Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(3848 Reviews) 3353
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,170
4 stars
1,110
3 stars
172
2 stars
123
1 star
273
Customer Recommendation88%3,398 out of 3,848reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
334 Questions | 1,675 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,170
4 stars
1,110
3 stars
172
2 stars
123
1 star
273
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Worth the price.

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV works great....sound does have a little echoing depending on the setting you have it on. just changed the setting till I found the one that was best... Glad I chose this one.. Price was right...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre 40" TV

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as a Christmas gift. So far it's great, time will tell. I would purchased a 24" for a bedroom and it good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Disables Comcast / Xfinity DVR Remote

01/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We upgraded from a 32" in our bedroom to this 40". During set-up, this TV could NOT find a signal or any digital channels when doing an auto channel search regardless if it was hooked up to the Comcast / Xfinity DVR or directly to the Comcast / Xfinity cable by passing the DVR cable box. When the HDMI cable is NOT plugged into the TV but connected to the cable box, the remote for the cable box worked just fine. As soon as we connected the HDMI cable from the cable box to the TV the cable box remote stopped working. We could receive a signal just fine but have to change channels and volume manually on the cable box control panel, not using the remote. No matter if we chose AIR or CABLE we could not get this TV to find any channels direct from the cable or hooked up to a cable box. We have 3 other cable boxes and remotes for those cable boxes in the house and the same thing happened with each cable box. It seems that this TV will NOT work with a Comcast / Xfinity digital HD cable Box DVR. It disabled every cable box and remote....so weird! and really too bad because we liked the picture quality, sound quality and size of the screen. Perhaps this particular unit is defective, so it is going back to Walmart
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good brand

01/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a good brand and nice picture
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

2 for 2

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the first of these in Oct/2014. In less than 1 month it stopped receiving a signal. I returned it for refund and went looking for a replacement. This model was still the best deal going and while working had a great picture and sound. Every company occasionally has a lemon so I decided to give it another try. Wrong decision. The 2nd quit receiving a signal in less than 2 months. On both occasions I connected another tv using the same cables and DVR/HD box to test that it wasn't my equipment. Works fine hooked to another tv. So save yourself the trouble. Stay away from Sceptre.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Love it

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it. Great for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Save the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$!

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made with Sony components /parts just like the high end units for sale today. Save your cash you won't be disappointed. Great pitcher, sound is good. Bought the 32" for my kitchen first and we like it so much we bought the 40" for the master bedroom a week later.
Took literally 5 minutes to set up and I'm a neat freak that bundles all the cables together with ties and tucks them away. Make sure you use a flat surface like a kitchen table with a large towel to lay the flat screen on when you assemble it. Make sure the screws are tight because the tape themselves into the hardened plastic. Don't over tighten.
Enjoy, you will..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great view TV

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so easy to set up - unbelievable. I had never set up a TV before and this was a breeze. The picture is awesome too. Great deal!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

All the ins and outs

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this TV. It has a great picture and all the audio/video connections needed which I didn't find with other TVs in this price range.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Best TV

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible value! Wouldn't buy elsewhere. Perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good bang for your buck

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture on the TV is great. It is very light and was easy to mount on the wall. We did have trouble with the sound and had to use a component cable instead of a HDMI cable to connect to our cable box in order to have the sound louder. So, now we have more cables to hide in the back of the tv, other than that, the TV is very nice and we like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Smart purchase

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality for the price, excellent picture for a 39 inch!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second time buying this brand and it's worth every penny.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

mkg1947

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good quality for the price--unit sets up easily
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

great set

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture is top quality, all devices connected easily. Good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Hit or Miss

01/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After checking the reviews on line and research on this TV along with the good price I made a purchased. From the beginning the color was off--when you sit or stand to either sides of the TV the color would fade. I had to sit directly in front of the TV to get the color to blend. I called tech support--unable to assist me.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good TV for the price

01/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like everything about the TVu except some time the color is off a little.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Sceptre

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this TV for a coupe of weeks now. Really nice picture. As good if not better then the others I have looked at. The couple of things that seem to be lacking, is the picture adjustment, full screen or narrows it down to a 24 inch tv. you just have to play with it, other drawback is the sound. Now that is lacking. You need a soundbar or home theater system. Good for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

tv

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st one was broken-- returned and bought another-- great product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

What a great picture for the price

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far everything about this tv is awesome, picture is great and the sound is really good buy, a sound bar would make it amazing , set up was easy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 3,349 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  168 Next