Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3389 Reviews) 2894
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,911
4 stars
1,001
3 stars
150
2 stars
108
1 star
219
Customer Recommendation89%3,008 out of 3,389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
326 Questions | 1,663 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,911
4 stars
1,001
3 stars
150
2 stars
108
1 star
219
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

After two years it quit working

08/18/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It turns out that the power supply unit needs to be replaced. It was always conected to a surge protector. It costs over $150 to repair it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Lasts only a year!

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv online during a Black Friday / Cyber Monday sale in 2012. Well, you definitely get what you pay for. The tv was wall mounted in my new townhouse in April 2013. I didn't have any issues with it other than an occasional buzzing sound and color/darkness issues. Unfortunately during the FIFA final July 13, 2014 the tv shut off during half-time never to turn back on again. There was no rain, no power outage, skies as clear as a summer's day. Called tech support, who is on PST time, 3 hours behind so never able to speak to anyone. Finally contacted them via email. I had to send the S/N and P/N #'s. Guess what they are on the back of the tv, which is mounted on a wall. Finally able to get someone to take it down for me to send the info to them. Waiting for a response, but based on reviews from online I might as well just chalk it up to renting a Sceptre tv for $280 for a year, because that is what I paid and got use of it. Good luck to anyone who owns this tv and is having a good run, enjoy it while it lasts!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Be Sceptical

08/09/2014
By ,
Washington, Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought a 42" Sceptre and within a year it has broken twice. It is currently out for repairs. It broke 6 months after buying it, then again 7 months after that. It is becoming a hassle. Good thing we bought a 3 year extended warranty. I was told that it has to break 4 times before it is considered a lemon and can be returned for a new one. Do your homework, compare and pay attention. It may be smarter to pay a little extra for a name brand and a more reliable TV. Hopefully this repair holds, either that or it breaks 2 more times before the warranty runs out so it can be replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great except for one problem.

08/31/2014
By ,
Webster, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is one problem with this TV. The cable remote will not accept the volume control. We had a technician from Charter Cable check this and he said it is the first time in eleven years that he's been with Charter that he could not program the volume on a tv. That means that we have to use two remotes, one for the sound (the remote that came with the tv] and the Cable remote for everything else. He said the only alternative was to return the Sceptre tv and get another brand or to put up with two remotes. We opted to go with the two remotes. Has anyone else had this problem? Any comments?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

This is a great TV for the price.

08/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV was priced just right! It was easy to program and the picture was very good. The sound is good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

very nice

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has a great picture. We have bought it for the room that the grandkids stay in when they are over.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good value

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money however the picture quality does not have the sharpness that you see in the stores but maybe if I get HD input that may improve. Sound quality is only fair but I have been running the audio through my Bose radio which makes a world of difference. Overall a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Affordable TV

08/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality buy. Only complaint is that the remote is not very responsive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

08/28/2014
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as my secondary TV, watch only occasionally. Why spent 500-600 for pretty much the same thing?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Would recommend!

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Television is better than I expected and it came faster than I thought. I am very happy and will purchase another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Fantastic TV

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have several different makes of 40 in tvs and this displays as well or better than ones costing twice as much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Nice for the price

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $300.00 including 3 year warranty for $38.00 extra. Not bad. Not bad at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Nice tv

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound could b louder
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

For quality and value, the Sceptre HD TV is great

08/25/2014
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 Sceptre HD TVs (a 32 inch, a 40 inch and a 50 inch) and I made the best investment that money can buy. Spending more does not always guarantee to you the best value.
This is a great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

GREAT TV AND VALUE WAS GOOD.

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT TV AND VALUE GOOD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great value

08/24/2014
By ,
McKinney, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a 27 tube TV for my mother-in-law and I helped her cut the cable. We are using a indoor antenna for local HD TV. The set was easy and and the remote was to explain to she. With the Hz only being 60 I was a worried about the refresh rate but it was not an issues.
Overall this is a no thrills awesome value. You are not paying for a bunch of features that you will not use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Site to Store Delivery

08/23/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered item Site to Store, went to pick it up and the box was so damaged the store personnel said she was embarrassed and ashamed to bring the TV out for me to see. Immediately returned item and received a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Amazing Tv Amazing Price

08/22/2014
By ,
Newnan Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 24 yr old that watches football every saturday and Sunday this 40inch tv prevails in most head to head competition and come's off the shelf at a low 260.It has amazing picture and sound quality.I am extreamly impressed with sceptre and their entire line of tvs. This will not be my last purchase you can guarantee that .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great dependable TV for a super price

08/21/2014
By ,
Indiana PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will be the 5th time I've ordered the 40" SPECTRE TV. Have had my original for a few years. Got one initially for me then have ordered them for my family and friends since they like mine especially the price. In total we have 9 years of total use on these TV's and have never had to have one returned or fixed. The only issue on all the sets was a couple dead pixels showing up on my TV after 2 yrs. My original is super energy efficient using 60 watts total power, actually ran it and my cable box on a small 100 w inverter when the power was out. Just hope we have as good of luck with this newer one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good value

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After researching other 40" HDTVs, the Sceptre has the more features like 3 HDMI inputs. It has a great picture. I am glad I selected this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,895 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  145 Next