Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Are you looking for a sleek and compact hands-free prepaid cell phone? Then take a look at this Straight Talk prepaid phone. Stylishly designed with a color screen and packed with numerous features, this prepaid cell phone is not a mere communication device, but much more. The Motorola 418 features a lithium-ion battery that offers more than six hours of talk time. Enjoy listening to your favorite music with the MP3 player and FM radio that comes with this hands-free cell phone. You can find features such as alarm clock, calculator, camera, call waiting, and caller ID in this Straight Talk prepaid phone. If you love texting, then you will love the wide keypad that allows you to type messages with ease. This Bluetooth compatible cell phone offers a standby time of 18 days. Simple to use and reliable, the Straight Talk prepaid phone is a solid choice for someone looking for a basic cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
2.533 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation39%29 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Waste of my time and money.

11/11/2012
By ,
Southern Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the Motorola 418 shipped to the Waseca, MN store. It was for my mother, who was leaving in 3 days, to her winter home in the south. When I tried to activate it I was told by Straight Talk that the SIMS card was bad. My options were to have a SIMS card shipped or to return the phone to the store. Since time was an issue we drove 70 miles, one way to Lakeville, MN and exchanged the phone for a new Moto 418. When I tried activate it, I was once again told the SIMS card was bad. I then returned the 2nd phone to the Owatonna, MN store and purchased a LG phone that has worked fine. I think Straight Talk should recall all Moto 418's that are in stores and have the SIMS cards replaced. This was a big pain in my backside and made me think about changing providers for the 5 phones I currently pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 22 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

You Can Do Better...

11/25/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted a decent, functional phone, without spending a lot of money, and yes, this didn't cost much, & is fine, if all you want to do is make & answer calls. However, even though I'm not much of a "texter", others are, and to respond, even with a simple two word response, takes far too much effort. The same with inputting contacts, way too many steps involved, and the process is more cumbersome than it's worth.
I was also stunned that none of the ringtones actually sounded like ringing! Only musical selections, and really difficult to figure out how to set everything up, or set it to vibrate, then ring, etc. So, I'll be getting something else, as I've had to carry around my old phone, just to have all my contacts with me, as creating new ones would've been an all-year project.
Very user-unfriendly, and I'd not recommend this to anyone....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 23 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor sound

01/24/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a REALLY basic phone. The sound quality is horrible. The volume only goes to a six and even with the speaker it isn't loud enough to hear calls. Thought a Motorola would be a good option, but going to return for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 24 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Does its job.

11/06/2012
By ,
Monroe, la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gotta say, it's a sturdily little sucker. My one year old plays with it daily, and it still holds up! It's been slobbered in, dropped, thrown, the screen has gone out three times from it getting beaten and I'd say it was time for a new phone, but it came back every time. Just a couple of things... You can't text while in a call and you can't lock a text. Camera is awful. It's a good phone for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 25 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Nothing Good Here

11/17/2013
By ,
Portland, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone has nothing going for it.
All I wanted is a stripped down phone to make & receive calls on but the volume and speaker quality is horrible.
The camera works but the pictures are so bad its not worth using.
The email service works and the reception has been OK.
I'm going to give this away to a phone recycle center, that's where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Customer "Service" Nightmare

10/25/2012
By ,
Yakima, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this phone for about a year last year. When I moved to my current location, I let it run out of minutes and lay dormant because I didn't use it. After a year of unemployment, I finally got a job. I decided it was time to turn this one back on. I bought a service card and tried to activate it, continuously for about a week. It didn't work, so I took it to Walmart. The customer service rep told me that I needed a new SIM card since mine was "unregistered".
I called StraightTalk's India-based call center, where they gave me a run-around for an hour and then finally sent me a SIM card. I put the SIM card in and it still wasn't receiving calls. I called them again and was on the phone for 45 minutes, after which I was given a ticket number and another run-around for 30 minutes.
Finally, today I called to figure out the ticket problem. I found out I didn't have a phone number and exactly half of the minutes, messages and data that I paid for. In addition to this, it didn't seem as though the representative knew what she was doing. She had me press in all these 12-20 digit codes, then turn the phone off and back on, numerous times. After three hours, a lot of yelling, some profanity shouted into my receiver, the phone being broken in half after I threw it against the wall and a supervisor threatening to hang up on me, I got ahold of another supervisor who said he'd replace the phone I destroyed.
I'm, understandably, going to use this phone until the minutes run out and then switching to Net10 who will give me a better phone for around the same price.
Word To The Wise: Don't use this service if you have a problem with your phone. It's better to go to Walmart and have the service associate do it. At least they speak English.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 27 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Wouldnt buy even if it was ten bucks

09/08/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive only had this phone for two weeks and its been the worst phone Ive ever had.Its a complete basic phone.No specials to it to make it worth the 40 dollars that I spent for it.The battery life is maybe two days at best,the 2mp camera is more like a vga,you can barely, and I mean barely, personalize it and everyday it seems like I find something new I hate about this phone.Its a good phone for someone who only needs to make basic phone calls and thats it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 28 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

wont get another

09/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a good phone while it worked it took about a week to get my number and time that i had transfered and that only happened because i called them and a month later the display stoped working. Both inside and outside displays stopped working. I have had other phones thru straight talk and didn't have a bit of trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 29 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Junk!!! Very cheap quality!

