Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Black & Decker Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

The Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor is a handy appliance to have while preparing food. It gives you the flexibility to slice, chop, shred, grate or puree as much or as little as you need. The stainless steel chopping blades and the powerful 450-watt motor work together to process food quickly in the eight-cup work bowl. A stainless steel slicing and shredding disc adds to the versatility and convenience. This stainless steel food processor features a food chute with pusher that helps with easy feeding of items. You can easily observe your food while it is being processed, as the bowl is transparent. Featuring a safety interlock system, this black food processor has touch-pad controls that help with easy operation. Its elegant appearance adds to your kitchen decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.802 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation76%88 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Looks nice, works good, but breaks easily

08/04/2013
By ,
Farmington, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had my Black & Decker Food Processor, FP1700B for about a year now. I don't use it very often and when I do, it's mainly just to grate cheese, zucchini, and such, for quick preparation. I have a Ninja that chops very well, so this food processor doesn't get heavy use. I bought it because it looks nice and was a great price. But, it didn't take long for a piece of the plastic bowl to chip off. It chipped at the top rim and was small enough that I could still use the food processor and just put my finger over the chip so that food didn't leak out. Well, the other day, I was grating some zucchini and the plastic hinge that locks the lid into place to allow the processor to operate broke off. I was able to put it in locking place then put the lid on so that I could finish my job, but I threw the entire food processor away afterwards. I won't buy another one of these. I guess this is one of those 'you get what you pay for' appliances. I'll spend more money next time and hopefully get a better quality product that is more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/05/2013
Hi thewston, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40751417 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor
10/27/2012
By ,
Bryan, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
-Looks sleek and nice
-Holds a lot and is good price for the amount
-Slices and purees very well, everything gets cut
Cons:
-A little difficult to lock and unlock from base
-Suction cups on bottom don't really hold well in place
-The liquid limit: So I read through the instruction manual (because I'm a nerd) and noticed it had a 3 cup liquid maximum. OK, that's fine. Except it does not mention ANYWHERE that if you put that much liquid in first that it will then leak out the bottom and all over the counter and onto the floor. So...would have liked a heads up on that one. Was not a fun experience. Now I put in my dry stuff first and create a paste on the bottom (when I'm making dip) to keep liquids from escaping. Anyway just a heads up to anyone who doesn't want to feel stupid :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Nice appliance for the money

10/30/2011
By ,
Newton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been looking at this food processor for months trying to decide if I needed one or not. I finally decided at 24.99 it was too good to pass up. I made pie dough in it, and it was a snap. I have also done bread crumbs which came out perfectly. I have decided that it needs to sit out on my counter in order to take advantage of it, so if you don't have room for it on your counter, you may not want one. This is one of those appliances that you COULD do without, but I'm glad I bought it and look forward to experimenting with it during the holidays, especially for chopping items for canapes and maybe also soups. The bowl is a nice size--I don't think you would want one smaller, and it is NOT overly noisy. Also, the suction feet keep it firmly in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Very slow....

04/05/2014
By ,
Oregon, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
....since you have to turn the blades by hand. I'm not sure why the buttons on the front were included, nothing happens when you press them. I'm also kind of puzzled as to why an electrical cord was included. There is nothing on this appliance that operates with electricity. Maybe it's a tethered outlet dust cover? The only purpose this product serves is to cover a small defect in the backsplash when it sits on my countertop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/07/2014
Hi J., thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40902426 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Set a land speed record for becoming useless

12/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased today. Unpacked today. Washed all moving components today. Filled bowl with food as directed today. Turned on today. Wait...no...let me rephrase this -- attempted to turn on today, but it didn't even offer me a feeble sound to reward my efforts. Nothing. Nothing. Not a thing. Go through the assembly directions again. Attempt liftoff again. Check the plug and outlet (because the problem was surely going to be my outlet, right?). No joy here either. Get so frustrated that I had to leave the kitchen. Still a useless hunk of plastic. Had someone else do all of the above and still this doesn't seem to know what to do with itself. Unplugged. Dumped out food. Disassembled. Washed the components because they had touched my ham. Repackaged as best I could. This will be returned tomorrow and it won't be a moment too soon for me. It mocks me from the other side of the room as I write this. Does it make me a bad person if I seriously considered *not* washing the components before I repackaged them? I don't usually choose to purchase things that are incredibly low on the $ spectrum and I shouldn't have gone against my behavior and done so here.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/02/2014
Hi TD, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40837985 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great Processer. For the prce you can't go wrong!

