Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AFG Furniture AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

AFG Furniture AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

This AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry is perfect for the space-conscious family. Its versatile design provides the perfect station for changing baby's diapers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%33 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Mixed feelings

12/07/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed feelings about this crib. I like that it has storage but its not as much as I thought. The drawers are not very deep. I would recommend buying a dresser along with it. And the changer is not very big. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002L3XENE/ref=redir_mdp_mobile?ref_=pd_rhf_sc_p_t_1. There's the link to the changer pad because other changer pads will not fit in it. Not sure if I would recommend this crib to a friend but its not a bad crib. Oh also we had to call and get two drawers replaced because when they made the crib they didn't drill the holes in the right spots.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry
04/09/2012
By ,
Hood River, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love this crib, it is very beautiful and easy to assemble. My husband and I looked for 4 months for the perfect crib and could not find anything that we liked or that fit in the little space we have. I found the Athena and both my husband and I love the storage space. And the fact that things can not be stuffed under the bed, we have a 7 year old and a 3 year old and they like to put things everywhere they can.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Great product for the money!

07/24/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this crib when we were expecting (my son is now a year and a half) and we still LOVE this crib. The drawers glide open and closed. The only problem we had was finding a changing pad that woud fit because the changer does not come with a pad and it is an odd size. We opted for a product called the Snuggle Nest. It fit perfectly and we removed the cloth cover that goes over the changing pad so that we could simply wipe it clean (just like a normal changing pad). The perk is that the Snuggle Nest has high sides (a plus since the sides of the changer are not real high), an attached night light, and a set of removable "no roll" wedges that slip over the changing pad for added safety. As for the matress, we chose a Serta matress off the Walmart website and had it all sent to the store to save money on the shipping. If you're hesitant about this crib, don't be. The deep side shelves give you extra room for storing blankets or whatever you need. This crib does not disappoint (safe; a soda can does not fit between the spaces) and it is beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ga
Posted 08/08/2013
Great tip on the changing pad!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

LargeLoad, FunkyDirections, but LovelyCrib

06/01/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have a giant vehicle ready to pick this up if you're not paying for delivery. I couldn't even fit it in the back of my large SUV! Also, the directions were miss-labeled...quite terribly. I'm glad my husband ended up putting it together, because many of the pieces don't match the directions and you have to figure it out for yourself...that's super frustrating for me personally. BUT, he got it together in a couple hours, and the crib is absolutely gorgeous...well made, smooth drawer gliding, smells fresh, feels sturdy, and is just a tad darker than the pic...which I loved. Quite rich in cherry tones.
All the drawers and shelves are excellent for storage, but I won't be using the changing table for changing...once a child can stand, they can get into the diapering things if left up there. Also, the bumper pad can't tie on that one side...I just used a couple hook-on toys over the bumper...but that might bug some people. Overall, love the crib, and hope to use it for multiple babies!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

I love this crib

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This crib is great. Its very nice looking and the storage space in it makes it well worth your money. Some people in other reviews complained about the fact that it doesn't have an adjustable height for the mattress but the crib is low to the ground so you really don't have to reach far to get baby in and out. I absolutely love it and it seems very sturdy like its not gonna fall apart. I didn't have any problems with damaged pieces like some of the other reviews said so maybe they started packaging them better. All in all I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Bargain

04/14/2014
By ,
Vienna Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful crib for the price. Instructions and hard ware wasn't correct. It wasn't that big a deal. Easier to put together that I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Awesome

01/02/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very solid product. We have loved it so much that purchasing a 2nd one tonight is a no-brainer for the little guy on the way. Highly reccomended. The worst part is finding an affordable chest of drawers to match this beautiful deep red cherry. Much nicer than anything at baby's r us and it's half the price of many of their cribs with the same finish.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ontario
Matching Dresser
Posted 05/25/2013
Hi there,
Congrats on your new bundle of joy on the way! Where did you find a matching dresser? I really want the colors to match and I wish that they had a matching dresser for this amazing crib.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

best convertable crib ever!

