Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Schwinn 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Enjoy cycling around town on the Schwinn Aluminum Comp 26" Women's Mountain Bike. This rugged, sturdy bike is ready to take on any terrain. The mountain bike's lightweight aluminum frame, suspension fork and alloy wheels keep you comfortable — whether you're riding through bumps, climbing steep hills or just cruising along a bike path. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn Aluminum Comp 26" Women's Mountain Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%67 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Was skeptical, but now a very happy customer

12/22/2012
By ,
Rockville MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all Walmart is to be commended on a prompt response to my questions, and extremely fast shipping. For $0.97 I can hardly believe how quickly they arrived (I bought both a men's and a women's) in very good shape.
After putting it together all I could think of was how much value both of these bikes offer for the money. Like others we went looking at several local bike shops, only to be shown $450 models that were nice, but in now way 'twice as nice' as these bikes are!
The click-shifters work very well - very little adjustments were needed - and assembly was very simple. The hardest part was the front tire: instead of loosening the front brake cable, simply 'unhook' the short metal housing piece right before the rubber covering off from the small 'bracket' holding it in, and the entire brake pad assembly opens up so that the tire can enter the brake assembly. Then unpack the quick-release clamp / nut from the small box inside the package, put the bolt through the axel and then screw the end nut on. Straightforward but the first time was confused with the double nuts already on the axle - simply leave them on, and don't do what I did which was dissemble the thing!
Then the seat goes on easy, the pedals are easy to bolt on, and the tires are pumped up to 45-60psi (make sure you have a pump handy with a gauge).
One other item - the manual states that with a 26" wheel, these bikes are suitable for individuals '64 to 74 inches tall'. I was worried before purchase that there was only one size frame - but for me 67" inches tall (5' 7"), the frame is fine. It would seem a bit small for individuals 6 feet tall or taller, but that is just my opinion.
I was a bit hesitant, but when assured that my 'ship to home' bike could be returned back to my local store (the local store did not have any in stock for me to try out before purchase), it was an easy choice to make. Very high quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great bicycle!

03/22/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this bicycle for several months and am currently using it indoors on a trainer. It is comfortable, though some may want a larger one for further comfort. Most bikes I tested in stores, the pedals felt like they were too far back. This one feels comfortable. I am about 5'8" tall and have the seat as high as it can go. If you're much taller than me, this bike may not work for you. The color is a light periwinkle and is nice to look at. The tires are more like a mountain bike than a street bike, but it is not a heavy bike. It's light and will work for both off-roading and street riding. The only trouble I've had is with the lower four gears staying in place. But a couple adjustments should solve that issue, I'm hoping. The front wheel has a quick release lever. The pedals have a cleat-like surface so your shoe does not slip off when riding. Bare-foot riding would be uncomfortable. I love this bike and am very glad to have found an inexpensive one that I really enjoy riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Superb Bike for the $$

06/26/2012
By ,
Highlands Ranch, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We went to several Sporting goods Stores and a Performance bike store. My wife wanted an aluminum frame for light weight and trigger shifters - Everything the bike stores had in that category was around $349 and higher. The bike at the sporting good stores that were under $300 we of very questionable quality, especially for the price.
We went to Walmart after not finding anything anywhere else, just to see what they. Their more inexpensive bikes are pretty durable, but also pretty heavy. We stumbled upon this Schwinn by accident and were very impressed by it's lightweight, solid constuction, features and value for money. We went home, read the reviews on some of the bikes we had looked at that day - Sporting good stores inexpensive bikes recieved 2-2.5 stars. The $349 bike from the bike store had good reviews, but was more than we wanted to spend. Based on the reviews on the Walmart site we decided to purchase this bike. After we got it home and rode it around for a few days we have been more than impressed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

I love the Bike!

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a bike to work out and this bike is perfect!! so good I am planning to buy another one for my daughter. I recommend to have the bike put together at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Nice bike. Might need a pro to build it.

04/09/2014
By ,
Laurel, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice bike. Not really a mountain bike - a bit heavy - but sturdy and comfortable, I looked at my local bike store, but the bike prices started around $400. I don't plan on racing or long-distance touring, so I didn't want to spend that much, For about $200 I bought this bike. I tried to build it and got most of it done OK, but I was sure the brakes and derailleur (gears) needed adjusting - ok, ok...fixing - I do not know anything about them. So I spent another $80 to have the bike checked out at the local bike shop. I still saved money, just not as much. It is worth it, I think, to make sure the brakes and gears are correct - for safety and the "lifespan" of the bike. If you think you will need the bike built by a pro, you may want to buy it from a bike shop. So far, I've been riding to and from school (about a mile) with my kids, and it's just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great value

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is a great value when you consider it's aluminum and has paddle shifting vs. grip twist.
The bike was double boxed and in great shape.
Assembly was a breeze.
My wife loves the bike. We swapped out the seat to her old one as the seat supplied was a bit narrow, but no big deal.
Great purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

nice looking bike

10/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a nice looking bike the only problem is that many of the pieces were tightened down so tightly that the bike could not be used. We had to purchase some special tools so that we could loosen the pedals.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Good Value, but be prepared to make adjustments

