Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

The 21-speed Mongoose men's bicycle's combination of 29" wheels and a suspension fork let this men's mountain bike tackle the toughest terrain with ease. Bumps, rocks and roots don't stand a chance against this big 29" men's bike's oversized aluminum frame, alloy crank, and front and rear disc brakes. SRAM twist shifters on the all-terrain men's bike change gears efficiently through 21 speeds, while a front-suspension men's mountain bike fork eats bumps for breakfast. The Deception green/white men's bicycle is equipped with front and rear disc brakes, for unparalleled stopping power in a 29" men's bike. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your 29" men's bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.821 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation73%41 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Looked great till the Gears gave in

11/30/2011
By ,
Santa Monica, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I actually bought this bike twice from Walmart, it looks great and I had the first one for a week but there were problems with the front gears and that cause the plastic part to crack and break, so I changed it and bought a new seat since the seat it came with was not very comfortable.
My second one broke after a week as I was going up a hill and suddenly the gears skipped and grrrrrrrrrrr and I stopped to check if anything was broken but whatever was broken was from the inside and within a week the bike got worst and eventually the gears were totally smashed inside. I did not take this on trail or anything simply going up hill and down and no jumps or anything so I don't know if I got two bad ones or the gears and all are just cheap. Well according to one bike mechanic the gears are just too cheaply made and it would eventually happen.
I also had problems with the brakes as no matter how much I adjusted them they still dragged and didn't work as well as they should. So for now I think I have learned my lesson and I will go to a bike shop and try to get a more quality product or maybe try one more time since I have the credit at Walmart for a more expensive one since their return policy and extended warranty can't be beat!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Low End Components

06/29/2012
By ,
Kenova, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this bike used from a friend....He said it had problems with the derailleur....Actually the freewheel gearset on the rear hub was totally wrecked. The tiny bearings that allowed it roll when not pedaling, had flatspotted and caused the chain to jump off. A $20 Sun Race 7 speed freewheel solved that problem. The front wheel needed to be trued, and the detent spring in the left shifter mechanism was missing. The back brakes are not very strong, even at the tightest adjustment, may need new pads. Most of this was probably due to his lack of maintenance. The bike is about what should be expected for the $219 original sale price. If you visit your local bike shop and get a few upgraded parts, the bike should be a reliable ride...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good value for a 29er.

10/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike for my son a college student who needed a bike to get to campus. He had to go down some cut throughs in the woods though. He is over 6' so I chose the Deception since it is a 29er. It was already put together in the store. I originally ordered it over the internet, but the estimated shipping was slow, two weeks. I found a bike at a store, so I traveled 40 miles and picked it up. As it turned out, the shipping to the store was exactly two weeks, so I am glad I found the bike in stock. The components are entry level but very functional. The only real downer are the forks, they are sticky, not sure if they will loosen up later. I did have to true both wheels, adjust the brakes, and adjust the gears. All in all it took about 3 hours to get the bike ready to ride properly. If you do not have many tools or time, best bet would be to have a local bike shop set the bike up properly. Believe me, you do not want to ride it in the condition that I picked mine up at the store. I would purchase the bike again. The frame and wheels alone are worth $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Review 4 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Buy!

10/17/2011
By ,
Ennis, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took the Deception out on a pretty challenging (but fun!) trail right after I bought it. It handled great! I'm sure the more expensive bikes handle better, but at $219 this is a steal. After my fiance' rode her 26" Roadmaster on the trail, we took her bike back to Walmart with no problem and she also picked up a Deception. I love the disk brakes and quick release wheels. And the color is nice. We didn't like the grip shifters though, so we bought trigger shifters for a cheap price and they work like a charm. Also, we replaced the seat. After a little adjustment on the brakes and front derailleur, it rides great! If you want a great bike that doesn't hurt your bank account, you can't lose with the Deception 29!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Review 5 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

BIKE IS AWESOME

05/26/2012
By ,
Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just picked this up from Gilroy Walmart and the lady was so nice to hold the only deception on the floor. I asked her to have the bike tech run through all the gears and make sure everything was calibrated. I arrived about 2 hours later and she showed me the bike. I made sure the gears were on point, checked the disc brakes and sat on it. The bike looks fantastic, feels like a tank (in a good way, not too heavy) with huge 29" wheels that scream "fun". The first gear was a bit tight so I let her know and she said, "that's the floor model, I had our tech make a brand new one in the back." Great service and everything checked out. I tightened the brakes when I got home and removed some of the stickers. I double checked the handle bars / stem and it was off to the trail. I figure if I ride it hard and it responds well, it will be a keeper. What a keeper and for $219, that's a steal. I'm loving this bike and thanks to all the people who wrote reviews. Your info really helped me with my decision to purchase. BUY THE MONGOOSE DECEPTION and WALMART ROCKS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike, better price