01/12/2012
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this crib! The color is beautiful it doesn't look cheap. I had a very easy time building it all by myself. I'm a single mother and it only took me about 1.5 hours to set up. My kids love the crib too. It seems like it'll last a while. I already have people lining up for it once they have their own kids; I might just not share! The price is very doable which is a plus. Other places are selling it for much more but why get it elsewhere? I really think this is the best crib out there for such an awesome price that's so beautiful!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Great Crib for the cost

11/01/2012
By ,
Manhattan, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice crib for those on a budget that don't want to compromise perks for the comfort of there new editions. I want to let you all know that the crib comes in one huge and heavy box and if the instructions are missing you can get them for the manufacturer. the storage space could be better but I've seen worse. It took me and my 12yrs old son 2hrs to put the crib together and It looks and feels sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Don't Buy This Crib!!

02/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are so many reasons why you shouldn't buy this crib and we feel obligated to let you know so you don't make the same mistake we did. It took a very long time to assemble this crib because the instructions (or non existent instructions) made it very difficult to assemble. The changing table top was tiny and none of the changing pads would fit. The side railing doesn't move up or down which made it very difficult to set the baby onto the mattress because you have to lean over so far that it feels like your back will break. Because we already spent so much time assembling the crib that it would be more of a pain to take it apart and return it, so we kept it but I would never recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/18/2012
The sides don't move up and down because it's the law. They did away with the drop sides due to safety hazards. As far as a changing pad, a friend of mine got one of the gel cushioned dish-drying pads to put in her changer. I hope you are enjoying your crib/changer more, now that you've had it a while.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Horrible Customer Service--Do Not Buy This Crib!

04/10/2013
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I contacted the manufacturer, AFG, to get a copy of the manual for this crib and they refused to give me one. I sent several emails and even included a photograph of the serial number and manufacturing information on the crib and they said that they will not provide something as simple as the directions for putting this crib together or converting it into one of its forms. I was treated rudely, and I will never buy from this company again. I would recommend that you look for a different crib for your child.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Solid Product

09/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice product. Easy instructions to follow for assembly. One part was missing in the shipment.
Pros: easy to assemble, Safety ratings, Durability
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

does not have drop down side

04/09/2012
By ,
oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a beautiful bed, well constructed, but does not have a drop down side or an adjustable mattress height. So you must be tall to be able to lay the baby down or pick it up. I am 5 foot 1 inch and it is impossible for me or my husband to use!
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ct
should not have drop down side
Posted 10/24/2012
I too am short and prefer a drop side crib, however, they have been outlawed as a safety hazard. No cribs are manufactured with a drop down side
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

great

08/27/2012
By ,
hyattsville ,md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i live in a one bedroom and it was a life saver !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Seems very sturdy and worth the money!

12/18/2011
By ,
Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read on other sites that a lot of people struggled to put it together and I would agree, it was stressful to put together. Also, the left-hand side came splintered! Not happy about that, but I know theres nothing we can do about that. Otherwise, the crib seems very sturdy, the drawers are a lifesaver and I haven't had the same problems as the other moms where they don't go in right or they rub, they seem perfect to me. The only other draw back is that the mattress is not adjustable, but I haven't had my baby yet to know if this will be a pain or not. I would say this crib is definitely worth the money, the storage is a godsend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry
02/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only dislike turns into a youth bed not a twin bed
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stockbridge, MI
Adaptable
Posted 10/16/2012
Bought the crib in 2009 for our little girl. It is beautiful in color, sturdy in design. It is now 2012, our daughter turned 3 in September and I converted it to the next stage of bed and night stand. I ordered from Walmart the twin-memory foam mattress with waterproof trendy pink zip-on cover for our big girl's bed but found that a traditional twin mattress did not fit. I hadn't thought about the narrower width accorded to cribs. I just saw the conversion in the title. :) However, here to let you know I was able to trim that memory foam mattress down to a perfect size for this bed and I expect we'll have this set for a long time to come. Still very happy customer. It is really a beautiful set, and you can match just about any 'affordable' natural color furniture with a little stain!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

