Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dell Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

The refurbished Optiplex mini-tower computer has everything you need. Microsoft Windows XP Professional lets you accomplish basic tasks. Connect this Dell desktop PC to the Internet with a fast Ethernet connection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.618 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation70%70 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
11/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I ordered this product it said it was a mini tower. What I received was not a mini tower it was HUGE! I kept it because my other computer crashed and I needed one. This one is 16" tall x 17" deep x 7" wide(not mini) My compaq was 9" high x 10" deep x 4-1/2" wide. That is what I consider mini. The computer is fast we really like except for the size. Also it has a dvd burner but you will have to purchase a program to run dvd's as it doesn't come with one on it. My old one did. So far a good product though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+63points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
They censored my town name.
Huge? Hardly.. It's tiny.
Posted 12/02/2011
WARNING: Review from a nerd.
Hello.
I'm just a computer expert checking this computer for a friend on a budget when I saw this comment and started laughing.
For a bit of a background, you should know cases are divided into four areas in ascending order: Mini, mid, full, server.
For starters, I looked up "full tower" on Amazon under "Electronics › Computers & Accessories › Computer Components › Computer Cases ›" just to get an idea of how big the average full tower case is, and pulled this from a random case: Product Dimensions: 26 x 11.5 x 24.7 inches ; 31.6 pounds. When you look at the weight, keep in mind this is EMPTY. No harddrive, CD drive, motherboard, GPU, CPU, etc.
The case I recently bought for the computer I'm building is "Product Dimensions: 22.5 x 11 x 21 inches ; 20 pounds" and it is a mid tower.
This is most definitely mini.
On this computer, everything would be a tight fit. I can't even fathom how anything fit in your Compaq, or how you would service it...
As it is, the computer is not very fast, nor does it even have enough HDD to be left on and used as a file server for your house to watch movies and store documents on.
However, considering it costs less than the calculator you need for high school (Not joking. $215), it is a good deal if you are constrained to this price range.
But, do not expect much. This is the computers bought in massive numbers by schools.
My current computer was bought from a store in 2001 and is a little over three times this.
If you aren't going to use this computer for more than web browsing and document writing, might I recommend installing Linux Ubuntu instead of Windows? Ubuntu is blindingly fast, completely free, and has it's own software center (Like the App Store on Macs / iPhone). It can be insanely easy, or unimaginably advanced, depending on what you do with it. It's used by new users for it's simplicity, and by 'the ultra-geek' for it's freedom to do anything you want, provided you know how.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
07/26/2012
By ,
Cross Plains, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this refurbished computer because I needed one with Windows XP. Initially, after setting up the computer, I could get no signal on my monitor. After reconnecting several times with no luck, I banged the computer lightly on the floor. After that, the monitor was able to recieve a signal. Thereafter, however, the computer demonstrated several problems, including freezing up or not allowing me to use the back arrow. Also, it would not activate my printer which works fine with my other computer with Windows XP.
The paperwork I recieved with the computer said that it had been refurbished to be "Like New."
If this computer is like new, then I would not like to see one that is well used. Perhaps I simply got a bad one from the batch, but I figured that Walmart would insure that a refurbished computer sold by Walmart would be in excellent working condition. I may try to get another one just in case the last one was an anomaly. I returned the computer to Walmart and hope I do better next time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 3 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

This wasn't refurbished, you're buying it used.

11/17/2011
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I jumped at the prospect of a computer this nice for $199. I needed an XP; Pro was a plus. The specs were right where I would want them. A large hdd, but not unmanageable. Plenty of CPU power and RAM, and a nice optical drive.
It arrived a day early, so I took my time customizing it. I added a DVD writer, which wasn't included by default, and installed a fax modem. The inside is extremely customizable, and was very clean. I booted it up with the new hardware installed.
Everything ran as expected through the Windows Registration and first run. You have to use the refurbished pc code that this comes with. It checked out to be a genuine copy of windows. I began the process of installing programs, transferring files, and repartitioning and checking the hard drive for errors. That's when I found the problem.
A desktop hard disk should run at a temperature of a little less than 45 C. After two hours of very light r/w operations, the hard drive S.M.A.R.T. data reported a temp of 59 C. I also noted a power-on count of 50, and a power-on time of 2186 days, 5 (+/- a few) hours. That is almost six years of continuous use, resulting in a hardware overheat.
I tried calling Dell, who claim they cannot refund or replace the drive. I'm contacting the refurbishing company, Joy Systems, to see what their excuse for installing this drive is.
Everthing else about this computer is top-notch. You couldn't ask for a computer of its size to be quieter or more compatible.
I found the 1.5 Gb/s SATA interface to be really cool, with a signal connector and easy-install bay for another HDD. There are two easy-install bays for DVD/CD drives, one for the floppy disk drive, and three pci ports. A fourth pci-like port is open on the back, but I'm not sure what it is called.
MT
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+46points
Review 4 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Refurbished Dell PC tower (only) a great value

11/18/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this refurbished Dell tower PC to replace my 6+ yrs old Dell tower. This arrived clean and tidy, not at all looking like a used machine. Has been working well so far. At only 225$ [200 for the machine + 25 for addtl 2 yrs Walmart extended warranty], a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 5 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

cheaper than the local used computer shop

11/16/2011
By ,
southern indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
clean, functional, no junk software pre-installed.
does what I need it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Review 6 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great value for a basic computer

01/25/2012
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an additional computer for my front office. It only had to handle e-mail and my point-of-sale system, so buying a new, powerful machine made little sense. I also did not want to buy a used machine on the open market since it would have no guarantees. I was very happy to see that Walmart sells refurbished computers. The price was excellent and the machine came in like-new condition. Site-to-store delivery was economical and reasonably quick. I have purchased several items using site-to-store and find it preferable to mail order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Refurbished Dell Optiplex GX620

11/18/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this machine. It is all that is advertised plus. It's quiet, efficient and fast. I would purchase this computer again and with the one year warranty it's a good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Nothing was good about this!!!!!!

