Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Shark Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

This 14-pound never loses suction upright vacuum features a unique detachable and portable canister that lifts away for effortless cleaning in and around the home. The extra-large capacity dust cup and Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology trap over 99.99 percent of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. The unique and innovative Dust-Away bare floor attachment with reusable microfiber pad makes everyday cleaning on bare floors quick and easy. Swivel steering provides complete control to maneuver in and around obstacles and furniture, and the motorized brushroll can be turned on or off, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. A pet hair power brush, dusting brush and eight-inch crevice tool provide versatile cleaning throughout the home. A generous 25-foot long power cord makes easy work of cleaning large areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(697 Reviews) 641
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
530
4 stars
107
3 stars
16
2 stars
20
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation93%647 out of 696reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 471 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
530
4 stars
107
3 stars
16
2 stars
20
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Fatal Design Flaw

04/18/2012
By ,
Elkins WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it is advertised that its extremely versitile. It does work good as an upright I will give it that much but as a canister..... lets say I tried to clean the car and its a nightmere. The hose is ultra stiff and extremely short, 6 ft I think, so it constantly tips. the wand is a fixed curve thats sort of bulky in smaller spaces. I figured if I could at least get an extension hose it might work. I called the company and they dont make an extension hose to fit it at all. If you just want this as an upright its good but if you want it to clean your cars, dust celing fans things like that because of the short ultra stiff hose its just horrible.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Best vacuum ever!

10/18/2013
By ,
Bealeton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other bagless vacuum started acting up, so I checked the reviews and found this Shark Professional vacuum. Right from the box it was a dream to use. It took 2 minutes and not a single tool to click the pieces into place. It is very lightweight yet has incredible suction. The canister is the easiest to empty. Two clicks and it's off. It opens from the top and bottom so everything is emptied out. When the beater is on and you put the vacuum upright, the beater turns off automatically. The wand comes out with a simple click while the vacuum is running and you can get at the edges, suck the cobwebs off the wall and more, click the wand back into place with one hand and go back to the floor. This gets stuff another vacuum completely missed. She the photo of the results from going back over a "clean" bedroom floor (done 3 days previously with our old vacuum). I can feel the nap pulled up on our ancient carpet. Also, because it twists and turns and has a relatively small low head, it fits and jiggles into spots my other vacuums would never begin to go to.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Best vacuum I ever had

01/04/2014
By ,
Tipton, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would have to say that this vacuum is worth every penny. I haven't seen a vacuum like this unless you spends 600+ dollars
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

This vacuum is AWESOME!

09/01/2012
By ,
Peoria IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this the other day and I did a 3 foot by 4 foot area with my old vacuum before using the new one in the same area. I couldn't believe the amount of dirt I got out of that little area AFTER using the old vacuum before hand! I'm posting a picture for you to see. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing a new vacuum. What are you waiting for? GO out and get yours now! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Wow! Tiny but Mighty.

06/25/2013
By ,
Lancaster,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this vacuum today. It was very easy to put together and the result was incredible. I always wanted a Dyson, but did not want to pay $500 for a vacuum. After reading all the positive reviews on this bad boy, I decided to give it a try. For starter my carpet looks new, right after the first use and I couldn't believe all the nasty stuff it got out of my carpet. This was a great purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Railroad PA
omg
Posted 04/13/2014
I cleaned a house yesterday, Took me 7 hours to do. She let me use this vacuum and I am getting one today! The most AWESOME cleaner I have ever used. Even better than THE VERY expensive ones. UNREAL.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Best Vacuum EVER!!

07/11/2012
By ,
East Greenville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 some years ago my husband bought us a Kirby ($1200) because he was convinced that they would get nothing out of our carpet because he had just vacuumed and steam-cleaned our carpet the day before. I must say it served us well over those years but then my daughter let me borrow her Dyson one day after a thorough cleaning with the Kirby and the results were similar to that day nearly 20 years prior prompting me to start saving for a Dyson.
Then I started seeing the infomercials where they compare the Shark Navigator Lift-Away to the almost 3x the cost Dyson and it matched the performance. I took my savings and went and purchased the Shark Navigator Lift-Away Professional because it has a larger storage tank, a pet hair attachment and a hard floor vacuum/dusting attachment. I LOVE that I can detach it from the base and vacuum my stairs and ceilings! Best Vacuum EVER!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

AWESOME!

