Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

The Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV delivers top-of-the-line picture and audio quality. This Sceptre 42" LCD HDTV features a sleek and slim look that will give your home a new feeling with its eye-catching glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM and TruSurround HD help provide you with vivid images and sound. The high-quality and superieor HD experience make the 42" 1080p HDTV a wise investment for any home. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.187 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 469
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
342
4 stars
182
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation87%543 out of 627reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
342
4 stars
182
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

best purchase ever

01/07/2012
By ,
Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know you are probably like me and are thinking, "I'm not buying a Sceptre, what the heck is a Sceptre?" I spent 10 days during Christmas going through every possible web site to purchase a new TV for my bedroom (Best Buy, Target, Sears, etc.). I read at least 200 reviews and found this 42 In Sceptre, 1080. I'm really glad I purchased this TV. It sounds great, looks really nice, and for $350 it is a steal. I actually like it more than my Sony Bravia. Set up was really easy. My only issue was the silly energy saving sticker you have to peel off the bottom, I hate peeling off stickers. I also noticed that you have to push the remote buttons kind of hard, but you probably won't use that remote too often if you have cable or Dish. You will like this TV and don't worry about the name brand. Trust me, I spent so long researching every TV possible and it is really hard finding a 1080 TV this size at this price. Get the 2 year Wal-Mart warranty also and you total cost will be around $420. I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Its certainly cheap, but you get what you pay for.

01/15/2012
By ,
Oroville, California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hoping for some great bargain, but as with anything you get what you pay for. The picture quality is fair to mediocre. The picture is fairly dull and dark (even on "Vivid"), there is an odd "rosiness" to skin tones in dark scenes that calibration wouldn't eliminate, and its not particularly sharp. The sound is pretty terrible and I don't mean normal LCD terrible, I mean terrible period. Very uneven tone from channel to channel, HD to SD. The headphone jack is useless since the level is off the scale (even with the volume on "1" its far too loud). I tried turning on and off all the various sound options (of which there are quite a few) and nothing helped much.
Its not a piece of junk, but its definitely not the quality of a $600 TV as many reviewers are claiming it to be. Set up was a breeze and there panel had no dead or stuck pixels. As for Walmart's ship to store, it went very well and I'll definitely use it again. This one's going back - going to try an LG 42".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great TV, great price!

01/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recently purchased this TV and it's great! Attaching the tv to the base takes about 5 mins, they even have a small screw driver in the package....doesn't get any easier than that. You just need to read the directions! The picture quality needs to be set to vivid, again just read because it's default setting is on power saver mode...takes one sec! The sound is fine! We have a sound bar and have not even attached it yet. We have the sound serring set to standard for regular tv, as we did have in on dynamic and it was getting lower than louder during our favorite tv shows. Not sure why people have complained about the sound in previous reviews, ours is great, and loud! This tv has an excellent picture quality and I would reccommed it to anyone looking to purchase one! We saved a lot of money and it is a quality tv, don't be afraid of name brands! This tv is excellent and if we need another one in the future we would purchase a Sceptre.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great value for the money.

12/02/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I set this television up yesterday in my living room. The picture quality is very good. It can be easily adjusted using the Picture button on the remote. Vivid was the level that brought the most vibrant colors. Low looked to be a little muted to me as did the power save selection. Sound quality really isn't all that great. It's passable, but I would highly recommend getting a set of surround sound speakers to go with this unit. Don't forget to purchase a HDMI cable for this TV. because it doesn't come with one. The remote comes with 2xAAAA batteries. Total set up time from opening the box to watching TV is about 5 minutes. The only assembly required is mounting the base to the bottom of the TV by screwing in 7 small screws. The box includes a small screwdriver to use. As far as picture quality goes, I think that Vizio and Sony have slightly better pictures than this brand. However, the cost of this unit is about $250-$300 less and it's quality is at least on par with the other brands out there that cost much more. If I had to do this all over again and buy a TV, I would purchase this one based on the value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+194points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missoula, MT
Follow up to my original posting
Posted 12/16/2011
I've had the TV for about a month and am really enjoying it. The picture is great and the settings within the TV unit are easy to locate and to adjust as needed. More on the sound quality. I really isn't all that good by itself. However, I would imagine that other similar flat screen TVs have similar "fair" sound quality. I purchased this TV in a bundle with RCA speakers for $459 at Walmart (online). The RCA surround sound speakers really do a great job of compensating for the TVs mediocre (though not poor) sound quality. Again, at this price point this TV package is a steal...the best out there for the dollar.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Not bad at all for the price

