Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Black & Decker Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

The Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor is an essential kitchen appliance for quick and efficient food prep. It gives you the flexibility to slice, dice, chop, shred, grind, grate, puree, blend and mince a variety of fruits and vegetables to your desired consistency. This Black & Decker food processor is equipped with a powerful 450-watt motor for faster food processing. It also has an oversized, continuous-flow food chute and pusher to make adding produce easy. The full-sized feeding tube accommodates a vast array of larger foods. This black food processor comes with handy accessories that include a stainless-steel chopping blade and a reversible slicing/shredding disc that adds to the versatility of this machine. The 8-cup capacity work bowl holds large amounts of produce and ingredients all at one for optimal convenience. The clear plastic construction allows you to observe the food you are processing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation78%114 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 158 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

FANTASTIC! Black and Decker 8 cup food processor

07/20/2014
By ,
South central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for slicing!! I was wanting something to slice cucumbers when I make Bread and Butter pickles as I have a garden and do a lot of canning. I searched the stores and the internet for food processors, reviews,etc., and found this one at Wal-Mart, the price was good, like $24.00?, and thought I'd try it, since the price was good and first time user for a food processor. Let me tell you this machine is fantastic! It slices perfect! Such uniform perfect slices and quick. I also used the shredding blade and it does a great job too for shredding zucchini for zucchini cake or bread. Easy to insert/remove blades/cutters and easy to clean. I am so proud of it. It is one investment for my kitchen appliances that I am so glad to have. I don't know how the "high dollar" food processors compare to this one, but this one does an awesome job for me and soooooo glad I got it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/10/2014
Hi Deedors, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40998792 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Looks nice, works good, but breaks easily

08/04/2013
By ,
Farmington, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had my Black & Decker Food Processor, FP1700B for about a year now. I don't use it very often and when I do, it's mainly just to grate cheese, zucchini, and such, for quick preparation. I have a Ninja that chops very well, so this food processor doesn't get heavy use. I bought it because it looks nice and was a great price. But, it didn't take long for a piece of the plastic bowl to chip off. It chipped at the top rim and was small enough that I could still use the food processor and just put my finger over the chip so that food didn't leak out. Well, the other day, I was grating some zucchini and the plastic hinge that locks the lid into place to allow the processor to operate broke off. I was able to put it in locking place then put the lid on so that I could finish my job, but I threw the entire food processor away afterwards. I won't buy another one of these. I guess this is one of those 'you get what you pay for' appliances. I'll spend more money next time and hopefully get a better quality product that is more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/05/2013
Hi thewston, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40751417 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Excellent product and reasonably priced

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this food processor. I bought a similar product in a different brand in a different store, then I found the product to be having some design flaws in it and had to return it. I am glad I found this one which is larger, more powerful and even better priced. Thanks Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Not disapointed

12/15/2012
By ,
Californis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased my B & D processor yesterday. I like to make falafel and in order to get the perfect texture a processor is mandatory. First I read all the positive reviews. I was comfortable with most of the comments. It seemed the main complaint was the noise. Since this is not my first processor I understood that it would be noisy but no more so than my last processor. I took the time to read all the instructions and began. It worked perfect! I was not disappointed. My texture was perfect. It was easy to clean (much easier than my older one) and for the price well I was really impressed. I admit I'm a long time fan of Black and Decker products as they are well made and last and last and last. I would advise anyone considering this item to take the time to read the instructions as I believe some of the "negative" reviews may have been the result of not taking the time to find out how to use the processor. A definite thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

An overall good product for the money

06/18/2014
By ,
white pine, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The capacity is good, and it does a wonderful job of pureeing and mixing things well. My only issues with it are minor. First, the center blade housing is awkwardly shaped, so that removing it is rather difficult when there is food in the cup. Also, the cover has a tiny area between the opening for the hopper and the edge of the cover where food gets stuck and is a bit difficult to remove, sometimes requiring a bottle brush. Same thing with the housing on the bottom of the cup, food and sauces get stuck in the housing and it takes quite a bit of flushing to get it out. These last two issues are solved with placing in a dishwasher, I am sure, but hand washing is more difficult. Other then that, I love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor
10/27/2012
By ,
Bryan, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
-Looks sleek and nice
-Holds a lot and is good price for the amount
-Slices and purees very well, everything gets cut
Cons:
-A little difficult to lock and unlock from base
-Suction cups on bottom don't really hold well in place
-The liquid limit: So I read through the instruction manual (because I'm a nerd) and noticed it had a 3 cup liquid maximum. OK, that's fine. Except it does not mention ANYWHERE that if you put that much liquid in first that it will then leak out the bottom and all over the counter and onto the floor. So...would have liked a heads up on that one. Was not a fun experience. Now I put in my dry stuff first and create a paste on the bottom (when I'm making dip) to keep liquids from escaping. Anyway just a heads up to anyone who doesn't want to feel stupid :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Creates A Leaky Mess

