Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinks Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

Brinks Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

The Brinks Dusk to Dawn Light is simple to install. This wall mounted outdoor light fixture features an integrated photocell that produces light from dusk until dawn.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%6 out of 7reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

Works Great but....

02/25/2012
By ,
Virginia, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works perfect and matches the old lamp it replaced that was not dusk to dawn and must have been 30 years old. The problem with this item is two fold. One the directions are awful. Two if the product is defective no matter what you do it won't work. When you first open the box the red wire from the light sensor must be attached directly to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself with a blue screw on cap holding them together or else the product is probably defective and won't work. The directions never mention the red wire once and that is a problem especially if the red wires is not connected to the thick black wire when you open the box. The rest is easy, all white wires connect to the white wire coming out of the wall, the remaining single black wire connects to the black wire coming out of the wall...and of course the red wire must be attached to the thick black wire that leads to the lamp itself. If you do this it will work guaranteed unless you have a defective product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

Light works good

08/20/2012
By ,
North East South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions for wiring were kind of vague.
No mention of the black and red wire that are connected together with a blue wire nut and it turns out those wires only connect to each other to power the sensor is my best guess.
The rest of the wiring is standard black to black ,white to white and ground to ground.
So other than the instructions being kind of poor unless you are an electrician or have wired this type of light before you could be in trouble since the instructions don't give you all the information that you need to wire the light properly.
Brinks needs to realize they would have less trouble if they put in better instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black
01/17/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It did just what it was supposed to do. I haven't had any issues with it. I'm looking to purchase more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

Brinks should stop making bad lights

05/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this light, it is not worth it. It stays off like it is suppose too. It comes on, perfect: than starts flicking on and off. First I thought it was a reflection, so I blocked the sensor. It is a worthless sensor. Do not waste your money on a Brinks light product....
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black
10/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sensor in the light didn't work. The light will blink once you turned it on. I had to rewire it so it would work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/31/2011
There is only one screw for the dome. It lasted 30 min and it fell and broke. My light also blinks on and off. I Googled about this and too many comments and no options. Three times I rewired it. I'm going to cover the sensor and use as a regular light. Frustrating. Not sure where to buy a replacement dome, but reluctant since only one screw holds it in.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/02/2011
Ours works very well love it! Ordering one more for us another for a gift. 5 Stars
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

No problems

09/12/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The light was installed on a porch so i was concerned about the sensor working properly. No problem whatsoever! My one and only problem with this product is that the globe was not tightened properly and it fell off and broke. Now, I'm having problems finding a replacement globe. Any ideas???
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
oldbroad
Posted 09/28/2014
Have you tried just a regular Mason jar? With most lights this size, you can replace the globe with a quart-sized Mason jar.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

Brilliant and wonderful idea!

11/21/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked my light right on up with out no problem. I love it! Really I do! It's bright and it looks really cool on my back deck. I'm glad I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinks Jelly Jar Dusk To Dawn Activated Security Light, Matte Black

EXCELLENT!

10/22/2013
By ,
Mph., Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Problem at all. Purchasing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.