Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bell Bell Digital Compass

Bell Bell Digital Compass

The Bell Digital Compass is a small compact unit designed to mount to a dash or windshield. The display of this car electronic compass includes a blue backlight that is to be used in night time. It comes with hook and loop tape that supports the unit for mounting. This automotive digital compass allows drivers to keep on the course and it helps them avoid costly, fuel wasting detours. There is a base cup with which you mount this device to your windshield. It also features an amendable bracket so you can place it at the ideal angle for your windshield's slope. This automotive compass is easy-to-read and it utilizes the same patented sensor technology that is used by most of todays car manufacturers. This digital compass follows a simple calibration procedure that allows this unit to adjust for your car's magnetic interferences.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation50%6 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Digital Compass

Expectations shattered...

12/14/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This review focuses on build quality, as the unit did not work.
My wife had high expectations for this compass, as it has good looks and the features are just right for her.
When the product arrived, we were a bit disappointed by the cheap build and materials used - the chrome details had ondulations and the fitting between them and the black parts had some gaps.
Even still we gave it a shot. Opening the battery compartment to remove the plastic tab was easy, however the poor fitting of the parts made it really difficult to put the cover back.
With everything put together, the LCD did not show anything although the light was working (a beautiful blue backlight).
A few more attempts and the LCD finally showed something, but we could tell it was inoperative and after some 30 seconds it disappeared again (backlight still working).
Even the battery was replaced, to no avail.
We then decided it was not worth pursuing a replacement due to the low build quality.
I am glad we purchased this at Walmart, as the returning process was a breeze. We repackaged everything and brought to the nearest Walmart store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Auto digital compass with in/out thermometer
Posted 11/01/2013
This model is more function and Great for drivers who frequent in strange fields!
http://www.becarelec.com/?controller=Default&action=ProductDetails&id=105
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bell Digital Compass

Good size for the car, not too large.

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions were easy. Just the right size for the dash board of the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Digital Compass

Bell Digital Compass

06/04/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this in my car a few days, but so far its great! It was very easy to set up and calibrate! and so far seems to be very accurate. I do like the feature that you turn it on when you need it and it will shut off automatically after 10 minutes if it senses no directional change, which saves the battery life!Then just turn back on when needed again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Digital Compass

Could be more useful

12/26/2012
By ,
Warrenville, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The compass itself works well, calibration was pretty simple. The hard part was getting it to stick to the dash. Using an alcohol patch to clean off any residue such as Armor-All worked the best. The issue is driving at night. You have to reach over and squeeze a button to illuminate the display, and it only stays on for a few seconds. I understand this is to save the battery, but an optional external power supply would be nice so it could stay on all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Digital Compass
12/11/2012
By ,
Houston Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SKEPTICAL as I was as to whether it would work, especially after reading the other review; I bought it. I followed the instructions, calibrated it, and it works. I took it on a trip with me and it never appeared to be erratic. The calibration is like other digital compasses, you punch the CAL button, you drive in a 1 1/2 circle. It was that simple. So far I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Digital Compass

This item is too complicated to set-up.

09/15/2014
By ,
Minneapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would advise anyone ordering this to think how they handle very technical things. The requirement to use the car for set-up is too much!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Digital Compass

Bad design

05/26/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get this calibrated for my car. Even if I could I would not have kept it.
1. The display is not readable in sunlight.
2. It has a battery light for night. But, you have to press a button to light it and then it only stays on for 4 seconds.
3. It only gives the 12 cardinal compass points, not degrees.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Digital Compass

Defective

07/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The overall look and feel of the compass was nice. However, it only would turn on if you took the back off and applied pressure to the battery. Not very functional.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Digital Compass

Terrible product

07/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It never functioned from the moment i received it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Digital Compass

wont stay on windshield. don't buy.

05/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cleaned windshield with alcohol . Attached velcrow by itself, not the weight of the compass for 24 hours. Added compass, and the tape let go within a few hours. May return if I cant find better tape.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Digital Compass

Nice item

08/12/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As contrary to others that said it looked cheap, it looks very good for the price and works very good. It actual looks better than it's cost. The mounting could be better, but you can improvise with other tape. For the price there isn't much better, it's plain & simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bell Digital Compass
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5