02/25/2013
By ,
Tremonton, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mostly all I can say is AWESOME! I don't know why others have said it is cumbersome..... I had knee surgery six months ago and can use this vac. This is my second Shark and I LOVED my other one, if not for my kids getting a tooth pick stuck in the hose it would still be Fabulous! Although with a little duc tape it is STILL usable. I have a Mastiff that sheds A LOT, if I could add a pic I would but with one pass of the upholstery brush, (going up once and back once) I realized my couch was BLACK! LOL. I will recommend this to ANYONE who is looking for a vac! It is a little heavy but not that bad at all. I have 3 dogs in all and so there is lots of hair, One vacuuming and I got the hair up. I really could go on and on. The two things Shark could improve is a retractable cord and make a steam cleaner for carpets! Just noticed I can put a pic lol
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

This vacuum is great!

04/13/2013
By ,
Clarks Grove, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the type of person who shops around for the best product and for the best price to save money. I looked for weeks on the enternet at vacuums and compared ratings and prices. This vacuum had the best rating over top named vacuums and was half the price. I have only had this vacuum for a week and so far I am impressed. I looked at several reviews on this vacuum and noticed that a lot of customers who rated this vacuum gave it a 5 star and only a few gave it a 1 star. I like that it has several options and attachments to clean your house. We have two dogs a cat and 3 kids and we vacuum at least twice a week and probably should vacuum day to day. Each time we vacuum I am amazed in all the dirt and hair that it picks up. My only complaint is that it could use a longer cord, but that is what outlets are for. This vacuum has a five year warranty and I hope that it last that long if not longer. I strongly recommend that if you want a good vacuum and want to save money, buy this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
COOLVILLE OHIO
SHORT HOSE
Posted 02/09/2014
the hose is REALLY TOO SHORT!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Excellent Vacuum at Excellent Price

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this vaccum for its reputation and selected this particular model for the pet hair attachment and dry mop sweeping attachment for hard floors. Couldn't be more pleased. The vacuum has excellent suction, only need to make one sweep over the carpet and it picks up everything, every little cat and dog hair! You can easily convert to using the attachments in seconds and being able to detach the cannister and hand-carry as you use the attachments makes it so much simpler to get to all those normally hard-to-reach places and is a quick and easy transition. To make it even better, the vacuum is very quiet, at least compared to every other vaccum I've ever used! The cats don't even bat an eye at it and usually they run for the hills! The only feature it doesn't have is a headlamp, but who ever cleans in the dark anyway, LOL! Absolutely love it, can't say enough good things about it. (Paid 10xs the price for my Rainbow 15 years ago and this Shark is 10xs better.)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

SO GLAD I BOUGHT THIS!!!!

12/18/2013
By ,
Ofallon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had a 'nice' vacuum. After living in our house for 7 years (2 kids, 2 cats and also have 'builder grade' carpet) I was ready to replace the carpet in the living room. I hated how worn it looked and looked flat and matted down. I bought this vacuum as an impulse bc I knew my 8 year old vacuum had lost most of its suction and it was just time... so I UPGRADED to a more expensive model that would also do our hardwood floors and steps easily. Reviews on this were great so I thought what the heck. I've had it about a week and CAN'T STOP USING IT!!!! I LOOOOOOVE it!!!! My old worn down carpet looks soft and plush and its all due to the insane suction of this vacuum which has made all the fibers in my carpet stand up...I actually leave footprints in my livingroom after using this :) My carpet looks so much nicer I'm not planning on replacing it anymore. I'm excited to have the carpet cleaned (it's long overdue) and seeing how clean carpet looks after a quick run w this vacuum. I highly recommend this!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Shark Professional

