Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Everstart EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Everstart EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

The EverStart 27DC Marine Battery is a smart choice for your boat. This item is available for in-store purchase only. It comes with a one-year replacement warranty, and with free battery testing and installation at your local Walmart Tire and Express Lube Center, where you can also find free lead-acid battery recycling. When you need to power your boat and keep it moving, the EverStart Battery is a reliable option that has been carefully crafted for reliability.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation73%11 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
263 Questions | 364 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

great for the price

04/01/2013
By ,
Hidden Valley CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run a 55lb trolling motor on this battery and it last all day on one charge. usually when I get home to charge the battery its at 80% after about 4 hrs of use. Thats what you want though. you don't want to run it down to 0. I might pick up another and do them in series for extended runs. and I'm installing a stereo that will pull about 2-15 amps. So on one of these batteries (109 Ah amp hours) at full volume it could run for 7 hrs. Not bad. Trolling motor at low speed will go all day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
great for price
Posted 02/28/2014
Better hook them in parallel unless your trolling motor can stand 24 vdc. Otherwise very helpful post.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Great Value

04/15/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was bought at local Walmart in WA state for $68. Noone else could beat the price. I was hesitant at first but tried it out anyways. Other places were asking for at least $80 - $100 for their low end model. Some of the newer gel models are between $100 - $200.
I purchased this battery for dry camping(no power or water available) with my pop-up tent trailer. I only used the battery for the furnace(propane, but the fan blower and the thermostat drains battery) to maintane 65 degrees inside on 33-36 degree nights. This battery was able to last two nights and still had over 12 volts showing.
This is the best value for the money. If I could afford it, I would buy one of the gel batteries, but WHY?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Lasted 4 years

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried various trolling motor batteries over the years but now I'll stick with these. Picked up 2 of these in May of 2008. One had a problem after 6 months wouldn't hold a charge, brought it back with no receipt and they scanned the bar code and replaced it with a new on no question, no pro-rate, just gave me a new battery. We fished these for 4 years and now they need to be replaced. I'v had other brands that went two years and failed.
+260points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Great Value

07/05/2013
By ,
DFW, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought 2 more of these 27DC to replace the 2 I bought 4.5 years ago. At $150 for TWO of them @ every 4 years... you can't beat it. I use them for a 24V trolling motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Good Value for price

06/24/2013
By ,
Southern Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these batteries for my travel trailer 6 or more years ago. They are still doing good but don't hold charge as long as they used to. I'm about to replace them with two more of the same series so I'll have a fresh pair to start my retirement with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Excellent battery

11/29/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these on our horse trailer with a date stamp of 5/2006. It gets little use which helps somewhat with the life expectancy but it also sits for long periods of time without being charged. I am good at keeping the cell levels full with electrolyte and probably trickle charge it twice a year. When this battery finally does go, I'll go back to Walmart and buy another one. When this was purchased in 2006, the CCA was rated at 600. Now if you buy this same model battery, the CCA is over 700.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery
08/30/2011
By ,
Loreto BCS MX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two boats. I purchased batteries for both boats at the same time. One at Walmart the other at a big box store. My Walmart batterties are still up and holding a charge. My big box store batteries, cost more, with a 30 month guatantee, died at 30 months. I have just replaced both the big box batteries with the Everstart 27 DC-6 batteries. I saved $15 each and now have better batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+334points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Lasted 3 years 6 months

02/28/2014
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two batteries in my boat. One is an Everstart, with an 8/10 sticker on it. The other is an Autocraft with a 9/11 sticker on it. My boat had an issue last June the first time we took it out onto the Bay (split u-joint bellows), so it sat up all summer, fall, and winter. I neglected to charge the batteries in that time, so now they both are basically dead. My fault for sure. Had I kept them charged, both would probably still be good, but at least the Everstart lasted 3 years 6 months. The Autocraft only lasted 2 years 5 months.
I'll be buying two of these batteries from my local Walmart. Price isn't too bad.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
From ProductExpert03/17/2014
Good morning. Thank you for the feedback. We recommend that the batteries be on a charger as soon as they are not in use to keep them fully charged. This will help extend the life of the battery.Everstart
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Kept Charged lasted almost 2 years

