Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

KidKraft KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

It's time to cook up a little fun with the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen. Featuring a hip, modern look that young chefs are sure to love, this KidKraft kitchen set is full of fun details that enhance the fun. A cordless phone lets your son or daughter chat while cooking and a refrigerator chalkboard is great for grocery lists or leaving messages. The KidKraft play kitchen's composite wood components look like brand-new appliances, with a refrigerator, freezer, microwave, oven and dishwasher. With a sleek design and endless play opportunities, the KidKraft Uptown Espresso Play Kitchen is a great addition to your family's playroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%144 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Looking Kitchen!

12/10/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our two year old son. The quality seems really good and it looks WAY nicer than any other kids kitchen I've seen in the market. We wanted something we could put in our main living area that wouldn't look too cheesy. This really fit the bill. Our son love it as well! It is the perfect height and has plenty of extra little features he enjoys (i.e. phone, clicking nobs he can turn, faucet with turning handle, pegs to hang utensils, towel holder, etc.) We have it near our kitchen and he plays in his kitchen the whole time we are cooking! It is pricier than the other models, but we researched different sites and Walmart.com had the best price by far. Shipped it free from site to store, which was very simple! Only drawback is the assembly process has 45 steps!? Takes some time...but the price and assembly process was all worth it in the end!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent item

08/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves her kitchen! The look on her face was all we needed to know her thoughts. She inspected all items and abilities of her new kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso
12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually brought it for my 3 year old son!! He wanted it for his third birthday.... I wanted something that looked less like it was only for a girl.... He's absolutely loves it... I've been asked my many where I got it from... Overall a great buy.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Awesome Kitchen!

12/25/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my husband just finished putting this together on Christmas Eve and although it took like 3 hours, the instructions were easy to read and the unit was easy to assemble. The construction of the kitchen is great. It's sturdy and looks like it will hold up well. I also like that the knobs make noise when you turn them as if you were clicking them on and off. Can't wait to see my daughter's face in the morning!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great play kitchen

12/12/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my granddaughter when she comes to visit. She absolutely loves it and watching her use her imagination is priceless! Sent pictures to relatives after the three hours set up my husband had to do, which instructions were easy by the way. Relatives all made comment how realistic it looked and how they wanted to play with it. We are really enjoying our purchase and the quality it is we know our grandchildren will have years of enjoyment also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great Kitchen!

12/11/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this kitchen for my daughter for Christmas. It arrived earlier than expected (within 2 days) and my husband and brother-in-law put it together early. It did take them a few hours to assemble but all the parts/pieces were in the box and they had no problems. The kitchen looks great and I think it was a value for the price. I can't wait for my daughter to start playing with her new kitchen!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

So modern and stylish but difficult to assemble

08/05/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this modern kitchen for our daughter's 2nd Birthday. After much internet research, we liked that this looked very modern and stylish and matched the espresso furniture in her room. I would have given it 5 stars if it had not been so difficult to assemble. It took my husband a period of 4 nights (2-3 hours a night) to assemble. You really need two or more people. The holes didn't line up and we couldn't get the back on and the board cracked when we slid it down. Otherwise this kitchen is gorgeous, very realistic with lots of detail and storage. It keeps our daughter entertained for hours. We put plastic bins in the fridge and freezer to hold food so that it wouldn't roll around and placed a dish drying rack in the bottom of the dishwasher to hold plates and dishes since there isn't a cabinet for them. I also used an extra basket from our dishwasher for play silverware since there aren't any drawers. Overall I am very pleased with the quality and looks of this kitchen and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great looking, fun, and sturdy

07/26/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a play kitchen that wouldn't be an eyesore in the playroom, it is going to stay for a while so I wanted it to look classy and be durable. (Not one of those cheap looking plastic ones that isn't going to last.) I love the way it looks! And more importantly my daughter loves playing with it. This is a sturdy kitchen that seems like it is made of good quality materials and has all the features a child needs to play pretend. I also appreciate that it is gender neutral colors - can't boys be chefs too? I have two comments, more to be prepared than anything: 1. make sure you bring someone strong with you to pick this up, it is quite heavy. 2. You will need to assemble it after your child is in bed or is at school because it takes serious concentration to put together! There were a few places where I found the instructions to be confusing, but overall we were able to put this together without any serious problems. I'd say total it took about 5 hours to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Excellent product!

08/25/2013
By ,
Bedford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I investigated a number of kitchen sets when we decided to purchase one for our grandson's birthday. I was surprised that so many reviews of these sets talked about the difficulty in assembling them, holes not lining up, special screwdrivers required, and etc. I chose this set because there was none of that, and it didn't look too girlish. Yes, it took some hours to assemble, but every hole lined up and I am very impressed with the quality of every component. Every piece was in the box, and it was well packaged. The instructions weren't the best, but looking ahead and doing a practice run before screwing things together helped greatly. I didn't have to find any unusual tools. I was impressed with the clever design and the high quality materials. I expect this set to last a long time, and it is sufficiently realistic that I feel it will provide a learning experience along with fun. I would highly recommend the set to anyone. Our grandson loves it, and yes, HE plays with it constantly. Oh, and the ordering process from Wal-Mart was a joy too! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

2 year old daughter is thrilled about it

07/02/2013
By ,
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for our daughters 2nd birthday to encourage pretend play. As I expected after reading other reviews, the assembly was long and tedious. My husband spent over 3 hrs putting it together and improvised on a number of parts as an entire set of screws were missing. One of the doors would not align properly and there were multiple chips on the boards. However my husband said there was no way he was taking it apart again for those defects - to much of a hassle! Considering the price, I was disappointed by the defects/chips/missing screws.
On a positive note, children don't notice the same things Mommies and Daddies do. Our daughter couldn't be happier about her new kitchen which in turn makes us happy parents. I definitely prefer the look and quality of this kitchen over a plastic one.
I would recommend ordering the kitchen far in advance of when you need it to allow additional time for replacement parts if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

A very sturdy and quality product!

