Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Enjoy the day fishing with friends or by yourself with this Shakespeare Ugly Cast Reel. It features dual stainless steel pick-up pins and heavy-duty metal gear construction, ensuring that it lasts for years of use. This Shakespeare spincast reel can accommodate up to 75 yards of 10 pound line and makes a great addition to any angler's accessory collection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation91%10 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

My farthest casting reel at 10% of the price

04/16/2013
By ,
Mineral, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been fishing for 35 years and this is my favorite reel because I get farther, more accurate casts, and no negative backlash like on my bait-caster reels. I originally bought this for my son, figuring it would be easy to use. When I used it, I was amazed.
I've got 2-dozen Zebco 33 reels (various models, from steel to cheap) that are broken or don't work for various reasons and this one blows away all of them. I'm amazed that this reel outperforms my advanced reels with shim and gearing and titanium parts, for 10% the price.
At the end of the day, is works, and it works better than ALL the others (I own about 90 rods/reels).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

excellent for the price

07/05/2012
By ,
Lincolnton,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have purchased several spin cast reels for younger beginning children and this reel seems to hold up better and cast easier than most of the others so far. Comes with a good line weight for most pond fish. The actions are smooth and quiet with good gear ratios for most lures.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Best closed face real ever made

06/15/2012
By ,
Camden, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went bream fishing with a friend of mine the other day who used a new Shakespeare ugly cast reel. I always use a Zebco micro-cast reel because I can throw further with it than I can with the Zebco 33 reels. He was able to throw further with his ugly cast than I could with my micro-cast and the ugly cast has 10 lb test line vs. the micro-cast's 4 lb test. Also every time I caught a fish on the micro-cast I had to pull the tightness out of the reel so it would cast the distance. He never had to do this. I was so impressed with it I bought three of these. Fantastic reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

A good "cheap reel"

03/16/2014
By ,
Martinsville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this about a dozen times now since I bought it. I have lots of nice baitcasters, but got this to cast light jigs and such when I go out john boating or farm pond fishing. Meets and exceeds my expectations. I bought a couple Zebco 33s before this, both failed within a couple of trips. This little Ugly Cast reel is more dependable, casts better, and retrieves better than a 33 all day long. The line that comes in it is pretty decent. Drag works well. I haven't caught anything major on it yet. But it's handled a few 3-4 lb largemouth bass with no problems. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Great spincast!

01/28/2013
By ,
Charlotte NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price nothing else I've tried comes close. It casts great. With an eighth oz rooster tail and ten pound test trilene I can cast about twenty yards that's incredible for such little weight. It reels in smooth as can be and seems to have strong durable gears. I've had mine for about a year with no trouble. Even reeled in a a 4lb 3 oz Largemouth with no trouble besides the normal fight such a fish puts up. Good fishin'!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel
08/22/2011
By ,
Fulton Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very well built for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Hopkinsville, ky
Awesome Reel
Posted 05/23/2012
Bought this reel for an old pole given to me by my father. It casts so smooth and so well you do not even feel the line living the reel and if it wasn't for the splash from the tackle rig hitting the water you would think the reel wasn't even working. Great reel for the money!
0points
Customer Avatar
Casper, Wyoming
Excellent reel
Posted 11/27/2011
I bought this for my 3 yr old son because he has been catching 3+ lb trout on a Diego play fishing pole. This reel was low cost and I paired it with a lower cost ugly stick. This reel out-casts every pole we have. It is very smooth with no vibration or noise when reeling in. Drag is excelent and easy to adust. I am Totally impressed with this reel and would suggest it to anyone!
+1point
Customer Avatar
antioch
uglycast
Posted 09/02/2011
great reel for price..take some line out first thing.. its spooled with to much from the factory..other then that it cast far and smooth..the handle is a bit small..but works fine..
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Nice lil reel

08/13/2013
By ,
OC Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my daughter for Trout and Bass fishing and it works well. She can cast it a country mile and it has worked well thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Struggles and issues

05/12/2013
By ,
Springfield, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picked up this reel because it had good reviews so I thought maybe give it a try. At first it wouldn't cast or reel in properly then I had to deal with a lot of tangled line. So I had to cut half of the pre-spooled line off because it was awfully tangled. After I did that, it worked flawlessly. Kind of struggled when I was trying to reel in a Northern, too. In my opinion, the Zebco 33 reel was much better than this Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel. If you want a good, quality reel I wouldn't recommend this reel. I've had better reels than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

04/04/2014
By ,
Mid Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great spincast reel, been fishing with it for a couple of weeks now, waiting on the fish to start biting. Haven't had a malfunction with it yet after hundreds of casts. Got it for under $15 on WMT's daily 'sales' on their website. Love this reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Probably OK

03/20/2014
By ,
Kaufman, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Took 2 weeks to get the reel, and then it was broken. Probably not Walmart's fault, but a little bummed out !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Shakespeare Ugly Cast Spincast Reel

Smooth, reliable, great choice for kids

08/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my experience, this is the reel of choice for taking kids along on a fishing trip without breaking the bank. It is a few bucks more than the cheapest Zebco, but I find the Ugly Cast to be smooth and reliable - very unlike my frustrating experiences with low-end Zebcos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points