Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Evenflo Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Drive your little around in comfort, style and safety with the Evenflo Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat. Just right for your growing child, this convertible car seat this reliable car seat features an upfront harness adjustment and buckle release allow for easy positioning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
52
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%163 out of 169reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 191 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
52
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Good value, not a bad seat

12/16/2012
By ,
Galt, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this car seat because it had good reviews and was a lower cost than most of the seats out there. I also read that it had sufficient padding unlike cheaper seats out there. I like that it is adjustable and will fit my son through toddler-hood. It also has thick padding on the sides so that when he falls asleep he has sufficient head support. And we like that it doesn't take up the whole backseat of the car. We have a Honda Accord and we could still fit an adult comfortably in the backseat on either side.
You need 2 adults to install the seat of course (one to pull on the strap to tighten and one to put their full weight into the seat). Using the LATCH system seems to be difficult in our car, and all car seat makers would do well to put rachets on the strap that you tighten to make it easier. Also I wish this seat came with a sunshade, but most convertible car seats don't seem to have them. The button to push that allows the straps to pull out is in the front. It would have been better served to be put in front of the crotch strap because it can be difficult to push when the seat is in the rear faced position.
We would definitely recommend this seat compared to all the others out there. It's comfortable and attractive, not too big, and a reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

LOVE IT

07/29/2012
By ,
Florence
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this carseat because it rearfaced until 35lbs and it was cheap compared to others. I have to say my son loved this car seat. I only have used it for a few months (april 2012 until now), I recently got a myride for him so this carseat is now his twin sisters. :) It was super comfy and easy to install rear and forward facing in my van.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

saved my sons life...

06/15/2012
By ,
cameron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this in feb along with my new car and i must say wow i am very happy with this carseat. two days ago my husband and son where in a major car accident and this carseat saved my sons life i would recommend this for anyone. my son had one mark on him just from the seat belt but thats amazing seeing how the car was rolled 3-4 times.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+265points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

great seat, especially for the price

05/20/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the car seat especially with how little I paid for it compared to some seats out there. The straps are easy to move to different heights and easy to adjust for when your little one has weight/size gains or is just wearing bulkier clothes. It is easy to install in the car. It is comfortable and fits my little one well.
I did have to place a rolled-up towel under the part of the seat so it would tilt back farther in the rear-facing direction like the instructions said. That was not a problem with the car seat, it's because the seats in our vehicle slope more than others.
The only "con" I see with this seat is that the straps have a tendency to fold in half where they run underneath the seat. This normally doesn't cause any problems, unless the folded part slides up when you are taking your little one out of the seat (happens to me maybe once every couple of weeks). This can then cause the little buckles to be hard to move if they slip down onto the folded part.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Great seat!

08/27/2011
By ,
phoenix, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a mother of 4 children. I have gone through many car seats, boosters, and chairs. This one is by far my most favorite. It is light weight, very comfortable and my son loves it. I love the fact that it is also rear facing as well! There are many car seats out there. I am not sure if you have noticed but the size of them has seemed to double even triple . I was scared I would have to buy a new car to fit the car seat. I own a 00 mustang. I just could not see having a seat that would double the size of what I sit in to drive it. My son is a very tall boy for his age. I am just using it forward facing as I have a two door. However, I know I can use this rear facing once my son out grows it and if I am able to pass it to a friend who could use it i definitely would! I also loved the fact that It was ready to go out of the box! The latch system was ready to go as soon as I put it in. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS CHAIR! many people will end up paying 5 times more than this and end up with a chair too big to fit in the car. This is a wonderfuly buy! definitely a steal if i say so myself. Most only are forward facing but you get the best of both worlds for the low price of $50 right now. Side impact testing too!
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Base feels secure, Comfortable padding, Easy to install in Car, no useless add ons!
Cons: no cup holder /kids never use
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

great seat!

