Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Winchester Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Winchester Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds are Lubaloy plated. These rounds are great for plinking and varmints.
Average Customer Rating:
2.756 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation44%18 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

"It goes Bang...." Most of the time......

08/12/2013
By ,
Eupora Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this from a local Walmart and was proud to get it during this Ammo (NOT) shortage... Its Okay in my long riffle's 20+ inch barrel's with 1-2 inch grouping at 50 yards. In our AR 15-22's its grouping 1-3 inch at the same 50 yards with little consistency to any form of pattern. With Both long and short barrel's about 1 out of 50 would be a FTF. Began to worry that the grouping might be the shooter so we broke out the Bi-pods and clamps, same story, 30 rounds will draw a circle of 2-3 inches at 50 yards depending on the length of barrel used. I don't consider this good enough for small game like birds rabbits and squirrel! Wouldn't dare attempt a 100 yard with it. Finally broke out the CCI 40g's and had 1 inch groups with the 15-22's and long rifles, same scope's and settings at 50 yards with several strike's in the same hole's! Feeling better now about my shooting, and our rifles! My advice, always save your $$$'s for the better ammunition's? One-Shot One-Kill, "Less Suffering on both ends!"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 2 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Dont buy for a Walther P22! or Marlin 60!

12/18/2013
By ,
KY Bluegrass
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I grabbed a box of 555 and a couple boxes of 333, just because it was available. The price wasn't bad, a little higher than Federal but not bad. If it fed it went bang. But that is a BIG if. Others have spoke of duds, or failure to fire. First off I was using this in a very proven Walther P22 that has saw it's service and has been near 100% reliable with CCI mini mags. This white box seemed like it didn't have enough umph to completely cycle the slide. It shot, ejected, but never grabs the next round. (Failure to feed.) I shot about 150 rounds and had almost 100 failure to feeds. I tried my CCI, zero issues. Next I pulled out my Marlin 60 tube fed rifle. Same deal. It didn't fully cycle the action. It shot, ejected the case, and closed the action without grabbing the next round. I tested the CCI, zero issues. Let me say, after working the slide or action and manually loading the next round, the ammo was accurate and I had great groups. Its like this, if it is all you can find, buy it. BUT, be patient because you WILL have failure to feeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 3 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk
07/08/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the negative reviews on this product and I must say that I absolutely disagree with them. I suppose it is possible that they may have gottten a bad batch. My experience along with my three sons is that this is a very good round...no missfires , no fail to feed, and best of all for us , it has proved to be the most accurate bulk pack round that we have tried. We do a lot of benchrest shooting and this product out performs all the others quite easily, including Federal, Remington, and CCI Blazer all being bulk pack ammo. If your main concern is accuracy as ours is, then you might want to give this product a try. In reality, with any .22 ammo bulk pack, there will usually be an occasional missfire or fail to feed but this particular round has performed well for us. I might mention that we are using this product in Winchester mod. 52's and Stevens mod. 416's all being heavy barrel target rifles. It is quite possible to get different results in different firearms, but for us in these guns , this round has been superb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 4 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Horrible ammunition for semi automatic

01/04/2013
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally purchased this because my local store was out of the Federal 525 bulk box I know and love. I initially used this with an old Mossberg semi-auto. It started out great for 20 rounds or so but it quickly became apparent that it was not good quality. Of every 12 round magazine I would have 3 or 4 jams and once even had 6 jams out of 12 rounds. Even had a few fail to fires with this stuff. I very faithfully maintain my guns and always keep them in proper working order. I recently used what was left of this bulk box (I only used about half on that fateful day with the Mossberg) in my Remington 512 Sportmaster .22 bolt action and it worked just fine. I find that this ammunition is garbage for semi auto. I would consider using it with bolt action if I was desperate but I think I will just stay away and use the Federal ammunition I am used to. Thousands and thousands of rounds fired of bulk Federal and not a single jam or fail to fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 5 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Happy with this ammo, very few FTF or FTE

