Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(3921 Reviews) 3425
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,213
4 stars
1,127
3 stars
175
2 stars
126
1 star
280
Customer Recommendation88%3,460 out of 3,921reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
334 Questions | 1,675 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,213
4 stars
1,127
3 stars
175
2 stars
126
1 star
280
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Great Picture!

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv works great. The resolution is wonderful, compared to the 32" 720p that we had. I would recommend this tv over anything else.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

junk!

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

sceptre tv power supply bad

02/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
initially satisfied until after exactly 2 years of very limited use it now needs power supply repair...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

therese

02/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good picture quality. Sound not so good need a sound bar. But overall a very good value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Decent TV for the Price

03/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tv sight unseen and because the reviews were good I decided to go for it. It is a good television with lots of options and features. You can connect a roku streaming stick to the tv which is nice and is a good size. It's not overwhelming for my living room and the picture is pretty good. I only watch tv a couple of hours a week so it gets the job nicely done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Bad tv

03/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad tv
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

T.V.

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this T.V. and the cost was even better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Excellent

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was expecting a middle to low quality tv but ended up getting a fantastic item! Great picture quality, great sound, wonderful overall. Very satisfied!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

CRT switch

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing for the price. I went straight from CRT to this. HD is awesome
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

No Digital Tuner for Cable TV

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my brother, who overall is very satisfied with the TV. What dropped the rating is the misleading description of a built in digital tuner. It doe's come with a digital tuner but this is only for over the air broadcasts. If you have cable TV you need to buy a digital tuner, otherwise you only pick up the analog channels on cable. Luckily I was able to find digital tuner on another website for $35.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good All-Purpose TV For An Expensive Price

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched different TV's before I decided to purchase this one. Ship to store delivery was a couple days faster than it would have been shipping to my house.
It worked right away, as soon as the TV stand and the Terk antenna were connected. Since my last TV was a CRT, I read the instruction manual. It was pretty easy to understand. I had no problem connecting my new blu ray player and finding it through the Source button by locating the HDMI to which it was connected. Roku was also easy to connect and use via the Source button on the remote.
The picture is most beautiful when playing blu rays or using it for a HD TV channel. I don't have cable. The Sceptre performed pretty well with my over-the-air antenna, unless the channel was not HD. I don't think this is the fault of the TV company. The TV signal might have been to blame. I found the Picture button pre-sets were good enough, although I made my own User picture setting also.
I accessed Amazon through Roku and watched a movie. There were no dropped pixels. I adjusted the sound during playback to full Bass and Treble Settings. The Balance is in the middle. The AVL is off. The default equalizer setting is Pop, which makes voices sound slightly tinny. The Rock and Jazz settings aren't very good for voices. Here are my User equalizer settings that are adapted from someone else's posting: 150 Hz - 50, 500 Hz - 58, 1 K Hz - 58, 5 K Hz - 55, 10 K Hz - 62. I found that these worked the best. I don't have a sound bar or other speakers.
I've had no problems, so far. My family is enjoying the TV very much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this TV for 2 months and it has done great. Picture is good and the sound is fine for me (we have a small living room). I am planning on buying a smaller one for the bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

want a trouble FREE TV !

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have always thought `only buy name brand TVs' .
the SCEPTER TV that i bought from Walmart has changed that way of thinking about TVs.
this TV right out of the box was all set to go.
it looks rich in color,
it sounds great,
better buy this brand at Walmart and get the best price in town, before they are all gone !
john
:)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great picture, great price

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never bought this brand but I'm extremely happy with the quality of the picture and the price was outstanding. Keeping my fingers crossed that this brand holds up and I'm not going to be disappointed with " you get what you paid for"
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great TV.

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous TV, great picture and sound. I don't understand the audio complaints, it sounds fine to me. And an excellent price! Very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

what a bargain

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this TV for my husband who is in a nursing home..the swivel Base is perfect as the aides can turn it as he is in bed or up in his chair...this feature is priceless...good picture and nice sound..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Nice tv

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Tv
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

best ever

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Average

02/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound and picture quality on this tv are average. Yes it was a bargain price so I wasn't expecting something top of the line. I played around with the picture settings until I was ok with the picture. The 4 black screws were not included for the base setup. They were listed on the packing list, but not included. Luckily I had a stash of screws and 4 that fit the bill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Truly awesome product

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had the TV for a couple weeks at this point, but I am way beyond satisfied there are no words. The picture is amazing the sound is good and with so many connection options there was an input jack for everything in my entertainment center! The price is truly amazing for the product. Don't let the off name fool you, this is a great item and the price point is phenomenal. I even got the free shipping to my home option, they said 10 days but I received the TV 4 days later!!!!! I am beyond happy with this purchase and would recommend to everyone I know that needs a new TV!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 3,420 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  171 Next