Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Black & Decker Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Keep your clothes looking neat and wrinkle-free and with crisp creases with this Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord. It is constructed of sturdy and durable materials for long-lasting use and features an extra-large, INOX stainless-steel soleplate that provides smoother glides for maximum performance. This professional iron combines both heat and steam to iron out even the toughest wrinkles and it's slip-resistant heel alleviates mishaps. Equipped with the Smart Steam technology, the iron controls the mist level to suit the fabric. You can use the auto steam iron conventionally on a flat surface or use it upright for vertical steaming. You can choose from steam surge and spray mist to suit your personal needs. With the anti-drip technology, the purple Black and Decker steam iron eliminates water spots while being used at low temperatures. It is durable and a welcome addition to any home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.993 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation79%123 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Forget about how you used to have to iron....

01/19/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have arthritis in my hands and my shoulders. This is the best iron I've had yet. The main thing to remember is with this extra large ironing surface and no teflon, the iron just glides along the clothes with just a little direction from you. I was so used to pressing down on the iron to get it to eliminate the wrinkles that I know have to remember to relax and let the iron do the work, all I have to do is navigate. I'm serious, you have to forget how you used to iron. I love this iron and the pointed end of the plate glides right past buttons, no problem. Plenty of steam and I actually finish ironing before I can even get tired. I look and the ironing pile is gone! It's that easy and comfortable. I recommend this one highly, because I've had so many irons that are terrible and I never want another one with teflon on the bottom, they just don't have the heat..... I don't have to grip the handle hard and I appreciate that so much. This one is a winner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Loved the "Ole Gal" until she died on the Job!

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this iron in December as a present to myself. I really enjoyed using the iron and was very pleased with it until today when I plugged it up to iron and it would not heat up! The light was on and it looked like it was working but the plate was cold. After switching outlets and tinkering with it, I finally had to concede that after only 4 months on the job the "Ole Gal" had died in the line of duty! I did read several other reviews that were helpful and this seems to be the number 1 reason for the negative reviews. I don't have my receipt but would like to have it replaced but I don't know if I want to go through a lot of 'who shot John' to get a replacement. I will probably go out and buy another one. This time I will make sure that I keep my receipt! I really liked the "Ole Gal" but she obviously didn't like her job and decided to go where the benefits were more to her liking!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/21/2014
Hi Bobeyoung, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40909749 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Cheap Iron

05/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned a previous version of this same Iron which was great until I dropped it. On this new version the spray button will pop off sometimes when you press the steam button to often or to hard. It will go flying across the ironing board. Sometimes he iron also spits a lot of water out of the steam holes on the face of the iron instead of steam causing big water streaks on clothes or ironing board cover that you then have to try and dry with iron. These two things are very annoying and waste a lot of my time when I'm trying to iron. Also the lid that you lift to add water is very loose and cheap. The water will drip back out if you are not very careful how you fill it. You must fill it with the cup provided and be very accurate to get the every drop of water in the hole.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Glad I Bought It

08/06/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pretty particular about my iron and how I iron my clothing. My Sunbeam died on me, and that was a great iron, too (used it frequently for 11 years). I bought this iron because it was in my price range ($25), had a bigger sole plate than my other previous iron, had a bigger water reservoir tank, and was just a bit lighter in weight. I also like how quickly it heats up - bonus! The cord is longer than my old Sunbeam, and that is a plus (at times). I like the way this iron blasts out steam, because I'm a steam fanatic! It's somewhat stylishly cool looking, as far as irons go. I suppose if I were a Lakers fan or a Vikings fan I would especially like the purple accents. The bottom line is that this is a very good iron for $25! Oh, also, it never spits water onto my clothing, and that was something my Sunbeam failed to prevent (at least on occasions).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Terrible Iron

08/29/2012
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just started a new job where I am having to wear button-up shirts, so I needed an iron to use on a regular basis. I bought this iron because it got mostly good reviews and I liked the design. However, when I tried to use the iron, it leaked; not a slow leak, but a heavy, steady leaking coming from the water tank. I exchanged the iron for another of this model, thinking I had just chosen a dud the first go around. After filling the water tank, this new one did not leak, so I thought I was in the clear. Alas, when I tried to iron one of my shirts, the new iron leaked as well. This time the it leaked through the soleplate every time I moved the iron or used the steam feature. So much for "anti-drip technology." After about 2 minutes of attempting to iron, my ironing board was covered in large wet patches. This piece of junk is going back to Wal-mart and I am staying away from Black and Decker irons...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

MAKES IRONING EASY

09/04/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh, I have never raved about an iron. I have spent three times as much on an iron and never got results like this iron.
#1 - Looks great.
#2 - Light. I always thought an iron had to be heavy, but not so.
#3 - Cuts my ironing time in about half. I don't know why, but it irons so easily.
#4 - Love the steam or spray. (I don't like having to constantly hold my thumb down for the steam feature. However, my other irons were a constant steam. I had to either turn it off (the steam setting) each time I moved the garment, or let it steam the entire time which uses a lot of water.)
#5 - No distilled water required!
#6 - Nice cord length and pivoting cord!!
I really detest ironing, but this iron makes it much more bearable. :) But, I won't be taking in any ironing. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Good Buy

