Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Sceptre Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

The Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV delivers excellent picture and audio quality for top-of-the-line home entertainment. This slim LCD HDTV offers a sleek look with glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM provides vivid and stunning images, so you can watch this Sceptre LCD HDTV all day long. The ultra-fast response time of 8 ms. lets you watch your favorite shows and movies flicker free. Thanks to a high resolution of 1920 x 1080, the images look crisper and sharper, and the amazing 50,000:1 dynamic contrast automatically helps balance the images to look more vivid and lifelike. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 40" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3381 Reviews) 2886
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,910
4 stars
994
3 stars
150
2 stars
108
1 star
219
Customer Recommendation89%3,000 out of 3,381reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
326 Questions | 1,663 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,910
4 stars
994
3 stars
150
2 stars
108
1 star
219
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

After two years it quit working

08/18/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It turns out that the power supply unit needs to be replaced. It was always conected to a surge protector. It costs over $150 to repair it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Lasts only a year!

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv online during a Black Friday / Cyber Monday sale in 2012. Well, you definitely get what you pay for. The tv was wall mounted in my new townhouse in April 2013. I didn't have any issues with it other than an occasional buzzing sound and color/darkness issues. Unfortunately during the FIFA final July 13, 2014 the tv shut off during half-time never to turn back on again. There was no rain, no power outage, skies as clear as a summer's day. Called tech support, who is on PST time, 3 hours behind so never able to speak to anyone. Finally contacted them via email. I had to send the S/N and P/N #'s. Guess what they are on the back of the tv, which is mounted on a wall. Finally able to get someone to take it down for me to send the info to them. Waiting for a response, but based on reviews from online I might as well just chalk it up to renting a Sceptre tv for $280 for a year, because that is what I paid and got use of it. Good luck to anyone who owns this tv and is having a good run, enjoy it while it lasts!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3

Be Sceptical

08/09/2014
By ,
Washington, Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought a 42" Sceptre and within a year it has broken twice. It is currently out for repairs. It broke 6 months after buying it, then again 7 months after that. It is becoming a hassle. Good thing we bought a 3 year extended warranty. I was told that it has to break 4 times before it is considered a lemon and can be returned for a new one. Do your homework, compare and pay attention. It may be smarter to pay a little extra for a name brand and a more reliable TV. Hopefully this repair holds, either that or it breaks 2 more times before the warranty runs out so it can be replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Fantastic TV

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have several different makes of 40 in tvs and this displays as well or better than ones costing twice as much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Nice tv

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound could b louder
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

For quality and value, the Sceptre HD TV is great

08/25/2014
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 Sceptre HD TVs (a 32 inch, a 40 inch and a 50 inch) and I made the best investment that money can buy. Spending more does not always guarantee to you the best value.
This is a great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

GREAT TV AND VALUE WAS GOOD.

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT TV AND VALUE GOOD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great value

08/24/2014
By ,
McKinney, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a 27 tube TV for my mother-in-law and I helped her cut the cable. We are using a indoor antenna for local HD TV. The set was easy and and the remote was to explain to she. With the Hz only being 60 I was a worried about the refresh rate but it was not an issues.
Overall this is a no thrills awesome value. You are not paying for a bunch of features that you will not use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Site to Store Delivery

08/23/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered item Site to Store, went to pick it up and the box was so damaged the store personnel said she was embarrassed and ashamed to bring the TV out for me to see. Immediately returned item and received a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Amazing Tv Amazing Price

08/22/2014
By ,
Newnan Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 24 yr old that watches football every saturday and Sunday this 40inch tv prevails in most head to head competition and come's off the shelf at a low 260.It has amazing picture and sound quality.I am extreamly impressed with sceptre and their entire line of tvs. This will not be my last purchase you can guarantee that .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great dependable TV for a super price

08/21/2014
By ,
Indiana PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will be the 5th time I've ordered the 40" SPECTRE TV. Have had my original for a few years. Got one initially for me then have ordered them for my family and friends since they like mine especially the price. In total we have 9 years of total use on these TV's and have never had to have one returned or fixed. The only issue on all the sets was a couple dead pixels showing up on my TV after 2 yrs. My original is super energy efficient using 60 watts total power, actually ran it and my cable box on a small 100 w inverter when the power was out. Just hope we have as good of luck with this newer one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Good value

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After researching other 40" HDTVs, the Sceptre has the more features like 3 HDMI inputs. It has a great picture. I am glad I selected this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Read this review before buying

08/20/2014
By ,
Jacksonville,FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I will say it's not worth the price in my opinion as mine went out after 10 months. Also, the sound is definitely a con for this t.v. as you will read the same thing in most 1-3 star reviews.
Also, the major issue for me anyways was the HDMI card, went bad after 10 months of heavy use. These t.v.s today are really dicey in regards to something going wrong or scratchs on the screen, sound issues. If you are going to buy this size T.V. or larger I would spend the extra hundred dollars or so for a better/more popular t.v. Also check the warranty details before buying. Just like any big purchase you should be doing research. I did some, but not enough. Luckily, and I say this because I strongly feel if i didn't use this T.V. as much as I did during the first 10 months of ownership, it would of went bad after a year and it would of either went into the dumpster or I would of called around to see how much it was to fix it and if it's common issue. Then it's not worth it at all. I would just stay away from this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

READ before you purchase please........

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have/had two of these televisions. Both the 40" and the 32" have been sent back for repair one time each. The 32" was sent back because the picture went out after 4 months. I returned and they replaced, it now has no sound. Took it local to look at and it cost $87 for them to tell me the sound was out and would cost more than $200 to repair. It is now JUNK. The 40" went out after 7 months, returned and they replaced with a new TV. It is still working but I expect it to go out anytime. These things look good but they are junk DO NOT BUY unless you want to experience a lot of frustration and lost money. The Vizio is a much better TV, I have one of them as well and it is still going strong.
I don't expect a TV to last like the old days but I do expect one to last more than a year and to have to send two of them back is crazy. I will NEVER buy another one of these and I am shocked that Wal Mart continues to sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Absolutely great

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, I received a great value from Sceptre, as this is my 4th purchase. But this one was for me and my front room instead of a present for someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

I love this 40" TV!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase a Sceptre TV because I was unfamiliar with the brand. However, after reading all the reviews and due to the exceptional price I decided to go ahead. It has a phenomenal picture and I am very pleased. I went ahead and purchased the three year extended warranty for a very minimal amount. I would not hesitate to recommend this TV to anyone. I purchased it for my bedroom but the quality would be perfect for any room in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Amazing Quality TV for Price

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for a vacation home. Very pleased with the picture, quality, and sound. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

it is a good deal based on the price

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is a good deal based on the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Not bad

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this tv for a week and it's not bad, it has a good picture and sound. A really great value for only $300.00
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X405BV-FHD3
This review is fromSCEPTRE X405BV-FHDR 40" LED Class 1080P HDTV with ultra slim metal brush bezel, 60Hz.

Great tv

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great LED tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,887 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  145 Next