Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Cruise the boardwalk or the sidewalk in style with this classic Schwinn Point Men's Cruiser Bike. The lightweight, yet durable aluminum frame provides a comfortable, upright riding position. This classic 26" cruiser bike is more than just the frame — swept-back handlebars, easy 7-speed gearing, pull brakes and stylish fenders mean you'll know that you're riding a classic Schwinn cycle. With a rear rack, light aluminum construction, and a quality, padded Schwinn saddle, this Schwinn beach bike will become a fast favorite cycle for hitting the trail or just tooling around town. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn Point Men's Cruiser Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.301 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%83 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Pretty good bike.

12/19/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
But only for cruising around the block.
Got my bike in about 5 days. It was packed well and had no damage. I put it together myself but I have had some experience with bikes and had all the tools. If the assembly guys at your Walmart are any good you might want to let them put it together. Make sure you tell them to lubricate all the bearing. There was no grease in my wheel bearing at all so I checked all the other parts and they had not be lubricated either. I think you will need to learn to make adjustments to your brakes and derailer yourself or you will be taking it to a bike shop quite a bit.
The frame is the by far the best part of the bike. It is strong, light weight, stiff, and very good looking. I see why many people buy this bike to motorize it; the frame is very nice.
The brakes are satisfactory but if you are going to be going down any hills at any speed you might not want to put too much faith in them.
The handlebars, seat, front fork, and wheels are OK, but I don't think they would be satisfactory for a large adult.
Bottom crank is ok unless you are planning on getting off the seat and pumping up a 6 percent grade on a regular basis.
Rear derailer is not high quality and needs constant adjustment. It is noisey.
If you are looking for a nice pretty bike, this might be for you, unless you are a big adult who want to really power down and get somewhere fast. And, if you are looking for 1950's Schwinn quality you will be disappointed. But, it is a light agile cruiser that is nice looking for under two bills. If I add anything to mine it might be a seat post that absorbs bumps and diffrent handlebar grips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Good bike

07/03/2012
By ,
Pine Island, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the bicycle and the delivery fee was inexpensive but the bike had a few small problems that I was able to repair luckily. Undoubtably manufacturer's oversight.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 3 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
04/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the bike. Its what you should expect for the money.
Shiping was fast & I was satisfied upon reciving it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 4 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

I couldn't be happier with my new schwinn !

11/30/2011
By ,
Wyoming Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Very Nice Cruiser!

04/04/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great online price, plus 97¢ shipping!
I received my bike just a few days after ordering. It came double boxed, and with plenty of protective packaging to protect the beautiful paint job.
After unboxing, assembly was (relatively) simple. Install handle bars, seat and front wheel with a screwdriver, allen wrenches, adjustable wrench, and pliers. The front wheel was a little tricky as the tire wouldn't fit through the brake pads. Removing 1 pad allowed easier access to complete installation.
The only issue I had with the bike was that the front wheel was very warped. After buying a $9 spoke wrench from a local bike shop and finding video instructions on YouTube, I was able to straighten the front wheel in about 15 minutes.
Most beach cruisers don't have gears, but this one has seven. Just the right amount for cruising the neighborhood and beyond. The gears also needed adjustment to achieve all gears. Out of the box I was only able to change through 5 of the 7 gears.
The seat, and riding position is very comfortable for a 50 year old, 230 lb guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 6 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Good looking, comfortable bike for senior citizen.

04/18/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being past the 3/4 century mark, I needed something to get more exercise. But, being a heart patient, I wanted a reasonable amount, but not terribly strenuous. Had a "trail bike" that the tires had rotted. Cost to replace tires, replace uncomfortable short trail handlebars, and "tune up" would be over 1/2 the price of this bike. Very happy that I chose this route. It is a beautiful bike to look at, and suits my needs to a "T". The 7 gears allows easy navigating of small hills in my neighborhood, and allows me to choose degree of difficulty in pedaling. And, I might add, the very comfortable saddle is easy on this old posterior.
I did take heed of suggestions by prior reviewers and choose to have bike delivered to home (online purchase), and have it assembled, lubricated, and adjusted by a professional bike mechanic. I think that was a wise choice, and only time will reveal if it was worth the cost!
Delivery was very quick, and came through with absolutely no damage -- not even paint rubs from the packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Great bike ... Great value ... Tune up and ride!

