Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Everstart EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Everstart EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

When it comes to powering your motor vehicle, you need a battery you can trust. The EverStart MAXX-65S Automotive Battery provides dependable power, allowing you to move with purpose.
Average Customer Rating:
3.316 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation53%10 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Very happy with the product I have

12/14/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading these reviews.. I decided to check the battery in my 93 Ranger 4x4. I was pretty sure it had the same battery in it as in these reviews. While I realize that not all products are created equal. And their are good and bad in most anything you can buy...
I honestly couldn't remember when I had last replaced the battery in my Ranger.. And after checking it out.. I now know why. The case of the battery is yellow, not black. Its been awhile since they made those. Seems the date on the battery is 07-05. Making it almost 7.5 years old and still going strong. I was actually quite amazed myself..
Being an over the road truck driver.. I'm gone for long periods of time now and then.. and even after sitting for months, I've never had an issue with this battery firing my truck right up and be on my way home..
I wont hesitate to buy another one like it when the time comes. It may only last a couple months like some others in these reviews. But that's what the 3 year free replacement warranty is for. Just in case you do happen to get one of those bad apples.
Obviously the choice is yours. But I know what my choice will be, and I can recommend this product without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Good battery.

02/10/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have put Walmart batteries in all of my vehicles for the last 10 years and will be buying another two soon. First off, they have some of the best prices out there. Second, if a replacement is needed, there is a Walmart in just about any city/town/hamlet/etc that is open 24/7.
Just replaced one of these batteries in my wife's car last month. It lasted over 5 years. When I took it in to the store, they pro rated it towards my replacement no questions asked. IMPORTANT!!!!!!!! Keep your receipt! You have that, the warranty is painless. Will be replacing the pair of factory batteries in our new (used) truck in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Great Battery

02/05/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 2 of these installed in my diesel 3/4 ton truck over 6 years ago after another very popular brand that costed me $50 more lasted just barely past the warrenty date of 3 years. One of these Everstart MAXX batteries just died after outlasting the warrenty by 2 times and one is still good, but I went ahead and had 2 more put in (didn't want to just put one new one in) and I'm good to go for another 6 years I hope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
you must be the lucky one then...
Posted 07/18/2013
I have now had my second walmart max battery in a row fail within a month of the 3 year free replacement expiring. The original Ford battery in my car lasted 6 full years. The only reason I am even contemplating going back to WAlmart to replace under the horrible proration they offer afterwards is that I know I am getting a new car in a few months so in three years I won't have to deal with this battery when it fails again right after the full warranty is up. I will never buy this for my other car or my new car!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery
06/13/2012
By ,
Myakka City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ditto what the fellow said below. Purchased two of these batteries for my Ford F250 diesel pickup back in November 2007. It's now June 2012 and just now having difficulty maintaining charge. Almost five years! Going back today to purchase two more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Great Battery Life

08/29/2013
By ,
Port Orange, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these batteries for my 2001 F-250 diesel in September of 2007. I had forgotten how old they were until doing service on the truck today to prepare for a trip. I have maintained the batteries on an annual basis using only distilled water to replenish any low cells and always clean the terminals and spray with the red terminal protectant. The high compression diesel engine still turns over fast and starts as quickly as when they were new but I'm going to replace them both before my long trip just out of caution - six years is more than I could have hoped for!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas/Fort Worth
There are other good batteries out there, but...
Posted 10/15/2013
You would have to pay much more than what you'll pay at Walmart. So why pay more? I'm about to head down to my local Walmart to purchase another MAXX 65S. Today is 10/15/2013 and my current one has a date stamp of 07/2008 on it, but I keep records and know that I installed it on 5/2/2008. So It's lasted nearly 6 month's longer than the warranty. Truly, why would I go anywhere else?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Lasted 4 1/2 years

12/31/2011
By ,
Cedar Park, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had the EverStart MAXX-65S in my Ranger pickup, and it lasted over 4 1/2 years (sticker date on battery was April 2007 and it is now Dec 2011). Going to Walmart today to pick up an exact replacement. I do recommend this battery to others, and it comes (came?) with a 3 year warranty but mine lasted way past those 3 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery
01/13/2013
By ,
Wadsworth, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this battery Jan 2012. July 2012 a bad starter solenoid on my sons Ranger took out the battery and alternator. Wal-Mart exchanged the batter with no problem as I kept the receipt. End of December 2012 we had a bad 2 week cold snap that killed the battery again. Just took the battery and receipt back to Wal-Mart and they exchanged again with no problems. My son runs a LOUD stereo system in his truck with an audio digital power capacitor and he has no drainage. Because of this, I have bought 2 more of these batteries for our F150 and Crown Vic. I recommend this to everyone who asks!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Great battery!!!

