Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dyson Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

The Dyson Animal DC41 Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner is the most powerful Dyson upright vacuum featuring ball technology. You'll have no problem vacuuming under chairs, tables, and around tight corners with this versatile cleaning machine. The Dyson Animal Vac has been specifically engineered to capture pet hair and ground-in dirt for a deeper, more thorough clean. Plus, Radial Root Cyclone technology maximizes intense suction power to vacuum up every last particle of dust and dirt. This upright vacuum cleaner is constructed from lightweight, durable materials, and meets HEPA standards for an environmentally responsible clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1057 Reviews) 1025
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
872
4 stars
137
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation96%1,011 out of 1,057reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
872
4 stars
137
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

I love this vacuum

11/25/2011
By ,
Southcentral VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum - and I must add that I HATE vacuuming. Almost as much as I hate dusting. I live in the country with 3 big dogs & a husband who are in and out all day long. We leave windows open in nice weather. We get red clay dust, pollen, dog hair (I groom them myself in the house).
I opened the box, assembled this and started vacuuming using just the quick setup guide. By the time I had made a few passes down over the scatter rugs I had already filled the cannister. Who knew the dog's favorite little rug was pink and not beige?
It made the rugs look like new. It easy grabbed stuff from right up against the baseboards. The hose is stiff, but I was able to get cobwebs off ceilings and the dusting brush worked great. It actually vacuumed up the dust, rather than just collecting it in the bristles. So far I've used the crevice tool, the dusting brush, the multi-angled brush (great for ceiling fans) and the flexible floor brush (I bought most of the attachments).
When it stopped picking things up, I looked at the instructions, turned it over, removed the clip and took the vacuum attachment off. Sure enough -- it was clogged with dust, hair & leaves. I pulled it out and we were off and running again. I have had it 2 weeks now and have filled the cannister about 6 times already. I just take it outdoors and push the button to dump it into a shopping bag. Love that it is bagless and you don't have to touch anything.
For years I was told that the best thing for hardwood floors was a cannister vac. I think they were wrong -- I love the way this maneuvers. It gets under all but the lowest furniture (I use the hose/floor attachment for getting under dressers). I love that you can push a button to turn the beaters on & off as you hit scatter rugs. I love that it picks up dog kibble on one pass. I hope it lasts a long time, because this is the first vacuum I've ever loved.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 2 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Great vacuum for all floors. Love it!

03/30/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never purchased a pricey vacuum, before. But boy, I have been missing out. Right after the product was delivered to our home, I put the vacuum together (which was easy, by the way), and I started vacuuming the basement. Immediately, I was impressed by the vacuum's suction power. We have a dog who I thought didn't shed a whole lot of hair, but apparently, I was wrong. The Dyson was picking up puppy hair that my other cheap, vacuum failed to pick up from the carpet.
I was curious to see how well the Dyson would perform on hardwood floors, and once again, I was very impressed. Even though, the snow outside is long gone, the salt/sand still remains and gets tracked into our house, which drives me nuts. When I used our cheaper vacuum on the hard woods, the vacuum would pick up some of the sand, but other particles would just blow around. Thus, I had to use a broom to finish the job. With the Dyson, I can keep the broom in closet: the Dyson sucks up all the sand with no issues at all. I love this vacuum!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Review 3 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Overall happy with the Dyson DC41

03/25/2014
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this vacuum, as I had read it was not the quality that Dyson had once been known for. But after trying a Shark (which could not stand up to the pets in our house) and since Oreck only provides one bagless vacuum which is not one of their better products) I decided an Animal was my only option. I purchased this and have been using it for a week. I agree with reviews I read that this vacuum is of lesser quality than previous Dysons. The DC 41 feels flimsier, the ball squeaks when I push it, and the canister is much smaller than my previous Animal. I gave it 4 stars because: 1) performance is still pretty great 2) the cord is long enough so I do not constantly have to plug it into other outlets 3) I have yet to have to cut dog hair out of the roller (I have a Great Pyrenees), which I've always had to do with other vacuums (even my previous Dyson).
Overall, I would suggest this product to friends. And if you have never owned an older Dyson Animal, you probably won't even see any negatives with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 4 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Dyson Animal Upright Ball Vacuum