STUNNING CRIB

08/03/2013
By ,
CHICAGO, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CRIB WAS BOUGHT ONLINE, LOVED IT, THE COLOR, PRICE ETC! HOWEVER, WHEN PUTTING IT TOGETHER NOTICED THE SIDE RAILS DON'T DROP DOWN, ME BEING 5'1 IT WAS A MASSIVE PROBLEM. BUT IT TOOK A FEW HOURS TO PUT TOGETHER AND ONCE IT WAS TOGETHER GREAT ITEM, COULDN'T TAKE APART TO BRING BACK. I BOUGHT A CHEAPER MATTRESS FROM WALMART MAYBE 30.00 TO PUT IN BOTTOM OF CRIB THEN A HIGHER AMOUNT ONE FOR BABY TO ACTUALLY SLEEP ON. SO TWO MATTRESS' STACKED HELPED WITH THE SIDES NOT DROPPING UNTIL SON WAS AT THE 9 MONTH OLD MARK AND STARTED TO STAND UP.
I HAD TO BUY AN AEROBICS TONE STEP (BC COULDN'T FIND A STEP STOOL SHORT ENOUGH, REG STEP STOOL TO HIGH) IT WORKS OUT GREAT! I HAD TO ACTUALLY ORDER A CHANGING PAD FROM AFG ATHENA COMPANY TO FIT VIA AMAZON IT WAS PRICEY BUT WELL WORTH IT SIDES OF CHANGING TABLE PART ARE VERY LOW SO ONCE HE WAS AT THE 9 MONTH MARK IT HAS BECOME A HASSLE TO CHANGE HIM AT TIMES ON IT BECAUSE OF LOW SIDES, OTHER THEN THOSE THREE THINGS I WOULD RECOMMEND CRIB!!! ITS GREAT! I LOVE THIS CRIB GET ALOT OF COMPLEMENTS AND IT IS STURDY DURABLE AND SIMPLY STUNNING WELL MADE PRODUCT!!!!!! WHERE WILL U GET A CRIB THIS NICE, PRICE POINT GREAT, WELL MADE AND A 3 IN 1.... NO WHERE ELSE!
I WISH IT WAS SOLD AS A SET WITH A EXTRA DRESSER BC DRESSERS ARE VERY PRICEY TO MATCH WOOD COLOR!!!
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Beautiful, but a little inconvenient.

05/28/2013
By ,
White Bear, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this crib when the baby was still in the belly. Due to GERD, baby was unable to go in the crib at first, but now baby sleeps in there every night. It is a pain to get the baby into the crib when fast asleep and cradled in the arms due to the lack of ability to raise the mattress. I have noticed that some complain about the inability to raise and lower the sides, however if you know the guidelines for cribs, they are no longer able to make cribs that do that.
If it were not for the inability to raise and lower the mattress however, I would give this crib a 5 star rating. Also the cost of the custom size changing pad is outlandish, so I bought a pad at a craft store and made one my self (highly recommended if you know how to sew!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Awesome crib!!

01/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my 4 month old and I love it! It's a really good size and good quality, great price! A nice size for the changing table. I especially love the number of drawers on this crib as storage is always an issue! Overall a great buy! Really happy with this purchase:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AFG Athena Daphne 3-in-1 Fixed-Side Crib and Changer Combo, Cherry

Great and sturdy crib

10/15/2012
By ,
Mount Vernon, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This crib was simply to put together as my wife and I assemble it. Every screw was place in accurately. Our son sleeps well and soundless, but my only gripe is the draw space provided. They are really limited so careful when selecting this product. Overall you get what you pay for with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next