Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(3929 Reviews) 3433
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,216
4 stars
1,130
3 stars
176
2 stars
127
1 star
280
Customer Recommendation88%3,466 out of 3,929reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
334 Questions | 1,675 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,216
4 stars
1,130
3 stars
176
2 stars
127
1 star
280
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Not worth it

03/15/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Power often doesn't turn on. It's like playing roulette one moment it turns on and u better pray the next time it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre TV

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the fourth Sceptre TV I have purchased from Walmart. I have had two of them a 50 Inch and a 32 inch for over 2 Years. one 32 inch a year old and now a 40". I have not had a problem with any of them.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Great Picture!

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv works great. The resolution is wonderful, compared to the 32" 720p that we had. I would recommend this tv over anything else.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

junk!

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

sceptre tv power supply bad

02/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
initially satisfied until after exactly 2 years of very limited use it now needs power supply repair...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

therese

02/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good picture quality. Sound not so good need a sound bar. But overall a very good value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV for the money

03/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV for my garage. It has great picture and works perfect for watching sports games.
I have been very impressed with the quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Cannot receive digital channels

03/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a 3 year old Sceptre whose motherboard went bad. I liked the tv fine enough for the price, so figured I'd replace it with this one: Same price, same size as 3 years ago.
Hooked the new one up and it couldn't find any of the digital channels. Apparently in order to cut down on cost, some of the newer models removed the "QAM Tuner" which is needed to recognize and display digital channels. This was not a problem on the older TV I was replacing. Didn't think after 3 years I'd be losing functionality.
TV display works fine, however.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great deal for the price

03/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 32" model of this TV in January of 2014, also from Walmart, to use as a computer monitor. I was very satisfied with it, so during their Black Friday sale in November I decided to purchase this model to use as a regular TV, along with a gaming system. This 40" performs exactly the same as the 32". The picture is sharp and crisp. The controls are easy to understand and change when I have desired to. As many others have said, the sound leaves much to be desired, but it's very easy to install a separate sound system. It also has a headphone jack for those who might want to be able to listen without disturbing others. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles more expensive TV's have, but you certainly get value for your money with this unit, and has all the hook-ups (headphones, HDMI, RCA) the average person would need.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

40' tv

03/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV was a great deal and I am planning to purchase another one soon
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Loving my First Flat Screen TV! :)

03/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't laugh at me, I know I am behind but this is my very first Flat Screen TV. I've experienced flat screen TV's before from family & friends, but never had one personally. I am satisfied with my purchase. It not only arrived on time, it actually arrived way earlier than expected, which was Awesome! The assembly of the base was easy, mind you I am a single female with no male in the household. So the base was easy to assemble on my own, it arrived in excellent condition, and was easy to connect to the devices I already have in the home, the instructions also explains how to connect each device to the TV. The viewing quality is awesome, I was worried about the sound before I got it, b/c I've heard flat screens don't really project a good/loud enough sound, but this TV's sound is awesome to me, & I personally like a good/loud sound for when I watch movies and etc. Overall my experience so far is excellent, and hopefully it stays that way. Included in the box is the TV of course, LOL! The base, A remote, Batteries for the remote, Separate instructions on how to fix up the base, Main instructions for the base again/care for the TV/Connecting Devices, how to work remote/TV/ & etc. Overall loving this TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

picture quality is everything loving it

03/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just right not to bulky , light excellent picture so slim though easy to hook up . Just right for my 17 year old son
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Decent TV for the Price

03/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tv sight unseen and because the reviews were good I decided to go for it. It is a good television with lots of options and features. You can connect a roku streaming stick to the tv which is nice and is a good size. It's not overwhelming for my living room and the picture is pretty good. I only watch tv a couple of hours a week so it gets the job nicely done.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Bad tv

03/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad tv
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

T.V.

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this T.V. and the cost was even better.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Excellent

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was expecting a middle to low quality tv but ended up getting a fantastic item! Great picture quality, great sound, wonderful overall. Very satisfied!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

CRT switch

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing for the price. I went straight from CRT to this. HD is awesome
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

No Digital Tuner for Cable TV

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my brother, who overall is very satisfied with the TV. What dropped the rating is the misleading description of a built in digital tuner. It doe's come with a digital tuner but this is only for over the air broadcasts. If you have cable TV you need to buy a digital tuner, otherwise you only pick up the analog channels on cable. Luckily I was able to find digital tuner on another website for $35.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good All-Purpose TV For An Expensive Price

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched different TV's before I decided to purchase this one. Ship to store delivery was a couple days faster than it would have been shipping to my house.
It worked right away, as soon as the TV stand and the Terk antenna were connected. Since my last TV was a CRT, I read the instruction manual. It was pretty easy to understand. I had no problem connecting my new blu ray player and finding it through the Source button by locating the HDMI to which it was connected. Roku was also easy to connect and use via the Source button on the remote.
The picture is most beautiful when playing blu rays or using it for a HD TV channel. I don't have cable. The Sceptre performed pretty well with my over-the-air antenna, unless the channel was not HD. I don't think this is the fault of the TV company. The TV signal might have been to blame. I found the Picture button pre-sets were good enough, although I made my own User picture setting also.
I accessed Amazon through Roku and watched a movie. There were no dropped pixels. I adjusted the sound during playback to full Bass and Treble Settings. The Balance is in the middle. The AVL is off. The default equalizer setting is Pop, which makes voices sound slightly tinny. The Rock and Jazz settings aren't very good for voices. Here are my User equalizer settings that are adapted from someone else's posting: 150 Hz - 50, 500 Hz - 58, 1 K Hz - 58, 5 K Hz - 55, 10 K Hz - 62. I found that these worked the best. I don't have a sound bar or other speakers.
I've had no problems, so far. My family is enjoying the TV very much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this TV for 2 months and it has done great. Picture is good and the sound is fine for me (we have a small living room). I am planning on buying a smaller one for the bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 3,428 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  172 Next