04/18/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To my taste the colors are a little bit off, but this can only be noticed in a few shows and movies with low saturation, other than that the picture is quite crisp and the size is just perfect for your average sized living room.
I'd say the reason this is missing the fifth star is the sound, we bought it in a bundle with a home theater system, which fixes this issue for us but we had to get an audio output cable and we just used the TV without the home theater system meanwhile. The sound wasn't anything great, we noticed it right away.
A tiny detail for nitpicky people like me is that I found it hard to turn off the motion interpolation in this TV, I had a hard time going through the menus looking for whatever name they gave to it, but some people actually like the soap-opera effect it gives to movies so I didn't really take it into consideration.
Overall this is a good starter for those who enjoy watching some movies or playing HD videogames in it. It's nothing too fancy but it's nice looking and serves it's purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Not bad for the price

12/12/2012
By ,
GREAT NECK, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV for my living room to replace a nearly 30 year old RCA clunker I had in there that I should not knock since I certainly got my monies worth on that TV I finally got it all set up the other day. It was a breeze to set up everything worked the first time the cables were plugged in (even the use of only having to use one remote that belongs to the cablebox) which believe me is usually not the case when it comes to electronics in my home LOL Nearly every other TV in my home you need to use two remotes the TV remote to turn the TV set on and the cable company remote for all other functions The picture and sound quality are good and for the price I am very very satisfied I have not had the time yet to sit down and experiment with all the settings but the factory settings seem to be working just fine. The only review I read and did change was to change the picture quality to vivid which seemed to make the picture better I would recommend this TV for anyone on a budget
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great TV for a Great Price!!!

01/11/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order this tv site to store(great experience). My tube TV FINALLY died and it was time to get my 1st HDTV. I spent 2 months comparing prices, brands, and specs (I wanted 4 HDMI) as I'm picky about investing alot of money in something that I want to last me a long time. I found this to be the best deal available anywhere. Picture's awesome. Sound quality's not the greatest, but it's something that surround sound can take care of. Great quality for the price. My only drawback so far is that I've got my cable box hooked up to it and the remote for the cable box interferes at times with the TV. I think they're the same frequency. I think that's something that I can fix.?.? I've already recommended this TV to multiple people. Thanks for the great overall experience!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 8 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great buy great TV so far!

10/21/2011
By ,
Frisco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay so I looked at this purchase as taking a chance.. I'd buy an off brand and then buy the 3 year extended warranty and hope for the best out of the box... I haven't been disappointed so far! The picture right out of the box is as good as my other flat screen LCD's- All name brands. I guess the only negative so far is that we can't control the TV volume with the Direct TV remote.. We'll figure that out or use two- No biggy!
Everything about this TV is fine! Great picture- Great sounds, it's so lightweight we'll bring it inside and outside to the patio as planned.. Game 2 of the World Series was pretty awesome on it- Especially the top o the 9th inning!! :0 Go Rangers!! Awesome TV- Take advantage of the $379.00 price tag and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+274points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Minneapolis
TV codes for Sceptre
Posted 11/07/2011
Try using the Sony codes. It worked for my 32" Sceptre on Comcast.
11100
+3points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/28/2011
If you paid with a credit card, many of the companies offer an additional complimentary warranty that matches the original warranty up to one year. Check it out. Enjoy.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Sceptre 42" LCD TV - After years of use