05/01/2012
By ,
Decatur, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have waited for 1 month since I purchased my Shark vacuum so I could give a better review. I love it so far. I read many reviews, and was not sure, but it has unbelievable suction. We have two cats in the house, and it has sucked up SO much hair. The power hand tool to dust furniture sucks up an amazing amount of cat hair. This feature is a huge plus to me. I like the fact that there is no bag to fill up. I can keep the canister emptied. It is light weight and does tip over when using the hose attachment. You can't stretch the hose out far like they say you can or the machine will tip. One thing I find annoying is that the cord comes out of the vacuum close to the floor. I am constantly stepping on the cord or sweeping over it. You have to keep the cord gathered up in your hand to keep it out of your work area. The vacuum swivels around and is easy to handle. The head is small enough that it fits under my kitchen cabinets. I don't believe that there is any perfect vacuum, but I do appreciate plenty of suction and this one fits the bill for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

best vaccum i have owned

03/16/2013
By ,
griswold, ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a kirby and I could tell that it had been slacking on the job, and my house has brand new carpet, well i had purchased my kirby used at a garage sale and the day i ordered the main hose to it, the kirby, when i started vacuuming after one room it decided to go out on me (also the weekend of my sons birthday party and i had 30 people coming over the next day) so i got online and found this shark professional navigator and decided i was going to go to the store and get i. when my husband and i were looking at the other vacuums he tried talking me in to the bissell cause it was cheaper but i insisted on having this one, and i am glad i stood my ground. i fired it up as soon as i got home and i can not believe how dirty my clean (or so i thought was clean) carpet was, the suction is amazing and with my carpet powder my rooms were left smelling amazing, i thought i was going to have a hard time parting with my kirby, but not anymore, now i dont know what i would do without my shark!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Luv it!

10/07/2012
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, well I'm hoping the reason I picked up so much dirt on my first use was because my old vacuum wasn't working so well....I was horrified by the dirt and dust it grabbed! Anyway, I was going to purchase the Dyson pet, but was not happy about the price tag. I caught an info-mercial on this vacuum and decided to investigate. When I did, I was pleased with the reviews and decided to purchase.
It snapped together easily and I was cleaning away in no time. I found it light and maneuverable! There is deffinetely excellent suction! I have 3 furry cats and it picked all the hair up! My old windtunnel was really hard to maneuver and was so bulky. I love that this can snap right off and can be used to clean the stairs, sofas, drapes etc.. I also like the hard floor dust attachment. It glides around my hardwood and tile floors with ease!
Over all I think it was a great purchase, especially for the price. I just hope it lives up to its claim long term and doesn't loose suction....this was the demise of my last few vacuums!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Great vacuum but cleaning filter is a pain

01/11/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to replace our Kenmore Progressive vacuum after getting sick of dealing with replacing the filter so ofter. We have a cat, 5 dogs that are constantly bringing mud in with them, along with serious amounts of dog hair. I ran this right after vacumming with my Kenmore and it picked up a lot of fine dirt and pet hair that our other vacuum left behind. We have had it about 2 months and it still has fantastic suction. It is lightweight and easily maneuvered.
What I really don't like is the washable spongue filter and the hose that is too short or too tight. It says you only need to wash the spongue every three months, but here I need to do it more frequently. It takes way too long to dry and I really don't like trying to get the spongue clean, not that it ever gets completely clean. When using the attachments the sweeper constantly falls over. However the attachments do have fantastic suction and cleans the dust and hair off the curtain wonderfully. Besides the spongue filter and the hose I think this is a great sweeper.
So all in all it is a great sweeper that could use a few improvements.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Madison fl
Sponges...
Posted 07/02/2013
you can purchase another sponge set for when you wash one to air you can pop the other one in. I have the Navigator and it came with two sets. but I lost one set it is packed up somewhere so I purchased another one, so I have now three sets...LOL
Sharks are awesome!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Oh how I wanted to love this machine...

11/26/2013
By ,
Franklin, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off, the suction on this thing IS great. It's the hose that blows..... I use my vacuum for dusting as well as vacuuming. On my carpets and floors it did a great if not amazing job! I then use the hose and attachments for under the couches, the stairs, the nooks and crannies, the windowsills, etc. The hose on this is so short that the machine constantly falls over whether it's attached to the base or not. I had read another review that said this before I purchased, but I just assumed that person hadn't used it long enough and the hose was still new and stiff. Well I've given it 3 weeks of regular use - I even stretched the hose out across the couch while not in use - and it's still impossible. I kept thinking I could get used to the short hose but after multiple bursts of profanity, I realized that it was not worth the stress.
I'm genuinely disappointed because on floors it really is wonderful. Ah well, back to the store it goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

This one's a keeper!!! RIP Dyson!!!

