours to set it up. It is really a beautiful kitchen, unlike other plastic, cheap-looking and kiddish kitchen. But the set-up is so complicated, just staring at the instruction may scare you away. But if you are determined and would do anything for your child, your child will love this kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Nice kitchen set but hard to set up.

07/29/2014
By ,
Norco
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When we finally put this kitchen together (it has MANY parts/very time consuming.) it looked great. Very authentic looking with even a pretend backsplash. However, even though our granddaughter has only had it for several days, we noticed that the front doors (silver) have all kinds of scratches already.
It looks beautiful when its set up, but, I dont know if its that practical for long term use with children playing with it. It's more lovely looking than durable. I think I would have chosen another set if I had known this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 170 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next