Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Mainstays Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Crafted with five reversible walnut and knotty pine blades, the Mainstays Ceiling Fan with Light Kit brings cool, refreshing air to any room. This 52" ceiling fan is built with four frosted glass lights, which provide warm, direct lighting where you need it. Plus, the Mainstays Ceiling Fan offers a dual mount for easy installation. And the Satin Nickel finish adds a touch of elegance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation71%10 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Not a bad fan really, but not great.

07/07/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was thoroughly prepared to hate this fan and return it, as I installed this thing. The metal tubing and covering is noticeably thinner than most fans, it was fairly light in weight, and the other review here had me ready to return it.
Once I installed it, it did look great, but I do agree that it blows less air than higher quality fans of the same size. That said, I usually run most fans in the medium speed setting, makes for a less noisy fan. This thing on high is like most fans on, say, medium-high. Also, it is very quiet, and it was perfectly balanced as installed. Overall, I think I will keep it, and run it this way. It is satisfactory.
If I had to do it again, there is a similarly priced fan at Home Depot that is simply a better fan, and a very similar visual design. I would probably would get that one instead. I was prepared to swap it out for this one, but its probably not worth the hassle at this point.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

06/20/2012
By ,
Norristown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fan, and when I opened the box and saw it, it looked very cheap, and I was right. the blades fell apart with in 4 months and I had to get new ones, but I had to enlarge holes on new blades due to the way they connect onto blade arm. Then another month later it started making noise and with every day passing by it got louder and louder etc.. until I couldn't take it anymore, so I tried tightening the screws on it and they stripped right out, so cheap. and the blade arms are bendable. Don't waste your money. I went to Home depot and got my self a better fan. And another thing about this fan is that the pull chain almost got ripped out cause it got so hard to pull it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

no power

06/13/2011
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this on 06/13/2011 and I can not get the fan to go on high. All the speeds work, but it is very very slow, and you almost have to push the blades to get it going. The high speed is like a low, and there is very little, if any air moving by this fan. The overall look is not bad, but maybe I should have gone to lowes insted.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, Fl
Same problem
Posted 01/23/2012
Does the fan have a remote control ? If it does you got make sure you pull the chain to the high setting then it should work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W
07/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I installed this in our bedroom. It looks great! I do think that the high speed setting seems only about medium speed compared to our old fan, but in our bedroom it is enough. We also like the light, it creates another soft light source option in the room and looks very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Great Fan for the money

09/21/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've purchased 8 of these fans in the last 14 months. My wife and I can't stand stagnant air, so when we move into a new place, we put fans in every room. After checking the Big home improvement stores, and finding fans around $100, we decided to check Walmart. These fans were $40 less than similar fans at the other stores. I've had zero issues with 7 of the fans we bought, and think they are great!! I do have one, that started making a grinding noise after about 2 months, and has now stopped working all together. I'm about to call Mainstays to see if they will send me another fan.... I will update this post with the customer service review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Good Quality & Price!!

08/28/2012
By ,
Northeast Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this ceiling fan within the past week for my new construction home. After reading some of the reviews I was worried about the quality and noise level of this item. We installed it last night and it looks great and is not noisy at all. We have it in our master bedroom and had it was on all night last night & didn't keep us awake at all. We definately felt the air circulating from it. For the price it is definately worth it. I went before work today and bought another one to put in another room and may end up buying even more for other rooms/spare bedrooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

We like it!

10/26/2012
By ,
Uvalde, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installed this fan on our sloped ceiling and it works like a charm. Low speed is very low, but we like it like that. The high speed is ample for our needs. We like the look and style of this fan. We would recommend and will probably purchase another for one other room in our house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

firsttimeshopperatWalmart

04/20/2012
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product amazing price, loved it way to go, keep it up guys your are the best,
thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

I Love It - So I Bought 2!

04/09/2013
By ,
Spfld
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this fan for my bedroom because I've had the same one in my living room for years and I love it. It is powerful, looks elegant, easy to clean and pretty easy to install (though heavy!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Great fan!!!

09/13/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these fans to replace ones that I already had because one was going bad and I have to say that I like these much better than the old ones. Definitely a great buy!!! I would recommend these to everyone!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

Attractive fan

10/29/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "knotted pine" side of the blades doesn't look like knotted pine but the ceiling fan is pretty. I haven't installed it yet so I can't comment on the mechanics.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W

th e fan came with a huge den t

07/28/2012
By ,
homestead, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After i installed the fan ji noticed a huge dent on it. It was too much work to uninstall it after hours of installung it so i didnt retu rn it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mainstays 52" Ceiling Fan with Light Kit, Satin Nickel E-DCF52WSN5C1W
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5