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a loyal Dyson owner since 2001.
My last Dyson was my favorite and I truly believed I would not find a better vacuum. However, when it finally swept its last floor, we did not have the extra money to purchase another Dyson.
I went out on a limb and purchased this gem, and I am glad I did! I must say that the informational videos included for this vacuum were the deal breaker for me. I really liked being able to see the attachments included and how to remove the canister from the vacuum.
Here is a breakdown of pros and cons:
Pros:
- Lightweight
- Removable canister is superb
- Pet Brush is great for stairs and couches
- Suction is superior
- Canister is easy to empty
- Filter is easy to clean
- Swivel head is an absolute dream
- Swivel head is narrow enough to fit under kitchen cabinets
- Dust mop attachment is completely awesome
Cons:
- The white color shows smudges/scuffs
- Cord is slightly short
I purchased the bundle set that came with the Shark Steam Mop. Great value!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

over rated

06/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the shark thinking it was worth the price it works fine on bare floors and low carpets but itry to use it on a thick rug it very hard to push you have to really put muscle into it for it to clean
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

Great Vacuum With Pluses and Minuses

08/18/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Okay, I just lost my Dyson Animal in my divorce. So I have tried the Shark and have owned the Dyson and I have some observations and comparisons. The pluses of the Shark: MUCH lighter than the Dyson, maneuvers much like the "ball" on the Dyson, has great suction, the wand is easier to us than the clunky Dyson wand, there's a floor attachment for cleaning flat surfaces like laminate floors and hardwood. The minuses: the width of the cleaning head area is much smaller than Dyson, the disposal of the waste has clips on the side that are harder to remove than the one touch system on the Dyson, the stair cleaning attachment agitator stops when applying very little pressure, pretty loud. So there's my 2 cents. Overall, for under $200, so far I am impressed. I paid $600 for my old Dyson that the ball and chain now has. Glad I don't have to lug that heavy beast up and down stairs any longer. I am just hoping the vacuum lasts and doesn't lose suction as advertised on the box. Only time will tell. After 2 weeks, I love this vacuum for value and performance!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

I give it 4 and a HALF stars.....very good!

02/12/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Kenmore canister that lasted at least 13 years but wanted to try a bagless upright as I'm sure I have spent a small fortune on bags over the years. Well, it IS powerful, as I vacuumed about every other day with my Kenmore and THOUGHT I was getting the carpet clean.....but then the first several times I used this I pretty much filled it with gray ugly dirt/hair/grime/dust....kinda gross looking at it but I was happy it was in the vacuum rather than my carpet. It is powerful, much easier to navigate and use than my old Kenmore, and I'm glad I bought it; however, I think I have to knock off just a half a star as when I empty the cup I always spill at least some of the dust/dirt and ever inhaled some the first time. I am sure I'll become a little more proficient at doing that though. Can't comment on the lift-away feature as haven't used that yet, but I think that will be great when I want to vac out my car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Professional Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum, NV355

This is an awesome vacuum!

04/23/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing this machine doesn't pick up is Cocoa Pops! After two really stinky vacuum cleaners, this is a breath of fresh air in my home (literally). I feel like I am cleaning better than ever before. Love the swivel feature too; makes it easier to manuever. The feature that was most important to me was that it would clean wood floors as 90% of my floors are wood with rugs on them. Every other vacuum cleaner I've had that claimed they would clean wood floors always spit all the dirt out the back onto my feet and legs. This Shark vacuum cleaner is super at cleaning wood floors. Absolutely no dirt spitting out the back! I've got a dog who chews up stuffed animals and this vacuum cleans up all the "stuffing". My dog does not shed, so I don't know how it would do with pet hair, but my guess is "fabulous". As you can tell, I am completely sold on this Shark product. It was worth every penny spent! I highly recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 642 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next