03/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Fantastic looks and quality paint scheme that belie the price, rides smoothly, the disc brakes are a nice touch.
Cons: The front suspension is a bit choppy and unsure on rugged trails, heavy components contributing to an overall heavy bike, tires seem cheap.
For the price point, this bike really can't be beat. I looked at several models within this price range, and this is far and away the best one--you would really have to start looking at bikes in the $600 and up range for anything better. Upon getting this bike home, I realigned the disk brakes so the wheels rolled smoothly, removed all of the reflectors, waxed the frame with a liquid car wax, and removed the kick stand (you could beat someone to death with that kickstand...it is a ridiculous, unnecessary addition of weight to the bike). The chain also needs to be greased upon getting the bike from the store or shipped directly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+11points
Review 7 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

excelent bike

03/01/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this bike like 3 days ago and i gotta tell ya it rides real smooth off road ive ridden it every day on some trails and the big wheels really help go over whatever i want without loosing too much speed. as for the seat it is really uncomfortable but you cant always be sitting so its not a big deal. the gears shift real well you just need to ease up on the pedals while shifting. The brakes stop you real quick im about 286lbs and 5'11" and it stops me. the big tires give you a good work out when your goin uphill or on the road. and the frame welds are done preatty good and it seems to be real sturdy. For 219 dollars this is a killer deal. if you are shorter than me, then it will probably be too big for you. Id also recomend you get a water bottle cage cause these tires will wear you out. just dont go and jump it the rims are weak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+10points
Review 8 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike and Surprisingly Tough

01/16/2012
By ,
Birmingham, Alaba,a
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this Mongoose aluminum frame bike from my local Walmart. I test rode it today in my local mountainous state park and it rode well and help up well. Let me be clear, this is extremely rough riding, steep hills with large rocks and many large roots and stumps. In fact, the last name-brand $700 mountain bike I had broke something each and every time I rode this course. I learned the hard way that MB warranties don't cover 'abuse' which is what the shop I bought it from said riding on rough trails was! So I was out $150 in repairs each time I rode it.
So, for $200 being able to stand-up to the rough tide is critical to me and this Mongoose did it. It rode well as well and the 29 inch wheels definitely improved its ability to handle the big bumps. I never felt out-of-control or like I would go over the handlebars. The grip shifters are Ok and could be upgraded. I also relaced the seat with a cushier one also from Walmart. The stock seat was not bad but I just needed more support. Oh, the dual disk brakes were excellent and handled some very steep descents without a problem. I highly recommend this bike. It may not be a top-notch name brand but seems reasonably tough, is light enough, has great brakes, and the price cant be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+53points
Review 9 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Lets just put it like this

05/28/2012
By ,
orrville, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok here it is, i am 425lbs man. i was looking for a bike that would hold my weight. after doing some research i found that a bike that was "made for my weight" was $2,400! i knew i would never get myself to pay that much for a bike so i went to walmart and found this 29'' bike. i road it around the store a little and fell in love. Long story short, i have had the bike for about a month and i have put 100 miles on it #i have a speed/odomitor on my bike from walmart to# so i know i have road it that much. I have not had ANY problems with it. I would buy this bike 100x over. i have lost over 25lbs so far.... ganna keep riding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Review 10 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Read the Manual

03/14/2012
By ,
Hannibal, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know it sounds crazy but i've always been a fan of cheapo bikes. But then again i dont trust anyone else to put em together. if you buy the bike from a box store expect to have to re assemble the whole thing. Start with the shifters they say their are aligned at the factory, in reality they are not. set your high and low limiters on front and back. then check the crank for proper tention. They almost always have a little wobble in em right from the store. Then adjust the brakes with the anchor bolt at the wheel so that the quick adjusts at the levers are all the way in. none of the cables are pre stretched but after about 20 miles of riding youll notice things like the low gear in the back may not engage anymore and the brakes levers are nearly to the handlebars. So now is the time to re adjust the shifter and brake levers. after that you should be good to go for a while. As a motorcycle rider regular maintenance on our two wheeled friends has become habit. So i guess what im saying is dont expect a mass produced bike to be perfect right from the store. theres nothing wrong with em, but be ready to set em up yourself or at a bike shop. I would love to buy a trek or cannondale but i live in a town where they would steal your shirt if you didnt keep your arms down so those are out of the question.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hannibal, MO
Follow up
Posted 03/23/2012
Check your quick lock wheel skewers from time to time as well. They work loose, not loose enough to drop the wheel but loose enough to start knocking every time you pedal hard.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Surprise!

05/25/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the Genesis 29er for 6 months and from the first day thought it was perfect for my 6'2" 280lb size, sitting on it just felt right at home reminded me of when I was a teen spending so much time on my bike.
Then I discovered the Mongoose Deception! It has some of the same nice 29er feel like the Genesis in addition its aluminum frame is much lighter weight and geometry is different with a little lower seat post - even more fun to ride! Tires hold air very well, alignments fine, no hub issues (so far), did replace the seat but the Mongoose seat is one of the best I have seen on a new box bike.
I do plan on some upgrades as certainly worth it for this bike. Reading the number of rear cog/chain problems is a bit concerning and I do plan on finding out more about that issue just not first hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 12 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

excellent bike

10/29/2011
By ,
Stockton,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful bike, I have rode this bike everyday since I purchased it on 10/23/11. I have had some family members ride and they just love the bike as well. Looking to purchase antoher one soon in a different color. I am so glad I purchased this bike . And thanks to all that have wiritten their reviews because this help me with my decision on what bike to purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 13 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great buy!

