Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Black & Decker Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Brew delicious coffee in the comfort of your home using the Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker. It is a simple, convenient, fast and easy-to-operate device. The 12-cup coffee maker has a special carafe collar that is included to keep any drips and spills off the table. The dishwasher-safe parts and nonstick carafe plate allow for a hassle-free cleanup. This programmable coffee machine is ideal for use at home or even in the office. It also features a brew strength selector so you can get your coffee just the way you want. The convenient sneak-a-cup feature will let you have your coffee even before the brewing is completely done. Equipped with QuickTouch programming and an auto brew function, this item is easy to use. This Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker also comes with a clock as well as a removable filter basket for convenient usage.
Average Customer Rating:
2.951 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
24
3 stars
12
2 stars
18
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation50%61 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
24
3 stars
12
2 stars
18
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

one of the best

12/19/2012
By ,
Lakeview, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this too replace a older coffee maker and i worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

We love this coffeemaker

11/16/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boyfriend and I bought this after returning the red Mr. Coffee that only lasted 2.5 months. This coffee maker is a gem. It brews coffee quickly and it's hot, keeps the coffee hot for 2 hours and has a nice count down timer to let you know how long it has been since the pot was brewed. Yes the front where the clock is get condensation on it, but that has not affected it at all after three months of use and we brew several pots a day. I love that it beeps when the coffee is brewed anf at the two hour mark and shutting off. You can also program it to go off at a set time.
The water does not leak out of the carafe when pouring it into the reservoir as another review stated. Also it water level indicator is very easy to read.
We never though we would find a coffee maker we enjoyed as much as this one after our much loved Cuisinart Thermal carafe coffee maker died after five great years, but the Balck and Decker coffeemaker is just great and we would not hesitate to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Poor display and poor carafe design

04/19/2014
By ,
New Oleans, La
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought the name brand and the price would be a good fit. It’s not bad, but it has a few flaws. For one, the front display is hard to read. It’s small black letters on a grey background with no back light. So when you set the timer and hit “Auto” to have it ready when you wake up in the morning, sometimes the auto function does not set because you need a flashlight to see if you hit the button right to turn it on. I’ve pressed it a couple of times only to wake up the next morning with no coffee ready. Also filling the water in the back of the unit, with the carafe will spill all over the place. This is also a problem when pouring that first cup of coffee with a full pot. It just doesn’t pour very well. Other than those 2 things, it brews coffee just fine and it’s at the right temperature, which any coffee maker should do. Black & Decker make great tools, stick to that and leave the coffee making products to Mr. Coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/21/2014
Hi WHODATV, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40909734 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

A very good coffee maker with a few quirks

01/24/2012
By ,
Hazard, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker after accidentally breaking the decanter on my old Black & Decker. This is probably the best coffee maker I have ever owned. It is super quiet while brewing and the only reason I know it's finished is it beeps. The auto brew feature works great and allows me to set it to start brewing a few minutes before my alarm goes off so I already have fresh coffee when I wake up. The clock does not light up which most people find a con but it doesn't really bother me. Moisture will condense all over the front of the coffee maker while it's brewing which I was worried would damage the buttons and clock but so far they all still work fine. The only con I have with this coffee maker is the sneak a cup mechanism sucks. It doesn't drain the coffee properly so when you remove the decanter more than just a couple of drops of coffee drips down onto the heating plate. I have recently removed it from the basket (I never get a cup of coffee until it's finished brewing anyway) and the problem has been solved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Sad :(

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee pot for my husband at the end of last year and he barely used it. I began drinking coffee this month and was excited that I would have a basically brand new coffee pot to brew in. This morning I get up and there is no coffee brewed in the pot. I figured that I forgot to set the timer but it was set. I turned the machine on and still nothing. I reset the outlet and still no luck. The lights come on but it will not go through the cleaning cycle or brew. I wish I would have read the reviews on this machine before purchasing. Looks like I will be moving on to a new brand of machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis
REOCCURRING PROBLEM
Posted 06/17/2014
I have had this coffee maker for 3 years, well not the same one. I had one and then it stopped working, wouldn't clean, brew or even the hot plate wouldn't heat up. This is the second time it has happened. Very disappointing!
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/11/2014
Hi Fuell2009, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40936623 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Very excited to greatly disappointed

