Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.251 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4212 Reviews) 3716
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,406
4 stars
1,186
3 stars
190
2 stars
132
1 star
298
Customer Recommendation88%3,725 out of 4,212reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,406
4 stars
1,186
3 stars
190
2 stars
132
1 star
298
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Cheap For a Reason

07/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I noted as I took the TV out of the packaging how light and flimsy it felt. Sure enough, this may or may not be the manufacturer's fault, but the TV screen was splintered into several hundred pieces. After looking at the entire set I determined that it probably wouldn't have lasted more than a year or two anyway. It was, in a word, cheap. Way too much plastic.
People, spend another hundred bucks and get something good. I ended up doing just that with an LG 43" model. It is sturdy, has a great picture and I doubt I'll be replacing it anytime soon.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Quality, Budget-Friendly TV

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great product horrible delivery

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works perfectly. However the delivery was a whole different issue. Was scheduled to be delivered on June 19 so I took the day off work (without pay! )to be home when the delivery arrived. Long story short it was not delivered until June 24th! Will definitely think twice before purchasing any deliverable items from Walmart!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good tv for price.

07/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tv for a room or gaming.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

happy with the purchase

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had the TV for about a week, but so far we love it! I thoroughly researched options and was a little skeptical about going with this brand, but other reviews I read were positive, so we went with it. So far so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Best value EVER for a TV

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so very good!
This TV is just excellent
I read all the reviews and after one week I have had zero issues.
The box looked beat up on the day it was delivered but this TV is just fantastic for the price. I purchased for my master bedroom to replace a 36 RCA and this TV is bigger and has more functions for a lower price.
Great sound and picture
I might buy another for my 3rd guest room
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

tv

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv made no mention of it not being cable compatible till it got here and the box and booklet then said it was not compatible without a cable box .
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Walmart TV

07/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Remote did not work. Sceptre sent another. That did not .they thought the sensor was bad and suggested returning the TV to Walmart or them. Returned the TV to Walmart and bought another on Amazon.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

greag

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent choice. Great picture for the price. I couldn't do better ;)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

All around great

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price
Great picture
Great sound
Came quick....
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

A O K

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Am happy with purchase, price and so far everything
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Love it great tv

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv for the price love how the base spins and how you can turn the tv
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good for price

07/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it for my parents...they liked it..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Has Roku remote

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only works with Roku stick 3400M lucky me found a Roku that works with this tv's remote on Amazon. $40... Better than having to use two remotes....
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Love it!

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crystal clear picture ... great sound ... terrific price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great sounds great best. Amazing for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Very Nice for the Price!

07/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this tv the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I had to call my cable company to help with the universal remote as it wouldn't do things it did before. After recoding the cable remote everything works well except I can't control the volume...I have to use the tv remote for that so I may have to go to my cable co. and get another remote in hopes it will control the volume too. Although, this is a little inconvenient I still like the tv over all. I get a nice clear picture and it covers the entire screen "YAH!!!" and the sound is good, too! I would recommend this tv!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

great for the price but no QAM

07/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for my needs as a computer monitor; great picture quality. A huge bargain for a 40-inch full-HD display that includes the VGA input I needed.
One caution; Although widely advertised as having QAM tuning capability, this TV does NOT have it, so it will tune only standard-def channels. No big deal for me, but it might be for you.
Too soon to gauge reliability, but our 2 smaller Sceptre displays have been going for several years with no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great deal.

07/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the price. Easy set up. Nice picture.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Surprisingly good LEDTV

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this "off-label" tv, but in the 2 weeks I've had it I am enjoying it. Shipping from the distribution center via FedEx was prompt and happened within the week with free ground service. The unit was easy to setup, and if you are technically inclined it's relatively intuitive; didn't need to look at the manual at all. I like that it swivels about 20 deg in each direction and the sound works well for my smaller living room. I'm not sure what other reviewers have been experiencing with low sound quality but for a slim tv I doubt you really can do any better. For the price it's a great buy; it's not an expensive smart tv, but that can be easily remedied with hooking up an amazon fire stick, roku, or chrome cast. I'm happy with my more budget oriented purchase and frankly this tv stands up to similar name brand units.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 3,709 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  186 Next