Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AFG Furniture AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AFG Furniture AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

The AFG Furniture Leila Crib and Changing Table Set is the perfect choice for baby's room. This delightful nursery changing table and crib set pairs a classic baby crib with a convenient changing table.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%34 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Looks very nice for the price...

12/12/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this for our first baby who is still a bun in the oven. It looks very nice for the price. One of the drawers is a little funny but other than that it seems great so far. We'll see how it does once it is used a lot more. I can't see spending $400 or more on just a crib so I feel this was the perfect choice for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 2 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Quality furniture for the price!!!! Great deal!

11/20/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this set online so I didn't really get a chance to see the wood and detail before I purchased it, but I figured it was only a nursery set so it wouldn't need to withstand a whole lot of use anyways. When my husband was putting it together I was super excited because it isn't made out of particle board or cardboard. It is made with real wood (kinda) and the color was really nice. I ordered the Espresso color. After it was all put together (which my husband said was easy, but took quite a while, all night) I was definitely satisfied with my purchase. The changing table is good size and the spaces below for baskets and storage are pretty large and the drawers have a lot of space for clothing or blankets or whatever. The crib is very sturdy and I see it lasting my family a lot longer than the first crib I bought that I paid more money for. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to buy baby furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

In love, and decently priced

09/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The crib and changing table are absolutely beautiful. The espresso color really makes the furniture the centerpiece of the nursery, and is beautiful with the bedding set that I picked out for my son. I was afraid at first because the bedding has brown in it, but the dark color of the crib wood actually compliments the other brown.
The nursery set arrived on time at the store, and no damage was done to the furniture. It's obvious the manufacturers Took great care in ensuring no scratches or other damages happened. Everything was packaged in marked boxes inside the bigger box.
My only problem (and the reason this isn't a 5 star review) was that the instructions gradually got worse the deeper you got into the project. By the end of setting up the changing table I couldn't help but laugh. There's one moment where they tell you the wrong amount of screws, and have some of the numbering wrong (watch out there are 2 #6's, but the instructions say it's #9). There's also a point where they tell you to screw something upside down. Luckily this isn't my first time setting up furniture for a nursery, so I was able to figure out what the heck they were trying to say.
All in all, the product is what I expected, and setup wasn't that bad. My husband has problems with the left side of his body due to having a stroke, so if the two of us can get this set up it really shouldn't be a problem for anyone who is 100% able bodied.
Pros: Durability
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bin Area
Posted 04/27/2013
What are the measurements of the bin area on the dresser/changing table? I would like to order bins, but not sure what the size of the two bin areas are... Your help would be greatly appreciated! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Very nice!!

10/10/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this set because of the price and the fact that we didn't have enough room in the baby's room for a crib, changing table and dresser. I like that there are holes under the changer for baskets or whatever you want and still has a couple drawers at the bottom. The crib was VERY simple to put together and looks very nice. It is sturdy and doesn't move when shaken. The dresser is nice also, yet took a VERY long time to put together! We didn't have any trouble with it except for getting the second side to go on, but there are lots of steps and lots of pieces. We are very happy with our purchase and would buy this 100 times over before buying a different set. It's a great price and good quality. The only complaint that I have is we ordered espresso, but the color is not really espresso, more cherry. There is a cherry option too, so not sure what color that would really be. We ordered a glider in espresso and the colors don't really match (the glider is a very dark brown, like chocolate and this set is lighter). I'm not really worried about it because I'm so happy with the quality for the price and doubt the baby is really going to care anyway. Looking forward to getting to use the new set with the baby!! Also, the box says there is an option for it to be a toddler bed, but not sure how it will convert because it doesn't say in the package. May be something to look into though.
Pros: easy to assemble, Durability, price, had dresser/changer combo
Cons: some instructions difficult, color was a little off
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+17points
Review 5 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso
03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this crib on Sunday and it was delivered on Wednesday! I was amazed at the fast shipping. My husband and I put the crib together in about 15 minutes and the changing table in about an hour and a half. Everything is VERY sturdy and it is a beautiful color! I am very impressed with the quality of wood, and for only $200! We did struggle a little with the changing table because the one piece of wood didn't fit like it should have. We had to really force it together and ended up scratching the inside of the dresser in doing so. Since it is the inside, it will never be seen but that was aggravating having the pieces not fit like they should have. Overall, a great buy and I definitely don't regret the purchase. The changing table has a lot of space for storage, more than it looks like in the picture.
We aren't due for four more months so I can't comment on how it will hold up but it really does seem very sturdy and of good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
picture?
Posted 03/05/2012
hi, I noticed you are the most recent review, will you please post a picture of what this crib set looks like when all set up? I am debating btween this and another crib set. It would be greatly appreciated if you would! Thank you ;)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

great quality, and beautiful wood and color.