01/27/2013
By ,
Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this last night. I was so excited about it as it looks like a great machine. Have owned Black & Decker in the past with no complaints. Unfortunately, this unit is going back today.
Cons: Water all over the counter when filling the back reservoir. (Don't use the carafe to fill the reservoir.) Could barely see the water level located in the back, it's so dark. Took 20 minutes to brew a full pot, sadly that is unacceptable. While brewing, the whole top front area where the clock, on/off and programming area is located was absolutely soaked from the steam. I can't imagine the buttons working after a month with that much moisture. I'd give the LCD clock display screen 2 days at most. The carafe, be sure to open the lid a little while pouring a cup or it will drip/leak coffee and the condensation that builds up in the top of the lid all over the place.
Pros: Was nice and quiet. Beeps when brewing is complete
Overall: had such high hopes. Our excitement was replaced with disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
Are you sure this is the same coffeemaker?
Posted 11/16/2013
My boyfriend and I have had this coffeemaker for a few months and have not had the issues you posted in your review. We fill the reservoir with the carafe every time we use it and water never goes all over the counter. That is user error. The water level indicator is located on either side not the back and is very easy to see. We just glance down and can see exactly how much water is in the reservoir. Ours takes less than 7 minutes at most to brew a pot and the condensation is no issue and after two months of this sweet little gem is still working perfectly and we make several pots a day. This replaced a much more expensive Mr. Coffee that lasted two months under the same conditions.
I don't what your problem was with the leaking while filling the reservoir and seeing the water level indicator which is clearly on either side and not the back, but believe me it is not the fault of this coffeemaker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Beeps loud, hard to read screen, bad interrupt

05/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pot a few months ago. The beeping feature is annoying if you wake up before others in your home and make coffee. It wakes everybody up. I didn't know it had this feature when I bought it or would have selected something else. If you want this feature then its great. The screen to program and set time is beyond difficult to read. Have to shine a light on it to see so we give up most of the time. I bought it so it could be programmed. Lastly, I agree with others that coffee interrupt feature does not work well. It drips coffee on the burner so does not completely shutoff. My other Black and Decker maker I was replacing was perfect I just couldn't find that exact one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Black @ Decker 12 Cuo Programmable Coffee Maker
Posted 06/05/2014
This Coffee Maker keeps your coffee hot but cant reed the the display. The display neede lighting cant see PM or auto Dont buy. this coffee maker.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/05/2014
Hi Commenter100, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40917636 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
10/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this coffee maker has great features like auto brew, turns off automatically after 2 hours, has an option for strong brewed coffee and it pours great!!! However, there is no back light for the clock, and its hard to see in the dark, and it steams excessively. After the coffee is brewed the whole coffee maker is covered in steam which ultimately gets the whole counter unnecessarily wet. Other than that, the price is great for the fabulous coffee it brews and i absolutely looove the auto-brew!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Stillwater,NY
No back light
Posted 05/14/2013
It's very hard to see the AM and PM on the clock when your setting it (it would be better if the Black & Decker company would put in a backlight in the clock ).
Other than that, this coffee maker is very good for your money.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Clarksburg, WV
Can't read the display
Posted 03/25/2013
I just got mine last week and love all of the features, except you can't read the display! I thought maybe I got one with a burned out light, but I guess this is standard. I have to keep a flashlight handy so I can see if I have the "auto" turned on!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

poor design

07/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Carafe is poorly designed for pouring. The pause and pour feature doesn't pause. Wasteful.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/15/2014
Hi junkelextrix, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40953303 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Does Everything I Need

12/21/2011
By ,
Reelsville, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had this coffee maker going on 3 months now, and have been very pleased with it so far. The selling point for us was the price and the programmable feature. We've used the auto turn-on 5 days/wk for 3 months with no problems what so ever. Coffee is brewed quickly and it tastes good. Since our coffee cups are larger than the standard, it took a few days to adjust the water/coffee ratio to meet our needs, but that was to be expected.
Some features I wished the coffee maker had (but are not deal breakers) would be a light on the clock, and maybe stronger built buttons. There is no back light on the clock which doesn't really bother us since we aren't really looking for the time in the dark often. The coffeemaker does steam which also fogs up the clock. Referring to "stronger built buttons" - the buttons feel cheap... brittle. Like if you push too hard they will pop off. Again, not a deal breaker for us. I just find myself being gentle when pushing them. The water gauge on the side of the tank is also a bit hard to see at times. It's almost as if it is tinted.
On the plus side, (as stated before) it brews coffee quickly. It does gurgle but I've never seen a coffeemaker that doesn't. It beeps when the coffee is finished and beeps again after 2hrs before it shuts off. A cool feature it has is a clock the shows how much time has lapsed since the brewing finished. All in all, it has been a great coffeemaker for us. We are very pleased with our purchase and would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, Arizona
WILL NEVER BUY A BLACK AND DECKER AGAIN
Posted 07/28/2012
This coffee maker worked, then quit after 8 months. Made 1 pot of coffee in the morning then it quit. Called B&D sat morning and recording said to call back during reg hours (did not say their hours) or leave a message. Left a message, but what good is that for my sunday morning coffee. The sneak a cup leaked from day one. Bad design with the controls above the coffee pot, hot steam must wreck those controls. Cheap price, cheap coffee maker. You get what you pay for. Time to buy a real coffee maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

