Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Durango Rod

Shakespeare Shakespeare Durango Rod

Bring the fight to the fish this season with the Shakespeare Durango Spinning Rod. This rod is constructed of strong, tubular glass.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%22 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Lot's of bang for the buck

01/20/2014
By ,
Sparks, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered two of these rods from Walmart for store pickup.I wasn't expecting much for the price but I was pleasantly surprised when they arrived. They look good, have a nice action and appear to be well made. For the guy who called them junk, I've had two Shakespeare rods for several years with the same reel retaining mechanism and have never experienced a failure. They arrived several days ahead of schedule. If you haven't tried Walmart's in store pickup, you should. Great service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Good rod for casual fisherman

04/15/2014
By ,
Grand Island, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these rods. All for spincasting. Really like the action with light to medium weight lures. Have caught fish over 10 lbs. with no problem. Agree with one of the other reviews that states that the piece that screws down to hold the reel is not reinforced and could be a weak spot. Just don't screw it down too hard. Holds fine. I personally like the balanced feel of the 5'6" rod better than the 6' rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Excellent rod for beginners.

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent rod for beginners....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Great ultralight rod for the price

07/11/2012
By ,
Hampton, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one for trout fishing. I had been using medium weight rods. The action is so much better with this rod. I believe the limber rod helps prevent line breakage when you reel in a nice fish against the current. I liked it so much, I bought another one about a month later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NOT an ultralight rod.
Posted 10/22/2013
This rod is a MEDIUM action rated rod for line weights 6-14 lbs. A far cry from the item's description of "ultralight"!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

For $10 how can u go wrong

03/31/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a blast well worth what they cost got 3 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

very light, flexible

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i use this rod is for spin casting in streams and rivers. it is light weight and flexible, easy to cast upstream with. the only problem that I can see is the adjustment nut that holds the reel on. i just don't care for the plastic/nylon twist lock design. it comes down from the top and if it breaks the reel is going straight into the water. I'll keep a couple nylon ties handy for back up, but so far it is holding up ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Looks good

03/05/2014
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my rods today. The rods look like quality units. I won't know until the end of April when trout season opens. You can't go wrong for the price even if they only last one season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

No good.

05/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First fish my son caught on this rod was a 20" pickerel. It snapped in two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Great small rod!

01/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great rod with a lot of action! What a great price! Perfect for pan fish! Get yours today!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Shakespeare Rod

07/07/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great light action rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Does a great job

11/05/2012
By ,
Milton, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job for which it was intended, and does the same job that the most expensive rod you can purchase will do. Trust me, a fish will never know the difference.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

GREAT PRODUCT FOR YOUNG AND OLD ALIKE

03/23/2014
By ,
HAVELOCK,IOWA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought the Durango Rod before, and have had excellent service out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

5',6" Durango rod

08/04/2012
By ,
Sunnyside,Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the rod that most cheap Shakespeare combos come with.I am not saying it is bad it lasted me 2 1/2 years and I went surf casting with it and it holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

great

04/07/2014
By ,
ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Great rod

12/16/2013
By ,
Curacao, Willemstad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first fishing rod and I liked it. It's very easy to use good grip and I've caught some nice fish big fish on it and it's still holding.
Easy to manage. Would recommend for everyone and you cannot beat the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shakespeare Durango Rod
04/01/2013
By ,
cherry hill, nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I intended to use this rod for drop shotting small mouth bass. I liked that it was 6'6" and that it was only $7.95! My first impressions were that it was going to be a nice rod for what I wanted it for. I got it on the lake this past Saturday and after 2 cast I noticed the device that tightens to keep the reel on the rod was loose. So I went to tighten it (with very little effort) and I heard a snap. I looked down and the part broke making securing the reel impossible. I was so irritaded I just took my reel off and threw away the ROD, I wasn't even going to go through the trouble of trying to return it. Screw it. This thing is a big piece of junk- do not buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shakespeare Durango Rod
12/13/2012
By ,
Somerset, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good action and a great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Cust service

01/15/2013
By ,
Alexandria,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great store 2 deal with friendly service went out of way 2 take care of me thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

Spinning rod works best with spincast reel

10/20/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased three 6" medium action spinning rods to take my daughters fishing. Great value, appear to be well made. Work great with my daughters' spincast reels. With my spinning reel, the first eye is too close to the rod, putting a slight dogleg in the line, creating friction that wears the line and shortens casts. Would buy again for a spincast reel, not for spinning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shakespeare Durango Rod

nice fishing pole for the money

10/20/2013
By ,
Bayonne, Nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great fishing pole. Will use it for trout fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next