12/29/2013
By ,
Binghamton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some negative reviews of this ammo but I figured that I don't have many choices in the current ammo shortage situation. This ammo works great in my Savage semi-auto rifle. Only about 2-3 FTF or FTE per box of 555 rounds. Not bad for low cost ammo. The price went up quite a bit over the last year but it's still well below what some small stores or websites are looking for. Walmart has the best price, if you can find this ammo in stock. I found one box recently after about 10 trips to different stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Review 6 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk
09/05/2012
By ,
LADY Lake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have shot 200 rounds in my GSG 1911 22lr. Had only one cartrige to not fire. Reloaded it and it fired.
No jams, feeds with no problems. After fireing cleaned pistol with minimal signs of powder in the slide, barrel almost clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GOOD MASS MARKET LOAD
Posted 10/25/2012
BEST CHEAP AMMO I'VE EVER USED..PRETTY ACCURATE OUT OF ALL MY RIFLES AND PISTOLS..NOT PREMIUM AMMO GOOD ,,BUT CLOSE..
NOT A SINGLE MISFIRE...UNLIKE THE CHEAP FEDERAL WHICH AVERAGED
A MISFIRE EVERY 15-16 ROUNDS...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Horrible Ammo

04/01/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different bulk packs (all purchased at different times and different lot #s) and these won't cycle in my tried and true 10/22 (or any of my other semi auto .22s for that matter). I wouldn't give these away. Stick to the Federal and Remington bulk packs. Even if you're dying for .22lr, pass on these unless you shoot them through a bolt action... heck even a .22 short will function in a bolt action. These won't cycle in the next round in a semi auto because they are TOTALLY underpowered. Maybe that's where the M22s that were recalled got their extra powder charge from.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 8 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Good ammo for the right gun

09/01/2013
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picked up a box of these and went to the range to test it out with my two 22LR guns. A Ruger 10/22 Breakdown and a Walther P22.
I ran 70 rounds through my 10/22. Groupings were good and had zero FTE's, FTF's, or duds.
Ran 20 through my P22. Groupings were OK and had zero FTE's or duds, but had 6 FTF's (30% FTF rate). Some times the slide cycled and the next round failed to feed and other times the slide did not fully cycle and pushing it closed feed the next round. As a comparison, the 10 rounds I shot before and the the 20 rounds I shot after these rounds were CCI Blazer lead round nose and they had zero FTE's, FTF's, or duds and had slightly better grouping. (I've also fired over two thousand of the CCI Blazer through the P22 and only had a couple FTF's. (Less then .001% FTF rate.))
I'm going to give my P22 an extra thorough cleaning and try again, but as I clean my guns after each trip to the range, I don't have a lot of hope that this will make a huge difference.
I have a feeling that the lack of a nice round tip is one reason these don't feed well in my P22, but that's just my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk
09/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shot an entire box with out a single misfire. I think that says it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 10 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk
07/18/2012
By ,
Possum Kingdom Lake, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this product to work exceptionally well with my old Stevens 87B and Ruger Mark II. I have had no problems at all and it seems to be just as or even more accurate than the more expensive products I have tried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 11 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

cheep price... high dollar performance

07/19/2012
By ,
spring hill, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have shot close to 5,000 rounds thru my savage 64 and have had under 15 no fires. it cleans easily after shooting 1 1/2 boxes in a weekend unlike the golden bullets from remington which cause my action to stick and require frequent and more tedious cleanings. i would say well worth the money for the quality of this bulk amo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Omaha, NE
Not Dependable (Only buy in Emergency)
Posted 03/12/2013
With the nationwide 22 LR ammo shortage, this was all that was available at the time. Against my inner gut feeling, I bought a box thinking it's better to have something rather than nothing. I fired this in a Marlin 597. A Browning pump, and attempted with a Sig 22 semi auto handgun. Constant hang-ups in the Sig hand gun and Browning. It did a bit better in the Remington. I would only recommend this ammo in a Bolt Action 22 LR type gun. We stop counting after 25 FTF's. I'm glad my life doesn't depend on this ammo. Would only recommend it if there is NO OTHER Ammo at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Not High Velocity .22 ammo!

11/10/2013
By ,
PNW
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I usually shoot nothing but CCI Standard velosity .22 ammo that performs flawlessly in my target pistols. This Winchester "555" does not cycle two of my semi auto pistols or my Ruger 10-22 target rifle. It chronographs at about 1025fps in my 5.5 in barrel pistol. Works just fine in bolt action rifle with fairly consistant accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 13 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Shoots great