OK while it lasted

06/15/2014
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought either 3 or 6 months ago. Stopped working yesterday. Some other reviewers mentioned this, but the steam rises up to & apparently INTO the LCD display. I noticed that defect for the first time 2 days ago. Well, no more display, no more programming, no more turning it on or off, and worst of all no more coffee. Will not buy this model again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/17/2014
Hi wife21mom24, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40939435 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

very good coffee maker

10/30/2011
By ,
crawfordville,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hot coffee, quiet brewing,strong coffee option. only draw back is the water level is hard to determine. the plastic is too thick or dark. good feature is you get 3 beeps when coffee is finished brewing and turning itself off. very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Very good value

06/11/2014
By ,
Sabattus, Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ONLY negative comment I have on this item, is that it would be perfect, in my opinion, if it had a back-lite on the display. It is hard to see as it is, especially the info. in the corners of the display. Other than that one item, I am totally satisfied and happy with the product. It makes a great cup of coffee and fast too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Nice Coffee Maker, good design, NO FRILLS

09/12/2012
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous coffee maker finally broke (a Mr. something or other brand) one morning, and I had to make a mad dash to Wal Mart to get a new coffee maker in order to get my morning fix.
I was willing to spend 100 max for the features I wanted, and ended up grabbing this reasonably priced B&D coffee maker.
I've had it for about 6 months now, and it has brewed me a full pot of coffee every day for 6 months. Here are the pro's, and the con's.
PROS:
*Color/design aesthetic: Looks quality and sleek; and matches my appliances, which are chrome, black, or both.
*Has a unique (as far as my experience goes) basket/drip mechanism where I don't have to worry about my coffee filter being "just so" to avoid overspill. I can't explain it, but I could put my coffee filter in the basket in the most clumsy red-eyed morning way, and there is no overspill because of the drip/mechanism from the basket to the decanter. My previous coffee makers did not have such a design and there was always the worry that even if I was meticulous in my placement of the filter in the basket that the pressure from the heated water would move the filter in such a way to cause/create overspill. No such worries with this machine.
*Can be programmed for morning coffee
* Auto clean works efficiently well
* brews a full pot fast (10 minutes or less)
* When set to strong brew the brew time is about the same as my old coffee makers (15-20 minutes) (noticable difference in strength of brew when set to strong brew, fyi, also a feature not on my previous coffee makers)
*user friendly, no rocket science degree needed for this machine. No user manual needed really, the whole set up of the machine is pretty self-explanatory, few buttons and little logic needed to utilize all the features.
*Is plastic on the bottom. This pro is based on my previous coffee maker (Mr. so-and-so brand) which had some kind of metal on the bottom that rusted and would stain my counter, especially because of the evaporated steam leaks and spillage, and was even worse when we moved to a place that had hard water. Eventually I had to place a towel underneath my coffee maker because brewing just one pot of coffee would create rust stains on my counter that were nearly impossible to get out, not to mention that it would make my kitchen smell like metal just from moisture hitting the metal bottom of the coffee pot that developed a gross crust of rust. This coffee maker, fortunately, doesn't have a metal bottom. Pro in my book.
*Spout on decanter is easy to pour
*lid on decanter is easy to remove for prep and placement in the dishwasher
* basket has convenient handle.
*2 hours before machine shuts off. (important feature, wish it was 3 hours, though, but my previous coffee makers had always been only 1 hour, so...)
CONS
* As other reviews have mentioned, the clock widow gets steamed during brewing and keeping decanter contents hot; however, its really not some kind of end-of-the-world "gimme a refund" kind of con. You can still see the clock, for the what a coffee-maker clock is worth. It's just a little foggy/condensation/blurred.
*Clock is not back-lit. This is actually pretty annoying. Not just when the coffee maker is brewing or on (though it's annoying then too), but when it's not brewing or on, if you ever had a back-lit clock on your coffee maker before, you'll soon figure out how dependent you are on it, for the time, with this machine which lacks this feature and has the old-school digital greenish background and black digits and no backlight.
*Clock window is at an odd angle. I agree with the previous reviews on this, the digital clock is at a weird angle which probably wouldn't be noticeable at all if it were backlit, but since it is not, then you have to be in a certain place in space-time based on your height, etc. in relation to the coffee maker to see what the digital window says. It's not so ridiculous where if you move just a little the info in the digital window disappears, but it's just less clear and less vivid if you're not in the right place in space/time or whatever. Which can be annoying to a cranky person in the morning who hasn't yet had their cup of joe.
*This decanter seems to stain more quickly than my previous decanters and seems thinner in the glass material. I guess it just serves as a reminder to clean the decanter more often, but still...
I would recommend this machine, especially to those who have had troubles with spillover in the past and just want a no-fills coffee maker with the most features for a good price.
Also, a side note about the decanter, some people have complained about the pour spout of the decanter being messy, I disagree, somewhat. It's messy if you have bad depth perception, if you're one of those people who tries to cram a square peg in a triangle hole. Use it with ease, it pours beautifully, if you get too excited or impatient, then yea, expect a mess. And Yes, I have experienced a mess when I've been impatient with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Lasted less than 2 years