01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is affordable and my son loves it! I have a 9 month old son and he hates car rides. I swiched him out of his infant seat orgianally buying a more expensive saftey first all in one seat. That seat did not fit well rear facing in my suv which has plently of room. So i did some research seeing as how I did not want to spend a lot on my second seat. I purchased this one and my son falls asleep easy, crying has stopped and I am happy. I wish I had purchased this evenflo tribute sport orginally, and I would have gotten 2 great seats for less than my orginal purchase! I had to recyline the seat a little more with a blanket, but I did do the same with the other seat that had a recylne option so nooo biggie.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Great for smaller guy

09/03/2014
By ,
St Joseph, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt like I had fewer options for my 1 year old for a front facing car seat because he is so tiny. He was a premie and is a little small for his age. He hated his rear facing car seat so I went on the hunt for foward facing. I spent $150 in a car seat for my car and we love it. I needed a seat got my mothers car as my son stays with her while my husband and I work. I didn't want to spent as much mint so I started looking and reading reviews again. I found this one and thought I'd give it a shot. It is almost identical to the more expensive seat and less than half the price. I would totally recommend this seat and I wish I would have found it sooner.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Great quality for the price!

11/27/2013
By ,
Provo, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had tried the Cosco convertible seat, and after trying everything I could think of to get it secure in the rear-facing position, I finally had to give up. It always wiggled and would get looser while driving. This seat only costs 5 dollars more, and it is so much better. In fact, out of the 4 different kinds of seats that I've used with my two kids, this might be my favorite. I still had to use a rolled up blanket to get it level, but it doesn't wiggle around and I feel like my daughter is safe. It feels sturdy and well built. My daughter seems comfortable in it. I don't love the fabric (it isn't very soft, though it seems like it would stay cooler in the heat) and would have liked some other colors, but for price and security, this seat is fantastic.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Amazing Car seat!

10/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a first time mom I was a bit nervous purchasing a car seat. After looking at hundreds of models I bought this one because it seemed the best. I used it the day I took my child home and almost every day since (she is 16 months old) and have never had a problem with it. It is rear facing as well as forward facing, which I LOVE!! And the best part, AMAZING price for the quality.
I'm expecting my second child soon and will most likely be purchasing another one!!
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to install in Car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Great looking, easy setup

03/20/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two new carseats for my kids. This one for my son and the pink/gray version for my daughter. They come already put together except for the cupholders on the side. Very easy to install, they look great and seem very comfortable. There were some others out the with more padding and wrap your kid up like a cocoon, but they also cost a lot more. Im a paramedic and feel safe with both of my kids in these seats, as long as they are secured properly with the anchors and seat belts as instructed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Look no further!

04/10/2012
By ,
Blowing Rock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really pleased with this car seat. I shopped around quite a bit online and read many reviews before purchasing this seat for my then 9 month old. I originally was going to use this one in my husband's car and ordered a more expensive one for my car; but this one arrived first and I loved it so much (especially the price tag!) that I returned the more expensive one and bought two more of these! I could get 3 of these for close to the price of the more expensive one I had picked out. My son is very comfortable in it and seemed to really like it straight away. I do have to use a towel, as per the instructions, to get the angle of the seat right, but this hasn't proven to be a problem. We have been using it for about a month now and have not had any problems. The fabric doesn't seem to get hot in the sun either for those that worry about that. As a first time Mom, new to car seats and obviously concerned about safety, my advice is don't be duped into thinking that you have to spend a lot of money to have a safe car seat. All car seats are rigorously tested and the more expensive ones are really not any safer. Save yourself some money and get one (or several!) of these!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Nicely padded carseat, nice size

01/30/2012
By ,
Omaha, Ne.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how this carseat has the padded areas for their back, head and neck. I remember with my other kiddos their heads would hang forward when sleeping in their carseats and there wasn't much support on the sides. This is more ergonomic and my son can sleep nicely in it. This fits ncely in my second row of my third row truck, which isn't the biggest inside. It is also nice to have the forward facing and rear facing option. The tether straps attach nicely and are easy to take on/off if needed. It was a great price and cleans up easily too, very nice looking.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

decent product for the money.