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Dyson. My other one lasted 9 years through 4 German Shepherds and Florida black sand! These machines ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we first moved back to Michigan my sister loaned me her Bissell Bagless Upright Vacuum. Ummmm, It just doesn't get it.
This newer model of the Dyson Animal is even better and more nimble than my first one. Yep I am in Love again. It is awesome. These machines have some assembly required when they arrive. This one was even easier than my first machine. I don't care that I had to put them together the machine works better than ANY machine I have ever used. Sorry Kirby you are heavy and stinky and hard to clean. My Dyson comes apart easily so you can wash it so after a couple months of use you don't have that funky smell when you vacuum the house. I love love love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 5 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

If this is your 2nd Dyson Forget it-terrible!

03/03/2014
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Are you shopping for your 2nd Dyson? Forget it. They have lowered their standards. This Dyson is smaller across the brush area; the bucket for debris is also smaller. It does not do well going from rug to floor and vice versa. You must change the direction of the push and the even lift the rug edge to get the small pieces. The entire weight of the Dyson is focused on the palm of your hand. The ergonomics of the machine makes it most awkward to push. Due to the fact that with this vacuum you must make so many passes to clean up small items it is actually extremely uncomfortable to vacuum your house. Yes, it has powerful suction but not like their past models! I had another Dyson Animal for 13 years and only decided to get this one because my daughter needed a vacuum for her new apartment. Huge Mistake! Don’t get caught up by the big name/big price/it must be better idea-it is NOT!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 6 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Very disappointed after one year.

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and was very happy with it for a little over a year then it just stopped working. There is no suction now, and no one locally can work on it. Very frustrating for a high end vacuum cleaner that should have lasted for years.
Recommends this product? No
From DysonProductExpert07/03/2014
Hi Roy, this is Joe with Dyson.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the performance of your DC41. However, I am sorry to hear that your machine does not appear to be operating properly. I am sure this is something we can have resolved for you. If you have not contacted us already, please send us an email with your contact details to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch as soon as possible.

Best wishes,

JoeDyson-EN_US
+6points
Review 7 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Worth every Penney !

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will not be disappointed ! If you decide to shell out the money to purchase this vac . I bought the Dyson original about 5 years ago (it's still going strong using it at our summer place) I decided to try a newer unit for our home, this Dyson "animal" has all the features the original plus a furniture brush vac powered motorized ). The greatest feature: is the TWO filters (are washable) and if you follow the book (instructions) for regular maintenance I.E. Be sure to dump the waist at each vac completion etc this Dyson will serve you for many years. Another great feature Dyson filters if kept maintained according to the ins book , will keep the air exhaust dust free (and clean smelling) this is truly as good as or close to the RAINBOW vacuum cleaner as possible.
Hope this helps your decision on your buy.
Fred D.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Fantastic Vacuum! Worth every penny!

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had terrible allergies since I was little, and am deathly allergic to dogs and cats. This year we relocated and the house I feel in love with, the former owner had a golden lab and two cats! We looked into replacing to carpet, but it was in great shape (the former owner had just shampooed it a few weeks ago, too), and I hated to waste the carpet if it could be saved. So instead of cleaning it again, or replacing it, we decided to invest in a really good vacuum. After reading and researching, our family decided on the DC 41. The first vacuum proved it was worth every penny!! The first, full-house vacuum filled the canister! There was so much dirt and pet hair picked up, I couldn't believe it. We have been in the house barely three weeks, and I've filled the canister an additional two times. The best part is, once we settled, my allergies have too, and I know my carpets are clean and pet-hair free, thanks to my Dyson.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Excellent product!

03/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I love my new Dyson, Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner, DC41. I've had an old vacuum that doesn't work for so long. After shampooing my carpets for twelve hours and seeing the amount of dog hair it picked up, I knew it was time for a new vacuum. A week later after a lot of research, I had my new Dyson. I used it the minute I got it assembled and was absolutely amazed at how much MORE dog hair it picked up considering I had just shampooed it a week earlier.
I would have rated this product even higher except it does not have a light on it and the hand tools, primarily the hose is not as easy to use as others I've used in the past. I also learned the first time I had to empty the bagless canister to do so outside as the dust flies into the air. I've never had bagless before so I guess that's a trade off. I have adjusted to it and LOVE my Dyson DC41. It also saves me a lot of time vacuuming as I don't have to go over the same area over and over again.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

One word... amazing!

