Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3469 Reviews) 2974
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,962
4 stars
1,019
3 stars
153
2 stars
110
1 star
225
Customer Recommendation89%3,078 out of 3,469reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
327 Questions | 1,666 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,962
4 stars
1,019
3 stars
153
2 stars
110
1 star
225
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great for the price

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up, great picture, great sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

works for our needs

10/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second sceptre brand tv. Plays well, easy to set up, 3 hdmi inputs, built in tuner, picture is great. Small living room makes this 40 inch screen work for our needs. We're very happy with this purchase and the price is just icing on the cake. Thx
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

well worth the money

10/17/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
received this tv 10/07/14 its not a bad tv for the price. I also have the 32in tv .no problem with either. order rca first did not work right out of box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Did I really save any money?

10/16/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture is great for the money. Have to keep sound between 50(halfway point) and 100(max). Surprised as this TV is in my bedroom. will probably have to buy a sound bar so I won't blow the speakers which will cost me the $100 I was originally saving from buying a bigger name brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great tv

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived quickly Easy setup Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly I have hardly used it but I haven't had any problems at all with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good

10/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tv for the low price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Didn't last long

10/13/2014
By ,
Bismarck, ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The panel board went out after two years. I ended up with a vertical yellow line going down the middle of the tv. I called a repair company and it would cost more to fix it then replace it. When I first bought this tv it was great. I thought I really got a good deal. The picture and sound were perfect, I thought it was even better then my brand name tv. But I expected to get more then two years use out of it. Unfortunately I purchased the 50 inch tv for my basement family room shortly before this happened. I'm guessing this will only last me two years as well.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great price and picture-needs better audio.

10/12/2014
By ,
Young Harris, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like quite a few reviews have mentioned, this tv has very good video but the internal speakers are average. I decided to add the sceptre sound bar and it makes a HUGE difference.. I figured for $300 total I have a good setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Mrs

10/12/2014
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made my TV watching more enjoyable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Perfect for our needs

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace our old school bulky tv.and is actually the second time we have bought this exact one. We originally purchased one for my mom. so far it is wonderful and the colors are awesome. My girlfriend actually had to turn the brightness down because it's so bright. Definetly perfect for our bedroom tv and would buy again! Mom loves hers as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

HOOK UP TO STEREO

10/12/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THERE ARE A COUPLE THINGS I DONT LIKE ABOUT THIS TV..THE SOUND IS PRETTY BAD, SO GET A SOUND BAR OR HOOK UP TO STEREO. AND I CANT SEEM TO GET THE PICTURE PERFECT NORMAL, ZOOM ETC..THINGS GET CUT OFF ON THE SIDES WITH THE ONE I THINK ITS SUPPOSE TO BE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

everything seems good

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good picture. Decent sound. No problems setting up. Can't beat this price. 2 weeks into it with no issues. Hopefully this will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

yes this tv is very helpful to me

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv very satisfying
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Two months after purchase, LOVE this television

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited to review this product until I had acclimated myself to it. I have to say that for the price I paid, this TV exceeds all expectations. Picture quality is great, sound is great (I have an external surround sound unit), hangs on the wall with an adjustable bracket I also purchased from Wal-Mart at the same time so I was able to open up my whole living room with more space. Full 1080p, beautiful picture, works perfectly. I paid $259 for a 40" LED. How can I go wrong? I previously bought my son a 22" Sceptre TV for Christmas three years ago and I was blown away by the picture quality he got with his PS3. After heavy use, that one is still going strong. This is every bit as good. I already had a small (non Sceptre) 720p HD TV in my bedroom, this blows that one out of the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Excallent Buy For a Non-Smart LED TV!

10/07/2014
By ,
Edgewater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really thought I was in trouble right from the get-go! After inspecting the single-wall OEM carton for obvious damages, finding none I proceeded to open it up and prepare it for re-assembly. Bearing in mind that it is now upside down on a hard, linoleum-covered floor with no swivel base installed yet, while reaching for the base, the TV fell over onto the floor on its backside with NO PROTECTION. Racing through my mind was the thought "well, it's over for this one!" I really believed that my new TV had been irreparably damaged. It had hit the floor really hard. I proceeded to finish the assembly process and was completely shocked when I fired it up for the first time and EVERYTHING WORKED CORRECTLY AND BEAUTIFULLY! That was three weeks ago and it hasn't even hiccupped slightly since. Now, back to the ratings. I rated the sound quality AVERAGE because the internal speakers are of average or less quality, However when I connected it to my Philips Blu-Ray Home Theater the digital reproduction is outstanding. I have DirectTv and Amazon Fire TV (both in HD) and the Pic quality in LED is also excellent. I must say this without equivocation: this is NOT a SMART TV! But I didn't pay for one either! But this Sceptre acts like one! And, it has MOST of the features of a smart TV without the cost! I'm completely satisfied and recommend this one to everyone. What I don't understand is folks blaming Wal-Mart or Sceptre for damaged goods! People should realize that product like TV's are most likely damaged in transit by improper handling and vehicular transfer than at the manufacturer or at the warehouse. Before retiring, I had 12 years experience as a project engineer designing packaging for sensitive electronics and I found this to be true in the vast majority of cases. (Also, we didn't ship defective product!) After dropping mine on the floor and seeing it work I'm convinced that this is virtually a hearty, high-quality dependable product and well worth the money.
RapidRabbitt
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Exceptional quality for the price.

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful. Can see every little detail. Makes me feel as if I were in the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

returned tv

10/05/2014
By ,
colton,california
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to return the TV due to a defect on the top molding. It had a blue streak at the top of the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Very good for the price!

10/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice picture only downfall is the speakers really had to adjust them to make them sound decent. Worth the money though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Very crisp, clear picture.

10/04/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV! Great picture and you can't beat the price. Very comparable to much more expensive brands, even better than some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,975 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  149 Next