Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lights of America Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Lights of America Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

This Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture is specifically designed to provide the perfect color and lighting properties conducive to plant and flower growing. This light stick has a very slim profile, allowing it to be used almost anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%34 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Low price, works well.

12/01/2012
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these to provide light for my pineapple bush. It was accustomed to living in direct sunlight in the New Mexico desert. Brought it inside for the winter but wanted to keep it growing. Put these lights on a timer, and positioned them on either side of the bush, actually inside the leaf spread. It gets a little light from a western facing window from noon to 4 so I set the lights to run 7:30 to noon, then 4 to 7:30. The plant is growing like crazy! Low electrical draw, no heat, just perfect. They are made of a cheap plastic which is why I gave it the appearance rating I did. But they don't have to look good as long as they work!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Awesome lights!

03/27/2012
By ,
Eastern Shore, Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you have to do is plug the light in and it works. I priced them at Lowe's, the cheapest light was over $30 and I would have had to wire it. These are great, I bought two at Walmart for $10.97 each, came home and attached them to some spare wood that I had around the house, made a little makeshift stand with one light on each side, put them over my plants, and within an hour I had sprouts. Now, I had planted my seeds (tomato, peppers, herbs) three days prior and started to worry they wouldnt grow, this is the first time I have tried growing anything, so I started to Google and decided that I'd get the lights. Since having the lights on them for about seven hours, total, they all have sprouted and some are even about an inch tall. Really good deal on the price of these and the lights work great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Two foot grow light exceptional

02/28/2013
By ,
Mobile, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using these two, two foot fixtures to encourage plants in my greenhouse during the darker hours.
I have many flowering plants and veggies growing in potted environments. Some of these are in for the colder months while others are being prepared for transplanting this spring.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Good for starting medicinal seed/clone

08/06/2014
By ,
Hilton Head Island, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great for two purposes: starting seedlings or clones, and to supplement your main lights. You'll want 2 at least for anything really. I absolutely do not think that you can grow anything from start to finish with using just these lights, but they are very useful. If you have an indoor garden, like a tent, they can be attached to any of the 4 vertical poles with a few zip-ties each. I used 4 of these lights to help add some light to the lower areas, and attached them to the 4 up poles with a few zip-ties. Place them on the poles about 1.5 to 2 feet up from the ground, where the lower leaves actually start, depending on your potting arrangements. With the zip-ties tightened, you'll still be able to slide them up or down some. If you don't have long enough zip-ties, you can connect two ties together, like I had to do.
Remember, they're only 17 watts a piece, so you'll need some real lights also after seedling stage, but these will get ya started!
Oh, side note : this isn't mentioned anywhere, but the lamp housings do have two of those screw/nail slide holes in back, so you can mount them to something more permanently, but still slide them off later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

great light

08/18/2014
By ,
Marietta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a Fluorescent light for under my kitchen cabinets. I bought this light and love it-I keep some of my house plants under it too. Such a great light. I put up two screws and mounted the light so it stays put. It has a plastic lens cover over the Fluorescent bulb. Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

An Amazing Value!

10/31/2011
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm new to indoor gardening and was shocked at the prices out there on grow lights. I bought 2 of these and am thrilled. Within 5 days my banana plants ~which had been going dormant in a chilly Ohio autumn~ perked up and are already sending out new leaves. Also, my tiny tim tomato seeds sprouted in 4 days. The light comes assembled, is easily mounted (really!!), not an eyesore, cool to the touch, uses very little electricity, is under $11 AND it actually does what it is supposed to do?!?! Highly recommend. I'm going to order several more now as "backups." In fact, I might just give these lights, with little indoor tomato plants, as holiday gifts :) Off to order more now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
07/09/2011
By ,
Medford, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the light and intalled it on the same day. I had sprouts in 5 days. It works beautifully and looks good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
08/21/2011
By ,
sacramento california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great grow light. can't beat the price. replacement bulbs at local hydoponic stores. it's cheaper to just purschase anothe unit from walmart. looks goodon the closet shelve! babies our happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Excellent auxillary fixture

