Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

It's time to cook up a little fun with the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen. Featuring a hip, modern look that young chefs are sure to love, this KidKraft kitchen set is full of fun details that enhance the fun. A cordless phone lets your son or daughter chat while cooking and a refrigerator chalkboard is great for grocery lists or leaving messages. The KidKraft play kitchen's composite wood components look like brand-new appliances, with a refrigerator, freezer, microwave, oven and dishwasher. With a sleek design and endless play opportunities, the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen is a great addition to your family's playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%163 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 179 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Perfect for the grandchildren!

07/02/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my two grandchildren. It is handcrafted and although it took me awhile to put together it was well worth it. Just follow the pictures and use the well organized nuts and bolts packet and it will come together fairly easily, I had no mismatched drilled holes. It is so well built it will last for years. It is very attractive and my grandchildren have made me a lot of nice meals with it. : )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Looking Kitchen!

12/10/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our two year old son. The quality seems really good and it looks WAY nicer than any other kids kitchen I've seen in the market. We wanted something we could put in our main living area that wouldn't look too cheesy. This really fit the bill. Our son love it as well! It is the perfect height and has plenty of extra little features he enjoys (i.e. phone, clicking nobs he can turn, faucet with turning handle, pegs to hang utensils, towel holder, etc.) We have it near our kitchen and he plays in his kitchen the whole time we are cooking! It is pricier than the other models, but we researched different sites and Walmart.com had the best price by far. Shipped it free from site to store, which was very simple! Only drawback is the assembly process has 45 steps!? Takes some time...but the price and assembly process was all worth it in the end!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent item

08/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves her kitchen! The look on her face was all we needed to know her thoughts. She inspected all items and abilities of her new kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great play kitchen

12/12/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my granddaughter when she comes to visit. She absolutely loves it and watching her use her imagination is priceless! Sent pictures to relatives after the three hours set up my husband had to do, which instructions were easy by the way. Relatives all made comment how realistic it looked and how they wanted to play with it. We are really enjoying our purchase and the quality it is we know our grandchildren will have years of enjoyment also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso
12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually brought it for my 3 year old son!! He wanted it for his third birthday.... I wanted something that looked less like it was only for a girl.... He's absolutely loves it... I've been asked my many where I got it from... Overall a great buy.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome Kitchen!

12/25/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my husband just finished putting this together on Christmas Eve and although it took like 3 hours, the instructions were easy to read and the unit was easy to assemble. The construction of the kitchen is great. It's sturdy and looks like it will hold up well. I also like that the knobs make noise when you turn them as if you were clicking them on and off. Can't wait to see my daughter's face in the morning!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Kitchen!

12/11/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this kitchen for my daughter for Christmas. It arrived earlier than expected (within 2 days) and my husband and brother-in-law put it together early. It did take them a few hours to assemble but all the parts/pieces were in the box and they had no problems. The kitchen looks great and I think it was a value for the price. I can't wait for my daughter to start playing with her new kitchen!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

So modern and stylish but difficult to assemble

08/05/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this modern kitchen for our daughter's 2nd Birthday. After much internet research, we liked that this looked very modern and stylish and matched the espresso furniture in her room. I would have given it 5 stars if it had not been so difficult to assemble. It took my husband a period of 4 nights (2-3 hours a night) to assemble. You really need two or more people. The holes didn't line up and we couldn't get the back on and the board cracked when we slid it down. Otherwise this kitchen is gorgeous, very realistic with lots of detail and storage. It keeps our daughter entertained for hours. We put plastic bins in the fridge and freezer to hold food so that it wouldn't roll around and placed a dish drying rack in the bottom of the dishwasher to hold plates and dishes since there isn't a cabinet for them. I also used an extra basket from our dishwasher for play silverware since there aren't any drawers. Overall I am very pleased with the quality and looks of this kitchen and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great looking, fun, and sturdy

07/26/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a play kitchen that wouldn't be an eyesore in the playroom, it is going to stay for a while so I wanted it to look classy and be durable. (Not one of those cheap looking plastic ones that isn't going to last.) I love the way it looks! And more importantly my daughter loves playing with it. This is a sturdy kitchen that seems like it is made of good quality materials and has all the features a child needs to play pretend. I also appreciate that it is gender neutral colors - can't boys be chefs too? I have two comments, more to be prepared than anything: 1. make sure you bring someone strong with you to pick this up, it is quite heavy. 2. You will need to assemble it after your child is in bed or is at school because it takes serious concentration to put together! There were a few places where I found the instructions to be confusing, but overall we were able to put this together without any serious problems. I'd say total it took about 5 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent product!

