Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Mongoose 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

The Mongoose XR-PRO 29" Men's Mountain Bike's combination of 29" wheels and dual suspension make it the ultimate machine for rough trails. Bumps, rocks and roots don't stand a chance anymore when you take this big Mongoose PRO bike off road. The Mongoose XR-PRO 29" Men's Mountain Bike is outfitted with the features you need for eating up dirt trails: a full-suspension frame supports a sturdy mtb SR Suntour suspension fork that provides a smooth, controlled ride. Front and rear disc brakes give the stopping power you want when you take this Mongoose full suspension bike into trickier terrain. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%75 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

XR-PRO 29er. It won't cost you an arm and a leg.

09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Conclusion: This bike has been a blast to ride stock. It has a solid frame, which is what I bought this bike for. Once things are set up properly they work as they should. Shifting is adequate for urban and most cross country riding. Most of the components are quality though a bit out dated. Cranks are solid and should stand up to some abuse. Taller riders will need to replace seat tube. Though this frame is only a medium it rides bigger while having turning characteristics of a 26” wheeled bike. The seat was the weakest of the components lasting less than a ride. The frame shock is the second weakest component but depending on the rider and the riding done might be acceptable for them. I bought this bike for the frame and I would say that it is well worth the 379.00 given that your not going to find any other 29er full suspension frame for less than 1000.00. Furthermore you get all the components for that 379.00 so you can actually ride while you gathering the components you ultimately want on your ride. I fully expect this frame to be able to withstand riding up to the all mountain level and possibly downhill depending on the upgrades to suspension and stem. While the crankset is strong and capable I look forward to upgrading them with a higher end set that has ramps in the chainrings to assist in more responsive shifting as well as shifting under loads which this stock set does not do. There is quite a bit of pedal bob due to the cheap spring frame shock but was not enough to deter me from riding every chance I get. With the spring shock fully preloaded the bob was bearable and for lighter riders will be even less a problem. Weight was acceptable 35lbs which will be shaved down closer to 30 once upgrades begin to find there way onto the frame. If you are looking to break into the 29er scene but don't want to be broke getting there I would highly recommend this bike. And though Walmart is not a bike shop they do however, give you 90 days to return it, if it isn't right for you. What bike shop is going to let you ride for 3 months and then return it? If your looking for the lightest frame with the best components, capable of extreme downhill and freeride this is not the bike for you. But if your someone that wants to ride a full suspension 29er, without taking out a second mortgage, that is fun and will make you want to ride it, and seeks a frame that one can grow into with upgraded components, capable of most types of riding from urban to mild downhill, than this bike just might be the ticket.
FULL REVIEW broken down by component can be seen at:
http://bigboxbikes.com/viewtopic.php=2&t=499&sid=1c139488b367d0322ad2356b9f959998&start=80
or http://forums.mtbr.com/29er-bikes/29ers-officially-mainstream-mongoose-full-suspension-29er-now-walmart-736227.html#post8488306
Note" If your bike isn't set up properly it may not shift correctly or stop as it should. This is not really the responsibility of Walmart. The bikes come direct from factory 90% preassembled. The store just tightens the handlebars down and puts the seat and pedals on. Things can be bent like the derailleur hangers or brake discs. Once things are straightened and adjusted properly the components will usually work as intended. If you have operational problems take it to a bike shop where an experienced repair person can set it up correctly and have them show you what they did so you can do it also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Everything I needed for a great price!

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We went into Wal-Mart looking for a basic bike just to ride for casual bike rides, not wanting to spend a lot of money and after about three hours of price comparing, reading online reviews, and test driving, I decided on this one. It is just awesome. Sleek, comfortable, very nice disc-brake system, quick release front and back tires, excellent button click up or down gear system. I paid a little more than I was expecting to pay for a bike that day but came away with a bike I will have and love for years to come. I ordered online and had the bike shipped to my house where I easily assembled it in about half an hour. This saved me some money as the price was cheaper online and gave me a mint condition bike that I am very happy with thus far. I am looking forward to many years of use and making some customized improvements to give it a personal touch.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great handling bike :)

07/26/2014
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not ridden or owned a bike for over 30 years. I was about 12 the last time I pedaled a bike. I have ridden plenty of super sport motorcycles, which puts my last purchase of a Yamaha around two months ago. I enjoy my Mongoose so much that I have not ridden my M/C for over a week. For a mountain bike it is so smooth on the streets of NYC, plus it's great excersice. The bike gets so many looks, which I feel it will def get stolen soon. My only complaint is that no kickkstand is made for this bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Outstanding bike for a Lowprice!!

