Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Get outside and explore this year with the all-terrain Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike. This well-built Schwinn Sidewinder mountain bike offers durability and shock-absorbing comfort while riding. This Schwinn ladies mountain bike features a steel frame, soft-padded handlebar grips, SRAM grip shifters with 21 speeds, a comfortable padded seat and alloy linear pull brakes and rims. For a smooth ride and extra control on trails or streets, this Schwinn Sidewinder mountain bike is a perfect choice. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike e will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.229 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%32 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great bike for the money

09/05/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a plus size gal who's trying to lose weight so I started biking. I had a cruiser bike at home and started out on that but needed some gears to get me up those inclines. This bike is really nice for the money, its sturdy and pretty comfortable, I've already gone on a 10 mile and a 14 mile ride on it. The seat is small but it is padded so I think for a small seat its more comfortable than most but after awhile my rear gets sore so I'm going to try buying a gel pad for it. One problem I do have with the bike is that the first 3 gears on the left don't shift according to the numbers on the handle, my husband doesn't have a problem with it but when i ride I expect to be able to put it in gear according to where I see the number so I will have that adjusted. Besides that minor adjustment that needs made I would recommend this bike. I am also 5 ft 9 inches tall and I have the seat all the way up so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone taller than 5' 9" because you won't get your legs stretched out enough while you peddle which can be uncomfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great Bike

05/23/2012
By ,
Traverse City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike about a month ago now.
Purchased online and shipped to my address. Puts together easily, worked fine, nothing damaged. The weight of the bike is not to bad. The bike overall is really study and well made. I ride it mainly on a paved bike path, also rides well on the side of the road. Love!
Some details:
(This bike is a mountain bike not a cruiser, even tho it looks like cruiser. There are shocks in front not in back. The seat is like a regular mountain bike seat, nothing special.)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 3 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Surprise - my bike is blue/green!

05/07/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose the 'order online, pickup in an hour' option. I was sold on this bike because of the price-drop price, the Schwinn name and the features but I was hesitant to order it because I was not crazy about the color (white). After doing quite a bit of online and instore research I realized that I wasn't going to find this value elsewhere so I settled for the white. The pickup option went incredibly smooth and I had the bike home within 2 hours. It does not come assembled, which isn't mentioned anywhere online. I wasn't completely surprised, but it would have been nice to know if I was going to be responsible for assembly or not. Imagine my surprise when I went to pull the unassembled bike out of the box and found the most beautiful irridescent blue/green bike!!! If I had had my heart set on the white I would have been extremely disappointed that what I had ordered wasn't what I ended up with. Fortunately, for me, it worked to my benefit! At any rate, just be forewarned that the color you see may not be the color you get. Assembly went smoothly, I estimate it took me just over an hour. Very smooth and quiet ride. Shifts effortlessly and brakes on a dime. I like the shock absorbers on the front - you can really feel them working when riding across uneven ground. I am 110% satisfied with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+57points
Review 4 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Good beginner bike.

04/03/2012
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't ridden a bike in a long time and didn't want to make a huge investment to start out. This bike is comfortable and easy to ride. Using it to pull an InStep Pronto trailer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
InStep Pronto Bicycle Trailer
4.5 out of 5(103)
 
 
 
 
 
+20points
Review 5 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Have always believed in a Schwinn

10/26/2011
By ,
Nashville, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buying a bike can seem overwhelming with all the brands on the market, however, I have found it serves no purpose buying a bike simply because it looks good. Good looks can be very heavy with parts that don't hold up..... This bike I bought for my granddaughter because she liked the color, which is white, and because it is a Schwinn. The brand was her only option since I was buying and I know this bike can and will last for YEARS! The off brands which are cheaper usually are very heavy, and will be frustrating for any child, and adult. We are still using 2 Schwinn mountain bikes that I purchased in 1994 and 95.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+118points
Review 6 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike
05/19/2012
By ,
farmington,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike. Was a bit overwhelmed with all the different types of bikes out there. So I researched online and read a bunch of different reviews and this one seemed to be the best one. I haven't been on a bike in 20 plus years and wanted to get a bike to go riding with my son. This bike is perfect for riding on trails and pavement. The only thing I did not like about this bike was its seat. Very hard and uncomfortable. So I purchased the schwinn quilted seat and love it. For the money you can't go wrong with this bike. I got the white one as pictured. They had this in their store so I did not have to do the ship to home or store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 7 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great Bike!

07/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my sights set on a very expensive bike for a couple years now. It just wasn't going to happen so I settled for this one. It was very affordable and is great bike! I'm really impressed! It is a smooth ride. When I go from grass to pavement vise versa you can barely feel it. The brakes are awesome! You use them, you stop immediately. The gears could use some work, they don't change smoothly all the time and some of the gears make a little clicking noise the whole time you are in it. That doesn't affect the ride at all though. I'm a plus sized gal and have been riding it every day for almost 2 weeks now no problems.
All in all, it is a very nice bike. I like the white color and the smooth ride. I'm glad I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Nice bike, great brand name, even better value

07/12/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for myself after not riding a bike for the past 11 years and I am extremely happy. I was able to pick the bike up at the store and take it home already assembled, rode it as soon as I got home and love it! The bike has an easily adjustable seat (no tools required) as well as a tire that comes off to transport it easier. I am a bigger girl, about 250 pounds and this bike holds me well. I recommend this for any rider!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Confused about the color but happy with the bike.