09/26/2012
By ,
Bedford, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a gift for a daughter, the color was important and was beautiful. I bought it online, and it arrived promptly and in good condition. My daughter is delighted with the bike.
It was generally easy to assemble the remaining parts onto the bike.
However, some of the assembly done at the factory was done foolishly/poorly. The bottom bracket (BB) was installed way too tight, so there was significant resistance to turning the crank. I have bike tools and knowledge and was able to mostly disassemble it, but even with the right special tools and extreme force could not remove the bearing cup on the right side. I had wanted to replace the BB (which is a somewhat cheesy, 9 bearings-in-a-race per side "open" type) with a low-cost sealed bearing unit, but could not get the factory-installed cup out. (I risked damaging the aluminum frame if I applied any more force.) That bearing cup must have been installed without lubricant and either cross-threaded and/or way overtightened. So I had to put it back together with the factory parts, but with better lubricant. It was good that I disassembled it, nevertheless, because I was able to get the factory-residue metal chips out of the grease and bearings. When that BB needs replacement, I'll have to machine and/or break out that (painted steel) cup.
The front wheel bearings were also overtightened, but correctable.
Overall, the bike seems a good value, but be prepared to do some fine-tuning.
Recommendations to Schwinn:
* On this level of bike, use a sealed bottom bracket. That is the most critical part of the drive train, and you could spend another $ or 2 on it to make it a much better product.
* Train your assemblers better and provide them with torque specs and torque-limiting tools.
* Use quality bearing grease. That will also enable the bike to last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

fast shipping to home. Great value

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast and free shipping to home. Only took 4 days with free shipping. Easy setup if you are handy. Great value for the price. Nice aluminum frame rust free components
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great Deal -Smooth Ride

04/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for the price. My wife loves it. Shifting is balance and click change. Would buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

awesome bike for the money

12/18/2011
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike and was very hesitant because I wanted a mountain bike but decided on a cruiser for comfort. This bike is extremely comfortable and I bought it on sale for 165.00 instead of the list price. I liked it so much I bought my daughter and friend one. Worth the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Highlands Ranch, CO
Discount Price
Posted 06/26/2012
We also got our bike for $164.80, but it was luck of the draw. Walmart usually doesn't put their bikes on sale, but our store was out of this particular model, so we checked online and found it available at another store about 15 minutes south of us. As we arrived at the bike section, they had an end cap of 'reconditioned' bike for 20% off - by luck of the draw they had the exact model we wanted! These bikes had either been returned or scratched during shipping - ours was the latter and had a small scratch by the wheel and was missing a protective end cap from one of the brake adjustment cables - still a great deal!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

I love this bike

04/06/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is light, comfortable and rides very well. I haven't been on a bike in so many years I can't count. I got on this great riding bike and felt young and free again! So glad I made the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

i would recommend this bike

11/16/2013
By ,
ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i ride at least three times a week and have had the bike almost two months. havent had any problems...rides well, shifts well, seat comfortable
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Nice bike to start over again

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't ridden a bike in about thirty years. It's great riding again. I'm 5'3 and it's the right size for me. I did buy a more comfortable seat. The directions were a little confusing but watched a utube video that helped. Great bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Never been more disappointed in a purchase...

05/20/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The single good comment I have to make about this bike is that it shipped and arrived quickly.
There is a VERY serious design flaw with the front derailleur of this model!! Both men and ladies. My fiance and I bought his and hers 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp mountain bikes. They've been nothing but a nightmare.
The front derailleur hits on both sides no matter how you try to adjust it.
Neither his bike nor mine will shift into 3rd on the left hand shifter. My fiance has extensive experience adjusting derailleur's on multi-speed bikes (mountain and street) and after 7 hours of spent trying to adjust these two correctly he threw in the towel and called a bike shop. They took one look at them and said 'Who the heck designed this??'. The shop could not get them adjusted correctly either. The final solution was to spend $30 for a new Shimano front derailleur for each bike.
Having owned them just over a week we've done our research on new Trek bikes and are just going to trade these in.
Before you spend your hard earned money on one of these. Read all the reviews. You will see we aren't the only ones who ran into this problem.
I wouldn't recommend this bike to anyone, friend or foe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Perfect

08/06/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took one bike back to Walmart and came across this iv'e been riding this bike now over a month i'm not the smallest guy I weigh about 240 and rides perfect even know it says it's women bike I don't care even had a few compliments on the bike. Even the bike stores says just the parts alone are over $200.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Excellent bicycle...

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bicycle for my wife and she loves it. At first she thought it would be too much for her to ride but after taking a test ride on it she was out riding me. She loves it and feels it's lighter that what she thought. I would recommend the bike to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great buy, good price.

04/04/2012
By ,
Garfield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is nice and light. You will need to put the bike together, not too hard to do it. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Nice bike!

02/16/2012
By ,
Orange City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my daughter and she loves it! I had it delivered to my home and assembled it myself. It only took me about 20 minutes. Everything works fine on it. She rides it everyday to and from school. Good quality and great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp Ladies' Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price.

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Schwin bike. My other one, also bought at Walmart has over 6000 miles on it and is still going. Needs some surgery, but still a good bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next