10/08/2014
By ,
Glens Falls, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product yesterday and will be returning it on my next visit to Wal-Mart. After taking it out of the box I read that there was a liquid limit of 3 cups. So, wanting to see what would happen if I went over the 3 cup limit, like when you are making cake batter, I put it over the sink and poured water in. As soon as the water went over the limit the water came pouring out of the bottom. That's crazy. There are many foods when pureed that will exceed that and you'll have a mess to contend with. Also, just trying to get the bowl and the lid on is rediculously hard. I don't think the handle is supposed to be facing you when in place but that was the only way I could get the bowl and lid on. In spite of the powerful motor I will be returning this to the store on my next visit. Sometimes, cheap is dear.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Nice appliance for the money

10/30/2011
By ,
Newton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been looking at this food processor for months trying to decide if I needed one or not. I finally decided at 24.99 it was too good to pass up. I made pie dough in it, and it was a snap. I have also done bread crumbs which came out perfectly. I have decided that it needs to sit out on my counter in order to take advantage of it, so if you don't have room for it on your counter, you may not want one. This is one of those appliances that you COULD do without, but I'm glad I bought it and look forward to experimenting with it during the holidays, especially for chopping items for canapes and maybe also soups. The bowl is a nice size--I don't think you would want one smaller, and it is NOT overly noisy. Also, the suction feet keep it firmly in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Outstanding machine!!!

12/09/2012
By ,
Buckhannon, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've now had this machine for almost 3 weeks. I bought it to use on Thanksgiving Day and it cut my prep time for everything by at least 2-3 hours. Since then I've used it to prepare fresh vegetables for use in soups and stews and it does a letter perfect job. I read the other reviews here before buying it. In spite of the negative comments and reviews I read, I bought this food processor based on the Black and Decker name and reputation. I couldn't be more pleased with it. To those who wrote the negative comments I say this: For the guy that couldn't get the shredding disc down in the bottom of the bowl, had you read the directions and owner's manual, you would have known that the shredding disc was not designed to be used in the bottom of the food bowl. For the person who said it was only their third use and the motor was already shot, I suggest not trying to chop extremely hard foods. Finally, for the people that wrote in about the bowl leaking, this is why they have lines on the side of the food bowl which clearly state "Max Food Line" and Max Liquid Line."
When all else fails, read the directions. They'll usually clue you in on what you're doing wrong. But I expect to get many years of satisfactory use from this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great Processer. For the prce you can't go wrong!

09/24/2011
By ,
Rural Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an updated version of the B&D FP1600B which Walmart previously sold and was fully reviewed, both on the Walmart site and elsewhere.
First: The instruction booklet is easy to understand and in English and Spanish. After you have un packaged the unit, sit all parts out on your counter top and then read the booklet as you assemble the unit for the first time. There are several safety lock features, if you fail to read and assemble the unit properly it will not run. The safety interlock features are very similar to the early Cuisinart machines. As such you must first un-lock the workbowl cover prior to un-locking the workbowl itself.
Like the previous model the workbowl cover is domed and because of this the food chute extends into the processing area. This creates an area that can on occasion be difficult to clean. I use a basting brush to brush this area when washing it. A paint brush would work well also.
The parts are all dishwasher safe ONLY if you use the top rack. Also avoid any fancy "steam cycle." I find it easiest to simply wash it in sudsy water in the sink, rinse and then air dry.
It will make pasta, pastry, pie, pizza, and bread dough. Use your favorite recipe. As soon as the ball forms you must remove the dough ball and hand kneed the dough. Freeze your butter chips for a flaky pie dough crust.
I can do most anything with this machine that I can do with a $1,600 French machine. At around $25 it's a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+198points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Bancroft, Wi
My processer
Posted 09/05/2014
Had a bad experience. While using the shredding blade, it collapsed and broke while shredding zucchini. A piece of the blade broke off and fell into the shredded zucchini. Wasn't aware of the piece that broke, until my husband found it after I prepared the zucchini. I think it was because it was a defect.
0points
Customer Avatar
... Unless you want it to work more than a month
Posted 08/24/2013
I liked it too... until it just stopped working after a few uses. Just DEAD. Press the button, nothing! Barely used it, and for nothing heavier than grating a few carrots. Tried a different outlet, opening and closing unit to make sure it was aligned perfectly, but absolutely nothing worked. Sure, I could send it back (to Mexico!) for repair, but they know that you know it is more expensive to do this than to buy a new one. Well I will... but not B&D!
A piece of junk! I will NEVER buy another Black & Decker product.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great Purchase!!