03/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike was very easy to assemble. The assembly took about 30 minutes which included adjusting the brakes and gears (I've had NO prior experience before this). I've only had the bike about one month and it rides extremely nice both on and off road. Thus far, I've only ridden it about 100 miles around town and on nearby trails and the bike handles very well. The only thing I have to do is buy a more comfortable seat because after 10 miles, my rear end starts to hurt. Other than thst, I'm very glad I purchased the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 14 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Mongoose Deception 29er

05/27/2012
By ,
BFE, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to a sport's store thinking I could beat walmart quality and it was a complete piece of junk. they left the tires flat where you couldn't test it in the store, which should of told me something. The gears where out of align bad and they slipped too. The brakes didn't work at all. I took it back and went to wally world and seen what they had. I saw the mongoose and pulled it out and got on it and gears where in perfect alignment and they didn't slip when I was trying everything to make them slip. I'm 6 foot 3 250 pound and couldn't brake it so bought it. Only thing I had to do was tighten the brakes and I saved a bunch of money. cons. brakes aren't the best, but because it already has disk brake set up it can easily be upgraded. What's a kick stand? seat hurts my butt. It says mongoose on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good bicycle for tall person.

12/04/2011
By ,
College Station, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bicycle is great for a tall person I'm 6'3" and it allows me to set the seat up and not have my knees up in my chest like on the standard 27" small frame models. It rides good and shifts gears nicely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 16 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

good bike for the money but had issues

11/16/2011
By ,
tacoma, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
idid ALOT of researching bikes and for the money the deception stood out, has alot of features that are awesome but then again what good are they if they are not fully functional, the gears werent adjusted right and so i tried the manual and the chain fell off and broke cheap chain guard (strongly recomend take it to bike shop to be properly adjusted), disk brakes are awesome but dont stop bike very fast and had to take the bike back to walmart to get a rim that wasnt bent so the disk brakes wouldnt rub, alot of bolts and parts were not tightend properly so check your bike thouroughly, the bolts on disk brakes were stripped out(keep in mind its not necessarily walmarts fault bikes are mostly assembled at factory). shocks are sticky.the bike is huge at least by me and im 5' 11" which made me realize the bike had to go back, dont get me wrong though for 200.00 what do you expect, the bike is a good bike overall has quick release seat, and both tires and can upgrade bike to make it awesome im just not spending the money, instead i bought the 26 schwinn aluminum comp which has all features except quick release rear tire plus it has the upgraded quick shifters and most importantly its my size, hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 17 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Decent bike if you get a good one.

06/18/2012
By ,
Thornton, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm on my second one of these. The first one had the crank arm not tightened on properly (that part comes assembled in the box, so it wasn't Wal-Mart's fault). Not being tightened on properly resulted in it working loose and absolutely destroying the crank arm.
After returning it, I purchased a new one from a different Wal-Mart. None of the local ones had any. They had 2 on the floor. 1 was definately returned (could see the water spots under the frame) and the largest gear on the rear wasn't parallel with the rest of them. (Could see it wobble with the bike upside down and spinning the wheel). The second one they had on the floor looks like it was returned also. Based on the fact that it had 2 different valve stems. So I requested an un-assembled one from the back after figuring out their inventory showed 6. I decided to assemble it myself.
As others have said, the seat is uncomfortable, so I replaced it. I also had to replace the tires (not the tubes) as they were cheap and I had worn them down far enough to see the fibers in the tire after 3 weeks (160 miles).
The brakes were a pain to adjust, but at the same point, I've never had disc brakes before and there's no real clear instructions on how, but I was able to figure it out. They grab well for me now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 18 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike

11/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike for my 16 year old son, and he loves it. I had him inspect it prior to purchase. The design, quality of the parts, manufacturing workmanship, and weight met his expectations. The bike meets the specs of much more expensive bikes of 10 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 19 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike
12/22/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my husband for Christmas. he is 5'9 and 30 and he enjoys it for off road and on road. he has taken it in the mudd and says it performs well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 20 for Mongoose Deception 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent Value

08/16/2012
By ,
Farmington, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on a mountain, This is a nice Mountain Bike, it makes the uphill easy. And the stopping power is top of the line!! I'll never go back to v brakes again. Unlike most of the other mountainbikes I looked at - The front suspension is stiff enough that I think it will hold up too the occassional jump just fine. ONE Precautionary Thing too look for when buying any bike from any store!!!! Stand at the front of the bike, stratling the front tire, looking down the frame with the rear tire lined up ( visually # with the frame, take note-- is the rear tire evenly streight with the frame?? If it is not you do not want the bike, Unless there are slots for the back wheel alignment. This bike, like most nowdays, has holes # No Adjustment) So what you see is what you get. I looked at 2 identical Desceptions side beside 1 was misaligned badly and one was perfect, I baught the perfect one. It takes more work to ride a misaligned bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next