08/09/2012
By ,
Cherryville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive been wanting to get back into bike riding for some time now but didnt have the funds to fork out for a bike at local bike shop ($1,000+) for there LOWEND BIKE. I did about 4 months of research and came up with the cash finally to spend on getting this bike. I will have to say that I am very pleased with this bike right out of the box. But I will be honest and say that this bike will have to have upgrades/replacement parts done to it eventually. I figured that this will give me time to replace them as they wear down, and building up your bike is just as much fun as riding it a lot of times!! Ive done a little over 200 miles with this bike and have yet to have a problem with it. I urge everyone who buys a bike of any kind to properly clean, maintain, and tune it before and after each ride. This will ensure a safe and pleasurable ride each time plus prolong the bike and its components lifetime. If anyone has any questions or would just like to read up on how others have had such a great experience with this bike please feel free to check out bigboxbikes.com and look it up in the 29er section. They also have many other forums for most all bikes sold at department stores. That way you can get a better understanding on what your buying and wont get mislead by a few ppl who had a bad experience. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this product and riding as much as I and many others have!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike for beginners!!!

11/25/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice bike for this money, just a little heavy (37lbs). Design is awesome, solid frame!!! Just upgraded with new seat and seat post, new RockShox 6.5x2, Avid brake levers, new CST tires 29x2.25, will be upgraded with new brakes and rotors (AVID BB7) and more... It's much cheaper than new bike in specialized store... That's my opinion only...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike for a First Timer

09/11/2013
By ,
SE Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this bike for about a year now, have put about 500 miles on it and am very satisfied with the product. I think that the strong points of this bike are its upscale components. My local bike shop was impressed. The only weak point that I've encountered is the weight. I wish it were a little lighter but I can deal with that. I bought the bike off the store floor so it was already assembled. It has been to the bike shop once for a sticky shifter that cost me all of $15 for the adjustment. It now shifts very smoothly. So being a retired guy, I have found that the dirt trails are not for me and pavement is really the way to go. My rides average about 20-30 miles 4 times a week. To this point, I have swapped out the tires for something a little slicker, the saddle, for something a little softer and being about 5'10", I installed a longer seat post, as it was pointed out to me it did not extend far enough into the frame for my type of riding. I really enjoy this bike and my rides when I go out. I would recommend it to anyone that is new to the sport. Its a great bike giving you a number of options as to the type of riding you want to do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike for the money!

04/07/2014
By ,
Xenia Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has a lot of features for the price. This same bike would cost 500-600 dollars at a bike shop. I am 5-9 and 170pounds and the suspension is perfect for me and can be adjusted. The shifters are nice but took me a little while to get used to. The derailleurs needed to be adjusted -take your time and get it right, you will be happy you did. The seat is more comfortable than other bikes I have ridden. The wheels are quick release so you can swap road tires in seconds. The seat is quick release as well. The disc breaks also had to be adjusted, but once done, work well. I will ride this Bike off road more than on the road but it does both well. I am very happy with this bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

everything i needed...

10/30/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...right out of the box, put it together quickly, went for a quick ride, made some adjustments.
hit the trail, urban ride, started hitting big jumps for air, cuts & climbs over anything i've thrown
at it, wiped out a few times, pick'd it up, dust'd it off and nothing broke or bent.
for the money, AWESOME purchase and when i wear stuff out...there's room for UPGRADES,
but not anytime soon!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Best bang for the buck!

10/17/2011
By ,
Michigan's upper peninsula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read reviews on several forums about this mountain bike and decided to make my purchase, ordered site to store and assembled the bike myself, easy to do! The bike is a joy to ride and takes on almost anything! I test rode a Giant and Trek and this bike is almost as good for 1/3 of the price! Some upgrades are planned such as the Bottom Bracket and rear shock but they work out of the box! Great value and loads of fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Sort of a good bike

11/21/2011
By ,
Portland, Or
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My last mongoose was a Mongoose DH-team.
http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-Mongoose-DH-Team-Dual-Suspension-Mountain-Bike/5585806
so it was the same sort of bike but 26inch wheel. and that bike lasted 4 years of abuse and i mean abuse and with well over 3,000 miles on it . in fact it still works but the breaks need repair and front fork no longer has movement.
As for the XR-PRO i thought it would be a great bike. a bike that would last me 6 years if i just take it easy and keep it inside when not in use. But i found out i was wrong, and i should of known, at first you will see the rear suspension is not balanced correctly. and does not move freely as it should. Second the front suspension fork starts to squeak after 2 months. Third, after 81 days of owning the bike the crank bearing started to fail. now i did not ride this bike hard as i felt hard to trust it. i used it just to get to and from work so maybe 180 miles on it.
so here it is
Pros:
good bike if you want to change parts and reconfigure the rear suspension
rims were well built but cheap
front fork had good movement and lots of adjustments can be made
paint was clean looking, tho i don't know why they hide there name under the scribbles
Cons:
cant use thicker tires
bad balance designed on rear suspension
front fork may fail within one year of owning the bike due to lower quality rubber seal
low quality crank bearing
higher stiffness rear shock then what is shown in the photo . you will now see there are now 2 different shocks shown in the photos of the bike. now it is because i contacted mongoose about lower quality shock and there answer was to contact walmart and have them change the photos.
even tho its two different shocks it does not correct the balance issue with the movement of the rear suspension but the softer one does help the issue
sad part is maybe one more day on the drawing board and this may not be the case. with little changes this could of been a great bike. i have returned the bike and am now looking for a better one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent product

