Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(4278 Reviews) 3780
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,442
4 stars
1,202
3 stars
191
2 stars
133
1 star
310
Customer Recommendation88%3,778 out of 4,278reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,442
4 stars
1,202
3 stars
191
2 stars
133
1 star
310
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Like It

07/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a good bedroom t.v. and I was concerned about the sound, not wanting to get a sound bar for it as well. The sound is good, and much better than the Westinghouse I got last year which definitely needed a sound bar especially for being in the living room. The picture is good and I like the swivel base.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great picture, worked great...until it didn't

07/28/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything looked and worked great for 3 weeks...then the screen started blacking out and couldn't get a signal anymore in TV mode. Had to return it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Better than I thought

07/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv was better than I thought it would be. Simple installation with only a only a few screws and they include a screwdriver so you don't have look in your messy toolbox to find one. It's worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

NICE TV FOR THE $$$$$

07/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We haven't had this tv for more than a couple of days, but for the money it looks great. The pins at the bottom got squashed during shipping, so it won't swivel, but other than that, for an inexpensive tv that is not our main tv, I would highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good

07/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great bang for the bucks!

07/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture, was amazed the quality for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Disappointed

07/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set the TV up and the screen came up blue with a huge crack down one side and was all black. No physical damage.
Now I get to disassemble and return it...a waste of time for sure.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

an excellent value

07/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(hence 4 stars). easy set-up, good set of controls and connections), reasonable picture (120 mghz refresh is better), marginal audio,, superb price for a 40" 1080i set
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Amazing

07/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its the best quality iv seen in a wile
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

not what I expected

07/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return it the next day. It was a good buy but it did not work without a cable box. We have cable but only use the cable that comes out from the wall.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

A Great Buy

07/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After considering purchase of a reconditioned flat screen TV from another vendor, I decided to take a chance on a new SCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV that I found on Walmart's website. With tax (shipping to the store for pickup was free), I paid less than $250 dollars for the set. I got it home and set it up with no problems. Some have complained about the sound quality of the unit but a little bit of tweaking using the sound tab on the screen menu rendered the sound quite acceptable and comparable to other flat screen TV's I own. The color and resolution (clarity) of the picture are excellent. This is a wonderful set for the money. I have already recommended it to another member of my family who was searching for a set for his guest room. Highly recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV with an affordable price.

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sound is loud and muzzled at times.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Needed Warranty

07/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the 40" Sceptre June 2013. Went out totally July 25th, 2015... So I suppose that was much longer than a lot of you. The fact remains that the screen went black and no volume at all. I really regret not purchasing the extended warranty from Walmart...However, when I think about it I know I would have just gotten the 2 year warranty in which case I would still be out of luck. I recently purchased a new tv. Changhong 40" for 219.00..immediately got a 4 year warranty. See what happens.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good Value

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is good, with a clear picture, I only have 2 small complaints....the sound quality is not great, but there are hook-ups for speakers, which would undoubtedly improve this situation. The other complaint is the lack of a "last channel recall" button on the remote, a feature my husband continually used on our old T.V. . Besides that, this product is a good value for the money spent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great value tv

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the cost its the best Ive dealt with.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

great tv

07/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical due to inexpensive price on this TV. I am so glad I purchased! I bought 2 of them! Crystal clear picture and so easy to set up! They even came with mini screw driver to attach bottom stand and a felt cloth to wipe screen. I am very pleased!! Great TV!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

HIDEFTV

07/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The television is an excellent buy. Its very lightweight, thin and the picture is excellent. My only complaint is the sound system. For the price, I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

excellent

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Sceptre 40" led tv

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv for my sons 11th birthday. He plays a ton of games and was using an old picture tube tv. He absolutely loves this tv. I have a 80" led vizio 3d tv and the qualit of this product matches the vizio. it is clear and the speakers are LOUD even on low settings. Great price, great picture and an easy buy for anyone who is looking for a inexpensive led with great options and quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Best Tv

07/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigger than I expected. Amazing display. I just love It all around
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 3,773 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  189 Next