07/09/2012
By ,
Area 51, Starship Enterprise
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two thumbs up. We bought this bike for our son to ride around campus at Oregon State ... Go Beavs! We had Walmart assemble the bike and they did a good job. However, as other reviews have stated, it's a good idea to subsequently take the bike to a local bike shop and have it professionally tuned up. It really helps the bike perform much better. Although this bike doesn't weigh 2,000 pounds like the old tank-like Schwinn bikes of yesteryear, it still feels solid and rides nice. Just add a big wire basket on the front for carrying "books" ... and u r gtg ... He enjoyed riding this bike until last week-end, when someone cut his cable lock, and stole the bike from beside his house. ADVICE TO THE WISE: Buy the STRONGEST LOCK you can! The cheap locks only keep honest people honest. PS: We also bought the corresponding 26" Point Beach Cruiser girl's bike for our daughter .... and she loves it as well. They both like the flexibility that the 7 speeds offer. Good luck with your bike selection. We have never gone wrong with Schwinn or with Walmart. Rock on!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Nice 7-speed Cruiser

07/23/2012
By ,
Springfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for some time for an affordable 3-speed beach cruiser when I stumbled upon this 7-speed Point Beach Schwinn cruiser in a Walmart store. I bought the floor model and got a %10 discount because of a scratch. I have since had fun with this bike. I bought it not only because I loved the retro look, but because it just feels good on my body. The frame of this bike is smartly designed for comfort. I say this after trying every other cruiser in the store, including the Panama Jack and the El Lesso, both of which felt wrong (and weren't as sturdy). When sitting on the Beach Point, I sit straight up with my legs in a comfortable, slightly forward position. I also like the comfortable seat and the shape of the handlebars. My hands sit comfortably straight and my elbows remain unbent when the handlebars are adjusted at the same angle as in the picture above. The ride is quiet and gentle. The frame is as light as you could expect for such a strong aluminum build. Overall, this a great sturdy, comfy, cool looking bicycle. I can't wait to accessorize it :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

The perfect cruiser at the perfect price

05/12/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is great, especially for the price. It is easy to assemble, easy to ride and beautiful. I have a couple of much more expensive ($1000-3000) bikes but I wanted something to keep at our beach house to use and for others to ride. This is perfect. I'm a bit picky about smooth shifting and little or no noise coming from the gears so I used the manual to make some small adjustments and now it shifts like a much more expensive bike. It seems durable. I suggest getting a lock right away since this bike gets a lot of looks. It is a classic comfort cruiser with some climbing capability.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+13points
Review 10 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

nice bike

10/30/2011
By ,
los angeles,ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent purchased,Nice,smoot,never get tired whit beatiful aluminiun bike, I tried another two models before,but this one definetely is the best,We got two,one for my wife and one for me. We enjoy riding this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 11 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Beautiful Bike!

09/12/2012
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking for some beach cruisers for riding bikes at the beach on the boardwalk. I must admit, the first thing that caught my attention about this bike was the looks. It is a really cool looking bike and we get lots of comments on how nice they look. I was a little concerned because there was no way this nice a looking bike could be so sturdy and durable for the price paid. But it is. I researched beach cruisers for months and most are around $500.00. This one was $188.00. After putting it together and riding for the first time at the beach, this bike could easily be a $500.00 bike! I love it! If you are looking for a bike for you and the Mrs., get this one and the matching ladies bike like I did. I am really happy. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 12 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
10/25/2011
By ,
Sunnyvale, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great! and rides good. Back in the day ( late 50's ), I had a red Schwinn that looked like this one for my paper route, so nostagically I bought this from Walmart. I'm happy I did and I ride it every day and it have gotten complimentary looks from people. Makes me feel like a kid again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntington Beach, Ca
Sorely disappointed
Posted 10/17/2012
I love Chicago Schwinn Crusiers. When I was a young lad I would find used frames and build them custom from the frame up. Schwinn bikes were solid then and built to last. When I saw this bike on Walmart's site for $189 I just had to check it out. They got the retro styling right...I like the red/cream paint scheme. I was excited to see it and was ready to buy one on the spot. Well that was until I saw it. WOW! This bike is surely NOT the Schwinn quality I recall. The fenders are flimsy thin gage sheet metal, the rims were cheap, and the crank was stamped steel. Schwinn parts used to be forged and solid. The old cruiser rims were stout and held up to hard use. The bike is a great looking bike and the frame is well-built, but I would not pay more than $100 for this cheaply built bargain job. IMHO this bike and the other Schwinn's I saw in the store have put a stain on the once good name of an old American bicycle company. I would recommend the Genesis that Walmart has in-stock. For $10 less than the Schwinn you get a solid bicycle from an up and coming company. I had never heard of them before, but I checked them out on the web. Their bikes are solid quality the way Schwinn used to be.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

cruiser bike

12/14/2011
By ,
Miami Beach , Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike , it was delivered on time , very easy to assemble , lightweight , comfortable ride to work and with a nice basket great for grocery shopping , overall a good buy . I definetly reccomend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 14 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

great looking bike at a nice price

09/02/2011
By ,
N. Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice looking vintage style bike. Fast shipping to the store. Easy to assemble. Very nice styling gets compliments wherever you go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+59points
Review 15 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
08/25/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had trouble putting on the front fender, finally realized the front fork was on backwords. Turned the fork, fender went on easy. Had to straighten the fender, the manfacturer had put it together crooked.The front brake had to be adjusted as it was hanging up and the cable end came off. Had to put a new clamp for the seat adjuster as the original one stripped out . So after two weeks and many adjustment we are ready to go for a second bike ride. The first one was when the seat sunk.
This is my husbands bike and he has been able to make all the adjustments and replace the parts.
He does even after all of this like the bike and it is sharp looking. I do not think Schwinn has the quality they used to be known for.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 16 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Outstanding