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So smooth, so easy to use. You get done fast with less effort. A retractable cord would have been nice, but no big deal that it has not.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Black and Decker iron

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this iron to replace a very expensive big name iron that lasted me less than 2 years. This inexpensive Black and Decker works great, doesn't leak and does a great job on my ironing needs for the quilting that I do. I would like it to be just a little bit heavier in weight! Well worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

awesome

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product, i love it. I would recommend this to anyone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Iron works like a charm

12/24/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far we have only used the iron as a dry iron. We have yet to use the steam, but being able to use the iron to press clothes whether on the ironing board or upright on a hanger. At first we had trouble getting used to the automatic shutoff. Seems the iron was losing heat before we were done ironing, but we eventually adapted to that issue and to the flashing light on the iron. Having an automatic shutoff is an improvement over the old (20+ years) iron that we had. The instructions packed with the iron were minimal. At first we didn't know what the flashing light meant or when the iron turned itself off. Reading the instructions "sort of" helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Good Steam Iron

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this steam iron, and I like the size and weight, however I wish it heated up a little bit faster when it goes from stand-by to 'on', and I also wish it had an off button. I have to unplug it every day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Great Iron, Great Price!

08/19/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, you can't get a better iron than this! I need to press 6-7 dress shirts plus 6-7 pairs of dress pants/khakis + creases every week, so I needed something that works well. This unit exceeds my expectations. What a great product! It's light-weight and easy to use, making ironing less of a chore, plus it's packed with pro-quality features you'll appreciate.
This powerful, 1500W iron has an extra large, ultra-smooth, stainless steel soleplate that glides effortlessly over your clothes, eliminating all wrinkles in it's path. The point of the soleplate is perfectly shaped for getting into those hard to reach areas, like between buttons and the ends of shirt sleeves near the cuffs. The steam features of this unit are terrific, especially the vertical steam option. Put a garment on a hanger, pull the fabric taut, blast it with the steam surge button, and watch those wrinkles disappear! It really works GREAT!
I also love that the handle on this iron has plenty of room underneath for larger hands. On my old iron, there was very little space between the handle, so my knuckles would constantly touch the temp/fabric selector dial and change it, often to a setting too high for the type of fabric being ironed, and you can guess the result: SCORCH CITY!
There are several other great features of this iron, such as 3-way auto shut-off and the Auto-Clean system, but I don't want to go on and on. If you need a new iron with professional quality features at an extremely affordable price, you can't go wrong with this B&D model. GET IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

This iron is a piece of junk

11/13/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS IRON !
While it may be attractive because of the price, don't do it. I have had this iron for just a little more than 9 months, and I already have to replace it. Water leaks out of the iron everywhere.......onto the board, the carpet, the clothes, I mean EVERYWHERE ! And of course, because the water leaks all over the place, you have to keep filling it back up. And NO, I don't overfill the reservoir, I actually never fill it all of the way to the top. The iron is just a piece of junk, and you shouldn't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nevada
Posted 07/27/2014
It has a 2 yr warranty.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

nice iron

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The iron works great, is not to heavy and has a really long cord
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple
07/26/2012
By ,
Altoona, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best iron I have ever purchased..The steam feature is fabulous, works like magic taking out the wrinkles..It really takes the work out of ironing and makes it a pleasure..!! I highly reccomend this iron..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Replacement iron

07/28/2014
By ,
Portsmouth, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This iron was purchased to replace my Sunbeam, which was dropped one too many times over the years. The Sunbeam I liked was not available so I went ahead and ordered the Black and Decker. My first impression of use of the Black and Decker iron was disappointment. It does not provide clear identification of fabric types, it is lighter weight, and does not appear to be a true professional type iron. I sew a lot and iron a lot so some of these features are important to me. Saying that, I do think the Black and Decker is satisfactory as a basic iron for those who may not need advantages of more information about fabric types, etc., and may not iron frequently. .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/30/2014
Hi MagMax, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40961330 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Just what I was looking for

03/11/2012
By ,
Waldron, Arkanses
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very good for the money. It is easy to use and is lightweight. It presses things beautifully
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bolingbrook, IL
Watts?
Posted 03/16/2012
What does the iron say about the watts it uses?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Doesn't get hot enough

11/10/2012
By ,
okc, ok.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Takes forever to iron clothes. Doesn't get hot enough.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple

Poor heat for a professional steam iron

02/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took me forever to iron some 100% cotton drapes, and still did not get all the wrinkles out. My shirts are all cotton blends, so needs ironing. Did poor job on everything! Took back the next day! I went off the reviews, but I do not know who is reviewing this iron, possible some who does very little ironing!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron with Pivoting Cord, Purple
05/13/2012
By ,
75063
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing iron. No drips ever. Light weight and amazing results. Simply put - A beautifully designed product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next