Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3442 Reviews) 2947
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,945
4 stars
1,012
3 stars
151
2 stars
110
1 star
224
Customer Recommendation89%3,054 out of 3,442reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
327 Questions | 1,665 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,945
4 stars
1,012
3 stars
151
2 stars
110
1 star
224
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

09/28/2014
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the price. This is the 5th one we have purchased....either for ourselves or family members. No issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great Buy!

09/28/2014
By ,
Southport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality is excellent; sharp, clear 1080p with vivid colors that are easily adjustable. Sound quality with the built-in speakers is marginal, but with headphones, or through a good stereo system with the HDMI connector it is first rate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Very high "Bang for the Buck" Super Value!

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this set. Attractive appearance and first class performance. Exceeded my expectations. Shows excellent performance at lower resolutions. Plus! It automatically reads and displays 1080 resolutions off the cable feed for a spectacular picture. Bought this set to replace one on my outside covered patio and I found out a small quirk on this set over the set I am replacing. The screws that where used to mount the old set to the swing bracket where bigger than ones needed to mount the Sceptre. This model of the Sceptre uses a smaller M5 metric size screw and 2 different lengths. The smaller one specified is harder find at the local home improvement store. What I did was use a stainless steel M5 screw and bought some extra stainless steel washers to shim the screw insertion length to the correct size. Use the stainless steel hardware outside...it is worth the little extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great picture ...HORRIBLE HORRIBLE SOUND

09/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this TV....picture good sound horrible horrible horrible
I have it hooked up to my Apple TV product and I do not enjoy it at all because of this TV sound
hopefully I can purchase the sound bar to this TV separately for a better quality sound
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV / Ecellent Value

09/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our old flat screen died after 10 years so we needed a replacement. Shopped around and found the 40" Sceptre and bought it. We have a 32" Sceptre bought a couple years ago and have had no problems with it. So it made sense to try another one.
Great TV,s for the price and look great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

can't beat the price for what your geting.great

09/27/2014
By ,
Plainfield,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tv for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great picture

09/26/2014
By ,
Harrodsburg, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I got it set up it is real nice. Not being electronic savvy, it took a little while to understand the instructions but I am enjoying it now. Still don't know all the functions, but all I need to know for what I want, mainly watching dvd's . Have a wall mount in route for it now. .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

excellent choice for budget the minded

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded from a 32 inch Magnavox with dvd player. This 40 inch scepter is excellent in my opinion. The picture quality is not quite as good using satellite ( dish) as it is with with local HD using an HD antenna, but that's obviously a result of my mixing the 2 inputs together thru a combining switch. If I had something to complain about, it would be the remote having numerous buttons and being awkward to hold, it's long, but I'm getting used to it. All in all, I'm happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

love this tv.

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks walmart. You never disappoint. Loving my new tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV for the price

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great TV. The price was great, the picture, ease of installation and operation is excellent. I don't watch a lot of day-time TV, only at night, therefore the picture is perfect and there are several setting you can select for your comfort. The sound is not all that great but can be over looked for the other high qualities. All around good purchase. Wal-Mart delivered on time and I have no complaints. Love Wal-Mart too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great price, bad sound quality

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV itself is good, picture quality is good but the sound quality stinks. Which for me is fine because I have this 40" in my bedroom and don't need great sound. We have a 50" Sceptre in our living room and have a soundsystem hooked up to the TV which works perfecltt. Great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

wonderful tv for a bedroom

09/22/2014
By ,
93003
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a second bedroom tv of this make and I truly like them boyh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

LED T.V.

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value. 40 inch 1080 HD for under 300.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

good price

09/20/2014
By ,
Dumas, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had for a week, so far it was a good buy, great picture, sound not so good am gonna purchase a sound bar! took 12 days to receive thru site to store had better luck shipping to home!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Sceptre 40" HDTV

09/20/2014
By ,
Baltimore, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome TV. Great picture. We purchased a soundbar for it and it works great! Very pleased. We bought a second TV for the family room. A+++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Beautiful Picture, Great Price!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase. I have had a few Sceptre monitors over the years and always been pleased with the quality. I am a computer tech and Sceptre was one of the original leaders is LCD screens back when they 1st came out. I use it as a monitor for my office PC. I measured the space I had available, checked the specs, then went for it. It was about $250 with free ground shipping. It arrived almost a week before it was expected! It is light & thin enough to hand on my wall (like a painting). I have mounted many TVs correctly, but preferred to re-use the screws I hung my previous 28" from. I found the HDMI image more vivid than the VGA (DB15) connection, but both are crisp and offer full 1080p. It has all the ports & connections you would want, so why not go for it?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Decent product for the price you pay

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! I'm enjoying my tv and the best part is when anyone ask the price, I tell them. The price was right. The sound is not that bad unless you are looking for really hi tech tv (cost way more) you would have a prob but other than that it's great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV!

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased several of these for our business after originally purchasing Samsungs. We couldn't get the output of the sound configured the way we needed to with the Samsungs. We were able to do it with the Sceptre's with no problem. Also like the finish around the edge of the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV and Great price

09/17/2014
By ,
Rome,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this TV. Very nice picture. Sound could be a little better, but that what sound bars and surround sound systems are for. Happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,948 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  148 Next