09/10/2012
By ,
Adrian, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased a set of men's and women's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser bicycles for my wife and I. The bicycles arrived via fed-ex in a timely manner (faster than the projected date). The bicycles where well packaged and protected in a double layered box. Assembly was painless and simple, adjustments went according to the included manual, without a hitch. I took extra time to tighten every screw, nut, and bolt on each of the bicycles; glad I did because there where several loose on each bicycle. My wife and I are riding the bicycles on a regular basis, enjoying the " riding in style" feel we get when riding these" flash from the past" bicycles that we both remember. Thanks Walmart, and thank you Schwinn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 17 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Great Bike

06/07/2012
By ,
Salt Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
any one looking for a geat get around bike this is great and well worth what i paid for it. i also like the way it was paked in the boxs and the boxs where seald. and the bike was easey to put together. and rides great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
06/13/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a heavy duty bike with wide tires and cruising design that accomodates sitting upright and making short trips mostly for shopping groceries and such. This Point Beach Shimano 7-speed gets me to Kroger much smoother and easier than my Huffy 1-speed did. However, the seat placement is inferior to the Huffy design. I find myself crunching harder to pedal because of my body position only. Other than that, this bike is excellent, and I recommend it to anyone doing short hauls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 19 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

Fine for women too

07/10/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I desperately wanted the Ladies' Point Beach bike, but it was sold out. When I noticed that the wheels on both bikes were 26", it seemed to me that the only difference between the men's and women's bikes was the bar in the middle - the women's one has the "step-through" frame and the men's one you have to hop on over the back.
A month later I couldn't take it anymore, didn't find any other affordable bike I liked that had cruiser handlebars AND multi-speed, so I caved and bought the men's one. And I love it.
Slap a basket on the front of it and it's the ideal bike for casual neighborhood bike riding. Makes me feel like Peewee Herman.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 20 for Schwinn Point Beach 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
04/26/2012
By ,
east texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bikes of my youth were the Schwinn Stingray and the Schwinn Varsity 10 speed. This is a Schwinn in name only. If it were made in the U.S.A. it would probably cost in excess of $500.00, so for the money it's a good value.
To me, the best looking Schwinn is the Men's 700c Admiral. You won't find it anywhere on the web but it is stocked in Walmart stores. It is less 'retro' looking than the Point Beach, it's more reminiscent of a 70's Varsity. It would have been my first choice but for a couple of things. I live in a rural area with bad roads and my concern was that the skinny, low profile tires would not be the best choice. That's why I chose the Point Beach. Its' tires are a larger profile and will provide more cushion which hopefully will prevent rim damage on potholes.
The Admiral has much more chrome #fenders, rims, rear rack#. It looks better but I noticed that the bikes on outdoor display @ Walmart were already starting to rust so I surmised that the chrome might be inferior and not last as long. The Point Beach only has Chrome on the handlebars and seat post.
One of my biggest disappointments is the color. In the picture it apprears to be a medium bright red. All of my other internet purchases have been successful as concerns colors so I am confident that my monitor is not at fault. Nowhere on Walmart's webpage is the color described. On the shipping box the color is named Cranberry. It would best be desribed as a dark red metallic or a medium dark maroon metallic. It's dark and muddy looking, not at all bright. Yuck. The paint is also thin in a couple of spots. Fortunately I paint cars so it's fixable with a lot of time and materials. Color is important to me so next winter I expect I'll be repainting it.
The other issue is size. Size matters. Schwinn recommends 26"' or 700c tires for people up to 74 inches. I am 6'0 tall with a 32" inseam. I don't have particuarly long legs for my height. The bikes with 700c tires sit up higher and would be a better choice for my body. The 26" Point Beach with the handlebar stem and seat stem at maximum height are the minimum comfortable height for me. If I were any taller this bike would be too small to be comfortable.
I ordered the bike and it was shipped promptly, arriving damage free except for a small #matchead sized# chip in the front fender. I specifically wanted to assemble it myself because I was not impressed with the quality of assembly at any of the local Walmarts. Assembly and adjustment was simple with clear instructions included.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
east texas
Posted 05/03/2012
I ended up returning this bike. Everything worked satisfactorily but I couldn't get past the color and decided that I didn't really want to spend 20+ hours and $100 in materials changing the color. The fat "comfort" tires made the bike feel sluggish, probably just my imagination. I am now waiting for an unassembled Admiral to arrive. The assembly quality of Walmart employees is really substandard. I'd rather do it myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next