Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Everstart EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Everstart EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

When it comes to powering ... move with purpose.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation73%8 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

Good Value for Emergency Power

08/30/2011
By ,
NoVa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 5 of these 125AH MAXX-29DC batteries over the last 8 years for use with 1200W 120VAC inverters to power my TV, computer, cable modem, lights, fan and etc. when a storm knocks out the electricity. The oldest one (2003) went bad two years ago when I accidentally let the water get low while it sat on cheap 10A charger for almost a week. The other three (2005, 2007, 2009) are still as strong as the one I bought last week. Four of them will keep everything I need running for a week (except the A/C!). They are a good price for one of the biggest batteries you will find on a shelf around town. Just pay the extra $25 for a smart charger and be sure to check the water level before and after you charge them, or once a month if you trickle charge them. The $6 plastic battery box works great to protect your carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
glow in the dark nevada
comment while trying to shop online
Posted 09/02/2011
when trying to shop online pricing information is extremely valuable to a customer on limited budgets since online prices are not available i will be purchasing elsewhere. and when a customer is very specific in the search box getting 20 pages of everything other than what they are specifically looking for is extremely annoying
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

good battery at a good price

03/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's be real about batteries for a minute.
Everstart branded batteries sold at Wal-Mart are manufactured by Johnson controls, This is the same company who manufactures batteries for just about all of the "big box" stores as well as most of the discount auto parts stores. Johnson Controls also makes batteries for Interstate battery company, Ford, GM & Chrysler. These batteries are simply re-branded for different retailers. Just because you buy this battery from Wal-mart for $30 less then Interstate does not make it any less of a battery.
I usually get about 4 years out of my "Everstart" automotive batteries and at least the same out of my Everstart Deep Cycle batteries. They are a good battery at a decent value.
If you guys are only getting 1-2 years out of this battery it's because you have other issues such as leaving your battery hooked up when in storage (parasitic drains) or using the incorrect type of battery maintainer charger causing the water to boil. Read up on battery maintenance before blaming the battery for the real cause.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 3 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

Best for the money if properly maintained

09/05/2011
By ,
Summervill, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you check out bass pro their battery that is one size down costs $249.99 This battery is not maintainence free and as noted needs the water checked every time you charge and if the battery is going to be stored for a long time a trickle charger will help it last for many years. I used a minkota endura 30 on speed level 3 and got 6-7 hours of straigt run time and with 2 batteries I could fish all weekend. The battery at bass pro lasted 18 months this is less then 1/2 the price and has 25% more capacity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Review 4 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

Good as deep cycle, not as cranking source

11/22/2011
By ,
Lake Wallula, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ive owned this Max marine all purpose battery, as well as the older max all purpose marine and a standard everstart marine deep cycle battery. None of these batteries can be depended on as your primary cranking battery!!! I have learned this the hard way but have found that they are still an excellent value for your deep cycle (trolling motor) purposes. A few years back I bought the largest MAX they had in the store because the advertised CCA / MCA specs and tried to use it. The battery was able to start my 60HP Mercury for only 1 month before I had to start using a jump box and eventually the jump-box was not even effective. Now I rely on an Optima (I am a cheapskate, but this was the best investment I have made in my boat) for my cranking batteries and Everstart for my troller. I am running a 3 battery (1 optima, 1 everstart DC marine, and one MAX) The MAX and the Everstart are isolated to only run accessories and troller. I have a Minn Kota Terrova 55AP and can run it all day and only on the very long days do I have to use the second Everstart. This is my second year now with this system and these batteries have continued to perform their assigned task. The way they are holding a charge right now while they are in storage leads me to believe that I will get one more season out of the Everstart batteries and 2 more seasons out of my optima.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

top price bottom value

08/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18 month free replacement 24 warranty battery lasted 25 months used in my boat very little had to put my old ones back in they are 6 years old but still work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Review 6 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery
02/15/2012
By ,
Garfield, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive used these kind of batteries in my boat for several years now. My 2 trolling batteries are five years old and still going strong. They have never let me down yet on the water. Lately ive been trolling for stripers, and some days I will run the trolling motor very hard. Especially in the wind. These two trolling batteries are the second set of Everstart Maxx Marine batteries I have had. The first set was equally as good. I just had to replace my starting battery wich is the same Maxx Marine battery. It was four years old. Last winter the livewell pump was acidentally turned on and ran the battery completely dead and then it went through some very cold weather. If this had not happened the battery would still be going strong. It still lasted another year though. Ive found that if the batteries are kept charged especially in the winter time they will last a long time. I suspect that is the same with all batteries. For the price and the warranty that these batteries carry they are a really good investment. Ive had a total of 6 of these batteries over a long period and they are good as long as they are taken care of like any battery should be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

Great value - lasted 5 years

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had pair of them seperated by isolator switch. they always cranked my cranky yamaha 115 hp two stroke and had plenty of charge to do so. i am buying another pair.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 8 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

Great Battery

02/09/2012
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had two of these batteries in my boat for quite a few years. One was purchased in 2005 and one in 2007 and still running strong. I've kept them charged at all times and they haven't let me down. When they die, they will be replaced with new Maxx-29 batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 9 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery
09/13/2011
By ,
Cranberry, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of the batteries and one of them will not keep a charge. The other one works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery
02/19/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just took my 16 month old battery back to wal-mart because it boils over when charging (acid everywhere). This is at only 6 amp charge. The manager told me they DID NOT have a warranty on marine batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for EverStart MAXX-29 Marine Battery

good price.. bad quality

12/06/2011
By ,
palmetto, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this battery July 2009 to use on a travel trailer.. now it won't hold a charge.. has always been on a trickle charger when not in use.. should last longer than 29 months!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-2points