Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

The South Shore Smart Basics Platform Bed is ideal for a child's or guest bedroom with limited space. This natural maple twin bed is also the perfect choice for virtually any decor. The top of the platform bed is not finished, and the weight capacity is 250 pounds. It also includes translucent rubber corners to assure maximum safety.
Average Customer Rating:
3.708 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(414 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
114
3 stars
65
2 stars
41
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation75%309 out of 413reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
114
3 stars
65
2 stars
41
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

good value for small kids room

07/08/2012
By ,
palm bay, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is in my 4yr olds room. I put a 6"mattress with 1 1/2" foam memory topper on it. I am happy with the height of the bed for her room. If it were for an older child/ adult I would recommend a box springs to bring the bed to a higher and more comfortable height.
The construction is particle board. It isn't of the highest quality, but it was just what I was looking for and the price was right and it shipped free to my home. I did have to assemble it. It wasnt hard, but you do need 2 people that can lift a little bit of weight and also screw all the screws in the bed. (my cordless screwdriver battery was not charged)
The frame is just a bit bigger that the twin mattress that is on it, which I think is just a bit odd. But other than that, its great for what we needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Great bed for little kids

03/16/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased two beds for my boys and they love them these beds are a excellent price compared to what the other stores charge!!! Defenitely a bang for your buck
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

$100 bed..

11/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basic and simple. This was purchased for our daughter who is transitioning from toddler bed to regular. Low to the ground so rails were not needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple
10/07/2011
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product received as scheduled. the platform bed had to be assembled. the platform had pre drilled holes that screws fit into on four panels. the holes were incorrectly drilled on the finished side of the bed on one panel. You can still assemble the platform but you can see the screws on the finished side of the platform on one panel Overall it is a nice piece but the manufacturer made an error on one panel
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Great Price for Great Product

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only challenge I faced with this online purchase was making arrangements to have these bed frames signed for once delivered as delivery was to occur during time I was at work 20 miles from home. My 16 year old was available to hang out at home for the day so it worked out just fine.
As for the process, the product and its satisfactory value, two thumbs up and five stars. Ordering process took about 10 minutes. Tracking was available within 24 hours of purchase. Delivery occurred as it was expected. Setup took only about an hour for two of these bed frames. They were relatively easy to set up for two people, look great and are perfect for my two daughters in new bedroom of new house! I highly recommend these for a keep it simple type of environment.
-Fully satisfied customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

It lacks one thing...

06/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If only they had covered the upward-facing platform portion, at least partially, with veneer. But no, it's like MDF there. So with the mattress on it, even with the quilt on the mattress, you can see the MDF. But my daughter likes it, so it's staying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

New big bed for little girl

09/06/2012
By ,
Kingman,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this as a transitional bed for our toddler its low to the ground but not huge. The colors are true to the picture and the price is right less than the cost of her toddler bed. It was fairly simpler to put together
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Good bed

08/18/2014
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my 14 year old son he likes it, It is a lot sturdier than it I thought it would be. We have only had it a couple of days but so far We are happy with it. He has a VERY small room and it fits perfectly in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Price justifies it

04/25/2014
By ,
Merced, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the color and it was pretty easy to assemble.
Honestly, I really wanted to like it more. Here are the things that bug me:
-I seats very low so, with mattress in place, you are about half a meter from the ground when sleeping.
-The base of the mattress is not a whole wood piece but three (assembled side by side on the longitudinal direction of the bed) so you will see the union between them at the foot of the bed. In our case they don't fit nicely (see picture).
-Related to the same issue, the upper surface of these tree pieces is not finished (it's not awful but doesn't look pretty either...).
Anyway, we ended up putting a bed skirt on it so we don't have to see these details on a daily basis... but we know they are still there....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Heavy, but simply to build