10/09/2011
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent second or auxillary fixture. The light uses very little energy, and provides a nice 4200K growing light. It is very cool, so it may be placed close to the growing plants, or may be used to provide light vertically, lighting tall, growing plants on the side. I recommend this light for all small growing uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
02/23/2012
By ,
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these to start my spring veggie plants. After 2 weeks I am determined to find a Walmart that is not sold out of these and buy 3 more! This light is the best bang for the buck you can find. Low energy use and high out put is a no brainer for only $11 each! Why would I want to spend over $200 for 1 fixture and 2 bulbs that put out less light. Do yourself a favor and grab up all of these you can.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

good light but low power

03/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok I havent actually bought this tube yet.. I May! very soon i saw it today.. I would just like to point out.. this light is only 17 watts.. equivalent to 75 watts incandescent. This is not a very powerful light.. It will sprout some young plants but you are gonna need more then one of these for any decent sized gardening.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
this lights good for starting seeds and cuttings..
Posted 04/04/2012
Not so good for mature vegetative growth....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Please read if you can't spare more than 24 inches

04/30/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't know how well this light would be for larger plants, but I used the plant to grow my hybrid banana pepper from seed. I grew it inside a big enough cupboard to fit two of these lights. I put a thermometer inside to make sure it wasn't too cold since it was in the basement. Not only did the pepper plant make it to 5 inches before I put it on our patio for regular sunlight, it also increased the temperature inside the cupboard. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cord juts out fairly far and the light itself is 24 inches, but including the ballast it's 26.75 inches long which is not specified on the website or the box, and then add another 1.5 inches or so for the card that juts out.
So people should know how long the light really is including ballast too because of how much space they do or do not have. One of the nice things however is that it's a two-prong cord and not a three-prong cord. So it can fit into older surge protectors if need be or older outlets if your home is older. And the other nice thing is the fact that it puts out 75 watts of light and only uses 17 watts of energy. Great for anyone trying to be green with electricity use.
Besides the length con, it's a good light. I have yet to use it for more than just one pepper seedling, but I think you'll be pleased with the results. I'd start with just one or two lights, however. No need for more than that unless you're growing more than one house plant. Good luck!
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Great value for the price.

05/18/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using these lights to give my african violets more light. My violets look much healthier and have many new blooms. I have the lights on a timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
04/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product especially for the price, grow lights can be so expensive... This is easy to install and my plants are looking healthy. I'm about to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Great bang for the buck!

04/23/2012
By ,
savanna, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fixture is slightly flimsy, but since the whole thing costs the same as the bulb, it's a great deal!
Work awesome for starting my garden!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Great product for the price

02/21/2012
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
awesome grow light for the price. Similar products at other stores run 2-3x as much. Casing seems a little cheap but it's expected for the price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Works great!

04/14/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My tomato seedlings are thriving! I love that this light stays cool to the touch!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Just what I was looking for!

04/21/2013
By ,
North Franklin, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an inexpensive grow light as I am new at starting veggies from seeds. This light was the most affordable that I found online. When I got it home, I was more than pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to set up and use. The Housing is a little delicate, but I expected as much for the price. I was pleasantly surprised again when I discovered that it fit (hung from the supports) of my little greenhouse and the size was perfect! The light itself is excellent as well as all of my seedlings are doing great. I am very happy with these and have since purchased 8 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

ok for the $

11/10/2012
By ,
washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bought two, one had no cord in package!? will return tomorrow for another, puts out ok ligh especially for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lights of America 24" Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

More expensive isn't always better

04/03/2012
By ,
Spring, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this product. I was always under the impression that paying more meant better results, not the case with this grow light. I have grown several plants under this light with great success and it was the better value of all the choices I had to choose from. If you want great growth results then this light is for you. This is why I shop Wal-Mart
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next