10/20/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The food processor performs great! Some commented that it's noisy, however, how quiet can one be? The noise doesn't bother me. My Kurig, blender, Magic Bullitt, mixer, actually all of my appliances are degrees of 'noisy.' :) I am very pleased with my Black And Decker Food Processor, plus the good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Great for meal preps

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't used a food processor since my last one quit about 8 years ago, until I used this one I hadn't realized how much I missed one! I love the 8-cup holding bowl, it's a perfect size for meals.
Easy to take apart for cleaning and only takes a minute to put back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Well made, dependable, great price

10/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great option for a lower priced, moderate sized food processor. Be prepared, however, because it is very loud for a small kitchen appliance; guests will no doubt run in a hurry when this thing is turned on. As far as construction, it seems to be very well made. Strong suction cups keep it in place. The regular cutting blade is sharp. I have used it for bean spreads and mincing vegetables. There is also a round shredding and slicing blade insert, which you insert after removing the other cutting blade. I used it to slice veggies, including carrots and onions, for soup. Slices come out very thin, but much easier than chopping or slicing by hand. This is really a great bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Works well - price is unbeatable

02/01/2012
By ,
Springfield, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a low priced food processor to use for chopping raw potatoes to make potato pancakes. Blenders have not worked well and we decided to try this because the price was so reasonable and it had gotten good reviews. After a quick setup we tried our first batch of potatoes. It worked like a dream - the potates were turned into a puree in minutes. Clean up is really easy as it all comes apart to wash. We even use it for recipes for which we used to use the blender. The box shows it being used to slice cukes and tomatoes, but that isn't realistic because the chute in which the food is loaded is much too small for that purpose. Carrots and other items of a similar diameter would work quite well, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Compact

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice size, works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

Excellent food processor

10/10/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a basic food processor this one goes above and beyond. No bells and whistles, but none are needed. This gets the job done and did not cost a fortune!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor
11/05/2011
By ,
Peterstown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to clean and easy to operate. Does a nice job. I like that it is easy to clean and get the food out after chopping. Well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

food processor

08/21/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this Black & Decker food processor, but I am glad I did. I works very well, and has cut my slicing and dicing time by about 90%! I cut a sack (not bushel), 15 lbs or so, or okra in less than 30 minutes. Very easy to use, did not even need the instructions! I don't know why someone needs both blades? Anyway, it will not come on if the top is not securely and properly put on the handled bowl. No biggie, I figured that out quite quickly, it is a safety measure. Anyway, my aunt bought one too, and I showed her how to use it in less than a minute and did her okra in 20 minutes! She was amazed! This stuff usually takes hours to slice, 3-4 hours for sure! Not to mention the hand pain afterward. I also cut and freeze my own seasoning blend (onion, bellpeppers, celery, parsley) and this made it quick! I can now find a dozen other things to do with this thing! My cousin wants one too now! I Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

PERFECTLY SIMPLE!!!

01/09/2012
By ,
East Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a chef, heck, I am not even a cook! However, my husband has become a Type 2 Diabetic. I no longer have the ability to just open a can anymore and my daughter already had this contraption so she gave me a simple lesson and the rest is a love affair that rivals Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr. My husband and I fight over who gets to pulse!!!
I am a long time Black and Decker fan anyway. If a gadget is invented, we usually won't buy it unless B & D has a version.
Do you know what the single greatest function of this processor is? THE SUCTION CUPS!! I am easy to please!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 8-Cup Food Processor

black and decker food processor

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this item
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next