05/04/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for the occasional transport of twin grandsons . Several installation choices available. Not necessarily the easiest to install, but not impossible either.
Let's face it, it is not a top of the line car seat. It is not as plush or as adjustable as a high end model. You get what you pay for . With that in mind, it's a good product for the money.
V ery important note: this may not fit in the back seat of smaller cars in the 'rear-facing' mode. Make sure you check this out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther
01/30/2012
By ,
Barstow, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy, it has enough padding on it so it feels soft from the seating part to the head part to the side part. Not one part was missed with padding. It doesn't state that there is a cup holder but when I opened the box I was more then supprised to find a protable cup holder on the bottom of the box. Which made me more then happy. And my baby loves sitting in it, there is not much that he does like but this is one thing I am proud to say he does! Be careful that they hide the instructions in the seat instead of placing it in the box itself. But Over this is the best $50.00 I have spent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Awesome

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my one year old. I love it because it is forward and rear facing. It very light weight and can easily fit in any car or truck!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Really Nice Seat

10/19/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is 8 months old and started using this seat a few weeks ago when he exceeded the weight limit for his infant seat. It's really short and comfortable and he seems to really like it. I just wish the set up for the seat belt were easier. You have to fish the belt through and pull it out on the other side. Not sure if all convertible seats are like this, but I wish they would come up with something better. But overall, I recommend this seat.
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Comfortable padding
Cons: not easy to install
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Beltsville,MD
Posted 03/15/2012
If you choose not to use the Latch system convertible car seats are all a pain in the butt to hook in with the seat belt.
0points
Customer Avatar
seat belt...
Posted 01/25/2012
Just curious, if your car is newer than 2000, then it should have the child LATCH system where the strap that comes with the seat stays threaded through the holes and you just attach the clips to the metal bars which are in the seat (usually close to the seat belt). That's what prompted me to get rid of my '99 Escort, because it didn't have the LATCH system and I had to constantly thread the seat belt through. My new car makes it so much easier. Good luck!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

My favorite seat ever!!

10/15/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome car seat. I've had 4 kids, and this is my favorite seat so far. Super simple to adjust, looks great and baby loves it. I have a Grand Caravan 2010 with smaller bucket seats in the 2nd row, and this seat fits perfectly. I was worried that this seat would not be comfy or padded enough, but it really is. LOVE!!
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Comfortable padding, Easy to install in Car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Our family's favorite convertible car seat!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our favorite car seat! We love the simple design - there is no fuss with special pads or head rests. With our first child, we had this as a back up and a more expensive convertible car seat with twice the cost as our main. But after favoring this one so much, we sold the expensive one and purchased another one of these! We now have two in the colors Gunther and Maxwell. Don't waste your money buying an expensive one, its not worth it, splurge on something else.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther
09/03/2012
By ,
Monticello, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is easy to install, the clips to fasten and unfasten the belts are soft and easy to use, yet my daughter cannot undo them herself. I like this because when she falls asleep the sides have a bit of a cushion, i'm guessing because of the side impact feature, but it serves as a pillow too :) This is a plus for me so her head isn't just hanging or rolling side to side as she tries to keep it up when she sleeps. Great product! I would recommend! I am actually going to purchase another one for our second vehicle. I held off because not all car seats go well in all cars. We have a 06 Ford Fusion and it works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Tribute Sport Convertible Car Seat, Gunther

Great Car seat for a great price

09/11/2011
By ,
Rancho Cordova, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my new EvenFlo Tribute car seat. My son really likes it. It is very comfortable, easy and safe to use. It is not small not so big just perfect fit for any car. I would recommend it to anyone. Great car seat for a great price! I like it! Buy this one and you won't be regret.
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Base feels secure, Comfortable padding, Easy to install in Car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next