Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Everstart EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Everstart EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Find the Battery that Fits Your Vehicle Click Here For More Info When it comes to powering ... move with purpose.
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation68%13 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Great Battery

03/01/2012
By ,
Tiffin, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a MAXX-78N battery in Feb. 2007 for my 2000 Chevy Silverado P.U. truck. The battery is now five years old, and I noticed that it is just now starting to turn the engine over a little more slowly. Still turns it over and starts it though. For a battery with 36 month warranty, five years is pretty darn good. I'm going to keep using it till it goes bad completely before I replace it, and I figure that won't be till this coming fall (Oct 2012). Very please with this battery, and I will replace it with an identical one from WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
EverStart Battery
Posted 04/02/2012
In 2004 I purchased an EverStart Battery for my used 1998 Bonneville and it is still strong as ever. Never had a problem with it, even in all those winters. This will be the 9th year and I think it will be time for another EverStart next year. Not sure if it is a 78N or not, but it has worked for me. It is suppose to last for 9 years, maybe 10 from how it starts this old 3.8 V6.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Can't beat the warranty

04/14/2012
By ,
Converse, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased Wal Mart Batteries for years with great success and never had a problem. The warranty is great. If it ever it should go out, there are Wal Mart stores everywhere to get an exchange AND they are open on weekends should you be on a trip somewhere and need a replacement. I would like to add a little helpful tip I have learned over the years to all those who might be putting in a new battery. Always make sure that your contacts on your battery cables are clean and free of corrosion before installing the new battery. If you don't install it yourself make sure the attendant checks to make sure they are clean!!!!!! Dirty contacts will reduce the performance of your battery AND shorten it's life. Once the contacts are clean, coat the positive side with a small amount of Vaseline or dielectric grease to prevent corrosion from forming. Follow these tips and your battery should last you a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Best Battery Value Out There

05/20/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My MAXX 78 battery on my 2002 GMC Sierra has died. I looked at the sticker. It reads 9/05. Well, it is now 5/12. I got more than 6 dependable years out of my MAXX battery. Walmart is open 24/7 in most places, and there's a Walmart close to me somewhere. I'll be trading it for another MAXX 78 today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Don't believe the "FREE" replacement warranty

09/24/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The warranty says "Free" replacement for 3 years. My latest battery lasted 2 years and 8 months. The replacement was not quite free. They only gave credit for the original cost of the battery. Over the nearly 3 years the price of the battery has risen $11. I had to pay the difference. It isn't that much over 3 years but that is not my definition of FREE. Otherwise the battery is about as good as most other brands available.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N
09/07/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this battery in 12/2005. It has been extreme heat in the deserty and cold of the mountains with no problems. Now 09/2012 battery is now just a little tried and probably time to replace. I feel I got my money out of this battery. Almost seven years of extreme use not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

BEST BATTERY EVER

04/09/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this battery in April 2006 after looking two other places for a battery to fit my truck with no luck. It went dead today, 8 YEARS LATER. Actually, short of 8 years by about 2 weeks. Absolutely no complaints, the AAA guy that jumped me said he had never seen a battery that lasted that long. So, needless to say as soon as it was jumped I headed straight to Walmart for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N
03/26/2012
By ,
kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm on my 3rd Maxx 78 battery. After about 8 months they won't hold a charge more than 8 or 9 months even when they are disconnected. My current one is 8 months old and comes with a free replacement but I'm buying another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/20/2012
Friend, you have a loose connection, or something else is draining your charge.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Poor

01/23/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought an EverStart Maxx battery at Walmart in 2008. Replaced in bad winter weather 2010. Now, in 2013, again the thing needs replacement. Their Champion line of batteries is supposedly made better and I talked with Johnson Controls who makes their batteries for the data. Still, had enough with free replacement batteries from Walmart or Sam's Club. I just want one to last 8 years with no issue. Getting Ford Motorcraft battery, now. I see that AC Delco are very good as well. I had a Ford Motorcraft years ago in another car and that lasted forever no problem. Had a Duralast from Autozone in yet another car and that was alright as well. I highly recomend the Ford Motorcraft, though. They make them for cars of all makes, not just Fords.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

