Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pennzoil Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Pennzoil Pennzoil Siphon Pump

This Pennzoil Siphon Pump safely pumps most liquids including gasoline.
Average Customer Rating:
1.933 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation27%4 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

dont waste your money

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would have read reviews before I spent my money on this product. Tried using it on riding mower and it would not suck up a drop of gas. hope you read this before you decide to purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Useless

04/19/2012
By ,
Clayton, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From Stranded In Clayton - Bought a tank of bad gas for my car. Bought the pump to siphon it out. Simply would not work. Couldn't even get 1 drop of gas & tried everything. Tried putting the hose in the gas tank as far as it would go, tried it halfway in, tried it barely in, followed directions perfectly - keeping my finger over the end of the outside hose like it said. Pumped, pumped & pumped the bulb. Nothing happened. Even used a stick to hold open the little inside cover in the tank in case it was cutting off the flow. Nothing, Totally useless. Also, they need to change the packaging. A part of the hose was crimped in the package so had to try to work out the crimp before even attempting to use. Do not waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mount Airy, NC
Siphon Pump NOT Worth The Money
Posted 07/31/2014
Bought the pump on 7/30/14; item did not work as said by add. Instructions said to pump 2 to 3 times and it would start the siphon process, well it never did. I WOULD NOT SUBJEST THIS ITEM TO ANYONE!!
0points
Customer Avatar
This may be due to the car not the pump
Posted 01/12/2014
This may be due to the car and not the pump.
If you search online many vehicles from around 2005 and newer have a device in the fuel neck that causes problems with siphoning.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Do not buy

05/09/2014
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give it a zero I would. No matter what I did it didn't pump a drop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Good Siphon for the price

02/12/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, about what I expected. Did not leak much. The only thing I would've seen better is if the tubing had a larger diameter because of the amount of time it took to siphon ~5 gallons.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Great Product

12/11/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this for my Christmas tree, which is in a small tree stand on a table. Some experts say that there's no need for additives in the water as long as you keep it fresh, but with the decorations and everything it's kind of hard to remove the water. This pump was a perfect solution. I'm giving it five stars to counteract the negative reviews. Always have to keep in mind that the person who had trouble with the product may be doing something wrong. The only minor trouble I had was with the plastic tubing trying to coil up after being in the package so long. You can try running warm water through it or lay it out in the sun to relax it. It's also a little hard to operate with two hands, because you're trying to keep one end under water and the other end in the bucket. If you grasp the bulb between your fingers and palm, then use your thumb to cover the end of the tube, you should be able to do it. The instructions also say the fluid being drained must be higher, so do whatever you can to raise the container as much as you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Piece of junk

02/22/2012
By ,
Arroyo Grande, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tubes leak significantly where they attach to the bulb. The check valves barely work at all, so I had to pinch off the input/output tubes each time I squeezed/released, to avoid backflow. I used it once, then threw it away.
The only good thing about this product is that it was cheap. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Total piece of junk

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried to get bad gas out of my truck, would not work. I thought...well, maybe the tank is too far down on this particular vehicle for the hose to reach the gas, so I tried it on a little compact car we have...nope. Tried it on my neighbor's small pickup...nope. Completely useless. It was so cheap, I'm not even going to waste my time returning it. Throwing it in the trash,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump
01/04/2012
By ,
Aberdeen, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the worst product, does not pump well, fuel leaks around attachments. granted it didn't cost much, it was a waste of money. trust me when i say, spend the extra money to get a better and useful one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE

07/19/2013
By ,
Dave
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needed a siphon to empty 7 gallons from my generator. This siphon baffles me that it is even being sold. It will siphon but at the expense of LEAKING from both sides of the siphon bulb. After about half a gallon siphoned I had to stop due to the amount of gas I was losing onto the garage floor. Boy was I mad! It had started leaking right away after I had squeezed the bulb a few times to get it going. I had gas all over my hand. I thought maybe it would stop once it started flowing but NOPE! What a mess I made and also got gas all over my shoes. How do I get that out? Complete waste of money and my time to try to use it. Not worth driving back to try to return. Tossed in the trash. Ridiculous, DO NOT BUY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

i don't waist a drop gas

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i don't waist stuff
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

that is a joke

04/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is not really a pump - doesn't have a one directional valve?! It is a hose with a balloon in the middle. An it does leak as others pointed. It may work in some very specific applications, but didn't work for me - tried to correct overfilled ATF. Waste of money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Didn't work at all

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not work at all.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Completely forget about it

11/17/2013
By ,
North Pole
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't even pump one bit of gas out of my fuel tank. Just doesn't work. Completely forget about this cheap stuff.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Pathetic product

11/17/2013
By ,
denver, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to siphon out some extra ATF from my car. does not work at all...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pennzoil Siphon Pump

Not a single drop spilled

06/24/2012
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read the reviews prior to buying this. There was one 3 star review and three 1 star reviews and we almost didn't buy it. We're so glad we did. It was very inexpensive and worked perfectly without spilling a single drop of gas. We're moving and the movers needed the gas tank of our snow blower emptied or they wouldn't move it for us. We would absolutely recommend this as an affordable option for anyone. :o)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.