08/04/2012
By ,
Newton falls ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I receved the computher in good order and fast shipping. When I hooked it up It fired right up and started as it shoud. Thit is were it all ended. I could not go on line at all. I called the service number given with the unit It took a day and a half to get them on the line 4:00 pm est.
The service rep. had me use the reboot CD that came with the computer He told me it would take about One hour to do this. About a hour and a half it quit and was asking for the CD with the msn updates on it none came with it. They close the service dept at 5:00 pm. I Called again the next day which is day three talked to them again I was told that it should have updated automaticley (Sp). and i was missing the drivers. I was told he would copy the drivers and send them to me. All I had to do ws put them in and everything would be all right. Two day's later they came and nothing happened execpt I could get on MSN only not the web. You only have 15 days to return a computer back to wal mart. They took it back without a problem.... Support was poor and hard to get a hold of. THIS PRODUCT IS NOT FROM DELL ITSELF AND DELL HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM....JUST SAYING.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
02/02/2012
By ,
Streator, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a new XP and this one is faster than the original one I had 4 years ago. It is wonderful. The description says a mini tower and this thing is as big as a young elephant but it matters not as it slips into the place under the desk that the former occupied. It is one of the best buys I ever made especially with the 2 year extended warranty. Can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

SO quiet I don't even know it's on. Love it!

03/01/2012
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Dell. It's only slightly smaller than a normal sized tower though - not sure why they call it a mini tower. Nonetheless, I have found it to have plenty of USB ports for my average household use. I truly do like that it is soooo quiet. Of the many towers I have had, this is by far my favorite. As for setup - I didn't do it myself, I had a friend do it... he said the product key was outdated and he had to call Dell to get a new one... but Dell was prompt to do so and the product key was nearly immediately validated. As for Walmart service - the delivery was quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

No DVD Burner

01/23/2012
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this was a great deal, but it is a misleading ad. There in no DVD Burner in this machine. Now I'm spending $40.00 more tomorrow to install a DVD Burner in this machine. It will cost you more than $40.00 if you don't know how to install a DVD Burner yourself- in technician labor costs, plus the burner cost.
Other than no DVD Burner, it is working well for me.
Remember too that Dell proprietary memory upgrades are more expensive than other memory upgrades. This is something else you need to be able to do yourself if you want to escape additional technical labor costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great bare bones setup for builders.

11/29/2011
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to add another 250 gig hard drive for a total of 500 gigs, dvd writer, fax/modem card and upgraded RAM to 4 gigs. I also intend to replace the power supply with a 600 watt unit. Dell has always made a great cabinet for adding components and this system is no exception. The cabinet was a little dinged up but setup went smoothly per directions and all is well with my replacement desktop. I actually bought it because the price fit within my budget limitations after purchasing an Akai USB EWI which I play through it and it sounds great. I am throughly pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer

12/26/2011
By ,
Stone Ridge, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The computer runs quiet and great! A lot faster then my old computer I 'm loving the internet once again LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
12/06/2011
By ,
Cutler Bay,Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real nice not at all looking like a used machine, plenty of cpu and ram, everything ran as expected
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Buyer Beware

11/12/2012
By ,
cocoa, florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont do it...when I finally downloaded all the microsoft updates, which was a day long process, I finally go to use my computer and there is NO sound. NONE. Plus it had a very annoying program running called strongvault. It was horrible...I couldn't get rid of it for anything. I tried to system restore 4 times and it would not restore..So i tried unsuccessfully to delete the program from the add or remove program section and it would NOT remove itsself...I took it back...while at the customer service desk they told me that people return the on line computers ALL the time. A worker at the Office Depot told me that after April of 2013 anyone with windows xp will not be able to use their computers anymore as it will no longer be available ...So on that note I am waiting to see what I can get on black friday which is around the corner...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
02/21/2012
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price on a good computer. My daughter's computer bit the dust and needed replacing and she didn't want Windows 7, she wanted to stick with XP, I was happy I could find a good computer with XP at a great price. Everything works, no complaints. Looks new. It's good to recycle too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Don't Buy

01/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite saying mini-tower it is a full-sized tower. Also despite the specs saying it comes with PS/2 ports and a PS2 keyboard and PS2 mouse comes with USB ports and on top of that the machine wouldn't even boot up out of the box - continuous reboot cycle. Overall piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 18 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)

A lot of work to update.

12/08/2011
By ,
Lewistown PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Verry disapointed! All the drivers were outdated and several drivers were MISSING!!! I had to pay $30.00 to an online service to update and add missing drivers!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
12/08/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the computer a day early which was nice. For the money, I feel it is a very good deal. the only negative is that the keyboard is cheap. The folks at Walmart.com were professional and helpful and I will continue to make purchases with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini-Tower PC (Refurbished) with Intel Pentium 4 Processor, 250GB Hard Drive and Windows XP Professional (Monitor Not Included)
12/12/2011
By ,
council bluffs, ia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When we set this up we found the USB ports did not work....sent it right back.
Customer service very nice about crediting back to credit card. Went somewhere
else and bought new PC with more capability at about $80 more.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next