EverStart Maxx 78N awsome warranty

02/01/2014
By ,
Sheboygan, wi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this battery 2 years 10 months and it started losing cca power 12-21-2013,( tested @450cca rated:800). Today I took it back, walmart tested it and was found to be bad. I got a new battery at no charge. I was very happy they honored the warranty. Only bad part is the new one has no warranty because the warranty from the old one was applied to the new one and it only had 2 months left but who cares I got nothing to worry about for at least 2 yrs 10 months ha ha KNOCK ON LOTS OF WOOD RIGHT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Great Battery

09/10/2012
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just replaced a 78N I bought 12/5. Never had any problems with this battery and on top of it for some reason I received a pro-rated price on the old battery of $26. About two months ago I noticed it wasn't turning over as good and the last two days I needed a jump battery to start my 03 chevy avlanche I bought new in Oct 02.. I replaced the original delco battery that only got three years and a couple of months with this walmart 78n battery 12/05..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

If you don't value your sanity - then buy this!

02/26/2014
By ,
Parsons, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Live in SE Kansas. I replaced this MAXX-78N battery in APR 2009, then JUL 2010, then JUN 2012 and now on FEB 26, 2014, it won't start my car. Last two starts in the last week, I noticed that old familiar little hesitation but was warm enough, with good engine tune, it has started. Now, just a few days later, when temp is at 36º, it won't turn the engine over. I have it in the house on my 6 amp charger and will put it back in and hope it will go a little bit longer for warmer weather so I can more easily take this one back as well. Before last replacement, it stranded me all over town. I'm really afraid to drive it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Maxx 78N failed after 13 months

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery failed after 13 months. Exchanged under warranty at no cost. Hope next one lasts longer. Wife does not handle being stuck very well.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Repeat customer for MAXX

08/24/2013
By ,
Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my second Everlast MAXX 78S today, after 8 flawless years from its predecessor. The 'S' version is for usage in the southern heat. For a battery to hold up eight years in a truck, in Texas, is pretty darn impressive. Walmart indeed has a great battery! Nothing but MAXX batteries for my car and truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Warranty has been great.

02/05/2014
By ,
plainfield, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced this battery twice. Once in early 2012, and today.
I cannot tell you that this is the greatest battery, when it works
it is great.... but when it goes bad. It is as dead, no charge.
Walmart employees have been really easy to work
with on replacing the batteries. No receipt needed, they
look it up in their system and honor the warranty once the
deep battery test result in replacement of battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

1 month after warranty expires it failed

02/09/2014
By ,
rogers,ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had problems with this when it got down to single digits, would not turn vehicle over. I assumed it was a relay causing the problem. The 2nd time it wouldn't start in the cold weather I had the battery checked but unfortunately it was 30 days past the 3 year mark. I noticed another review where this battery had failed within the 3 year period. These should be lasting significantly longer longer than 3 years in my climate area. While Wal-Mart still has "SOME" pro-rating for 2 years after the warranty it looks like the manufacture/seller are shooting for a 3 year average. The pro-rated discount wasn't very much for 30 days past the warranty but does allow them to give an impression that this battery will last. Maybe there was a bad batch made 3 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

BEST PRICE and LASTED LONG

03/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished extensive pricing online. Looks like getting another one of these from Walmart. Have one of these in our big Buick Park Avenue, and it just died 4 years and 6 months after putting it in. Probably would have lasted longer if would have run car more often. Car sat about a month in record lowest temperatures of any February in our local history, and went to move car and wouldn't start. Jumped it and took for long drive, but wouldn't start the next time went to use it. Next closest price for a 36 month battery is $125 but none of that price range in stock at "any" of the other places that sells car batteries. I checked them all!!! Plus the CCA and Reserve is lower. You are forced to step up to at least the $150 battery at these places, and get the same 36 mo. warranty, and amps and reserve rating actually still a little lower than this EverStart. I sure can't complain about 4 and a half years and a 50 dollar savings
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

EverStart Battery is AAA's best friend.

03/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this battery. It failed me and went dead. Charging wouldn't help. Took it back as it was under warranty and the battery was replaced with a newer version of this same battery. The second battery lasted a total of 3 weeks. It too died. I got the second one to charge but my mechanic said it is junk. After a charge the cold cranking amps .. which are supposed to be 800.. when in actuality registered at 200. I am very disappointed with this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N

Works

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine so far. As another reviewer stated, make sure you check the water level if you are installing it yourself. I had to add water to all the cells to bring it up to where it should be. And only use distilled water.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, Group Size 78N
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5