11/16/2011
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the 2nd phone in less than one month. First one had the inside lcd screen break. The 2nd phone broke in 2 days. Front screen this time. Both phones had not even a scratch on them when the screens quit working. Did get the warranty with the 2nd phone. Warranty was not as expected. You have the hassle of calling Straight Talk, they e-mail you or fax a UPS ticket. You then package up the phone and find a UPS drop site. Great if you have one near you, however, I do not so again, the expense of a 50 mile round trip. Then the hassle of setting up a new phone which was again a nightmare. The CSR I spoke with kept interrupting my call to apparently take another call or have a conversation with someone else nearby - in another language!!! Poor quality phone. Poor quality service. Even the rating poor is inadequate of what terrible qaulity this phone is. I would have given it a value of zero. After this experience, I switched to Verizon's prepaid $50 plan - phone MUCH better quality - and it cost much less - AND the customer service was awesome!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 30 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad for sweaty texters

01/04/2012
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm a 20 year old girl, so obviously texting is very important to me. I can deal with a less than average phone, I actually prefer it so it doesn't matter when it breaks or something. This, however, was more than I could deal with. The texting set up is god awful. I haven't had it long, but everything else seems fine. If texting is something you plan on using often DON'T GET IT. I will be returning mine tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 31 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Good stuff Maynard....

09/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff Maynard G Krebs!!! Works good but cheaply made. Light weight plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone
08/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made, not worth the price of the phone at all. Battery doesn't even last as long as it says it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 33 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Some features don't work!

02/24/2012
By ,
Sun City, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound isn't bad but the box says one of the features is hands free speaker-not there! Even the tutorial online says that it should include speaker capability. Then if you want to go back to your old phone you can't until you receive a new Sim Card which means that your contacts won't be there! It also takes about 5 days to receive the new Sim Card. If you wait too long, you might not be able to return the new phone for a refund...what a crock!
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Joaquin Valley, central CA
speaker-phone is good on this
Posted 07/06/2012
one of the few good things about this phone is the speaker-phone. However, the only time you can turn it on is when you actually receive a call. There will be a choice to turn on speaker only when you get a call (can't be turned on in the regular menus).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 34 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

You get what you pay for!

05/12/2012
By ,
Metairie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this for 10 days before it died. Overall the quality was poor.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 35 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone overall...would recommend

08/27/2012
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the fact that I pay only one fee for unlimited service for text and talk for 30 days.. as for the phone the only problem I have with it is the volume on it is not loud enough for my husband, but he IS a little hard of hearing. It is hearing aid compaitable but he don't have one yet. The ringer isn't loud enough and I haven't been able to download any new ringers yet that are louder. But other than that, I love the phone. People who fuss about the texting being a problem, need to just take the time, stop trying to text while driving, its against the law in some states and its dangerous anyway!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

So far it's works well.

09/20/2012
By ,
NE Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received it today and it works fine so far, I'm getting good reception in rural NE Tennessee, I once had an even cheaper Motorola TracFone that worked well here too though. -1 star: It "DOES NOT" include a 2GB Micro SD card, unlike stated in a few earlier reviews here & video reviews on the net, no big deal for me I had a 4GB SD that I'm not using to put in it but if I didn't have 1 it would be an extra purchase. I opted for the 2 year $5 replacement plan since it's a cheaper phone. I'll update later if I run into any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth what you pay for it

11/17/2012
By ,
Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as I love Motorola and I love flip phones. This phone is just poor quality all the way around...poor sound, pictures, keys stick and the volume adjustment just doesn't cut it. I wish I had gotten something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Haven Ks
Don't buy this phone!
Posted 11/24/2012
I bought this phone to replace my other phone that died. This is a horrible phone. I have nothing positive to say about this phone and it also runs on T-mobile which has many areas that you can't get service in.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Everything I Need

01/29/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Voices sound great on both sides. Good camera. Walmart should list that it has speed dialing - I had to find it myself. Texting is slow or it would rate 5 stars. Like I said, everything I need. And with Straight Talk I'm paying less than half my Verizon bill, and getting more minutes and texts, that's outstanding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Good "Phone"

08/05/2013
By ,
Alpharetta ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone since, in essence, you got it for free as you get the $30 monthly plan with it. This is going to be used for a few months only. My previous phone was an Iphone 5 which I am waiting to replace. The phone is very light. If i had to use this phone on a regular basis I would absolutely upgrade the phone type... i am not too crazy about the digits being on the same rubber pad, vs. separate push button digits. I had no trouble going online and activating the phone with a new telephone number. I went back to the store thinking that my battery wasn't holding because I couldn't get the phone to turn on after charging overnight. Silly me.... you have to press down and release the red "phone" icon and wait a bit to come to life. Once I was shown that... everything worked and my new phone number was there to boot!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 40 for Straight Talk Motorola 418 GSM Prepaid Cell Phone

Use only for an emergency phone

12/25/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible speaker..can't hear well on phone calls. Difficult phone to use...nothing is easy. I would never buy this phone again. I am replacing it as soon as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 70 total reviews