Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3419 Reviews) 2924
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,928
4 stars
1,007
3 stars
151
2 stars
109
1 star
224
Customer Recommendation89%3,032 out of 3,419reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
326 Questions | 1,663 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,928
4 stars
1,007
3 stars
151
2 stars
109
1 star
224
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Overall good picture quality for price

09/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this TV for my son as a Christmas gift. The picture quality exceeded my expectations. It was easy to setup and use. I would have given this device a higher overall rating had it not developed an issue after one and a half years. The TV would not turn on without having to hit the switch numerous times. The last time it was accidentally turned off, it never came back on. Apparently this is a common issue for this TV. Based on the quick death rate, I would not recommend this TV.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

greaat tv for any room

09/16/2014
By ,
new albany in
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my new scepter 40 is more than I expected and what a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

super tv for the price

09/16/2014
By ,
winter park fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I.do not have much to say.yest that I. have another 32 inches and had to have a 40 because if a 32 has such a quality picture a 40 inches would be even better.and it is. thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV for a Great Price!

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sceptre TV that we ordered for our family's living room came easy to assemble (stand) and the setup process only took a matter of minutes. I was watching my favorite news program within 20 minutes of bring the TV into our house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great picture,easy setup ,light weight

09/15/2014
By ,
southfield,mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this TV to everyone. Low price ,great picture, slim design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Pleased

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

A great television.

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item arrived two days before the scheduled arrival date. Had never heard of the sceptre brand before. The picture quality is really better than I believed it would be. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great price. Great product.

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought this t.v. for my teenage daughter and she loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Sceptre 40" tv

09/13/2014
By ,
Chino ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it speakers should project forward not back but love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Love it

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have two TV's from this brand. I am very happy and satisfied with the quality. You can't beat the price. A great buy. You will be happy with your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great Deal

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel like a moron for buying a Samsung smart TV a year ago for $700. Not only is this TV much cheaper but it is a LED. It looks so much crisper than my Samsung! The sound isn't the best so you do have to turn it up quite high but so what even with purchasing a sound bar you come out ahead! Just make sure you buy the warranty with it. It's a cheap warranty and well worth it.
Overall, great tv for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

EHHH!

09/10/2014
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a new name product so sceptical from the start.
For price its affordable.
I had an emmerson several sizes and compairing to them since they are all I have known.
I have noticed several issues that affect my expectaions for this product.
My first one is the sound. I cant seem to leave at one level. I am bouncing it up and down to here.
I also notice when playing a deice off of it. there would be no sound except from the device. (Laptop) netflix mirrored to the big screen. You would actually have to turn off and on to get sound.
Another concern to me is. I use dish clear picture.
well when I turn my tv on my channel comes in distorted. line waving etc.
Now I have only one channel and I have to do channel change for same channel repeatedly till I get a clear picture. I do have the extended service plan and would recomend this to anyone purchasing this product to protect your investment. I personnally think I am going to return mine before the 90 days and save up to upgrade to something I am more comfortable with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

No sound

09/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you plan to use external speakers, go for it. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. The sound is comparable to my cell phone speaker.
The picture is good for the cost, but it has some lines across the screen that can get pretty noticeable/ annoying at times. I think its worth forking out more money to get a more reliable brand with decent sound and crisp picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

very pleased!

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound and Picture are excellent.
So glad we got this new TV.
Initial trouble with cable, not TV and technicians were prompt, courteous, and correct!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

40" tv

09/08/2014
By ,
fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV Light slim and better picture then the one I had before sound ok
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

09/08/2014
By ,
Clinton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Awesome TV

09/07/2014
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time buying from this brand SCPTRE, not disappointed whatsoever. Phenomenal sexy sleek look to it. Hooked it up to my laptop for gaming.. i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV for the price

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very satisfied with this tv it is my first flatscreen
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV for the money

09/07/2014
By ,
Reno NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sceptre was so good ,I went the same week and got a 50''Sceptre for my son. He loves it if I had to buy a other I would buy Sceptre.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Disgusted by the company

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV in February of 2013 for my mom and now it isn't working!!!! After a year and a half my tv should still be working! I've never had any issues with other brands I've bought in the past. I paid $298 plus taxes/shipping. In order to get it fixed I'll be paying more than what the tv is worth. I'm disgusted that the actual company isn't nice when contacted and all they are after is money. If I had known or thought this tv would have gone out I would never have bought it. I went off of the reviews and they all seemed good at that time. I just want everyone considering to buy this tv because it's a good price to reconsider because it is a TERRIBLE TV. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND DONT BOTHER LOOKING ANY FURTHER!!! Horrible tv and horrible company!!!! I enjoyed this tv while it worked and loved the picture but now I'm very upset and sad that they company isn't even being sincere about my issues or anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,925 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  147 Next