09/24/2011
By ,
Rural Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an updated version of the B&D FP1600B which Walmart previously sold and was fully reviewed, both on the Walmart site and elsewhere.
First: The instruction booklet is easy to understand and in English and Spanish. After you have un packaged the unit, sit all parts out on your counter top and then read the booklet as you assemble the unit for the first time. There are several safety lock features, if you fail to read and assemble the unit properly it will not run. The safety interlock features are very similar to the early Cuisinart machines. As such you must first un-lock the workbowl cover prior to un-locking the workbowl itself.
Like the previous model the workbowl cover is domed and because of this the food chute extends into the processing area. This creates an area that can on occasion be difficult to clean. I use a basting brush to brush this area when washing it. A paint brush would work well also.
The parts are all dishwasher safe ONLY if you use the top rack. Also avoid any fancy "steam cycle." I find it easiest to simply wash it in sudsy water in the sink, rinse and then air dry.
It will make pasta, pastry, pie, pizza, and bread dough. Use your favorite recipe. As soon as the ball forms you must remove the dough ball and hand kneed the dough. Freeze your butter chips for a flaky pie dough crust.
I can do most anything with this machine that I can do with a $1,600 French machine. At around $25 it's a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
... Unless you want it to work more than a month
Posted 08/24/2013
I liked it too... until it just stopped working after a few uses. Just DEAD. Press the button, nothing! Barely used it, and for nothing heavier than grating a few carrots. Tried a different outlet, opening and closing unit to make sure it was aligned perfectly, but absolutely nothing worked. Sure, I could send it back (to Mexico!) for repair, but they know that you know it is more expensive to do this than to buy a new one. Well I will... but not B&D!
A piece of junk! I will NEVER buy another Black & Decker product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Well made, dependable, great price

10/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great option for a lower priced, moderate sized food processor. Be prepared, however, because it is very loud for a small kitchen appliance; guests will no doubt run in a hurry when this thing is turned on. As far as construction, it seems to be very well made. Strong suction cups keep it in place. The regular cutting blade is sharp. I have used it for bean spreads and mincing vegetables. There is also a round shredding and slicing blade insert, which you insert after removing the other cutting blade. I used it to slice veggies, including carrots and onions, for soup. Slices come out very thin, but much easier than chopping or slicing by hand. This is really a great bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great Food Processor

04/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent food processor it works great except the on and pulse button are one, besides that this food processor works as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/14/2014
Hi Xoxolove, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40906245 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Outstanding machine!!!

12/09/2012
By ,
Buckhannon, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've now had this machine for almost 3 weeks. I bought it to use on Thanksgiving Day and it cut my prep time for everything by at least 2-3 hours. Since then I've used it to prepare fresh vegetables for use in soups and stews and it does a letter perfect job. I read the other reviews here before buying it. In spite of the negative comments and reviews I read, I bought this food processor based on the Black and Decker name and reputation. I couldn't be more pleased with it. To those who wrote the negative comments I say this: For the guy that couldn't get the shredding disc down in the bottom of the bowl, had you read the directions and owner's manual, you would have known that the shredding disc was not designed to be used in the bottom of the food bowl. For the person who said it was only their third use and the motor was already shot, I suggest not trying to chop extremely hard foods. Finally, for the people that wrote in about the bowl leaking, this is why they have lines on the side of the food bowl which clearly state "Max Food Line" and Max Liquid Line."
When all else fails, read the directions. They'll usually clue you in on what you're doing wrong. But I expect to get many years of satisfactory use from this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Works well - price is unbeatable

02/01/2012
By ,
Springfield, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a low priced food processor to use for chopping raw potatoes to make potato pancakes. Blenders have not worked well and we decided to try this because the price was so reasonable and it had gotten good reviews. After a quick setup we tried our first batch of potatoes. It worked like a dream - the potates were turned into a puree in minutes. Clean up is really easy as it all comes apart to wash. We even use it for recipes for which we used to use the blender. The box shows it being used to slice cukes and tomatoes, but that isn't realistic because the chute in which the food is loaded is much too small for that purpose. Carrots and other items of a similar diameter would work quite well, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Good product for its price

04/07/2014
By ,
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for its price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor
11/05/2011
By ,
Peterstown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to clean and easy to operate. Does a nice job. I like that it is easy to clean and get the food out after chopping. Well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great product!