11/16/2011
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fist of all, I never write reviews for products; however, I have fallen in love with this vacuum and want to recommend it to everyone. For those of you skeptical about spending A LOT of money on a vacuum, let me reassure you... it is worth every single penny. I have 2 large inside dogs, and I have mostly hardwood floors and tile with a few rugs. It is really hard to find a vacuum cleaner that doesn't blow the dog hair around while you are trying to clean. If you get anywhere near the hair, dust, etc., it instantly sucks it up. I honestly thought my floor was clean before using this vacuum, but I was definitely mistaken. It sucks up every piece of dirt in the carpets and in every crevice in the floor. This machine is AMAZING on hard floors and carpet and I would recommend it to anyone interested in purchasing a vacuum. I am a first time Dyson owner and will never own another type of vacuum. The cord is super long, and the dust/dirt bin is very large so you won't have to empty as often. Maneuvering the ball was challenging at first (since I was familiar with the typical vacuum), but it made cleaning so much easier and faster when I became used to it. Also, it is a bit on the heavy side when carrying it around (you don't roll the vacuum when not in use), so it maybe difficult for some people. Overall, this is a well engineered piece of machinery and definitely worth the money. I can't believe I didn't buy one sooner!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Review 11 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Great Vac

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've historically purchased junky vacs - $100 max. If they didn't break after a few uses, they'd just stop sucking things up at all. I've only had the Dyson a few weeks, but it's sturdy (despite the plastic) and does a pretty amazing job pulling dirt/hair/lint/dust from our carpets. They all look new.
My one complaint is the abundance of plastic on the vac. For $400+ dollars, I'd expect some more solid construction. But it hasn't been an issue abd the warranty is pretty good.
Overall - worth the reduced price tag Wally World puts on it... Not a dollar more.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 12 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Not worth the hype!

02/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Always heard great things about Dyson and decided to try one after using the cheap vacuums all my life. I have a dog and a cat and was looking for something that was good at picking up pet hair. For the $400 I paid for this, it is a TOTAL RIPOFF! Cleans the same as a cheap $65 vacuum. It is pretty lightweight and easy to use, and I like it for that.... but the suction power is a joke. Does not pick up any small pieces of debris, such as a few flecks of dry cat litter... Picks up most of the pet hair but anything heavier than a hair is left on the ground, no matter how many times I roll over it. Our carpet is not that thick and I was hoping for more from a Dyson. Will not ever buy a dyson again!
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Review 13 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Excellent Buy

11/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought, Wow what an expensive Vacuum Cleaner. I have to admit the price scared me. But after I read the reviews and also spoken to a couple of folks who purchased a Dyson Vacuum Cleaner. I thought let me try it. I have a puppy boxer at home and he sheds a lot of hair. My old Vacuum Cleaner just blew the hair all over the place. However I can not tell you enough on how much I LOVE MY NEW DYSON Vacuum Cleaner!!! This vacuum is very powerful. It picks up everything. It's worth every penny. It works great on my hardwoods floors and carpet. This is a definite buy. You won't regret it. I love this vacuum. Very easy to use. I strongly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 14 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless vacuum

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I really am impressed with it. It is one of the easiest vacuums that I have ever used and the suction is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Dyson DC41 - LOVE IT!

01/19/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first day we brought the vacuum home, I used it in every possible cleaning method in the house that I could think of... any cob webs, baseboards, under furniture (including the beds), cleaning the couch and love seat, my floors... Everything I could think to vacuum, I did!
I cannot complain about the vacuum. It did great!
If I had one critique, it would be that there aren't any attachments to allow you to get under your bed or couch... and the long hard plastic piece on the hose makes getting to something close to you a bit tricky. Otherwise, as many reviews I read before purchasing stated, until you get used to its design, it's really easy to take it from upright to leaned back... even when you don't intend to.
I'd still make the purchase again, it cleans everything I could imagine (and for a neat freak like me, I can imagine ALOT) and it cleans it very well. I would recommend the DC41 to anyone looking for a great all purpose vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

AWFUL!!! NOT WORTH THE PRICE!!!

