Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Proctor-Silex Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Proctor-Silex Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

The Proctor Silex 4-slice Toaster Oven/Broiler has an appealing black finish to enhance your kitchen decor. It lets you toast, bake, and broil food quickly. The black toaster oven includes a non-stick bake pan, so that baked item doesn't leave any mess behind. The broil rack helps reduce the fat content in the food to keep it delicious, yet healthy. With a drop-down crumb rack and smooth finish interiors, cleaning this automatic shut off toaster is a breeze. A 30 minute timer with a ready bell and automatic shut off allows you to concentrate on other important tasks. The kitchen toaster oven lets you select from various custom setting options that will take over once the cooking is complete.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation77%20 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Great small toaster oven

09/30/2011
By ,
Toms River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was just what I was looking for to replace my defunct toaster: a replacement that could do more than just toast but would not completely take over my limited counter space and not cost too much. (Oh, and go with my other black appliances.) It takes a little experimenting to find just the right degree of toastiness for various kinds of bread using the selector dial, but I would expect that with any new toaster. The oven part heats quickly and uniformly and the controls are easy to read. The door fits a little loosely, but this is not a big problem. I would not treat the door too roughly, or pick the oven up to move it using the door, but I don't think that someone would do that anyway. Overall, this appliance does just what I wanted it to do, and the cost was very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler
12/26/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The temperature knob is a little hard to turn and return to set for darkness of toast. It works pretty well as far as toasting bread and frozen waffles, but I have to be careful to set it very light or it gets too dark and sets off my smoke alarm. The main problem I have with it is in the cleaning of the crumb tray. The tray does not disconnect from the toaster. You have to move it forward from the wall and tilt the whole toaster in order to drop the tray down for cleaning. I tried to clean it from the inside, but it is almost impossible to get all the crumbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Toaster oven

03/30/2014
By ,
Worceser, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it!!!!!!! Don't need to use my big oven!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Compact size fits nicely on the kitchen counter

12/03/2011
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the value I am happy with this toaster oven. The one improvement that would thrill me is a "true" broiler pan. The wire rack and pan do not work very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

not a durable product for an expensive item

12/30/2013
By ,
al usa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ordered online. arrived on time. upon inspection, arrived without damage--but discovered design flaws, such as not found when returned to store where i found a suitable replacement. this product is made with very thin, flexible metal walls to inside of oven. the grooves stamped in the metal, meant to hold the shelf and pan supplied, are not such that they work. the walls flex, and the shelf/pan falls from the intended groove. the replacement toaster oven has no such flimsy construction, but it did cost about ten dollars more. it also has more features, in addition to better construction. it was nice to find the replacement oven in a Walmart store, so that the inspection prior to selection was accomplished easily and without delays.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler
04/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The door on the funit is very lite weight, no tension to keep it from just falling as soon as you touch it. So it has to be handled gently
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Works great, easy to use, inexpensive

12/02/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for...an easy to use toaster oven that toasts evenly and bakes and broils too ! Doesn't take up a lot of counter space and has an automatic shut off which rings when done. Not fancy, but also not expensive, does the job well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

I love it!

01/09/2012
By ,
Queensbury, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this every day and it's just the right size for one person. It's perfect for baking a potato.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Much larger than Walmart's listed dimensions

05/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This appliance is at least 2 inches wider and deeper than Walmart states. Since it wouldn't fit in our appliance drawer, we returned it without using it.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler
04/13/2013
By ,
Orange County, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The day after I placed an order with Walmart for a toaster oven, I received an email from Walmart saying there were more toaster ovens I should consider. I ended up ordering another Proctor-Silex in addition to the one I had previously ordered. Upon receiving them, I compared the two without plugging them in and decided on the first one I had ordered. I decided against this one because it was taller and had directions and cautions in several languages on the controls and on the window that detracted from its appearance. The legs were in front, rather than underneath, which impinged on the counter space.
I wanted an appliance that would take up as little visual and actual space as possible. I could not find a two-slice toaster oven anywhere to replace my old Westinghouse. Both of the Proctor-Silex models had the protrusion in the rear to accommodate a pizza, which I will seldom or never use, but which takes up valuable counter space. In addition to the protrusion, there is a knob to distance the protrusion from the wall or whatever is behind it. The only advantage of this one is that it had a standard book-form operating manual instead of the awkward map-folding style that came with the sleeker one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

What I needed, nothing more, nothing less.

05/15/2012
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just wanted to toast bread (and bagels) and occasionally reheat or broil small items. The controls are not very intuitive but once learned this product works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Good value for price

07/14/2013
By ,
Portland, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started to use. It's a small inexpensive oven we will use when camping. Well designed, easy to clean, just what we wanted and a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

So far, so good...

10/20/2012
By ,
victorville, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had it long enough for durability. Have made toast, and like other reviews, still working on the adjustment. Not as quick as a toaster, but works. Made some yummy gluten free pizzas in it and worked great. Nice fit on the counter, not big, but big enough. Gave it a four because the knobs could have been simpler, however I do like the little picture guides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Disappointed

10/09/2011
By ,
Santee, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm disappointed. It's not as easy to use as our old toaster and it doesn't work as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Makes good toast.

12/29/2013
By ,
Beren County NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this toaster oven for about 6 weeks now and so far it works very well. I only use it for toast and occasionally melting cheese so can not comment on the broil or bake feature.
If you have big bread slices, it will most likely accommodate only two at a time, but we use fairly small sliced whole grain bread, and four slices just fit tightly tucked in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler
04/24/2012
By ,
Port Huron, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just wanted a small one for now. We plan to buy a different and bigger one once we by a house. And my boyfriend uses this one all the time!! He really likes it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

oven toaster

07/08/2013
By ,
Manhattan, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a verey compact unit and seems to function quite nicely. Toasting seems to take a bit longer than I expected but with good results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

the product stopped working in about two months!!

05/31/2013
By ,
New york
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is poorly made and would never buy a Procter silex product again.
Bought this item because of the dimensions. Needed to put in a specific area.
The dimensions listed in the offer were NOT acurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler

Good oven for the price.

05/08/2013
By ,
Homosassa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my camper and have used it only a few times. I like it because it is not to large for the minimal space I have. I wasn't aware of the extension in the rear of the oven so a pizza can fit until I unpacked it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Proctor Silex 4-Slice Toaster Oven/Broiler
03/16/2013
By ,
Nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size style and color.... Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next