Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Slice through the woods on the Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike. Bumps, rocks and roots don't stand a chance anymore when you're riding this big Mongoose 29er. The men's mountain bike based on an aluminum, full-suspension frame boasts an SR Suntour suspension fork for a smooth, controlled ride, a durable 3-piece crank and SRAM twist shifters that move easily through 21 speeds. The Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike also sports front disc brakes and rear V-brake, for unparalleled stopping power on any terrain. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%27 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

OK bike

10/27/2011
By ,
SoCal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the bike. It looked good and the fitment was good for me at 5'11" 200lb. My weight was no problem for the suspension. Sag was where I thought it should be and had ample travel.
Solid shifting.
Why I am returning it...
- the front suspension was not smooth. It was binding and motion was jerky. Not sure how to fix, so this was the return issue.
- The front disk brake was not great. I could not lock the front tire. I cleaned the disk with brake clean and rode... maybe a mile occasionally dragging the front brake to 'set' it in, but I could not get a good feel. The rear brake was excellent and the front worked fine, but it would not grab fully. I like to lock up the front and raise the rear wheel (a stoppie) for fun and I could not. This would have been acceptable, but the front suspension added to this issue just made me unhappy.
I would recommend for the casual rider. I'm sure the front-end suspension was an issue with this bike and probably not all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
the can lock up
Posted 02/28/2012
the front disk can lock you just tighten both settings on it, the inside brake pad should be almost touching and the outside one the same and make sure their straight and even if not take the brake apart and straighten them and then they should lock up
+1point
Customer Avatar
Novi, MI
No stoppies?
Posted 10/29/2011
I think that's why the disc brake up front. A stoppie going down hill on a mountain bike means a flyee down the hillee.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good for the price

11/23/2011
By ,
Canoga Park CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this bike today and it almost seemed too good to be true, well..... it was. On my first ride around my neighborhood, most of the gears wouldn't shift and there was this constant clicking sound coming from them. The suspension on the bike is AMAZING and whenever I go over larger cracks of curbs, I barely feel anything. Although the suspension is great, I would still recommend a memory foam seat cover which is what I got because the seat is very hard and there is no built in cushion. The bike overall is very sturdy and has great suspension but the gears seem to have problems so I'm going to my local bike shop to get them fixed for around 30 bucks which is highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 3 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent Bike for the Price

09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was between this bike, a Schwinn, and the Genesis. I chose this bike due to the size and the overall look of the bike. I couldn't judge it in person as it was not in stores in my area so looks were what I was mainly going off of. When the bike came it was easy to assemble and get ready to ride. There isn't a part of this bike that seems cheaply made and I have yet to find a flaw while riding it. The only thing is that some adjustments may need to be made to the brakes to get the front disc brake functioning properly but it is really simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+112points
Review 4 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike
10/30/2011
By ,
San Antonio Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this bike, the seat must go very uncomfortable. Everything else is great, I like the higher ride height, gears change smoothly, brakes are sharp. I like the way it looks and I get a lot of compliments from other riders. I've owned her about month I try to ride daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 5 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Enjoy This

03/02/2012
By ,
bayamon, pr
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For us big guys, over 6'5", 270, i beleive this bike is great, use 4 times a week, about 60+ miles, run good. Also like that it arrive four days before was expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Review 6 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great value!

02/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed new bike for bike path riding. As a senior the shock absorbers make the ride very smooth and enjoyable. Delivers both performance and comfort at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Review 7 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great way to get a 29er

01/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took off a star because the inner tubes were pinched or something and the back tire blew out and bent my rim. I was planning on replacing the rims anyway though.
Its a nice looking bike and if you are into big box frames then this is a super way to get in the 29er game. If you are going to ride it a lot be sure to check spoke tension, inner tubes and pretty much everything that was pre-assemebled to make sure it is done right.
For the price you know what you are getting here and primarily that is a very decent 29er frame. The rest of the equipment is usable until you can upgrade it or take very good care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 8 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent Bike and Price

06/01/2012
By ,
Hinesville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After going through 2 Genesis OneX 29er's, One was stolen and the other was pure junk which I took back. After waiting a month I decided to buy another Bike from Wal-mart. I seen this Mongoose Hatchet 29" for 219.00 US bucks, I started to examine the bike and discovered it had a flat tire(rear). I asked the bicycle personel if they could put some air in so I could test my weight out on it, and He pointed me toward the Tire and Brake center where they accommodated me with no questions asked.
The front and rear derailuers were right on, but the rear brake needed some adjustment. I will be replacing the rear brakes with some disc brakes. All-In-All....Bike is fantastic and so was the help at the Hinesville, Ga. Wal-mart Store.
I would reccommend this bike to anyone that wants to take up bike riding as a hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike!

