Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holmes Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Holmes Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

The Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer is a great general purpose purifier for small spaces. The multi-stage filter helps trap airborne particles and odors that pass through the filter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Love this little thing!

10/18/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My roommate and I own dogs, cats, and rodents. This air filter is AMAZING! It took about 30 seconds to set up, and it knocked out the smell of the litter box, rodent cages AND the musty dog smell in minutes. The effects last hours, so if the noise (it sounds like a fan) bothers you, it can be left off. We put one in each of our bedrooms, and one in the bathroom, and it was STILL cheaper than the next-cheapest filter (which also only works on small rooms).
I regularly rave about this little device, I highly recommend it! If I had realized such an amazing, affordable alternative existed, we'd have saved a ton on ineffective air fresheners and cleaners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Awesome *small room* purifier.

12/27/2011
By ,
LaGrange, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the reviews here yesterday for this air purifier and decided to give it a go. My daughter is having a real problem with allergens in her room, so I needed to do something. We are on a very tight budget, and this purifier was within it. I bought two, one for my room and one for hers. After about an hour, there was a noticeable difference in the air quality in the two rooms. Most noticeably in mine since I have cat boxes in my room. You could no longer tell cats lived in my room. I am quite pleased with these purifiers. HOWEVER, I do not believe they would work as well in a room much bigger than the one I am in right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Great Product.

08/19/2011
By ,
Central Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for use in my daughter's dorm room about two years ago and it still works great. She has asthma and needed a shield from all the "dorm" smells. It works really well to eliminate all the hairspray, deod., perfumes, etc that teenage girls just have to spray. I highly recommend this item. Another good feature is that Wal-Mart also carries the replacement filters for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 4 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer
03/23/2012
By ,
Moody, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I pre-ordered this online, so when I picked it up the first thing that went through my mind was "oh, no this is going to be to small". I took it home anyways and plugged it in my daughters room. Her room is 16 X 12, which is not small but about medium I guess. This air purifier worked great. My daughter had been suffering with allergies for about 2 months. The very next morning she woke up completely clear. It's a little loud, but it doesn't seem to bother her.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Very good for small rooms

01/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first air filter purchase as I did not want to invest a lot of money to only be disappointed. However, I am happy to say I will be purchasing a larger air filter for some of the other rooms in my home. I have used this air filter in a couple of the smaller rooms and the air quality is definitely improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 6 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Great Buy

01/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this purchase. I purchased this air purifier for my work area and it works fabulous. It sits on my my desk and purifies my entire cubicle. Now I'm getting ready to purchase one for my husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Great as a sound machine

12/21/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frankly I bought this (and 2 others) as a sound machine for sleeping. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
questions on your comment
Posted 01/28/2012
I am considering this mostly as a sound machine for my child's room. We currently use the fan setting on a space heater and the noise level is perfect for drowning out neighbor noises during her nap- but I am worried she'll turn on the heat setting and cause a fire. Do you feel this is a pretty safe item, and that it blocks noise well? Do you still change the filters on it even though you don't use it as a purifier?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

not worth it

11/08/2011
By ,
orlando fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this online and had it shipped to a store. I read the previous reviews thinking it must be a steal, but was wrong. Ive had it plugged in my medium sized bedroom all day for days now, and to be honest I cant really tell a difference.I live in FL, I have 2 dogs, carpet and a lot of furniture in my room so i wanted something to clear the musty smell that sometimes builds...Anyways, im going to turn it off for a couple days and see if theres a difference before i take it back, but as of now it seems to be doing less then opening a window would do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bellevue, Nebraska
Wrong size for a big problem.
Posted 04/07/2012
This unit states it's for extra small rooms and it sounds like you have a big odor problem... so it won't work for you like you're expecting. I'd say buy another 1 or 2 and put it in, you'd see a huge difference! Right now, you can buy them for $10 off... there is a coupon on Coupons. Com for the 49.99 or less ones and there is also a $20 off a $50 or more one. Can't beat a purifier for $5! I picked up 5 of them yesterday... for all our bedrooms and bathroom. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

ok air filter

03/20/2012
By ,
oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At least it does purifys the air, its small, and LOUD even on low setting, it doesn't work right off each day, we got this to filter our daughter's room smell from her hamsters and everyday she turns it on when she leaves because its so loud. but by the time she comes home from school her room smell is clean and good. it also blows a lot of air at one time so it tends to cool her room down a bit. but over all a great deal for the very small price we paid!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Great little air cleaner.

04/19/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one in my office and one at home. Both are good air cleaners and also serve as excellent white noise generators. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer
04/14/2012
By ,
Wichita, ks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first one I purchased started sparking when I plugged it in. I exchanged it for another one. The second worked great! It really helped with my allergies. However, after about a month of use the purifier got A LOT louder. I changed the filer in case the noise was caused by a clog, but that didn't help. It's now too loud for me to sleep with it on, and the noise gives me headaches. I usually turn it on when I'm leaving and then off when I get home. This purifier does it's job, but obviously there are manufacturing issues with some models.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Amazing little machine.

08/05/2012
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will not find a better quality for the price. I have been totally amazed with this little machine. I am a smoker and we have 4 dogs and this takes most of the odor out. I am very pleased with my purchase. I am buying one for each room in my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Holmes Personal Space Air Purifier with Ionizer

Good value

05/01/2012
By ,
Leicester MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well for its size and price. My 6 year old grandson has many allergies and running this in his room has helped him sleep through the night without sneezing and sniffling.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points