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was suprised by the beauty of this. For the money I was expecting it to be ok, but I was pleasantly suprised how much I liked it. The changing table/dresser was actually bigger than I imagined and its all very solid and sturdy. Must say though being 6 months pregnant the amount of directions and screws /bolts were a little overwhelming at first lol but with the included allen key, a phillips and flat head screw driver and of course carefully reading the directions I managed to put it together with no problems. The changing table pad and saftey strap are not included, though I already had them just figured I would give a heads up for those who might need to get those items too to complete it all. Definitely love the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 7 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Fabulous

11/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We saw this on Amazon for over $800 and were so shocked to see it priced so great at Walmart. The set looks very nice and we have received a lot of compliments! It was easy to put together, the changing table had a lot more parts and screws than the crib, but went together fine. It feels solid, not cheap at all!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
please :)
Posted 01/29/2012
will someone please post a photo of what this crib set looks like in a real picture?? Im really considering purchasing but would like to see what the true color of this product is when it comes in. It say's "espresso" but I would like to see what their version of the color is. Thank you, will be greatly appreciated!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

I bought this for my daughter it arrived damaged

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought them in the state of Georgia to be shipped in the state of California handling was terrible it arrived broken and missing parts
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 9 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Great!!!

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first time mom didn't want to spend a lot of money but wanted something nice, and I loved it this far!!! and everyone that has seen it complements me on it.....assembly was easy for me what is there not to understand comes with the tools you need and pictures of every single step taking in consideration I'm 8 months prego....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Great bargain for the price.

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crib set and cabinet came quickly and was in excellent shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Great for the price - some cosmetic flaws

03/27/2013
By ,
Clarksville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I felt pretty confident ordering this package based on the reviews I read. I am definitely impressed with the quality (that of which I had with my daughter's crib for half the price) and felt the changer was even better than the one we received for my daughter for double the price. What I was truly disappointed in was the packaging and shipping of the product. Not sure if this is fault of AFG or Wal-Mart. The product took extra time to come in (which I was ok with) but when we finally got it set up I noticed on both end pieces about 15 symmetrical gouges from where the packaging was stapled. As unimpressed as I was with this, it wasn't enough to have me return the product and wait another two weeks to receive a new one, as I'm high risk and the baby could be here any day now. So as a whole, I hope I am one of the only people getting a cosmetically displeasing crib, but I'd still recommend the set based on the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Great product

07/19/2014
By ,
Auburn,wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took me a little bit of time to put it together as a single mom but it was worth it.. My son can finally have a bed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

amazing deal

04/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical to purchase this crib/changer combo because the price was too good to be true and I didnt know the brand. However I went ahead knowing this would be our last baby and would only have to make it through one child. We got it a month ago and it is gorgous!! The crib is very sturdy. The changing table is beautiful and is honestly why i choose this set. I wanted one that could be used after as a book shelf/ toy storage. The drawers slide GREAT (which i was a bit concerned with when I orderd) It is so spacious!! I couldnt be happier!! (and its twice the price on amazon!!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Quality, Quality, Quality

08/25/2013
By ,
West Union, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had to purchase a crib in 9 years and my how they have changed! I was searching online to see what kind of sets we could get and came across this set. I loved that the changing table can also be a dresser to save space. And the dark wood is beautiful. You never know exactly what your getting from a picture but let me tell you, I read all the reviews before purchasing which made it easier to pick. ITS BEAUTIFUL! My husband and I were really impressed with the quality of this crib/changing table. Changing table like the reviews stated took the longest to put together but its not really that hard. I love it!! Cant wait for our boy to be in it!!! The site to store option was great, ordered on Friday, was able to pick it up on Tuesday!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 15 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

great deal

02/08/2014
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the look of the crib and table, they crib was very easy to set up, there are only five pieces. But the Changing table had a few pieces that were labeled differently from the instructions which started some of the confusion, we kept looking through the boxes worried we missed something. At one point the directions just make absolutely no sense at all. We tossed the directions and went off of what made sense to us. We had everything set up in about an hour and a half though. It looks great in the room and we're one step closer to being ready for baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Came Broken:(

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The back panel was damaged and the back of one of the drawers is completely broken. We still need to call for resolution. I noted many reviews on amazon stating this. Thought Walmart maybe better, but it still had damage. Crib appears ok, minor markings on legs
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 17 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

LOVE IT!!!

01/18/2012
By ,
Nevada, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set after looking for a cheaper bed with great reviews. I absolutely love it!! The crib is so sturdy, and the changing table is heavy. Very good quality!!! I was 5 days from delivering our baby, and I put the entire thing together by myself while my husband was at work. Very nice color to the wood. I've had several compliments on the crib and changing table. The drawers and shelves have more room to them than it looked like in the picture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Very pleased with this set!!

07/11/2012
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband picked out a set of furniture that was MUCH more expensive than this but we decided wih this set due to the great price. I was so pleased when the set arrived. No damage and all the pieces were included. The crib was a breeze to put together..the changing table was a bit more difficult due to the number of pieces. I am so in love with the finished product and cant wait to get everything put together in this sweet babies room!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 19 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso

Love!

04/07/2012
By ,
Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The crib took less than 10 minutes to put together.. most of which I was able to do by myself. (Which is amazing considering I'm 8 months pregnant..)
The changing table was a mess to put together. Ended up having to take different pieces a part and fix/drill new holes for the screws to go in because it wasn't correct.
But once it was all together, It's AMAZING. So beautiful.
I was pretty shocked when picking it up from Walmart (site-to-store) that it all came in one HUGE box. Unless you plan on taking each little piece out, you will definitely need a pick up truck to take this home! (and a couple men to pick the box up)
Can't wait to have my new baby boy sleeping in this wonderful crib. Very impressed!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for AFG- Athena Leila Crib and Changing Table Set, Espresso
05/29/2012
By ,
Mesquite, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter and it was perfect for her room and it was nice and well made for the price I paid for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next