Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Use the Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo on your next fishing trip for a smoother fishing experience. This fishing combo features a spinning reel filled with 8-lb line and stainless steel guides. The smooth multi-disc drag system of the Shakespeare Spinning Combo makes it easy to use, with an on/off anti reverse to make reeling in your big catch much easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Very good combo

07/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this rod and reel for the money, Don't let the price fool you, I had a combo for 3 years and still performs great, I just bought another one. I fish about 6 months out of the year and do it every weekend of those 6 months.
This combo is a great buy, and a great rod and reel, I fish for Northern Pike, Bass, Walleye, and other fish, most of the big fish I catch are from 5 lbs. - 30 lbs and this combo does the job with ease. I don't use any special line, I go from the store to the shore and use the combo right away.
I would recommend this combo to beginners and pro's alike, just because the price is low does not mean you get a cheap made product, I love mine and have bought 6 of them as gifts and everyone who got one loves them.
The price is low, the value is high, good product, lasts a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+85points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/24/2012
could you put a 30lb line on here?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Great rod and reel... line is cheap

07/24/2011
By ,
Machesney Park, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, you can't go wrong. this combo has worked flawlessly catching fish up to 10lbs. It comes with 8lb test line but it's cheap line so id put it at about 5lb actually. I've lost a few monsters because of line breaking, but after respooling with better line i have had absolutely no problem getting em all in the boat. I'd take this combo to a tournament to be honest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 3 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Great combo for a beginner

06/21/2011
By ,
East texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great combo for a beginner or as an extra rod for smaller fish. I have had mine for 3 years now and its still great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+27points
Review 4 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

THE PERFECT ROD AND REEL COMBO

04/21/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was 100% satisfied with this combo. It casts long and short distances with ease. Its is the perfect length for precision handling. The reel is good and tight. It has a good smoothe drag and retrieve. The stock line is great but i recomend changing it out at least once a year. (I recomend to do that with any and every rod and reel) IF it ever needs repair (BIG IF) it is very easy to work on. I have caught small and large bream, average crappie, all sizes of large mouth bass, up to 5 pound catfish and as big as a 15 pound hybrid striper. It does it all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 5 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Great Rod For the average joe

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caught a 7 inch 10lb catfish on my first cast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 6 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Its been great so far.

09/15/2013
By ,
Mid-Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this combo last year in the color blue just to hold me over until my main fishing gear was shipped to me. Also the price at the time was hard to pass up, $12 dollars. During my short yet fruitful time with it I became very impressed with it. I wouldn't try to fish for anything over 8 pounds with the pre-spooled line but it handles pan fish and bass very well. Over all a good buy.
Now with some usage on the reel, there is some small issues that have shown up. First one is the drag. It does a sputter once and awhile under a good fight. I'm not worried about this because with drag systems like this, they do wear out because the washer that is used is plastic and it does slow compress over time. That's why you should always have no drag set when you store your reels. Second issue is the reel itself. Since the reel is open faced the bar can sometime stick after casting. What I mean is that once you cast into the water and you start reeling in, the bar sometime will not close back until you manual close it. I've always closed the bar manually but I conducted this test and it seems it does stick from time to time. Again I wouldn't worry about it to much but if your fishing style is cast and click with the handle the it might be bothersome.
If you do get this combo my suggestion is to get rid of the pre-spooled line and go with some better line and keep it under 10 pounds. Next I would ensure the drag is set properly and finally, have some fun with this combo. I still use mine and will continue to until something breaks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 7 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

I've caught a lot of fish with this combo.

12/04/2012
By ,
South Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these combos about 4 years ago. They get used mostly by the kids and almost entirely in saltwater. I have never had an issue with them. I have changed the line a couple of times and I rinse them very well with fresh water after each use. They still work like new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 8 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

WARNING!!! DO NOT BUY!!

08/18/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This rod and reel was a terrible experience! The first day of fishing it worked fine but on the second day the reel completely fell apart! I kid you not, half hour into the trip, I casted out and parts of my reel feel into the river! If you actually want to enjoy your fishing experience, invest a few more dollars and buy something of better quality! I seriously wish I had not wasted my time with this mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-18points
Review 9 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Handle keeps coming loose.

10/02/2012
By ,
monroe mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I kept having problems with the handle coming loose. Then one day it came off and to the bottom of the lake it went. If you look for this reel on eBay they all have the handle missing. Shame because this was a great perch and gill fishing pole. But for the price?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo
08/18/2012
By ,
Westfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product for the price and I use it so much and it is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

Nice starter pole!

01/03/2013
By ,
Sarasota, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pole as a starter pole and it got the job done. I bought it online for $9.97 so you can't beat that. It's not good for catching anything over 10 pounds but for the price it's great for younger kids or things of that nature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo

It works well. Good combo for the price

04/16/2013
By ,
Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these for me and my children. They work very well and have an excellent price. Hope you have in existence to buy 2 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shakespeare Firebird Spinning Combo
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5