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This battery was installed in my car in July 2008 and I am just now having to replace it. Six years is above and beyond any I have purchased in the past. Going to get a new one just like it today. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

lasted 2.6 years (twice)

09/24/2013
By ,
Waycross, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchase two Max 65s batteries for an 05 F250 Diesel. After 2.6 years batteries would not stay charged enough to start vehicle if not run daily. Returned to Walmart on a trip to Syracuse, NY during freezing snow to have batteries tested. Employee said quick test indicated ok and would not replace. Retuned to Florida had vehicle tested at Ford dealership to see if it was draining batteries during the night.. negative. Returned to local walmart where they were replaced under warranty. It's now 2.6 years later, same issue, test at walmart indicate batteries are ok but won't start the vehicle. 3 yr warranty does not apply because it has been used once already.
Price is ok but four batteries failed in less than 3 yrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Bought another one

02/08/2013
By ,
Fairfield, Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Last one lasted 4 years 3 months, bought another one tonight just before the "Blizzard of 2013" but next time I'll try a better brand, at $100 should last 6 years at least.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Bad battery great Walmart customer service

01/11/2013
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought two of these for my truck, and in four days both batteries failed. The caps on both blew off and they boiled out. After going to a reputable repair facility and having them replaced and the damage to the engine compartment fixed (due to the battery acid), I went back to Walmart to attempt a refund. I was pleasantly surprised that they had no problem doing the refund, kudos to them. I had the batteries checked out to discover it was a manufacturing flaw, on one maybe, but both. Don't buy this battery....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richland,WA
REALLY
Posted 07/15/2013
SOUNDS like your alternator was over charging, usually over voltage causes those type of problems!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Great performer in hot climates

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe all the bad reviews are from the north , But if you live in the desert this battery seems to take the heat.. Bought mine in 9/2007 and it is still fine! Shocking ! Imagine i should just replace it before i get stranded somewhere. manufacture date was 3/07 ....7 years ago. I will replace with same though it was $68 back then and $105 now, A 50% higher price now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Both batteries: dead

09/29/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2002 F350 Turbo 7.3 L Diesel, bought both batteries new in 5/10 now a little over 2 years after both are dead. Pretty bummed, now I get to go back to walmart and fight with the sales people to try and get replacements.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
3 year free replacement
Posted 03/17/2013
what's the problem?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Dead after a month of usage.

10/09/2012
By ,
Holly, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this battery in September 2012, and it lasted a little over a month before it died. After spending a few hundred for a new starter and alternator, it was determined that the new battery was the culprit. Now, I cannot find a replacement, since it is not available within a 100 miles from my home. I would recommend that you buy another battery as a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

18 months and Battery dead

07/20/2012
By ,
Laguna Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Ford Expedition wouldn't start and I assumed it must be the starter because I replaced the Battery 18 months ago. It turns out it was the battery. First time in my 30+ years of car ownership that a battery has died so quickly. I hope the warranty covers the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Payette, ID
6 yrs and 3 months
Posted 09/26/2012
Bought this battery in June 2006 for Ford F150 and now it is September 2012. Its is just now not holding a charge. Will replace with exact one. Definatley would recommend.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Lasted from 6/07 to 11/13... 6 1/2 years! in F150

11/26/2013
By ,
Greenville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, my pickup wouldn't start after being in the garage not touched after 4 weeks. Charged it up and ran it a couple of times over the next two weeks. Forgot to run after one week and it wouldn't start again. Charged it up and tested it... tested less than 100 amps on load. Would start the pickup once, but maybe not again. Guess I'll see what Walmart will do with the old warranty of 108 months. The new ones are only 60 months!! Guess then use cheaper materials now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

worked for awhile

01/24/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this battery for my old buick since my truck and commuter car both have everstart batteries in them. However it was right after 3 years I started having problems with it cranking my car over. It finally gave out and I had to get a jumpstart to get home. Not worth the $100 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery
12/18/2012
By ,
North Port, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this Battery in store for my 2000 F-150 in Feb/2010. Went completly dead and would not accept a charge in August/2012 (Actually could be charged but it would be dead the next day). This was only used occasionally to pull my boat less than 1 hour away from home. $100+ (by the time you add tax and core charge) for 2 1/2 years and less than 8000 miles seems like a bad investment no more than it was used.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EverStart Maxx 65S Automotive Battery

Two years old

05/11/2013
By ,
Perrysburg, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Put this battery in my motor home in May 2011. Drove it about 200 miles last year to the lake where it sat until last fall. Started it about every two weeks. Went out to get the motor home ready to roll. Nothing. Put my battery tender on it and try charging, after two days it was up to 1.3 volts. Taking it back on Monday can't to see what is going to happen. Will let you all know when I get home.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.