09/16/2012
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this kitchen for our 5-yr old granddaughter. She had had a couple of cheaper kitchens and would spend hours pretending she was cooking and serving meals. She absolutely loved her new kitchen as soon as she saw it. It is so realistic looking and has plenty of room for storing play food, utensils and dishes. Her mom and dad said it took awhile to put it together, but they were thrilled with the results. One board cracked, so my daughter called the company to see if they would replace it. She said they immediately said they'd send a new one out without even questioning her about how it happened! (She actually thought her husband had probably tightened the screw too tight, but it didn't seem to matter how it happened.) I would definitely recommend this kitchen to anyone who's in the market for one! Kidkraft definitely stands behind their products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Kitchen Set

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made Kitchen set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

well designed, great fun for my granddaughter.

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Several hrs of assembly, but well worth it. My granddaughter has hours of fun
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Quality play kitchen that is attractive for home!

11/13/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kitchen is strong, stable, attractive and tons of fun! My daughter loves to open the close all of the many appliances as she pretends to cook. It is large enough that 2 friends can easily play with her. I love that it has a lot of storage for all of her pots, dishes and pretend food items- everything can be stored away and out of sight (i.e. look less cluttered) when playtime is done.
My daughter, who is 2, is very tall for her age. I found many of the play kitchens at the typical toy stores were already on the small side for her. Not this one. She can grow for years and still play with this. Also, 99% of the plastic kitchens are obnoxiously colored and cheap feeling. I wanted a kitchen I could keep nearby our own (renovated) kitchen, which has dark wood and granite. This play kitchen fits right in and looks modern and cute. Also, I've found that many of the plastic kitchens on the market today have very tiny storage spaces. This one is very roomy. Finally, I like that it is gender neutral, so that my older nephew loves playing with it without feeling like it is a "girls toy." The men in my family do lots of cooking so I certainly didn't want to push any silly stereotypes by getting a pink princess kitchen!
Regarding the set up, it took 1.5 hours for me, my husband, father and brother to assemble. Yes, there were many parts but the instructions were clear. The parts were well-crafted and all of the holes lined up well. We had zero issue. I was impressed at the quality of the pices. For me, it was well worth the time to get this quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Great kitchen

12/27/2013
By ,
Fort Worth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This play kitchen is so cute!! I purchased this for my two sons (4 and 1)for Christmas this year. They both love it so far!! The product is good quality and has a very modern look to it rather than the plastic kinds out there. I wanted one that was aesthetically pleasing since it was going to be in the front room of our house. I knew when I purchased this that the only negative review given was the difficulty of putting it together. My dad and uncle put it together and it took them around 7 hours!! Instructions, or lack there of, was an issue and some pieces were labeled wrong causing them to put it together wrong but my husband and brother were able to figure out and fix easily. Other than that, this kitchen is a great buy and seems to be a product that will last!! Wal-Mart had the best price on this product compared to other stores/sites, shipped for free and was super fast!! I ordered on Monday and received on Wednesday !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Durable kitchen

11/22/2013
By ,
Lafayette, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes a while to put this kitchen together. My husband and 2 friends tackled it on a Saturday night. My daughter loves "her kitchen" and plays with it everyday. It seems to be great quality and will last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Classy play kitchen good for years

01/19/2014
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really nice looking play kitchen, appropriate for boys and girls, with many compartments. Appliances, storage space, faucet that turns. Even a place to hang a dishtowel. 22" counter height good for two-year-old grandson, but I can see it being used by older and taller children, too. It is heavy! Thank goodness for free shipping. 70 pounds of wood and it took my very handy husband 3 hours to put together, so better to not wait until Christmas Eve to assemble it.... Doors were a little sticky at first. My grandson loves it, and is always "making" something for a family member or visitor. My daughter saved empty containers of various small-container foods, and got pots and pans and a toaster set, all of which fit well and look great with it. Should fit in well with any home -- Brown and silver color scheme makes it look so much better than those plastic sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Both my kids LOVE this kitchen! (Ages 1 & 3)

05/24/2012
By ,
Lehi, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions were easy to follow and it is well made. So far we love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

The best play kitchen!!!

01/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes several hours to put together, but it's well worth it. Solid quality materials that looks great. Unlike other play kitchens that are colorful cheap plastic, this one is stainless steel and espresso which perfectly compliments the furniture in our family room. It has tons of different features including clicking knobs, plenty of doors to open and close, utensil holders, slide out racks for the oven and dishwasher, removable phone, chalkboard, and a removable kitchen sink. Walmart has the best price along with the 125 piece food bundle. My only criticism is that the food is cheap plastic and cardboard boxes that are destroyed literally in seconds. Besides the food it is simply the best kitchen out there. So if you are looking into getting a play kitchen just stop and order this one you won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKraft Uptown Play Kitchen, Espresso

Good Sturdy Play Kitchen

03/13/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this kitchen for my 3-year-old for Christmas. I love that it is tall enough that she can get good use out of it before outgrowing it. I also love that it has plenty of storage for play food and dishes, unlike a lot of the plastic varieties. It did take a long time to put together, but the finished product is well made and really nice looking. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next