Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

South Shore South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

The South Shore SoHo Collection Storage Platform Bed in Pure Black brings a touch of elegant urban flair to your bedroom or guest room. Recently redesigned, this platform bed is now easier and faster to assemble, and can be put together by two adults. A metal knob with a matte finish has been added to each drawer for easy access to storage. With its sleek black finish, this storage platform bed will match well to any home decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.559 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation70%57 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

Decent For The Price

10/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bed seems to be an overall fit for a platform bed. The instructions are okay but the fine print is hard to read which led me to redo some steps. The locking wheels to the permanent screws leave the bed a bit wobbly so you need 2 people to move it. Other than the price is a bit high for a particle board bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

Broken Bed On The First Night

06/20/2012
By ,
Albany, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed looks great and it very stylish and trendy. I bought it so that I would have room for bed boxes and because I wouldn't need to use box springs.
My husband put the bed together and it broken on one corner the very first night. So at 2AM, we got to move to out pull out couch instead! The materials are not very strong and the screws just pulled right out of the frame. The only way to fix it was to purchase 30 worth of metal braces and to try to screw it back together as well as possible. I'm afraid it's going to break again.
I wanted to return it, but the pieces are so heavy. I didn't know where to start. Not to mention, I need a bed to sleep in.
Find another product and don't spend your time fixing this bed at 2AM!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great for the $

06/26/2014
By ,
Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks nice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

Poor overall quality

02/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is made of low quality wood, one of the boards fell apart while I was putting the bed together. The wholes for the dowels are cut too large so they easily come out. The directions say no. Red for drilling but there are not wholes remade for all screws. Not worth the money at all!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
05/14/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks nice, but had some issues with assembly. The directions are not very clear & the box was missing pieces ("W" pieces, which are the supports for the boards at the top & bottom of the bed). We went to the hardware store & bought slats & nailed them in their place, rather than call & wait for them to be shipped out. Also, there are parts where holes are NOT drilled for the assembly, so I had to drill them myself. Got the headboard that goes with it...once again, had to drill holes to attach it & use the leftover screws. You would think if this is the same make/model bed and headboard, there would be attachments, but there were not.
All in all, looks great & a decent price. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
03/11/2013
By ,
reno nv
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bed frame ad was very deceiving. It made me think the head board would come with it. It doesn't look good without the head board. I will never order anything from Walmart on line again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
07/16/2012
By ,
Reading, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so easy to put together. My husband was away and I had it put together all by myself in no time!! It is a very sturdy nice bed platform :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes

Good Bed

11/18/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry.

Less than expected

09/01/2007
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I may be naive, because I actually hoped that this bed would look alright even though it was such a steal. I knew it'd be veneered plywood, but didn't guess that it'd be poorly wrapped in woodgrain-look plastic that was peeling.
And it says low profile, which I'm assuming now means the edging around it, because my mattress sits higher than in my old bed. It's so high because the platform part of the bed is even with the top of the wooden edges. I assumed (because that's how most beds are constructed) that the mattress would sit within the side rails, on a platform that's midway down. No. So instead, now you can see a large gap between the mattress and the edge [yes, I'm using the right size mattress] where light colored plywood is highly visible. It looks ugly and contrasts highly with the dark woodtone edging.
Also, in putting it together there were a number of holes missing that we needed to drill ourselves [yes, I read the directions correctly], and two screws missing. Needless to say the construction process was a bit frustrating.
I'm not mad at the bed. It is what it is. I'm mad at myself for hoping that it might be something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Do not purchase!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this bed for less than 1 year and it has completely fallen apart. The support beams in the middle as well as the connecting parts have broken. My husband and I do not weigh more than a combined 300 lbs so it is not from overweighting the bed!!! It looks nice and we liked it when we first got it, but it has not held steady for more than 10 months!!!! Spend a little more and get a better bed!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

Love it!

