Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Proctor-Silex Proctor Silex Can Opener

Proctor-Silex Proctor Silex Can Opener

Opening cans is a snap when using this newly designed Proctor Silex Can Opener. The patented SureCut technology opens cans on the first try. You will also love the removable cutting lever for easy cleaning and the built-in knife sharpener. In addition, this unit comes with an automatic shutoff feature and cord storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation67%28 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

CHEAP PRICE..WORKED FOR THREE CANS..

11/05/2013
By ,
WESTERN KENTUCY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS CAN OPENER OPENED THREE CANS BEFORE RENDERING USELESS. CALLED PROCTOR SILEX CONCERNING PROBLEMS WITH CAN OPENER. THE WARRANTY IS SET UP NOT TO ALLOW YOU TO RETURN TO THE RETAIL STORE. WARRANTY IN EFFECT, HOWEVER RETURN SHIPPING IS MY EXPENSE. THE BOTTOM LINE, PROCTOR SILEX WILL REPLACE THE UNIT BUT AFTER I PAY THE RETURN SHIPPING FOR THEIR DEFECTIVE PRODUCT, I COULD BUY ANOTHER AT A RETAIL STORE. SO THEY KNOW THAT, THEREFORE THE WARRANTY IS USELESS, HAVING TO RETURN THE UNIT TO PROCTOR-SILEX AT MY EXPENSE RENDERS THE WARRANTY BASICALLY USELESS. I BOUGHT ANOTHER BUT IT WASN'T A PROCTOR SILEX. IT APPEARS THE DAY HAS ARRIVED THAT ALMOST ALL APPLIANCES AND THEIR WARRANTIES ARE DESIGNED TO BE DIAPOSABLE. BUYING CHEAP IS NOT ALWAYS THE CHEAPEST, PAYING MORE OFTEN TIMES GIVES YOU THE SAME MOTOR AND TOOLING, JUST CHANGES THE COSMETIC PACKAGE. PACKAGING AND COSMETIC APPEAR SELLS MORE THAN A DURABLE PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Not worth buying

07/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of this brand can opener, from two different stores. I used to like the brand, but I will never buy again. I have to fight constantly to get the can opener to open and can. When I bought brand new, at most, it lasted a couple of months. If I can't find an electric can opener that works longer that this, I might as well use a knife to open a can. The opener may be cheaply priced, but it is still a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Walmart on line is the easiset way to find items

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking in many stores for a can opener, I ordered one from walmart.com. I wonder why there are 6 styles of coffee maker and no can openers? I could have saved a lot of time checking there first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Proctor Silex Can Opener
02/20/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
too light weight at the lower portion. It slides and topples over when the can is placed.
You have to steady the opener when you use it. I have only 2 hands, seems to require
4. Cuts nicely though. Not suitable for women with arthritic hands. Men with strong hands, no
problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Delivered what it promised.

10/27/2013
By ,
Monore, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased and returned two competing brands before we tried this can opener. Each of the three brands boast of having the same features but the Proctor Silex was the only one that delivered what it promised. Our main objective was simply to open cans. One of the competitors did not even do that. We are very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Good

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Proctor Silex Can Opener
03/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the same can opener for 20 years and was upset when it finally quit working. I searched all over for good reviews on a can opener and this one had more good, then bad. So far I like it. It has taken me a bit to get use to the "hands free" part of it, but I do support the can - just in case. I haven't had any problems starting cans or cutting them. It is a lot lighter weight then the old one I just had, but so far haven't found too heavy of a can that would tip it over.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

nice can opener but......

10/07/2011
By ,
hixson tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my can opener but every time I use it I have to fight to get the can to be opened started. Why can it not be easier to put the can under opener and get it to open? I use the opener every single day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Proctor Silex Can Opener

05/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this opener less than a week & it is now useless. Unfortunately I destroyed the box so am unable to return it. It opened 2 cans before it died!!!!!!!
Would gladly send it back but without a container I hold very little hope that I would get anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Great can opener, looks & works fine, costs little

01/14/2012
By ,
Indialantic, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently purchasef a Black & Decker black electric can opener, at twice the cost of this Procter Silex unit, that just wouldn't work easily! It is now relegated to my garage work bench where its knife sharpening function works just fine! It looked pretty, but is a bummer!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

average product for the price

08/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little lite in weight, tips over easily. Overall a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

replace had one I had before. Does the job.

06/27/2014
By ,
Smyrna, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If something works good replace it with the same
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Nice can opener

08/28/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 87 year old mother who just moved into a very small apartment. She has serious arthritis in her hands and needed an easy to use can opener. This one is perfect for her. It is easy to use. In addition, it has a knife sharpener on the back. It looks great on the counter and is very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Didn't work

06/15/2014
By ,
Nevada, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Proctor Silex Can Opener didn't work so I took it back to store for refund. The Walmart service desk was very helpful and gave me prompt service. I advise people to do what I plan to do sometime in the future and spend the extra money and purchase a higher quality can opener.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Can opening made easy.

07/01/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make it easy on yourself to open a can because using a hand held can opener was very hard and took too much time and strength. You can put a can in this electric opener and you don't have to hold it in place. Just walk away and pick it up when your ready.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Fine and Dandy

11/14/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, this can opener has worked great. I really like that fact that it can open tall cans. The "puncture" device is sharp and the cutting of the lid is fast. Additionally, the price was right. I'm quite pleased w/ the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Only worked for 4 months

12/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great at first.
We use a can opener 1 time/week, max.
After 4 months, it lost power and would only cut 1/4" section of lid circumference at a time (motor issue).
About 1 week after that, it quit working altogether.
We replaced it with a different brand can opener.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Easy to Use Can Opener

06/01/2013
By ,
Greenville SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product replaced an old can opener that didn't have a removable cutting assembly and had become unacceptably grimy. It is easy to operate, cuts cleanly, and now I can keep it clean and sanitary. The walmart.com price was reasonable and less than other retailers. Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Love it!!!

06/29/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents have had this opener for 5 years and they love it too!! No sharp edges and almost always only takes one revolution. Some very large cans make take two turns.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Proctor Silex Can Opener

Not a good choice

04/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, you need to sembly it by yourself but not a easy thing for a woman generally. So far, it works ok, but I wont recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next