Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

The Black & Decker 18V Cordless Drill is suitable for drilling holes through wood, metal or plastic. It features a variable speed and 24 position clutch that prevents screws from stripping. This Black & Decker drill includes two batteries, a keyless chuck and a convenient carrying bag that enables you to take it wherever you go. The soft grip handle offers comfort, allowing you to get the job done effortlessly. It is suitable for use around your home or business.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%28 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my son for Christmas. Great deal since it comes with 2 batteries which allows continuous work without having to wait to re-charge 1 battery. My son previously had a Black & Decker drill and it lasted for years. Time for a new one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

very strong

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the two battery's make it great and it hardly bogs down
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

good drill powerful

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the drill has many setting and works great has better power than14.5 drill .the battery last long than the old one yes I would recommend this drill package the second battery comes in handy one charges, wail you in use with the other one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Great product for around the house projects.

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was purchased as a gift for my husband. It was exactly what he needs for projects around our home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Great work horse in the shop!

11/15/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Run a four man woodworking shop with five of these drills. Dropped them too many times to admit to with no damage. Just keep rotating the batteries through the charger all day long and no one runs out of power. Going to get a few more because the batteries alone cost more than $25 each and we have worn a few batteries out because we work them 40 hrs a week, week in and week out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Good for household and small jobs.

10/25/2012
By ,
Dallas, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work as a facility manager at a church, and part of my job is maintenance and repairs. This cordless drill has worked very nicely for my misc projects. The only negative so far is that the keyless chuck slips at times.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

great drill

03/01/2014
By ,
roswell, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this drill to replace a sears drill that i had had a number of years...the sears drills were too expensive, so i thought this drill looked good for the price...boy was i surprised!! this is a great drill, with plenty of power, and it weighs about half of what my other drill did. i recommend this drill highly...and what a great price!! thanks walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Great drill set

12/20/2013
By ,
Coal Township, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill set with a great price for a drill, 2 batteries and a charger. I have another multi-tool B&D set which the 2 batteries will definitely come in handy. It was like buying a drill and getting 2 batteries free. They will work with my drills, circular saw and weed wacker. My initial tools have lasted for years and are still going strong. Great buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

GREAT PRICE

11/22/2013
By ,
Ft Worth Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd drill, all still working, and the battery life is better than other name brands I've had. YOU CAN BARELY REPLACE A BATTERY FOR THE PRICE OF THIS SET.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Battery

04/25/2014
By ,
pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great drill Ive had mine for a year.
But the battery don't last at all.
Mine after a full charge last about 15 min.And I never used it that much
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Low budget drill but cheap on batteries

11/25/2012
By ,
Bellefontaine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have 1 working drill now.These drills do not like to be dropped. Cracked a couple of them but they stilled worked for a couple more years.
It's perfect for the average joe. If you work construction,I wouldn't advise these.
When you pick up combo kits,you'll find out the B&D batteries are 1/2 the price of the other brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north carolina
No tool likes to be dropped
Posted 01/04/2014
If you are prone to dropping your tools, like about half those commenting on this site. Invest in a little kite/heavy string and tie one end to the drill and one end to your ladder or surface area. Make it just short enough so that if dropped the drill will not hit the ground or pavement but long enough to allow you to work comfortably. Now if you do drop the drill it will not hit the ground and even if the string does break, it will break the fall enough that your tool does not crack or break.
It takes a little getting used to but it does work.
A lot like tying your ladder to an immoveable object before you clime to the roof or up two stories and the ladder slips while your up there. It can only slip as far as the rope will allow, but give you plenty of time to descend and re-secure the ladder.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Awesome multipupose drill!

11/07/2013
By ,
Keystone, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally replaced my old plug-in drill and I'm sorry I didn't do it sooner. I used this drill to build an entire tool shed with one battery charge. The torque is more than enough and it was easy to slowly start holes with screws. It outperformed my plug-in drill here at home and my Ryobi at work. I just found a gift that I can get my brothers and nephews. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Works great

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Excellent value

03/31/2014
By ,
Mountain Home, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With 2 li-ion batteries in the kit, it is the equal of some of my higher dollar construction drill. I don't have to wait while the battery charges.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

very easy to use

03/28/2014
By ,
batchtown, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this drill for myself for working on projects, its easy to use and very durable, I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Great cordless drill for various projects.