05/09/2012
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not too difficult to put together. Very smooth ride. The picture looked like it was a light green bike but wasn't. It's white with blue paint.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 10 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great Bike for the price!!

08/13/2012
By ,
Pittsbugh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike to ride with my son and husband a few months ago and have used it on roads and trails. So far I have not seen any problems with it other than the seat is uncomfortable after riding awhile, but I'm sure most of them are. I plan to buy a cover for more comfort. My husband bought the same bike in the men's version (black and red) and loves his as well. We both bought ours as a display from the store and paid $135 each. After having the store do a safety check, we were able to take it home the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Jump on, and ride like the wind!

05/25/2012
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is my new best friend! After not riding in over 10 years, I decided I needed a bike. The ride is great, I could not have asked for more! Sitting on the seat has taken some adjusting, but other than that, I can not keep myself off of this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great, reliable bike

10/13/2012
By ,
St. Peters, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to start riding again several months ago and wanted something affordable yet reliable. I recognized the Schwinn name and decided to purchase the Sidewinder. We also purchased a second one for our daughter. I couldn't be happier with the bike. I have put over 300 miles on the bike so far mostly riding on gravel surfaces and have had no problems. The bike is sturdy, relatively light, and offers a comfortable ride after a few minor adjustments. I would definitely recommend this bike to someone who wants a good value and a reliable ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike
05/11/2012
By ,
Belleville,IL.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm confused about this bike it looks white but when you get it it's blue and green with a few white areas.Do I have the right bike? It seems like all the comments are saying the same thing about this white bike that isn't white.I have tried looking up this bike that I got instead of the white bike that I thought I was getting .I can't even find this bike.It is a nice looking bike .But does the white bike that I ordered online even exist? Everybody that orded this bike ended up with the same bike I did it look like. I don't know how it rides yet because when my husband picked it up from the site to store and brought it home it wasn't a white bike .So I don't know if I have the right bike .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
falcon co
It's the right bike
Posted 05/31/2012
Friendly2 it is the right bike. They just come in 2 different colors. It's funny cuz at my walmart this bike in the blue/green color is 219.00.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Something wrong with the gears.

05/11/2012
By ,
Kendallville IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are two chunks out the frame and the gears make a annoying noise on certain gears taking it back into walmart Monday to have someone else look at it see what the hack is the deal. Other than these issues i like the color of the bike a tealish and comfy seat and shocks rides great otherwise. If i cant get it fixed im returing it for a brand new one thats put together right!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 15 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great Bike!!!

05/22/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike for my 9 year old daughter and she loves riding it. Very smooth bike and no problem so far. When we open the box, tube was damaged so I end up buying the new one. I would definitely recommend this bike. This is my third Schwinn bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Good value for the money

07/21/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike for my wife. The bike came assembled when I picked it up. Surprisingly it was in good shape with no scratches or blemishes. I did however have to tune it up and adjust the gears. Other than that, the bike is definately a good value, not a top of the line bike but you're also not paying top of the line money for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great starter bike!

06/08/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for an awesome bike. I bought one for my sister and I-Walmart put it together with-in a day. So comfortable and easy to figure out all the gears. I would definitely reccommend this bike, and its a Schwinn so you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Good bike for the price.

08/05/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike to do the Virginia Creeper Trail with my family. It worked very well. I'm glad that I took the gel seat off of my old bike and put it on this one though. The seat it comes with is not very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Really nice bike for the money

10/16/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The one I ordered was as pictured, the white with light blue and gray graphics. I read many reviews that didn't match the pictured item and I was worried as the Sidewinder in my 2 local stores looked totally different from the one on this website. I guess they change styles just as everything else and the website pictures the latest version.
I changed the seat first thing as it's a typical narrow not so comfortable mountain bike seat. I also had to adjust the gears, breaks and such but this is going to be a normal thing unless you go to a bike shop and pay the premium price which includes a mechanics time to adjust all that stuff and get it set up for you.
The only quirk I have about it is that the front chain ring selector has like 7 clicks in it to change only 3 gears. To go from the smallest chain ring, 1 to the middle 2 you have to rotate the gear selector through about 4 clicks then from gear 2 to 3 about 3 more clicks. They must have just used the same internals from the selector for the rear gears which there are 7 and one click per gear.
For the money it is definitely a nice bike that I would recommend. Now it's new and hasn't been road that much but so far it seems to be well worth it's price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Ladies' Mountain Bike

Good ride, easy to put together

10/08/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this bike together by myself (the first bike I have ever put together) and it took about 30 minutes. I did run into one problem, the handlebars have to be rotated outwards and I did not have an allen wrench that was the appropriate size (I have a kit with 10 sizes, and this one wasn't in there, so maybe it isn't that common). I took it to a bike shop and they fixed it for me in just a few minutes, so it wasn't a problem. The bike is very easy to ride and the gears shift smoothly. I ride it 3 days a week in city traffic and in some hills and it is great for this. Great bike for the value and would definitely recommend to a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next