Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3551 Reviews) 3056
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,014
4 stars
1,034
3 stars
156
2 stars
113
1 star
234
Customer Recommendation89%3,146 out of 3,551reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
328 Questions | 1,668 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,014
4 stars
1,034
3 stars
156
2 stars
113
1 star
234
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Awesome

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv great price. I brought 2 of them
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

40 inch tv

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought this was a great deal! ORDERED online while doing chemo and was super excited didn't open for 6 months since I was under goin treatment and wasn't in a place needing a tv... After I opening it it worked for 1 year... and decided to not work any more... call me.crazy but just because you get a good deal doesn't mean it should only last a year!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Works great even after a year of use!

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this t.v. for about a year, got it for Christmas last year. I've used it quite a bit, from the day I got it up until even now. No issues with audio like everyone has complained about. Every port still works good, has a preset timer to use for powering off on its own to keep energy savings up as well. It is also a super light flat screen (can use one hand alone to carry it if you're strong enough) but nonetheless shouldn't be too heavy. Works great and wouldn't know what to do without having it besides using the old 32" tube t.v I have.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

best TV in flat screens for the money

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd one I have purchased. the first one a year ago, still enjoying, the 2nd one on board for a few weeks. FANTASTIC picture. Sound is better with external speakers but liveable without.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Love it!!!

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great tv for the price. has a beautiful picture and sound is fine, I don't see any problems yet. Most of the higher priced TVs only have 2 HDMI, I love that I have the extra one. Size is perfect as I have a small room, go for the larger if you have a big room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

good and sheap

11/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this tv is working goos for a fractional cost.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

love

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this TV last year around christmas, it works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Like every one else, I am impressed

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, i am impressed by the quality. User interface is better then some of the higher end tvs i have used. good picture, didnt have any dead pixles. I am very impressed by the sound this tv produces, clear, and loud. I have no complaints as this tv has performed better then i expected for the price. Have had the unit for about 45 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great value

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only thing I did wrong was not buying two of them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

a very pleasant surprise!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picture is very crisp and clear. I am using as both monitor and tv in my office and works great. price was great at only 250.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Not a NoName Brand!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Sceptre 40" for 2 years now and it has performed flawlessly. Other reviewers comments about the audio are pretty close to the mark, but a sound bar takes care of that (use the headphone jack and turn off the internal speakers via the TV menu). I am a retired engineer and have used Sceptre computer monitors for 8 or 9 years now; they are a well known and respected brand of professional monitor so I was very confident when I purchase by Sceptre 40" TV from Walmart. My confidence was proved out. I am very pleased with the quality of the TV and the myriad of possible video and audio connections, and, of course you can't beat the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

not so clear

11/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
clarity of color not the best. a bit fuzzy on this size screen.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

great flat screen

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great flat screen for the price, I bought it for my garage with the 4 year extended warranry. I live in Florida where it humid alot. So far it has worked well. Great picture sound quality is ok. For the money you can't beat it. I'd buy another if I needed it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Price & Quality

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent television and a fantastic price. Why pay higher prices for a 'brand' name?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Nice pic and tv

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tv it actually had me spellbound and in a daze with the clarity, you have to use the hdmi cord for best picture results but for the money you will not be disappointed bought this for my mother n law in the guest bedroom when she comes to visit now she stays in front of this tv and away from me
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

EXcellent

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great love it picture and sound quality is awesome
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Better than expected

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Video Quality:
I simply don't understand why the original Wii and the GameCube look better on this 40" TV than on my 21.5" AOC TV. (Both TVs are 1080p while the Nintendo systems offer 480p resolution). I was playing Super Smash Bros. Melee 2 days ago (in progressive scan through the Wii), and I was AMAZED at the quality! It didn't feel much like I was playing a standard definition game!
As for the Wii U and Xbox 360 (on 1080p), they look great, too, as expected!
Both my PC and laptop, though, look like they were connected with a VGA rather than the HDMI cables I was using. But for the price of this television, I can't complain! Besides, I use my computers to watch movies on this TV, and videos look wonderful on it!
Audio Quality:
I wasn't using the audio from the TV since I thought it was going to be awful (since I'm used to smaller flat screens having terrible sound quality), but I unintentionally noticed that the sound is actually pretty good! I don't need to connect the audio jacks to my PC's speakers anymore!
Personal dislikes:
It has no S-Video input that I would've liked using for the SNES, N64 or GameCube. Also, there is no option to adjust the saturation. Personally, the picture could use more saturation. But, like I said, the price is just too amazing and I wouldn't trade this TV for a "better one" for over $100 extra.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

pretty good tv for the price

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brought the sound bar to go with the tv,again for the price good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Excellent service

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was very nervous about getting it shipped to my house due to stories of people receiving busted or cracked screens but it was packed well & was in great condition.. Was easy to set up.. Had to do a lot of adjusting to get the sound right but was able to get the quality just right.. A mistake on my part was that I did not know tv's are measured diagonally & not straight across so I was thinking my tv was missing about 4 inches .. Lol.. Until I was informed otherwise
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Viewing angle

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV was a piece of cake to set up. Plenty of feeds and good picture. Picture is super bright and clear except when viewing from a sharp angle where it dulls and blacks grey. Great value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 3,057 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  153 Next