03/23/2014
By ,
PNW
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job and the price is right. I have had this machine for less than a month and I like it in every way. I am not going to over do it even though it is powerful food processor. I really don't see it as a bread or cookie dough dough mixer. I use it for vegetables and apples. Washes easily by hand or top rack in dishwasher. Quieter than my former, much more expensive, machine. It's a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

PERFECTLY SIMPLE!!!

01/09/2012
By ,
East Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a chef, heck, I am not even a cook! However, my husband has become a Type 2 Diabetic. I no longer have the ability to just open a can anymore and my daughter already had this contraption so she gave me a simple lesson and the rest is a love affair that rivals Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr. My husband and I fight over who gets to pulse!!!
I am a long time Black and Decker fan anyway. If a gadget is invented, we usually won't buy it unless B & D has a version.
Do you know what the single greatest function of this processor is? THE SUCTION CUPS!! I am easy to please!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great Value

01/07/2014
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this processor for a week so have only used it a couple of times. I used it to get raw cauliflower to a "grainy" consistency which it did very well without making a puree out of it. I don't use a processor very often so feel that this unit is very sufficient for my use. Would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

It leaks!

01/03/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons:
Made some butter, and when removing the unit from the base, there was a small "puddle" of buttermilk on the top of the base. This led me to believe that some of it leaked into the electronics of the base and may be in the process of doing some kind of damage that I would not have been aware of if that small puddle went unnoticed.
Another thing is that it is only 1 speed. Now that I have experience in food processors (2nd one), a potentiometer to control the speed would be in order. Do you agree?
Also, there seems to be no "butter blade" for the thing. Searched all the websites, including B&D's and still nothing. So I cut a small plastic syrup bottle to fit, burned a hole in the bottom with a pencil torch (great thing to have!) and while the plastic was still molten (extremely soft), I pressed it onto the shaft of the S-Blade so that the plastic would literally beat the heavy cream into butter and buttermilk. The Spell worked!
Pro:
It's a nice looking unit, though I'd prefer a red one over a black one to match my kitchen decor.
Recommendation:
Put a gasket or O-ring on the underneath side of the pitcher.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

food processor

08/21/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this Black & Decker food processor, but I am glad I did. I works very well, and has cut my slicing and dicing time by about 90%! I cut a sack (not bushel), 15 lbs or so, or okra in less than 30 minutes. Very easy to use, did not even need the instructions! I don't know why someone needs both blades? Anyway, it will not come on if the top is not securely and properly put on the handled bowl. No biggie, I figured that out quite quickly, it is a safety measure. Anyway, my aunt bought one too, and I showed her how to use it in less than a minute and did her okra in 20 minutes! She was amazed! This stuff usually takes hours to slice, 3-4 hours for sure! Not to mention the hand pain afterward. I also cut and freeze my own seasoning blend (onion, bellpeppers, celery, parsley) and this made it quick! I can now find a dozen other things to do with this thing! My cousin wants one too now! I Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Good buy for the money.

03/22/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price. Just as good an appliance as the SunBeam LeChef it replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Bottom Fine, top, including safety latch poor.

08/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have owned for a few months, used less than a dozen times. There is a problem locking and unlocking the top unit to the base/motor portion of the device. Cracked the top bowl unit trying to remove from lock second to the last time, and the last time we tried to use it the safety latch stopped working, rendering the entire device worthless. I will not buy again, and would not recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

This is my first food processor and I love it.

11/23/2011
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used a mandolin my whole life for cutting, slicing and grating. After making my last batch of cole slaw I just could not make it the old way, and decided to get a food processor. I wasn't sure how it would work for me and I am so glad I did this. I read the previous reviews and decided this was the one for me. LOVE IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next