02/22/2012
By ,
Amarillo Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this bike Saturday and he loves it. I wanted a new bike too, so I thought I'd give his a whirl... Lol, it's a bit beefy for me, as I'm 5'3, but I had a good time on it, showing off that I could handle the size. So today, I went and bought the exact same bike for myself. I have to tip it to the side to get on and off, but I like it! It's built really well and rides nicely. Hopefully, after spending that kind of money, these bikes will last a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike
02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike! Very solid construction. Good idea to take all new bikes to be tuned up at your local bike shop. Some of the previous reviews are misleading. They show they need to get the bike tuned. Once that is done you should be fine. This bike should be able to handle anything you through at it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denton County, Texas
Looking at the 29"Mongoose, Genesis, & Costco's
Posted 05/24/2012
Just like the way this bike looks, feels, rides, and operates, as I've ridden it in the Walmart store...as the Wal-Mart in Highland Village, TX (southern Denton County, TX) has a bike shop, well equipped and a great addition to this NEWLY BUILT (new style) outside look, to be accepted in this higher income community on the south side of Lake Lewisville, TX. So, my reading and looking and riding is over!! finally~~ as I've decided on the 29" Mongoose bike, having the wal-mart bike shop, change out my seat, and put all the basic accessories on the bike, to be road--trail happy camper!! :-)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Happy Feelling!!!!

07/01/2012
By ,
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I stand at 6-5" and weigh 245lbs. I ride this bike about 3-4days out of a week and the only change I had to make was the seat of course. I can't speak for no one else, but this bike is tough as nails and so far I'm satisfield. However, if I could change anything it would be the ability to adjust the height of the handlebars.. but overall the Hatchet is proving itself trustworthy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 12 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Overall the bicycle is good, rear sprocket failed

06/28/2012
By ,
chula vista ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall the bicycle is good, rear sprocket failed with in 2 weeks. Cost of replace for rear better constructed sprocket was $29.00. They bike was used for its intended purpose-riding
No hard used sprocket still failed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

New Bike

04/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this....great looking bike....took it for a test spin....great fit as I am 6'3" and 225...had to switch out seats for a gel padded one....had to adjust rear brake after using it a few times....paid 219 on line....went to pick it up and the cost was 154.....great, great surprise....the 29" size is a godsend....I hope it serves me well on the local rail trail.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 14 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

A lot of bike for the price

08/06/2012
By ,
Red Oak, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this a few weeks ago for $219. My wife thought it was red ... I thought orange. Looked at it again over the weekend & it was on sale for $154. It was a steal at that price. The seat had a small cut in it & there were a few scratches on the frame but its a mountain bike. 29" wheels are the way to go nowadays. Also disc brakes in the front. Nice suspension. Grip shifters work fine. Rear brake no disc. Hooked up my baby seat to it. The kids love it. Lets roll!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 15 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great deal!!!

07/11/2012
By ,
Summerton, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got my bike about a month ago and it’s a great bike. The book tells ya to run half of the air pressure that the tire needs, that explains why people are bending rims, I am running 50 PSI. I had to change the seat, I am not 20 anymore but that is not a big deal! (lol) It is a nice bike for the money. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a great bike an and good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike
03/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
okay so I just got this bike had to tighten everything but that was exspected it being a walmart bike the one problem I found is the first gear sproket was not tightened so when I first got on and peddled it just spun but it got tight after a few rides up a hill, also the rims weren't straight so I had to straighten those but thats easy if you got the tool. the bike its self is great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

great value and good starter bike

07/17/2012
By ,
lebanon me
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought 2 online put together myself one damaged in shipping minor rip in seat and marks in frame and pacific cycle is sending me a new seat otherwise its a nice bike overall
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 18 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Buy!

07/28/2012
By ,
North, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well...you know how sometimes you are are down on Walmart. This purchase was excellent. I ordered online on a Tuesday and received this bike by Fedx on Friday, FAST. The bike is great. It's a lot better than I expected for this low price. This bike could easily sell for much more. I'm 6'5" and it fits well. I will note that it doesn't have a bolt tapped water bottle holder area, you will need a strap-on type. I had to attach my tire pump to the front folk, due to the frame thickness. Overall I would buy this again and I may buy more for a rental fleet. I like the comfortable ride and the nice looking style/colors.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Looks nice but poor technology

07/18/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my Grandson as his first mountain bike, so I did not want to invest big money. I had to send the first one back due to poorly manufactured parts that where tooled imperfect. The second bike (same model) had other less troublesome imperfections like stripped set screws, a slit in the rear of the bike seat etc. I was able to overcome these problems since I am pretty handy myself and kept it anyway, but I was less than satisfied. I had no trouble returning the first bike to my local store. Both bikes were well packaged but poorly made. Be ware!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 20 for Mongoose Hatchet 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Be careful not to bend the rims ....

05/06/2012
By ,
Columbus Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the bike for only one week, my family and I went onto the local bike trail and the front rim bent on me from just vering slightly off the concrete path, and it's supposed to be a "mountain bike". That was hardly a mountain. I took it back
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next