07/11/2013
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the bed for about 30 days, I think it looks awesome.. At first it was very stable but in the last few days it started bowing the top where the headboard goes and the foot of the bed. So I added a leg to one of slats and then screwed all the slats into the heaboard and footboard as well as screw into the slats that go opposite of the others.. It is totally awesome now, quiet and durable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

A Total Waste of Time, Energy and Money

01/13/2014
By ,
BOSTON, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bed with the matching headboard. At delivery one side rail of the bed was cracked, even though it had been in the middle of the box, and the outside of the box was not damaged. This suggests that it left the factory cracked. A replacement was sent, but they sent the wrong piece, so then I had to call back for a third piece. The holes for the top rail of the headboard did not line up, so I had to request a replacement piece. The holes in the second piece they sent also did not line up. Then they made me take pictures to send them, plus a copy of the original order, since they could find no record of it. The holes in the third top rail they sent also did not line up, so I finally gave up and figured I would try to fix it myself. The bed frame lasted 2 months before it snapped off from the headboard. The screws actually snapped in half. In my opinion, this was a really shoddy product. It's made of very weak pressed wood, and the hardware is didn't hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

Waste of money.

08/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fully aware that it did not come with a headboard. I was fine with this as I had already purchased a headboard and needed a white platform bed to go with it. It was very heavy and I had to have a friend put it together.
The bed is not sturdy at all. It makes creaking noises constantly anytime I turn or adjust or even move my leg. It makes me afraid to even move around in it. I plan on getting a new platform bed at some point, as I doubt that this is going to last very long. It is not worth $150.00. I am just starting out on my own, and I thought buying something basic and "cheap" would be okay to help me get a head start... However it is just creating a bigger headache. My apartment is on the third floor and this is very heavy. And to purchase a different bed and move this out of the apartment to bring the new one in is going to be a headache.
Please do not waste your money. I recommend saving up for something efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Love it!

10/17/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just as pictured. Instructions called for 2 people to put together. Would be easier with two, but was able to do it alone. Using it with 12"foam mattress. SO comfortable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 15 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

Nice bed

10/19/2011
By ,
So California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, this bed was easy to put together, i did it on my own, but a second person doesn't hurt. You get what you pay for with this bed. It is a good looking and sturdy bed. I'm a happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry.

Good for the money

07/12/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product for the money. It is very easy to put together. Took me about 30 minutes to assemble. The floor of the platform is solid, unlike some beds that have only slats supporting; this bed uses planks that completely cover the bottom. Would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Good starter bed

10/19/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My likes:
The bed is sturdy, a nice color/finish, and a good price. As I stated in my review of the South Shore Soho headboard, I am a female in her early 20s (for those it matters to) and I was able to assemble all the pieces together by myself; it took me less than 2 hours (with a few breaks in there).
Dislikes:
If you can open the package when you pick it up, do so! I ended up having to call the actual South Shore company (which is based in Canada btw) to get 2 missing pieces sent to me. Also, I wish the bed was a little higher from the ground; I usually like to store stuff under my bed so I have more space. The added headboard legs and the proximity to the front bed legs don't quite seem to be able to accomodate bed risers; oh well, guess I'll have to see.
Again, great started bedroom furniture :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry.

Good looking product

03/07/2009
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bed was easy to put together, in approximately 45 minutes. Boards are surprisingly sturdy. Frame is slightly too large for mattress. When assembled it looks very nice, better than expected. My only complaint is that the corners at the foot of the bed are very sharp and hurt when brushed up against, both my girlfriend and I have already gotten cuts on our legs from brushing up against the corners.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.
02/06/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is great. Bought it for my daughter, she loves it. The assembly was easy, which took about about 45 mins. with 2 people. The instructions were really easy to follow. Once it was together, it looked amazing, along with the matching headboard which I purchased also.
Definitely recommend this bed. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 20 for South Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Multiple Finishes
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Natural Maple.

Excellent

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice product. Just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next