01/31/2013
By ,
rochester, mn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i paid extra to have it delivered to my home faster than the standard home delivery fee. no one called me to let me know even what day, let alone a time frame for it to be delivered. i got home and it was sitting in the snow on my doorstep. box itself said only a 2 man carry, but i had bought two beds and am alone so had to find someway to get one on each level of my split level home.
maybe it was old fashioned of me to expect that home delivery gave you the courtesy of a call and perhaps at least delivered into your entryway.
enought about that. the product, once unpackaged contained few parts, easy instructions and went together faster than i thought. i probably could have used a drill to screw in the Many platform screws but using the conventional phillips worked, just left calouses on my hands.
it functions well, is sturdy, a good height for my 7 & 8 year old sons. i did not want to spend a lot of money, but wanted something strong at the same time, this met both qualifications and so far are working fine. definately glad for those rubber end pieces to protect legs on the ends of the bed, but the sticker that is supposed to hold them to the wood is a joke. i nailed them on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Simply A Great Value

09/13/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is as simple as you can get but thus far it has endured my evil bed-jumping/sharing twins. you can't really see the bed frame under the bedding but that's just fine for my kids room. I really did not want a big heavy frame. Easy to put together. Their father put both beds together in little under an hour all by himself. At $88 each it was definitely a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Happy with this purchase.

05/05/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed was easy to put together and looks nice. The only thing I didn't like was that a standard twin mattress does not cover the bed so some of the pressed wood shows. This is only a problem when the bed isn't made. It is a great bed for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Good deal

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to set up and requires minimal amount of tools to do it. Took me a few hours to put together, but that was with quite a few breaks. Good deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

very nice for the price!

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my daughters room!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple
02/09/2013
By ,
Clinton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need to be careful when walking pass the corner of the bed since the platform is slightly longer than standard size mattress and it's with a bit overhand. Otherwise, good bed frame for guest staying over night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

GREAT VALUE

01/02/2014
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my 3-year old daughter; we were ready to transition her out of her existing toddler bed. This bedframe is exceptional for the value. I had my husband put the bed together, but he did not cite any complaints with the process of putting it together. My daughter loves her new bed. My only complaint is that the finish of the wood is not "as finished" as the look of the bed on the website. But a quick remedy for that is to find a comforter that will hang low on the sides of the bed that will cover the finish and small gap, as a standard twin mattress doesn't completely fit the frame. All-in-all, it was a good investment for the price, seems pretty sturdy and would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Good basic platform bed

04/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not too difficult to assemble, but all the pieces come in one very heavy, large box so be sure to have the delivery person bring it to your door or even inside.
My only disappointment is that the top of the platform is not finished like the edges and bottom sides. As a result, the space between the mattress and the edge (a couple of inches on 3 sides) doesn't look good as the particle board shows. When the bed is made it's fine, but otherwise it shows and looks cheap. Otherwise, it's perfectly fine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

Great Bed for Kids

05/24/2014
By ,
Fairfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my son. It is still in great shape after 6+ months. Great price as well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple
04/25/2013
By ,
West Monroe LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for two beds for my daughters. I have one who is 8 years old and a one year old. I finally decided to by this bed because of the price. Assembly is required. I had to have two men carry each box. They are EXTREMELY heavy. Assembly was easy but it does require two people. I knew the beds would be low but they are lower than expected. It works out great for my one year old. She can climb in and out of bed very easily. I got twin mattress for them and they fit okay but are a little short for the edges. Overall though it is a great buy and they are very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, Natural Maple

13 year old loves it!

12/04/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 13 year old son picked out this bed an absolutely loves it. It sits very low to the ground, but that's what he prefers as it makes it closer to the height of a couch rather than a normal bed. Set up was super easy and only took about 15-20 minutes. He says it is super comfortable to lay on, but I think that has more to do with the mattress than the actual bed. It isn't overly attractive (basically a wood box with a couple wood boards on top), but again he's a 13 year old boy and wanted something plain. This was just what he was looking for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 339 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next