02/10/2014
By ,
Shorewood, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffeemaker because of the reputation of the brand, the reasonable price, and the overall look of the product. Loading up the coffee filter and coffee were easy enough, but I found it awkward to pour in the water as it tended to spill easily. It is a very noisy unit, loudly beeping when the coffee is brewed and at the 2 hour shutoff time. I bought this item in the summer of 2012, and immediately had problems with the programmable timer not always starting the brewing. After only having the unit for about 18 months, it failed to brew anything this morning when I turned it on. I am very disappointed, and will be replacing it with another brand of coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/12/2014
Hi CampingMom, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40868206 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

It does the job

10/14/2013
By ,
Texas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really have been enjoying this coffee maker. I tend to shatter the carafe's on just about every coffee maker I have had and so far, I have not shattered this one. I like that it beeps when brewing is complete and when it shuts off. I have yet to use a coffee maker carafe that HAS NOT spilled, dripped, poured out and gotten on the counter and this one is no exception...no matter how slow you pour, the angle you pour it at etc., The "sneak-a-cup" feature is awesome along with the programming features in general. Then one thing we all seem to be in agreement on is there is no back light to see the display window. I set it up to auto make and somehow for not being able to actually see the display window, I did not program correctly and missed waking up to an already brewed cup of coffee, just happy it was on a Saturday morning and not one that I was craving coffee and running late. Overall, a very pleased consumer of Black and Decker Coffee Maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Great coffee made for the price

01/14/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll start by saying I've never been one to buy expensive coffee makers... nothing over $50 for me. This Black & Decker coffee maker was $24. So far it's one of the best coffee pots I've purchased. I like the loud beep when it's finished brewing and when it's auto shutting off. It brews hotter than some other pots I've had which I like. I have used the 1-4 cup brew option (which brews it slower) and I like that. There are a few annoying things.... the steam it creates when it brews comes out and covers up the display clock which bugs me in the morning when i'm getting ready for work. Like another B&D pot I've had the water level is hard to read because the plastic is so dark. Where you pour the water in it's kind of awkward. I tend to get some in the place where the coffee grinds go. All three of those things are minor though! You can't go wrong with this coffee pot.... great coffee maker in the $25 range!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Makes a great cup of coffee

12/24/2011
By ,
Cheshire, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only have had this unit for about a week now, it does seem to steam a bit more than my last coffee maker. The clock is hard to read and I have to use a flashlight in order to read the settings. Auto brew does not have a light to let you know it has been set, only the word "auto" shows up in the bottom left hand corner, where my last coffee maker had a small light that would let you know you had it set on auto. The biggest selling point for me is the clean button, although I have not had to clean it yet, but with hard well water my units need cleaning more often because of the calcium build-up, also why I don't buy expensive units because I find they clog up and are useless after about a year of use. Do wish I could find a unit that would let me know when it is time to clean it as I did have one before that I loved because after brewing 60 pots it let me know it was time for a cleaning and the unit lasted longer than usual, but it was recalled and I had to give "her" up. So far this one makes a great cup of coffee and I would suggest it to others because of the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
10/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this maker a week & the auto brew still does not work. Will be taking back this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Charles, MO
Have had 2 of these
Posted 12/13/2011
Why I purchased another one I have no idea, the first one broke within a yr, and every time you went to pour a cup it always spilled down the side on the counter. My sister gave me one of her old ones to use, and after awhile I decided I wanted a black one again, so by mistake I picked up another black and decker, after I brought it home made a pot, it spilled again while pouring a cup, and I thought oh no I bought the same one again, which also by the way you could hardly see the time button, anyway I had this one 6 mos and it kicked the bucket too. So I'm back to the old white one from my sister now. I'm going to stay away from the black and decker line of coffee makers.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Good for 5 months

02/20/2013
By ,
branch mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you need a temporary coffee pot this is a nice one. It looks good, makes good coffee and in just a few minuets you will have coffee for 5 months.
Our has lasted 5 months and two days. So if you don't mind pying $6 a month for a coffee maker this one might be for you!
On the plus side we do use it a lot. about 4 to 5 pots a day, so if you only make one pot a day it should last about a week past the guarantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next