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this drill to use for a fence I was building around my property.The two 18volt batteries kept the project on track as I used one battery I was charging the other one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Black ans Decker Cordless Drill

03/05/2014
By ,
Gaffney
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Highly recommend!

02/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item is just as described and meets all expectations. I would definitely recommend it to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Cheap Garbage. Avoid

08/01/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok, this is actually somewhat improved from the version I bought at Wal-Mart 3 years ago, back then they were even more pathetically under-powered, nonetheless, this is still a product to avoid. In the first place, Black & Decker makes one of the least compelling cordless drills out there. Its the only major brand that doesn't offer 1 hour charging, it doesn't take 1/2" bits either, and its got below average torque. But wait, it gets worse: what I just described is actually the higher end and more expensive FS18 the typical B&D 18V NiCad drill. The B&D drills Wal-Mart sells are cheaper, slower, much less powerful versions. The FS18 is kind of disappointing at 400-1300RPM and 266 lb" max torque to go along with the 3 hour charge cycle and 3/8" chuck. The current Wal-Mart drill, listed right on this site at 0-750rpm and 115 lb" max torque is about the weakest 18V cordless drill made! Moreover, most people are probably going to simply walk into the store, see decent looking 18V drill from a fairly reputable brand at a very low price, and buy themselves a piece of junk without ever knowing what they gave up to get that low price. This is exactly what I did in 2010. Back then Wal-Mart's 18V B&D put out just 66 lb" of max torque, and between the pathetic lack of power, short battery life, and long recharge cycle, it disappointed me every single time I used it. My advice is to spend $100 and get a Ryobi P205 kit instead, as it will literally do more work than 2 of these (its got nearly 3x the torque and nearly twice the max RPM incidentally aside from industry standard 1hr charging and a 1/2" chuck) If I were really broke I'd get a refurbished Ryobi ($30-$40 if you look around). Heck even the 12 volt Chicago Electric cordless drill is a better product than this. Given what happened to me the last time I bought a B&D from Wal-Mart, I won't look here again for a power tool, but if I HAD to buy a cordless drill from them again, I'd spring for the Stanley Fatmax Cordless Hammer Drill ($79.99 as of this review) at least on paper that one looks like a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Drill

Exxxcellent Drill

06/02/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drill replaced a 10+ year-old B&D drill whose battery would no longer hold a charge.
Replacing just the OLD battery was more expensive than an entirely new drill with 2 - count em- TWO BATTERIES! ... I went down and bought my own Fathers Day gift... Most Dads will know how THAT works... Kind of hard buying the proper tool for someone when you don't know what the PROPER TOOL IS...?
My initial impression of the new drill is very good. It has a very authoritative-tight- throaty sound to the motor, with no looseness or hesitation.
I charged the batteries (two, that's nice!) as per the instructions, then went out to tighten-down some screws holding down warning signs in a parking lot adjacent to my property.
The old drill just went brrr, then stopped. Hence, the purchase of the NEW drill. This new drill (with a properly charged battery) was a monster, delivering a confident throaty brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, all the way down to screw-tight... I also ran-in some self-tapping screws through 1/16" sign-plate, with no problem... GRRRRRRRRRR right down to full seating....
The torque-adjustment-feature is a nice touch, as is the variable speed trigger. The carrying case, however, is a bit "small" so I'm saving and using the larger case from the old drill. Battery life and re-charging cycle-reviews will only come with use, but I'm hoping for the best. $64 bucks site-to-store-in-store, was 5-bucks cheaper than buying it off the shelf. Go figure. I got it the same day.
Walmart's service, price, and selection of goods can't be beat. Say what you will, they are helping American consumers purchase what they need, save money, and that's what it's all about!
My old drill will probably wind-up at a yard sale.... Watch for it!! :) :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wyoming
Still Going Strong!
Posted 10/05/2014
4+ months later, after the initial charge on both batteries, the FIRST battery is still going strong, though beginning to show signs of "battery weakening." Both batt's were fully charged after purchase, then only the first has been used for typical household projects, running screws, drilling holes, etc, you know the routine. No re-charging yet necessary. Very pleased with this drill. Highly recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next