Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hampton Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Hampton Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Light the way with the Brinks Dusk to Dawn Yard Light. This fixture gives you outdoor light all night long.
Average Customer Rating:
2.24 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation36%9 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Sorry to say....but GARBAGE...nothing but GARBAGE

07/09/2011
By ,
Martinsville, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plastic, original bulb did not work. Thankfully my home store replaced the bulb. I put the new bulb in....does not work. Wiring has been checked at the socket is getting power. I should have purchased the metal light at Lowes.
This poor piece of Brinks product is being jerked down, boxed and returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wichita Falls Texas
light failed after 1 month
Posted 09/08/2013
light comes on but shuts off half hour later.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Absolute Trash

12/07/2012
By ,
Crosby, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I installed the first one on Saturday afternoon. I had to replace that one on Tuesday. That one
failed Wednesday night. I replaced that one on Thursday morning. Well, here we are on Friday
morning a 4:45 a.m. and there's NO LIGHT ON IN MY YARD ! !
Guess what I'll be doing at dawn this morning. Yep... climbing that ladder one last time.
What's different about Friday morning? WalMart will have one more piece of junk
in their return bin and I will have my money refunded to my billfold.
I really am disappointed because the name on the box was "BRINKS" That's American!!!!!!
The label under the box, which I did not see, said "MADE IN CHINA"
If you decide to buy one, figure a minimum of 12 hours working time.
Up and down that ladder, back and forth to Walmart. Have a full tank of gas in your
vehicle.
Good Luck
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Not worth the trouble.

06/07/2013
By ,
Pendleton County, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this light because it used less electricity than my old one. After I put it up, it worked fine for a while. It gives good light for less cost. About 2 months after install, it quit working. I replaced the bulb, but it didn't help. I called the company and complained. They sent a new light. I put it up also which wasn't easy 18 feet off the ground on a ladder. The hanging bracket is not easily tightened around the plastic pipe that holds the light. Again this light worked well. We had a storm and the light was blown off. I purchased another and put it up. After about 6 weeks it quit working. I will have been up a ladder 5 times for these lights. The savings on electricity and purchase price doesn't look as good now. I'm glad I didn't have to have an electrician come and install. The internal wiring seems to be inferior. I don't recommend this light.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Al.
Brinks
Posted 11/20/2013
Good name but the light,,,,,,,,,,, trash, stay away..........
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Junk

09/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you don't mind replacing this light every 2 weeks it may work for you. Seriously DO NOT BUY this light not worth the time putting it up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

JUNK!!!! Waste of Money!

04/08/2012
By ,
Meadville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first light bulb that came with the light was blown. I had to make another trip to the store to get a replacement. Its been up for about 3wks and now the sensor went in it. I wouldnt recommend anyone to buy this. Should have spent the money on one from Lowes but Looked at name Brand and thought it would be a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Disappointed

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these in the past 1 1/2 years plus 3 extra bulbs. Had I read the reviews I would have never bought the 1st 1. I figured that it would be a good light since it's made by Brinks. Guess I was wrong. Wish I hadn't thrown all the others away. I would send them all to Brinks and tell them that they are all JUNK.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

JUNK

04/30/2012
By ,
07823
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked for about a week
will not reset unless I climb up ladder and take bulb out
no site to troubleshoot
DON"T BUY this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Works great so far

10/21/2011
By ,
Ellerslie,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took down a motion detector that I had for 3 days that quit working,decided by all reviews on there,they are troublesome,so I went with a dust to dawn one,this was so easy to install and it comes on and goes off on time and it is plenty of light,my bulb works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Smithfield, West Virginia
Buy at Your Own Risk
Posted 04/10/2013
I should have known better, but I thought since it had been a couple of years since I last purchased any of these lights that they would have improved them. They haven't. These lights will not stand the test of time. The latest one I purchased lasted less than two weeks. I used to have three in my yard a few years ago and none of them made a year before blowing out. Not worth the hassle of having to replace constantly. Pure junk. I don't know how the company stays in business? Maybe most of the people never take the time to claim the warranty since they were so cheap in the first place. Junk, Junk, Junk. I give this item zero stars.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

product is junk

12/18/2011
By ,
petoskey mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked for one month
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Was easy to install.

11/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install. I tried to darken the photo cell to get the light to turn on in daylight with no luck. At night it worked fine. The light output was great. I will probably buy several more and replace some of our other field lights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light
11/05/2011
By ,
Southern Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed easy,Inexpensive,Very good light output.Comparable to 175 watt light we replaced for less than one fourth the operating costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Md
TRASH !!!!!!
Posted 04/11/2014
Stay Away from this light ! Works for about 1 1/2 yrs. then dies. Second one that has done this to me !
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light
12/09/2012
By ,
ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute junk. i bought two of these and they didnt last a total of 3 days. dont waste your money, pay a little more and get something that will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wichita Falls Texas
JUNK
Posted 10/20/2013
JUNK, IT LASTED 2 MONTHS.
0points
Customer Avatar
Al.
Brinks Dusk to Dawn Yard Light
Posted 07/25/2013
Was hoping these reviews were wrong, I got two months out of it. Roughly 30 dollars cost plus the cost of gas, might as well pay more and get a good one..
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12/11/2011
By ,
Waverly, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked well for around 6 months to a year then the bulb (supposed to be long life) blew or something its junk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Don't buy this buy the Metal Halide

04/26/2013
By ,
Azle TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for less then 2 months I had read reviews and stil bought so my fault. Don't buy this...
I bought a Metall Halide 100 watts at the same time(for front yard and still works# it's 4 times the lighting power and theres only about a 5$ a year difference in electricty cost # I have my Metal Halide light on a timer cause the the photo sensor gets blocked by my trees#. I also wired in a Flowtron Bug 40watt zapper that hangs right below the light #from Amazon)(avoid stinger they clog) because of the bugs will swarm this light and it stays busy zaping away.
Cost is $59 for the metal halide that I have had past luck with and will last. or $25 for something that may or may not last the fluorescent one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Bad Bad Bad

10/31/2012
By ,
Leachville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought 4 of these because of the price (2 replacements). They worked fine for a few months but when something goes wrong either the bulb or the electric eye then it shorts everything out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Light bulb failed within 6 months

07/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The light bulb failed within 6 months; and the replacement bulb failed to come on within 2 months of replacement. Removing bulb and rubbing contact allowed bulb to work for a few days; and then it was necessary to remove bulb, wipe contacts and replace in unit. I was looking for information on a recall but have not seen anything yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Would not recomend to any one!

11/04/2013
By ,
Wells River, VT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price, to bad it ends there. Replace bulbs every 6 months & the light yearly! Save your money & buy a better one!! Once again would not recomend to any one!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

GREAT OUTDOOR LIGHT!!!!

02/26/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this light so we could light up our fenced in yard and see our dogs when we let them out at night. It has been wonderful. It lights up the yard and now I wonder how we ever got along without it. I think it is a great light for security purposes too. My husband installed it and he said it was very easy to install, in fact he is on his way to get another one because this one is no longer working...we are lost without it. This will be the third one we have purchased, but for $25 we definately get our money out of them...they last around 2-3 years with bulb replacement usually once or twice during that time. Purchase it!! You will be pleasantly surprised!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light
09/13/2013
By ,
crossett ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have bought two and they only work for about three months. wasted my money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brinks 42W Large Area Dusk To Dawn Yard Activated Security Light

Junk

04/10/2013
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for 1 day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next