06/04/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to find a replacement for the dinosaur museum's show room's big screen that died and found the Sceptre 42" available as an Internet order item and well worth the time it took to get to our local Walmart store.
Now years later it is still running every day 10 hours just like new. I had no second thoughts ordering as an IT manager I knew the name well as I have ordered scores of Sceptre computer monitors since the 80's and have never been disappointed. Now am waiting for my own 40" to arrive for our home - can't wait!
Overall quality is fine to me considering it provides a crisp bright display that years ago would cost $800 or more to purchase. Today there seems many brand choices that have very similar features which makes me think like calculators in the 80's, technology has got it down and the prices reflect this.
The addition of external speakers would be a no brainer for anyone who cares about the theater experience audio is very important and most any internal TV sound system is not going to sound as well as even with a $140 400W w/Subwoofer PC sound system. Most of us have an AVR and speaker system ready to work with the TV...No?
Surge filters and power UPS helps keep things running too here as we do have a lot of lightening in Colorado above 8,000'.
I'll review the 40" as soon as I get enough time with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 10 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD
12/10/2011
By ,
Tampa, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I just received this TV yesterday, and the ease in which (she) put it together was a breeze! She had the TV, blu ray player , and the Wii all hooked up and ready to go when I came home from work!! I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviews, the fact that the picture is well worth the price. The only issue so far, is the sound quality. At times, it will be a little distorted or "tinny" sounding. (we may also need additional time to adjust the settings the way we like) Nothing that we be believe some additional surround sound wont cure. (which we were planning on adding anyway.) Overall, so far this is a great buy. Making a 42" HDTV with 4 HDMI inputs affordable to almost everyone. Thanks Sceptre!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 11 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD
03/01/2012
By ,
Gwinner, ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found this great TV online and thought for the price you can't go wrong. It was easy to set up and was working great. After 6 months of use, I turned the TV on one day and the menu display kept showing. I couldn't change the channel or control the volume. The next day the TV would not even turn on.I had a friend come over and look at it to see if there was a reset button or anything and there wasn't. Customer Service was called and they told us how to reset the TV, however that didn't work either and it still would not turn on. I called customer service three more times and no one answered. I left three messages and still have not received a phone call back. This TV will go back to Walmart and they can deal with it. I hope I don't have any problems with the return. Walmart is usually pretty good about that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Good value

11/29/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was concerned about buying other than a brand name, but this is a really good purchase. The picture is bright and clear with excellent color and sharp contrast. I am quite happy with my purchase. Good thing I bought when I did because Walmart's web site says they are now out of stock.
I am disappointed in the sound quality. At higher volumes it becomes distorted. Tone is not to my liking. I may try a sound system to see if it will be better.
I used the THX picture adjustment system found on certain DVDs. The picture is much improved after the adjustment. The default adjustment from the factory leaves much to be desired.
Will change to five stars if I can get better sound with a sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Review 13 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great Value

12/19/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV as a bundle that came with a separate sound system. I was skeptical because I didn't recognize the brand, but after reading reviews which were mostly positive I decided to take a chance considering the great price. I initially hooked it up without the sound system just as a test. The picture is surprisingly great. HD movies and football games look awesome. The sound however is lacking, so I suggest a separate sound system. My main complaint is that the remote is not very responsive. Sometimes I have to push a button several times before the TV responds, but that is definitely not a deal-breaker considering I don't have to use it for channel/volume changes. If you're on a budget and have a separate sound system, this TV is definitely a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 14 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Don't let the brand put you off

12/25/2011
By ,
Round Rock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw several other good reviews on this TV and thought it was worth taking a chance on. Plus, WalMart has a 90 day in store return policy even when you purchase online. We got it for a bedroom that we use as a playroom and it's just the right size. First, I had to attach the swivel base. No big deal and it even comes with a screwdriver. However, the TV tilts slightly and I have pulled the stupid base off and checked everything and re-attached and still it tilts. Annoying, but I slid the manual that came with it under one side of the base and problem solved (wall mounting would be even better).
Now for the good part. The picture is awesome. Right out of the box. We have a 61" Samsung DLP in the living room and this picture is crisper with even more refined detail. I don't know if it's due to the differences in LCD vs. DLP or that the specs (contrast, etc.) just get better and cheaper.
We hooked up our PS3 via HDMI cables (purchased seperately) and the picture is amazing. The sound was what almost every review on almost every flat screen TV says - tinny, no bass. Not intolerbale by any means, but bass makes so much difference in game playing and movie watching. I hooked up our desktop Logitech 2.1 speakers with small subwoofer. I bought these years ago for $20 and they make a big difference. It's not surround sound and they lack midrange, but the bass makes up for it in my opinion.
The TV has tons of connections - 4 HDMI, component, RCA, USB, headphone (which is how I connected the speakers) and several others. I tried the USB and the menu was pretty decent. It will show pics and has a slideshow setting and will play music files. It doesn't play any videos, but that would be a lot to expect at this price. For $359, the USB is a nice bonus. This model may not be a brand name, but it isn't stripped down - far from it.
Of course, the real test will be how long it lasts before something goes wrong. I bought the extended warranty just to cover my bases, but intend to update this review periodically because this, to me, is the most important part of a good review - are you still happy with the purchase in 6 months, a year, two years? That's what matters more than it was great out of the box.
Still, you be hard pressed to find a TV of this size, with this many features for this price and that combination made it a great purchse for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+408points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
I had the same tilt problem.
Posted 01/12/2012
The trick is to get the black spacer that fits between the TV and the base to be pushed up nice and snug against the bottom of the TV. Then when you screw in the seven small screws all the parts are level with each other and will give you a nice level top on the TV.
Turn the spacer so it fits skinny side in your hand and up snug against the base of the TV.
Then you'll be fine. It is a good base, but honestly they could have engineered this so it was far more easy to do without having to figure out how to keep it level.
Oh-DO NOT over tighten those little screws-snug is plenty-remember there are seven so you have plenty of strength.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Do not be fooled into this TV.

