Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

South Shore South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

The South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed features a contemporary style that enhances your bedroom decor. With its three practical drawers providing plenty of storage, it is a wonderful space-saving solution. This South Shore Mates bed is available in multiple colors. The handle-free profiled drawer fronts help for easy opening and style matching. This piece is also reversible, so the drawers can be placed on either side. The full storage bed is made from laminated particle board for durability and does not require a box spring. Featuring an elegant black finish, this FSC-certified bed arrives in a single box for easy assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.633 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation76%37 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Sturdy platform bed

12/19/2012
By ,
orlando,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box the bed will come in is very long and heavy. You'll need some help.
The instructions are adequate but could use some improvements.
Ex. when your looking at a piece to put together, it does not describe which side of the piece your looking at. for instance, smooth side or raw. Inside or out. Only way to figure it out is to look at the holes orientation and match it up with the actual piece.
Other than that, it comes together well, looks good and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Truly the worst bed platform ever made-- Avoid it!

01/11/2014
By ,
San Diego
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bed platform was made of a very poor quality of particle boards and coupled with non-load bearing boards used to hold the whole thing together. After a few hours trying to man handle the bed to hold together it resulted in a mattress platform unable to bear one adult size male (190 lbs). I slowly and gently lowered myself on to the bed we placed on it and within a few heart-beats-- one of the cheesy tiny struts securing the plywood pedestal which supports the mattress gave way and I had to make a quick exit to avoid bringing the whole bed platform down. The holes for the screws securing the drawers where pre-stripped and made all the drawers unusable. Avoid this product and get a bed that termites would enjoy eating.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for.

03/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not impressed with this bed at all. When we picked it up the box was very damaged. We took our chances that the bed wasn't itself damaged because we live 40 minutes from the nearest Walmart and didn't want to reorder and then have to find time again to pick it up again. That was a mistake. The bed wasn't badly damaged, but it was damaged enough for a new bed. We decided to just live with it and luckily the damage isn't that noticeable once it was put together. The directions were very hard to follow and required tools not an average person would have. Once the full size bed was together the full size mattress didn't fit the bed properly. There are two inch gaps on both sides and you can see the panels on the bed. If I could do it over again I wouldn't purchase this bed and pay a little extra and purchase a higher quality bed all ready put together from a real furniture store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

item damaged

10/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Assembly was very time consuming. The drawers are smaller than expected. But most importantly The item was damaged during the delivery as it appeared the delivery personnel were very careless and dropped both boxes. the corners of both boxes were crushed and the pieces were broken when I opened the boxes. I am very disappointed and will not order again from your company. You should give me a partial refund due to your carelessness.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Exceptional product.

10/13/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best kit I've ever assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Nice looking bed

01/25/2013
By ,
Lakewood, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This did come in a lot of pieces, and the instructions were a challenge with no writing. However, I did get it together by myself. The only problem was the drawer bottoms were missing from the package, and I had to write to the south shore company to get them. They did say they will send them free of charge, but will take 20 business days!? You would think they could rush a shipment being it was their mistake.
Just remember on the instructions, that if the drawing lines are bold, it is the finished side, and if the lines are light, it is the unfinished side.
Still like the bed a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

solidly made

05/14/2014
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I took all of the pieces of the frame out of the shipping box along with the hardware, I noticed that as per instruction booklet everything was marked on the inside or edge along with the number of pieces. All hardware pieces were numbered and shone on the diagram where each piece fit. Those things made assembly not too difficult.
The bed I got is the full / Queen size. The bed leans between the two sizes which causes a slight overhang of a queen mattress
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

I really like it !

01/08/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bed frame for about a week. I put it together by myself and it took about an hour or so. It was pretty easy but you just have to pay attention to the pictures in the directions to really put it together properly. Its easy to mess up when you don't pay attention. The drawers aren't that spacey at all though. It looks great and I love the finish. The boards on the platform are very thick so it has great support. It doesn't make any noise when I get on/off the bed or while sleeping in bed. I truly can't complain about it. It's a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors
10/31/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the end result was nice, the bed comes in a million pieces and the instructions are AWFUL! If you have a fiend that's good at looking at obscure drawings to figure out what goes where, then this isn't an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Nice sturdy product

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was not hard to put together.... Very sturdy. Looks cheaply made when out of box but looks better when put together
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Good value, sturdy bed

03/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let anyone scare you off from buying this bed because they thought the instructions were hard. We followed the instructions slowly and it still only took about an hour and a halfto build. It's very sturdy. Clean and simple. Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Good bed for the price

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks nice and assembly was pretty easy; however, the drawers were a little difficult to assemble, be sure you have a square Robertson screwdriver handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors
03/11/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed looks great. It took awhile to put together, but it wasn't hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

great for students

07/15/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just moved out and this bed met my needs. The extra storage is great. A few things I didn't like were that the box arrived broken and there was some denting/chipping on the wood. Also, we needed a drill to secure the platform to the frame... maybe it was missing holes?
Overall, met my needs for a cheap, temporary student bed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Well worth the money

03/09/2013
By ,
Dunkirk, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased many home furniture items which required assembly. This bed was the EASIEST!!! Directions were super easy to follow, all predrilled holes aligned (rare to find this!) and I was able to assemble the item solo. (directions suggested 2 people)
The bed was purchased for my teenage daughter and she loves how the bed looks in her Parisian themed room. The drawers are very spacious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors
06/13/2012
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes a long time to put together. You really need two people. Also, if you don't have a full screwdriver kit, you will need one. I never knew what a robertson (square head) screwdriver was until this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors
04/01/2012
By ,
mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the bed was pretty easy to put together as long as u dont care for instructions in writing. it took about 1 hour to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Don't panic when you see all the pieces!

10/29/2013
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw the all the pieces, my first thought was "what have I gotten myself into"? But once I laid all the piece out and looked at the directions THERE ARE NO WORDS!!!!! it was something of a big puzzle. All the pieces went together easily and although they recommend two people to assemble it, I did it all alone in about an hour. The only issue I had was the drawers the screws are difficult to screw into the plastic divot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Irritating/Annoying, finished product is pretty

03/21/2013
By ,
Junction City, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lots of dings/nicks on the wood discovered upon opening this product. Plastic flimsy pieces used in drawer assembly make assembling easy, if they didn't break so often. May need to tack some areas and that would be easier if the wood itself was more than composite. I think with this product its hit or miss.
I put this product together by myself within an 8 our time frame with distractions from my toddler and little one, but I have experience putting things together. It Should be put together by Two people and there are quite a few areas that are irritating/annoying. Just saying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Full Storage Mates Bed, Multiple Colors

Broken pieces from the start

05/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish I could say what this bed is like put together. But, when we opened the box we started with 4 broken pieces. Kicker is it takes at least 2 weeks to get the replacement parts. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next