Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Asus ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Asus ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Upgrade your computer with this ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer. Its features include an amazing 12x burn speed. The internal Blu-ray writer makes use of Optimal Turning Strategy technology to obtain the maximum burn speed while reducing the disc failure rate. You can drag your files on the desktop and burn them in three simple steps. This Asus Blu-ray writer has a disc encryption feature for enhanced data security. It also offers double protection with its password-controlled and hidden-file functionality. This writer gives you exceptional backup ability to create and burn high-definition videos in the Blu-ray format.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

It gets the job done.

10/26/2012
By ,
Central California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. It went right to work without a glitch. Love it. Made a little whir sound but haven't heard that any more. I've made two 25GB Blu-Ray's so far. Excellent quality for sure. Made one expensive Verbatim coaster, unrelated to Asus writer. Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

It's okay for the price

08/13/2012
By ,
Ontario, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After purchasing, I found that I didn't have the option to change the face plate to white or at least a color close to my Tower. All of the BD, CD and DVD internal drives I've purchased came with two face plates even if it was not stated on the package or in the fine print. This one did not. My computer and furniture is white. I need it for now, but I ordered another one that is almost indentical in color to my tower Manufactured by Lite-On. The drive performance is good. I just thought that option was standard, but it was not.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

This is a great drive for the price.

06/25/2012
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason that I did not give this 5 stars is there was no software to play a Blu-ray movie. The drive installed easily with no problems and has given me none in the two weeks that I have had it. It burns regular DVD's and dual-layer discs quickly enough and reads all of the disks that I have placed in it. I have not had a chance to burn a Blu-ray yet so I can not comment on that yet. Besides burning a Blu-ray disk the other major thing that I would think that everyone who would buy this disk would do is play a Blu-ray movie.
Therefore, why would you not provide any Blu-ray movie player software? They do give you the software to burn a disk but, they stop there. I have multiple players on my computer and none would play a BD movie. I had tried serveral free and shareware players then decided to go with Arcsoft's Total Theater which, works well with the drive. They loose a star for making me chase down the TT software and for loading and uninstalling 4 other pieces of junk software in the interim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Good Blu-Ray Burner

12/22/2013
By ,
Lincoln Park, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy installation. I replaced a DVD burner I had with the ASUS BW-12B1ST. Used the same SATA connection. I checked several online reviews and this burner kept coming up along with several others. This one was one of the favorites with high ratings and price was about the same price compared with Newegg.com and Amazon.com. The burner worked like I had hoped. Great with no problems.
This was my first purchase at Walmart.com. The delivery time was fast. It was only a couple of days. It was like having Federal Express delivery but for free. I had it delivered to the local Walmart store. Printed out the emailed receipt, was in and out of the store in about 5 minutes.
I found the best place to get blank Blu-Ray disks was at Microcenter.com. Walmart did not sell them yet. It takes awhile for the retail stores to catch up with the latest and greatest computer technology. I had the same experience when CD's and DVD's first came out.
I highly recommend the ASUS BW-12B1ST Blu-ray burner and Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Works Great

01/27/2012
By ,
Madison WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drive works great. It only contained an install disc for Power2Go7 and a Firmware update neither of which I installed. I simply slid the drive in, hooked the power and SATA cable to it and to the board in my PC and the drive was immediately recognized on start up and reads/rips/burns etc quite well. Windows supplies all drivers so no worries. Burned video played flawlessly and I used a cheap quality BD-R disc to test it. I would not expect a drive to include "video" editing, burning or really even playing software. Most PC's come with something already and there are plenty available out there and each person has their preference. Why increase the price for everyone who doesn't need additional software. I held off about 6 months before adding a second drive to my PC then saw this one for $50 after rebate and picked it up. Very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

exelent upgrade

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as an upgrade and added to compliment my dvd rewriter, unit install was easy, software install also. Now for those who do not know, units like this DO NOT come with BD player software. You are going to replace it anyway. I copied some files, music and photos, then viewed them through my BD player on my LED TV. pics were great to watch on 50" screen. Tunes played through AV amp. great unit for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Great for 3d Blu Ray disc

06/05/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price for a quality product.....burner functions with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Buy Another Product!

10/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ASUS does NOT have support for their products. There are NO drivers available on their site for this item. Also, the software that comes with the BluRay Player does NOT PLAY bluray discs! You can make data copies on bluray and dvd. Anything specific you want to do with this drive, you will have to purchase everything separately (in addition to this drive & the included software).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
From Asus_Answers08/29/2013
Dear RealWalmartConnoisseur,

Please understand that there is no need to install or update drivers with your unit as all of our ASUS optical drives are Plug-N-Play. If there’s a critical update for the driver, then we will post it to our download page. Blu-ray player software is usually not included so that the overall cost of the product remains reasonable and thus it lets you select the Blu-ray playback of your choice. The good news is that there are several Blu-ray players available for download and some are free. Please visit download.com and type-in "Blu-ray playback" in the search box. Should you require my assistance, please reach out to me. My email is cl-celeste@asus.com; please include case#2925920 in the subject line. ASUS Customer Loyalty is here to listen and respond to your concerns and to help you with a positive ASUS experience.

Sincerely,
Celeste
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Excellent Product

12/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased to recommend this Internal Asus BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer to everyone.
This is an excellent product. As soon as I connect it to my PC, the system recognizes it immediately. Blu-ray runs perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

Excellent Burner

10/19/2013
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems. A very good burner from Asus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer

love it

04/26/2013
By ,
chicago, il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it, but have no use for it right now. I will have to build a computer that accepts the blue ray writer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ASUS BW-12B1ST 12x Blu-ray Writer
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5