12/03/2012
By ,
Sulphur Springs, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded to the 42" screen due to my eyesight. I got this just over three months ago. Right away the remote stopped working, and after two different universal remotes and trying all the factory suggestions, I gave up and went to the set to adjust it. The sound was not good, and it took a lot of adjusting to get the colors right. I tried to give this TV a chance, so I did not return it. Tonight I was watching a DVD, and boom, it blew. I mean a very loud popping noise and it went black. So I will deal with Walmart tomorrow and see how it turns out. I am no beginner at electronics, so shame on me for trusting this off brand. If Walmart refunds my money I will get another brand from them maybe. It depends on what they have to offer, as I won't ever be interested in this cheap imitation. Just because it looks good, and is the right price does not mean it is a quality item. If you need to save money on a larger TV, I suggest at least get a brand you have heard of for a little longer such as Emerson. My 32" TV is in my bedroom now, a Toshiba I purchased in 2009. Lesson learned...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

This product rocks!

12/22/2011
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick delivery - after reading other reviews, I was concerned about possible sound issues with this product. Unfounded fears, the sound quality is very good. Picture quality is very good. Overall features are good. Also has a USB port that can be used to view JPEG pictures and also to play MP3 music. Keep in mind that it will only except up to 2 gig. size flash drive and only FAT 32 format. Don't plan to use this feature very much but it is a nice addition. Would advice changing the picture setting from power saving to vivid. This product rocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 17 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Great tv until it died

12/22/2011
By ,
Everett, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were so happy to get this tv. Ours was pretty old so this was a huge upgrade. Setup was easy. Picture and sound were good. We didn't hook it up to the computer or a home theater or anything, just cable and Xbox. Everything was great....until it died about 10 days later. Just up and died! Like it wasn't plugged in. We called the "800" number and left a message but nobody called back so I called Walmart. They told me to return it to Customer Service. It's an online only item. We didn't want another one, so we got a refund. Walmart was great and refunded entirely - including the service plan. We ended up getting a tv at Best Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 18 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Good Purchase

03/11/2013
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the TV for about 2 1/2 years now. For me, easy set up and lots of inputs and outputs. The screen is still bright in a well-lit room, good blacks, hook up the vga to a computer and it's eye- popping in a darkened room. The Wii Frisbee Disc Golf is crisp. The HDMI input from my sat provider makes Honey Boo Boo stand out. The micro-HDMI to HDMI converts the TV nicely for me to see a red bird crash in a wall to knock down a grunting pig. And even the PS2 version of Mortal combat allows me to see the carnage oh so better theu the RGB input. The remote functions welland the controls are well defined. All in all the TV is a great performer and capable of meeting the technology available today. And the price on the thing is just great. There's not many others out on the market at this price with this many features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

Don't buy it!

02/02/2012
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks like a great TV and sells for a great price, but the picture completely quit working after only 2 weeks. The Sceptre customer service rep said "it must have been dropped during transport" and that he has received other similar complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 20 for Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

This TV was dropped

06/23/2013
By ,
Bloomington, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this TV home and spent 30 minutes trying to figure out their instructions for attaching the base. Once I understood it, it was easy to do. Then I turned it on - and there was this huge black blob across almost all of the tv. It was obvious that someone had dropped it. Just for grins I called the Spectre tech support to see if there was a rest button I could try, but all they said when they saw the pictures that I sent to them, was our warranty doesn't cover user caused problems -like it as my fault that someone had dropped it. I was so angry that when I took the TV back to Walmart - who by the way were extremely polite in doing my return - I found a Sanyo tv for $40 more and bought it. Because of that tech support issue, I will never buy a Spectre tv again. I sent them a scathing email and never heard anything from them. Great customer service _NOT - by Spectre.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
1-20 of 470 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next