05/26/2014
By ,
Baker,Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these at the same time almost 2 years ago and I have an on board charger and kept them plugged in year round as everything I have read states to do. I actually took the boat out one time and maybe used an hour on the 24 volt trolling motor which is all these batteries were for. One will not hold a charge and the other is weak. I'm thinking about replacing with the Duracell's at Sams but they have worse ratings than these. Any suggestions out there for a good deep cycle that is rarely used.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
tn
bob
Posted 07/08/2014
Hello - i thought i'd suggest a permanent solution for the battery issue - a DESULFPHATOR is the KEY to keeping a battery10+yrs.... you'll save $$ and also renew batteries around the home/car - - especially if the Boat sits idle for long periods on float charge... I run a solar system in camper off grid and the desulphator is a MUST - I STRONGLY recommend the "battery life saver 12/24v dc" unit - you can find on amazon for ~ $125 or from their site ---- http://batterylifesaver.com/ ----- i do not work for them, i've just paid a lot of hard knocks and wasted lots of batteries before i became informed on the matter..... i think battery mfg's keep this knowledge quite on purpose? - the unit isn't cheap, but it reaaaaally
works... there's an 85% chance that your "weak" battery is just FINE ... if desulphated properly it should last 5-10+ yrs.... just thought i'd mention in case interested..
+2points
Customer Avatar
Blanton, Fla.
Killed with Kindness?
Posted 06/18/2014
The review above suggested to me that the somewhat short life of the battery may have been caused by excessive charging. Inasmuch as it takes only fifty milliampere-hours per day to keep a lead cell charged (assuming it's clean and unloaded), the reviewer above may have electrolyzed much of the water from the battery. Aside from adding distilled water as needed, this hapless boater may want to connect his charger/maintainer to a timer, so it operates perhaps 30 minutes daily.
Also, whether any lead battery has better "quality" than another is doubtful. A lead battery is a lead battery. Regardless of what label it carries, it was almost certainly made by one of two manufacturers, likely Johnson Controls here, so the only considerations are how old? and how cheap?
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Good Price....Won't Last

11/03/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these batteries two years ago and now have to replace them again. These batteries had average use and were always charged. I see why Walmart dropped the warranty on these to only one year....because that is all the life you will probably get out of them. This was my first set of Everstarts....and my last. Do yourself a favor, spend the extra $$$ and buy a quality battery....you will end up saving money in the long run (because you won't be replacing batteries every 18 - 24 mos.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

lasted about 15months...

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought two batteries for my boat in april of 2013. worked great for the season and pulled and put both batteries on trickle/float charger for the winter. finally put them in boat in june and lasted 30 days on short trips. tried to charge 3 differt times on diffrent chargers would take a charge and be dead hours later. now wont even charge. thanks for the terrible batteries walmart never again..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery
09/02/2013
By ,
springfield missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought two of these for a 24 volt trolling motor. At the ripe old age of 16 months they would only run the motor for about 3 hrs on half speed. Their one year replacement warranty means after one year they do not prorate the life of the battery or in anyway compensate the customer. Extremely poor product and poor warranty!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Excellent

11/04/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 24V trolling motor. The two Ever-Starts I have are now five years old and ready for next season. That pretty much says it all.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Fair to Poor Service Life

07/20/2013
By ,
Nashville Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased a 27 DC-6 for my fifth wheel in Jan of 2012. While on vacation this summer, July 2013 it was shot. It would not hold a charge. I had recharged it several times, but a marine battery should last longer than a year and a half. However, it is not expensive. I will probably replace with the same, but 1.5 years of service is not very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery

Great battery lasted 8 years & 6 months!

09/16/2014
By ,
Jensen Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these in March 2006 for my Boston Whaler. It finally died this past weekend September 13, 2014 after being in use for 8 years & 6 months! Can't beat that for $62.00. Just bought a new one today & hope it has a similar life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for EverStart 27DC Marine Battery
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5