Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Electronic Arts Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Electronic Arts Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Players take creativity by the reins and play out the stories they want to tell whether its the single guy in the dog park picking up women or the criminal overlord and her evil cat. The Sims 3 Pets players will be able to create, customize and control over a hundred different kinds of cats and dogs like the Australian Shepherd and the Maine Coon, and can breed and share them with friends providing endless possibilities to create new and exciting breeds. As the next expansion pack to The Sims 3, The Sims 3 Pets Expansion Pack for PC/Mac brings the exclusive new opportunity to create, customize and play as horses. Players will be able to use their horses as a form of transportation to get around town and also to raise and train them with activities like racing or jumping hurdles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation56%10 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

TERRIBLE!!!

01/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this game not knowing you needed the sims 3 to even play it. I just realized it after I'd opened it! Now i cant return it! and im gonna have to buy the sims 3 if i ever want to play it. And no used games stores will buy it. If you dont have the sims 3, buy sims 3 plus pets!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Great Game!!

10/23/2011
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this game. I have not experienced any bugs or problems installing this game or playing it. I was surprised to see a whole new town and houses, plus many new families. I think how they did this game was really cool. Now if they would only come out with seasons? I really like how they came out with the horses and how you can collect many different animals. I only wish they would have had more kids clothing and hair do's otherwise I think the game is great. Oh and make sure that your computer can run the game, otherwise I have heard there are troubles with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+171points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

I love The Sims 3 Pets!

11/04/2011
By ,
Owensville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love The Sims 3, and this and expanison pack you can't live without. It adds so much to the game, even unicorns! Get the limited edition, because of the pet shop. It gives you common-rare animals. No bugs or glitches. Awesome game! If you are an expert Simmer, you MUST get this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
HP Dandelion Breeze 15.6" Pavilion G6-1B59WM Laptop PC with AMD A4-3300M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
4.4 out of 5(141)
 
 
 
 
 
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

great EXPANSION pack

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with every other expansion pack, you need the base game. I have known this since i became a gamer. Originally I bought the base, then Ambitions, and now this and Late night. They are worth it, though in the end if you want to buy all expansion packs for sims 3 (not all have been released yet, a lot more still to come) you will end up paying around a total of $400.00 (if you are lucky).
Tip: wait until there is a deal (buy one/two get one free) to buy Sims 3 expansions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sims 3: Ambitions (PC)
4.5 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)
07/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Sims series is one that I have long enjoyed. Last Christmas when I was looking around for something to get myself, it didn't take me long to decide. I had been enjoying the Sims 2 for quite some time, so I decided to upgrade. I bought the combination of the base Sims3 as well as this expansion and one other.
Gameplay itself is much improved. I quite like the additional features, yet it still retained the familiarity of the Sims 2. The base game works just fine on my computer with no issues and very little lag.
Then came the Pets. I was very excited about this part of the game, because you finally get to control the pets the way you can the Sims themselves. It sounded like an amazing upgrade, so as soon as Christmas came I eagerly installed and updated my game, only to suffer extreme disappointment.
Visit Youtube and you can readily find videos of the kind of distortion I was dismayed to find occurring in my game. It only seems to effect the pets themselves, and only the cats, dogs, and horses at that. They simply don't render properly. Their images are horridly distorted such that one cannot even tell the species until a sound effect gives it away. Often some body parts will float some distance away or be turned around backwards altogether!
It is impossible to enjoy playing with pets that look more like the result of a nuclear attack. I can't use what was one of my main motivations for playing the game. For the first few months, owners of the Sims Pets expansion, many of whom were suffering as I was, were led to believe there would be a patch. I had faith that this was true, and during this time bought the Sims Medieval as well.
As it turns out, we were lied to. EA Games now says that it is not their problem, and refuse to fix this glitch. My only option is to turn to third party software, or just not play an expansion I have already paid $30 to get! There is a third party solution out there too, so I know it is not just our computers. EA Games is being completely irresponsible and ignoring the needs of consumers of what is probably their most popular product. Sadly because of this I will not be buying anything more from them until I can see for sure that it works properly, and I will definitely never buy until the cost goes down. I, for one, cannot afford to throw away another $30-40 on a product the company will not even ensure is working properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Dissapointed at EA games

04/21/2012
By ,
Dallas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EA was not ready to release Sims 3 Pets, there is a glitch where every 3-5 seconds the characters freeze but the water and sound continues. Then after about 2 minutes it will unfreeze only to freeze again in a few seconds. EA told me to uninstall and reinstall, that did nothing, I have a lot of space on my computer, and the video card is new, and my computer was bought a year ago. EA will also say it is because I have a MAC, but I have a PC with Windows 7.
DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! The glitch is from the CD not my computer, the newest patch didn't fix it. I took it back to Wal-Mart for an exchange, still no luck so tomorrow I will be Getting a refund. Just do a search on Google for pets 3 freezing if you don't believe me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

disappointed

04/04/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love animals and I thought this would be a good one to add to my sims 3 but it barely gives you anything! you get cats, dogs, and horses with very little to pick from to buy for them. There are other animals but they aren't as interactive as cats, dogs, and horses. The expansion is not worth 30$ and I'm not buying any others until they come down. I like sims 2 more anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

have to have the right processer

12/25/2011
By ,
lebanon, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this Game only works if you have a certain speed. i got this for christmas and was sooo excited to set it up and i downloaded it and i tried playing it and it froze. i need a big enough processer NOT GOOD EA GAMES SHOULD HAVE MADE THAT MORE CLEAR TO THE PUBLIC. not impressed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
It Does.
Posted 12/27/2011
The box on ALL of EA's Sims3 products state the MINIMUM system requirements. Not only is the processor important, but the amount of memory and the graphics card.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Not the expansion pack for me...

05/02/2013
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to see that the price on this had dropped to $20. I have several of the other expansion packs and thought the addition of pets to my game would be great, but all in all, I'm not a huge fan of this expansion pack. In my opinion, it just doesn't add a lot of enjoyable value to the Sims experience. I wish I would have spent my money on a different expansion pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Animal Lover

03/14/2013
By ,
Grand Island, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a fan of any Sims game or are already playing Sims 3, you need this expansion pack to add on to your game. It is so fun, very addicting and you will not be disappointed. This game adds all kinds of animals to your game to be pets, like cats, dogs, horses etc., as well as a new town, clothes, furniture, etc.
*Sims 3 is required to play this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Don't get it, there's a glitch/bug in all

01/17/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I had known there was a bug or a glitch in this game and a majority of all of the other ones too since 2011 without any patch or fix for it, I wouldn't have gotten it. Wasted 40 somthing bucks. Stick with the other versions. Not this one.........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Great, Great game

12/25/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this game. I love the different types of dogs and this can be combined with other sims.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)
12/26/2012
By ,
Waverly, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this game for my daughter for Christmas. She seems to enjoy playing it very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)

Fun

07/12/2012
By ,
Montoursville,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sims 3 pets puts a lot of excitement into sims. There's many pets. But sometimes I experience bugs on the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)
04/23/2012
By ,
Mount Carmel, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sims 3: Pets (PC/ Mac)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5