02/21/2013
By ,
Hot springs, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is an awesome buy... For the money it is comparable to an entry level bike at ur local bike shop... I ride motocross and cross country races on dirtbikes so I'm hard on my bikes and after several hard rides it has held up... However I will be upgrading tires and rear shock to a fox rp23... But great bike for the money and upgradable if parts begin to break...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

would not recoment YET

07/25/2012
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
heres the story, bought it from walmart.com using site to store. got it in about 5 days which was great. picked it up from the store today. when everything was said and done, it took almost 45 minutes to put together and tune the brakes and gears. it was very easy. i think i used one wrench, two allen keys and a phillips head screwdriver. im 5'6" and 140 and its a little big for me. i have very short legs which is probably the problem. but its a little tall. now comes the upsetting part. first ride after everything got dialed in, did a little bunny hop over a tree limb,(maybe 4 inches off the ground). i heard a pop, clank, and the rear wheel locked up. i looked back to find that i pulled the head of a spoke out of the rim, and snapped the rear derailleur in half. now i dont totally hate this bike yet. as of now i am not a fan but im going to return it and try my luck again.
about the bike: the brakes are great once tightened and tuned. the gears are great once tightened tuned. the shifters will take a little getting used to. both are thumb switches. but it shifts very nicely once set up. which by the way is very easy. putting it together took about a half hour. the front shocks are a great. there are knobs on top of the shocks them selves but i dont think they are real adjusters. the rear shock is basically useless. it does nothing to dampen the bumps, but it could also be due to the fact that i am rather light. the seat is not the most comfortable thing iv sat on but it gets the job done. over all it looks great, and rides great. im going back to walmart to try to exchange it for another one in hopes that it wont break that easily, but if that doesnt work. i think im going to go to a bike shop and get a nice hardtail for $400.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
new york
changing my review
Posted 08/04/2012
since i cant review this bike twice im doing it here. i returned the one that broke and got a new one. this new one is bullet proof. i purposly put it through its paces. since i got the bike about 2 or 3 weeks ago i have done nothing but downhill sections. some big roots and rocks and some pretty big drops. i even went as far as doing a 4 and a half foot drop onto concrete. there was alot of chain slap but nothing broke, everything is tight. i guess the only product of my beatings have been: a squeeky headtube. i think thats whats squeaking. and the cable of the rear derailure loosened slightly. the seat is very uncomfortable at first but a person can actually get used to it. the rear shock needs to be replaced. it doesnt do much. but all in all. i love this bike. i ride it about 15 to 20 miles a day. mostly on things like fire roads, crushed gravel paths, some single track style trails, but it also gets its fair share of sidewalks. but its pretty solid.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Awesome MTB for any level!!

03/24/2014
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is awesome!!!
It came in 3 days to my door,,only problem was the front brake pad was hanging up a bit,,loosened the caliper squeezed the brake lever held it there and tightened the caliper bolts,,now its perfect,,i did have to tune up the front and rear derailleurs,,they where ok out of the box but indexing was a bit off in middle gears on cassette...front forks are OK they work good for the price,,I will upgrade to Tower Expert soon,,rear shock is junk,,its just a spring so I will need to upgrade to a DMN air shock with dampening rebound...also looks like all the parts are standard up gradable,,,the frame on this thing is worth over $400 alone,,made by Kent,,awesome welds,,i pretty much bought the bike just for the frame as i will upgrade most of it in time...out of the box its plenty fun and ready to go,,so enjoy yourself on this 29'er..thanks Walmart for making this happen for me at such a reasonable price,,now I can ride with the big dogs!!
Tom from Jersey...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Appears to be a great value for a FS 29" MTB

02/13/2013
By ,
Matthews, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart will not give me enough time to let me really try this out, so here is what I think so far.... Appears to be a really good value for a full suspenion type 29" Mountain Bike - especially if you refuse to spend $1500 to $2k for a bike. I took it to a bike shop to have it put together - the younger mechanic just rolled his eyes, but the older guy put it together for me and gave me some feed-back. Shock is just average, but seat, brakes and gearing all seem to be better quality than he would have expected. May need wider tires for muddier conditions. It rode great the 5 miles or so that I have riden it so far - 1 week's worth. It did come with 2 left peddles, but the people at Mongoose answered the phone in California and had me the new set overnight. So far great service! My bike may be a one-of-a-kind - the metal emblem on the front was installed up-side down. Hope this is helpful - maybe I'll up-date my review at some point, but if I dont - it means that I am satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price. Wal-Mart high price bike