10/04/2013
By ,
P.G., Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ammo. Thousands of rounds shot without a dud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 14 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

by far the worst of the bulk ammo

06/05/2013
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First let me say I use this ammo in semi-automatic guns. It doesn't run smoothly. If used in revolvers it would probably be just fine. The problem is the ammo doesn't have enough juice to push the slide on autos back enough to allow cycling. I've used it in numerous guns (Ruger SR22, GSG 1911 22, Walther P22, Ruger Mark III, Ruger SR22 rifle, Ruger Takedown rifle, and GSG 522 carbine). They all have issues with this ammo. Also, from box to box, and batch to batch, the quality of this ammo is very inconsistent. I've bought boxes which were modestly acceptable, and those that have been just horrible. With the ammo shortage of the last 7-8 months I was forced to give these another chance. Same problem as before. But when you go through 3-4 failures in a row, it just becomes a bore. They should note on this ammo that it is not made for semi automatic guns. This week Walmart had these Windchester white boxes in stock and I didn't even bother picking them up. That's how bad they are.. While I'm posting this review I have to say the Remington green box golden bullets, Federal auto match, and Winchester black box, are the better working bulk 22LRs....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 15 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Doesn't Cycle Very Well :(

04/25/2013
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Took a trip to the range a few days ago to try out a few different ammos for my Walther P22Q and my husbands Ruger SR22. This didn't cycle well in either of them. Out of the 50 rounds I shot I had 6 FTE's/stovepipes, 2 FTF's and had to hand cycle quite a few of them. The Ruger did even worse. One got stuck in the chamber so bad that the range officer had to get it out, the bullet had literally came out of the shell casing! Needless to say these rounds aren't a very good quality. If you plan on purchasing Winchester, go with the Super X in the smaller box. They are worth the extra few cents.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 16 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Does not cycle properly in Ruger 10/22

02/16/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These, the 333 pack, and the 222 pack of the same bullet are not good. I just went to the range in Lakeland, FL today and shot them in my new Ruger 10/22. Had many FTE. It does not seem like these are powerful enough to cycle the 10/22 properly. I would not buy these again. In fact, I have another 222 pack and a 333 pack and I will be looking to sell them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 17 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Quality Ammo

10/01/2013
By ,
Northeast Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have shot this ammo out of 4 different guns. No problems. Shoots accurately and has good power. People complain about ammo. I have been shooting for 40 years. First of all, clean your gun regularly. This will keep it functioning at its best. Each gun has a preferred load. Get 3 to 5 different brands and go to the range. Find the one that shoots the best group and functions well. The best will be that guns preferred load. This is good stuff. Enjoy yourself and be safe. I have this loaded in a Ruger MK 2 for any unwanted 2 legged or 4 legged varmints. I have total confidence in this load.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 18 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Not a Good Value

03/02/2013
By ,
Northern NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I usually buy Federal Bulk or Winchester M-22 at Walmart. As scarce as 22LR has been lately, I picked up a couple boxes of the Winchester 555 when they had some in stock. Results have been hit or miss. In a Ruger SR22P they shoot OK. They cycle OK with only an occasional failre to fire. In my Ruger MKIII I had about 50% failure to fire. That was a surprise. The MKIII usually shoots anything. In my Henry H001 they tend to jam, and in my M&P 15-22 they also tend to jam.
These results were surprising as the Win 555 pack is more expensive than the Federal Bulk and almost as much as the M-22. Glad I only got 2 boxes. I'll stick with the Federal and M-22 from now on!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

The worst of all

03/28/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Won't cycle in my semi-auto, many ftf's and stove pipes. The dirtiest of them all. After 555 rounds I can't see the rifling at all. I wouldn't shoot this ammo if it was free.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 20 for Winchester 22LR Hollow Point Rounds, 555pk

Yep it's cheap, but you get what you pay for...

04/01/2013
By ,
Metairie, LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought three boxes of this & my buddy bought three boxes in the midst of the ongoing ammunition shortage after a long search for .22 LR ammo. I was ecstatic to see .22 in the store when I went to the ammo counter and the worker was unloading, and even happier when it was less than $10 a box. However, I've ran a full box through my SR22 and have had more problems than I've ever had with any other ammunition. Like other reviewers noted, I think the rounds are really underpowered, and had consistent failures to feed the top round under recoil. This is problem I've never had with any other ammunition before (CCI, Blazers, Federal Auto Match), but I would literally have to manually cycle at least 1 round a magazine, and occasionally would have to manually feed up to 8 out of the 10 rounds. It's also dirty as sin, which I expected, and I had two failures to fire in the box, both of these were totally expected since it is a super cheap bulk pack. If it's the only thing you can possibly find and you need the ammo, buy it, but I can't in good faith recommend these rounds without warning that you will likely have problems. For me, I've never had more problems with any rimfire ammunition before. I'll give it two stars for price, it's dirt cheap, & I appreciate Walmart keeping their prices low on items like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next