01/07/2013
By ,
Pt. MacKenzie, AK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a DC41. That's over $600 for a vacuum.
It did "OK" for about 1 week. Had issues picking up half a pellet
of cat food from my hard wood floors. It wouldn't pick up my long haired cats fur unless I went over it 3-4 times to pick it all up.
We have a wood fireplace and random SMALL wood pieces will get on the carpet from hauling wood inside to burn. The Dyson wouldn't pick those up on the carpet unless I went over them slowly 2-3 times. Forget about it if it was on the hardwood floors. I had to SWEEP before vacuuming...kinda makes the hardwood floor cleaning option pointless!
I have 3 cats, and a 3000+ sq.ft. home.
I am a VERY clean person and would vacuum every 2 days. I expect a $600+ vacuum to do everything I want it to!
YES: I cleaned the vacuum out after each use and took care of it.
YES: I even tried another of the same model and had the same issues.
I was not impressed, so I returned it and bought the Bissell Total Floors Pet vacuum instead
for $140 at my local Wal*Mart in Wasilla, AK.
It DOES EVERYTHING I WANTED: Cleans hard wood & tile floors while picking up everything without hesitation. Has a convenient foot pedal button to turn the brush off. Has all the attachments the Dyson had. One swipe and the cat hair is gone. Nice Febreeze filter makes the whole house smell wonderful. Much easier to clean out after use than the Dyson.
I am SUPER impressed with THAT vacuum, especially for the GREAT price!
***DON'T***give into the hype and spend your hard earned money on a "designer" vacuum. The Bissell Total Floors Pet vacuum does 10x a better job for SO much cheaper!
I owned a Dyson years ago. They don't make them the same. NEVER again!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 17 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

As I am a taller individual unit has two flaws...

05/20/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I give it 4 and 3/4 stars...
As I am a taller individual the unit has only two flaws ...an extending 'handle' and placement of the power button could be more convenient (within reach of the thumb whilst gripping the handle).
There was also an issue with their online registration. The S/N is affixed to the owners guide but was not recognized by their website. Their website instruction states where I would find the (correct) S/N on the machine ...still it was not to be found. Their customer service was very polite and helpful. The DC41 is one of our (their) newest vacuums and its S/N is behind the 'removable wand' and hose. It should be (and was) the exact S/N as affixed to the owners guide. Customer Service stated their system hadn't been updated with the new fleet info as of yet.
Phone registration was a breeze and the cleaning power of the vacuum is all we expected it to be. Dirt and Dog Hair are a thing of the past!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

DC41

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this for a couple of weeks now. If it was longer, I would give it more stars. Tested it against my Hoover Wind Tunnel Cyclone in my living room and ir picked up a lot more in the same volume of area I vacuumed individually. Next I vacuumed another area with the Hoover first, then over the same area with the DC41, and the DC41 pick up quite a bit more that the Hoover missed. It's easy to handle and maneuver, and has much better suction than the Hoover. I thought the Hoover was pretty good, but the DC41 is much better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Exceeded my very high expectations!

12/29/2011
By ,
Raeford,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum yesterday after days of researching vacuum after vacuum. Due to the very high price tag associated with this machine I was really hesitant to spend so much money. With that being said, I would have paid double for this vacuum cleaner & still would be satisfied! (Don't get an ideas, Dyson!) :p
I have a pug & she sheds like a maniac, but with this vacuum, I have a visual confirmation of all the dog hair it is picking up, left behind by my previous cleaner. You can literally FEEL the difference of your carpet after just one use. It's magic, pure magic. I have a baby that is soon to be crawling & the peace of mind this vacuum gives me is well worth the price tag.
I would recommend this to anyone & everyone, especially those with pet hair problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Dyson Animal Upright Ball Bagless Vacuum Cleaner with Bonus Accessory, DC41

Does everything

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the suction from this vacuum is by far the best I've ever had. It is great for getting pet hair out of carpets and just about everything else for that matter. I love the fact that you can go from carpet to floor without having to bend over and turn anything or flip a switch. It just works seamlessly from one to the other. It also comes with plenty of useful attachments. It's on the heavy side as far as pushing and pulling it back and forth. But it feels like a strong, powerful vacuum and so I don't mind the weight. This is the first top-of-the-line vacuum I've ever owned, and I'm very glad I bought it. I highly recommend this Dyson product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next