08/25/2013
By ,
Bedford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I investigated a number of kitchen sets when we decided to purchase one for our grandson's birthday. I was surprised that so many reviews of these sets talked about the difficulty in assembling them, holes not lining up, special screwdrivers required, and etc. I chose this set because there was none of that, and it didn't look too girlish. Yes, it took some hours to assemble, but every hole lined up and I am very impressed with the quality of every component. Every piece was in the box, and it was well packaged. The instructions weren't the best, but looking ahead and doing a practice run before screwing things together helped greatly. I didn't have to find any unusual tools. I was impressed with the clever design and the high quality materials. I expect this set to last a long time, and it is sufficiently realistic that I feel it will provide a learning experience along with fun. I would highly recommend the set to anyone. Our grandson loves it, and yes, HE plays with it constantly. Oh, and the ordering process from Wal-Mart was a joy too! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Looks very good!

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took hubby 4.5 hrs but well worth it. Looks very good & LO loves it. The only thing is my 2 yo son try to move the water faucet & it creates a crack before my hubby is even done with the last few steps. We're too lazy to dissemble & exchange that part but it's ok. It's barely noticeable. I like that it has many storage compartment & it looks so real.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

A very sturdy and quality product!

09/16/2012
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our 5-yr old granddaughter. She had had a couple of cheaper kitchens and would spend hours pretending she was cooking and serving meals. She absolutely loved her new kitchen as soon as she saw it. It is so realistic looking and has plenty of room for storing play food, utensils and dishes. Her mom and dad said it took awhile to put it together, but they were thrilled with the results. One board cracked, so my daughter called the company to see if they would replace it. She said they immediately said they'd send a new one out without even questioning her about how it happened! (She actually thought her husband had probably tightened the screw too tight, but it didn't seem to matter how it happened.) I would definitely recommend this kitchen to anyone who's in the market for one! Kidkraft definitely stands behind their products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Looks great!

07/07/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me almost a month to finally decide on a play kitchen for my daughter. I chose this one because we were going to put it in the corner of our own kitchen and I wanted it to look nice. It looks great and blends well with our other stainless steel appliances. It has so much to do and my 2 year old loves it. The only downside is that I had to put it together by MYSELF. It took me almost 6 hours with a few breaks while my husband was working. Lots of screws and small pieces. My daughter pretty much watched too much TV that day but finishing the kitchen was worth it! I recommend putting this thing together with another person and a bottle of wine after the little ones asleep. But not too much, you have to focus;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

2 year old daughter is thrilled about it

07/02/2013
By ,
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for our daughters 2nd birthday to encourage pretend play. As I expected after reading other reviews, the assembly was long and tedious. My husband spent over 3 hrs putting it together and improvised on a number of parts as an entire set of screws were missing. One of the doors would not align properly and there were multiple chips on the boards. However my husband said there was no way he was taking it apart again for those defects - to much of a hassle! Considering the price, I was disappointed by the defects/chips/missing screws.
On a positive note, children don't notice the same things Mommies and Daddies do. Our daughter couldn't be happier about her new kitchen which in turn makes us happy parents. I definitely prefer the look and quality of this kitchen over a plastic one.
I would recommend ordering the kitchen far in advance of when you need it to allow additional time for replacement parts if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Uptown kitchen

07/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought for grandchild and daughter said it took about 3 hours to assemble. Not difficult but poor directions. The BIG problem is that the rack shelf in the dishwasher is too small and falls down when pulled forward. Otherwise would have given 4 star.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

great little kitchen

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is made with good quality wood material and looks like it will stand up a lot better than other plastic models I have bought in the past. it did take some time to put together but the instructions were good.my four year old granddaughter loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Better than I expected

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a 3 hour building process ( mom put it together alone), we love it! Our 2 year old's eyes lit up when she saw it for the first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome kitchen for children

07/03/2014
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a home daycare and was looking to update a plastic hand me down basic play kitchen. I searched a lot of different styles and models and this one caught my eye. When I opened the box and saw the quality and great finish it was better than I expected.
All I needed was a screw driver and a couple hours. All pieces were well labeled. I do wish they would have assigned the screws that had been painted to hid on the outside different then the same non painted ones, somewhere I goofed up and have obvious screws showing.
This kitchen is a good size for young and older kids with good shelf spaces inside. Even my 10 year old was very excited to see this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent value

07/13/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was delivered in good condition sooner than promised. All parts included. Assembly took time but was not that complicated. Good quality, not flimsy. I read other reviews before buying. Some folks wanted extra features and/or easier assembly. For the price at Amazon with free delivery, I am pleased and would expect to pay more for anything else. My 2-year old grand daughter loves it!
Cannot grade with stars on durability as it is too soon to judge. Just arrived last week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

it will keep your kids busy for hours

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kitchen set makes you want to be a kid again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next