10/12/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to start at hundred fifty dollar range for a trail bike, because I haven't ridden in a while and did not want to over spend on a bike.
After reading reviews posted here convince me to look at this bike even though price was more I wanted to spend. Locating Wal-mart store that had one. (supposedly assembled) in my area.
The negative: NO KICKSTAND! I know its a mountain bike and should be light as possible, but I hate to trash my bike by laying it down or against brick wall. As far as assembly yes it assembled but not tuned, (derailleur and disk pads) not adjusted.
I recommend taking it to your Pro bike shop for a good tune and some upgrades, before some serious trail rides.
New grips, lights and speedometer.
Nice ride on the trail.
29" wheels and Full suspension soaks up the bumps well, feels fast also.
Seat works OK for now.
Pedals are aluminum, not plastic.
Disk brakes great control stopping power.
Great frame, five year warranty. Good starter bike to build from.
Four hundred for the frame is bargain and the rest is free.
Columbus took a chance! Look what happen.
I did 10/12/2011
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike !!!

02/08/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 72 years old (retired engineer) and was looking to modify a bike into a cruiser / hybrid with all the bells and whistles. I also did not want to take a second mortgage on my house in the process. I did an extreme amount of research and was really impressed with the 29” Mongoose XR-PRO MTB from Walmart. You will not find a MTB with all the features that this bike has for $379.00. The only major upgrade I made was a wider and softer seat which I knew would do automatically. I added the following creature comforts.
Mileage Computer
Rear Beam Cargo Rack
Rear Kick Stand
Water Bottle And Holder
Adjustable Stem
Stem Riser
I typically ride 10 miles a day and really enjoy this bike. I know this is not the typical use for this bike but it matches my requirements to a “T”. If your requirements are similar to mine you will love this bike.
I ordered this bike on line and the delivery was 4 days. It was easy for me to assemble and only required minor adjustments. If you are not mechanically inclined at all, you should have it assembled by your local bike shop. I hope this review was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Good ride

01/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike site to store in august 2011 and had it assembled and on the road in about 2 hours. The gears worked good out of the box and the front brake needed minor adjustment. This bike rides and handles great. The full suspension and big wheels smooth out the roughest broken and pot holed pavement. I take this bike down some of the poorest maintained streets in town that I avoid when riding my rigid frame road bike. I Took this bike to a nearby state park and rode the mountain bike trails. It handled rocks, small tree trunks and lots of mud since there had been heavy rain the day before. I rode into the ravines and zigzagged between trees in the woods. The next day I took the bike for a ride on the unpaved towpath trail along the river. I found out that the disc brakes work good in heavy rain when I got caught in a sudden summer storm miles from home. ...I had been looking for a dual suspension 29er with disc brakes for some time. I couldn't touch one with this equipment at any bike shop for under $2000.00. This one is a great value and has handled everything I have thrown at it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great foundation.

06/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike, It's a good buy, worth the money. There is a few things that need an upgrade like the rear shock, but over all good parts and frame. I picked this one up already put together. It was scratched and the head had water in it (couldn't figure that one out). I only knew because from time to time I would see rusty water. The brakes needed adjusting as well as everything else, but I know from experience it is going to get scratched and worked on many times, so it didn't bother me much. Over all very happy with it, but with Walmart not so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike and value but be ready for adjustments

10/23/2011
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this online because of great value and features but I expected it would not be ready to ride upon arrival so I was not surprised when:
-brakes needed to be tightened beyond minor (~$15 at bike shop)
-rear derailleur hanger was bent in (prob from being placed on side and crushed while in box) and needed adjustment to allow shifting to larger cogs (I made repairs)
-rear rim a bit out of true and tire w slight wobble (noticeable on spin but not too bad; about $10 repair to rim, I can live w tire)
-kickstand not provided but Mongoose says they will send me one
Overall, I am very happy with this bike and will keep it. I paid for repairs above but it is still a great value. I recommend this bike (or any Walmart/big box bike) to anyone that is willing to put some more $ or time into it but if you are looking for a no hassle "just ride it out of box/store", this may not be for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 29" Mongoose XR-PRO Men's Mountain Bike

Mongoose XR Pro 29"

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived double boxed, no damage. Instructions are a little vague. The front brake disk rubbed slightly on the fork when the wheel was tightened...took a little filing down of a small burr on the fork to fix but nothing major.
The gears worked very well right out of the box. The brakes need a little adjusting. The seat is comfortable but even for an average height person (I'm 5'8") the seat could use a little more height adjustment.
The components seem to be fairly good quality for a budget-priced bike. I'm confident this bike will do all I need and then some. It's a good looking bike, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next