Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mitsubishi Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mitsubishi Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

With picture performance that outpaces today's smaller flat panels, Mitsubishi 3D HDTVs offer a larger than life, intensely vivid 2D and fully immersive 3D viewing experience. In huge screen sizes ranging from 60 inches to 82 inches, Mitsubishi 3D HDTVs deliver incredible picture performance that make them exceptional values and completely define the large screen 3D entertainment category. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Mitsubishi 73" DLP HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%22 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

great tv for the money

02/27/2012
By ,
new oxford ,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tv is great for the size,however I have a 55 inch sony Bravia ,that the picture is so clear,so if your looking for a crisp clear picture viewing ,this is not the tv,but if your looking for a great 3d tv,this one is Awesome for the money,I bought this tv for $1200.00 online and now its back up to $1500,so I did get a great value for my money,my boys love it ,playing video games on it and watching movies,I personally am not happy with dvd movies that i have watched on it,they are not clear and crisp,they are okay,but not vivid like my Sony Bravia,I was thinking about returning it and putting my Sony back up ,but my son likes it and its in our family room,so I'm gonna keep it,You have to remember the bigger the tv ,the less crisp the picture would be,hope this helps:)Also it does not come with 3d glasses,and they are very expensive,$100 a pair,you can get cheaper glasses,but i really think you should get Mitsubishi glasses to go with the tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Not worth the purchase.

09/03/2011
By ,
GreenvilleSC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought a Mitsubishi because it was 3D and for the size. Now, 5 months later, the TV does not work. It is still under warranty but Mitsubishi will not accept my proof of purchase. I bought it on Walmart.com so I only have .com paperwork. I have had many TV's and they lasted until I gave them away. 5 Months? Who can pay for a TV that lasts 5 Months???????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+430points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
MD
Doesn't seem right
Posted 01/08/2012
After reading this review I felt like I had to comment. I have a 5yr old 57inch diamond series Mitsubishi dlp and when I first purchased it they were having problems with a thermal switch I called Mitsubishi up and they asked me to fax a reciept and since I purchased online I faxed the receipt off my e-mail and the one that was taped to the side of the box that it was shiped and they sent a repair man right out to fix it! Then 2 yrs later my bulb burned out and I called them up and explained that I felt the bulb burned out prematurely they agreed and shiped one out for free and it was at my house in 2days there customer service was great. They offered to have someone come out and install it but there was no need the bulb is so simple to replace 2 screws and pull the handle and its out! This was all done with a online receipt! Also bulbs are $50 to $100 at many online stores if you ever need a replacement!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/02/2012
Did you try the bulb because my buddy has the same TV and it stopped working and it was the bulb they cost around one hundred and sixty bucks. Because if you watch a lot of tv or leave it on a lot like he did because he got burned really bad and was stuck on the couch for like 2 months and that's all he did was watch TV so check the bulb I hoped I helped you.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Your Warranty
Posted 12/16/2011
I was looking on the Mitsubishi site as far as who is authorized and unauthorized. It seems strange they will not accept Walmart.com, especially since Walmart is a listed authorized dealer. See their website:
http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/OnlineRetailers.html
Have you spoken to Walmart about this (the store, not online). Since items can be returned through a store location, possible they can supply you with a date of purchase? Or at least back it up in writing with some type of statement?
+1point
Customer Avatar
VA
return
Posted 10/08/2011
maybe you try to go through your credit card company. they can usaually help
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Movie Theatre Quality!!

09/29/2011
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We initially purchased this TV, because we thought it was an exceptional value for the SIZE!! We've only had it for 2 weeks....and honestly...we're not use to it yet!! It's like being in a movie theatre every time we watch this 73 inch beauty!! We're going to buy the Home Theatre Surround Sound speaker package...but the sound on the actual TV, for it's size, is incredible!! The picture quality is unbelievable...we find ourselves looking specifically for only HD stations, since the picture is soooo much better!! We still have to purchase the 3D glasses, and I'm sure we'll be blown out of our chairs when we watch our first 3D movie!! Great product...great value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Oh yeah

09/01/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I also have the 65 inch version also, but this one has more 3D options. it would be good to buy the emitter (its cheap but it works really good). 3D movies look really good on this set. Bonus quality is that you can make regular 2D HD programming into 3D. Simulated 3D but it still looks good. I played Kinect Sports with the 3D mode on and it was WILD. This set is a SUPER bargain, even though I didnt get mine from WalMart. Not many sets out there with the ability to convert from 2D to 3D.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+86points
Review 5 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

New addition to the family

08/14/2011
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv at an excellant price. Besides the unbelievable size of the tv, the picture is great (with HD channels and an HDMI cord). Everyone that has ever seen it loves it also. I have not watched 3D on it, but I love it!!!!!! I would not recommend in a small room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+157points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Troutman NC
73" Mitsubishi
Posted 09/25/2011
I also purchased the 73" Mitsubishi after 9 months the lamp went out had to be replaced, here we are again 1 year later lamp has to be replaced. Has a good picture when it works, but expect to replace the lamp every 9-12 months. I would not purchase this tv again, is not worth what you pay for it. The lamp is over $100.00. The company has poor customer service.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Additional Info
Posted 08/27/2011
Did your TV come with the emitter for the 3d glasses and any glasses?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Love it!

09/08/2011
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
replaced a 10 year old 54" tv for this one. Can't believe we didnt do this sooner. Quality and clarity are amazing. Easy to set up once we read instructions. Would highly recommend. Ordered site to store to save shipping. Arrived earlier than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 7 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

OUTSTANDING TV

09/26/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is unbelievalbe. Very bright and clear. I don't use the 3D so don't know what that is like. There is no audio out jacks. They recommend you use the AV source (cable box) for any audio out needs. If you do that, the audio and the video are not in sync. External speakers are a problem to use. The inputs are primarily HDMI so older dvd players are hard to connect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 8 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Love it

01/02/2012
By ,
Vincennes, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is great. I bought one for my son for Christmas. It was on sale. It has a very narrow frame around it, and the screen is a full 73". The picture is beautiful. We are very pleased with it. The only thing about it is it would be hard to hang on a wall as it is not completely flat in the back. I am thinking of getting another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Great TV for the price

02/28/2012
By ,
Middle Grove, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I have had this TV for almost two months now and I must say I am happy I went with this TV. Although it lacks internet connectivity ( which I already knew ), and the sound out of the TV speakers is decent at best. I do have a Vizio sound bar hooked up and that makes it 100% better. However, I am a little disappointed that I had to go through my cable box for the sound to work, the TV doesn't have normal Audio IN RCA jacks, so I don't get the sound through my gaming system until I figure out how to hook up the sound bar to the TV. I will more than likely have to purchase and additional cable for this. I have not used the 3D portion of this TV yet because it didn't come with any emitter or glasses. Sporting events on this TV is unbelievable. It's almost as though you are sitting on the 50 yard line of the football games, and watching the Daytona 500 on 73" was just remarkable. The DLP tecnology is amazing as you really don't have to concern yourself with refresh rates as you do on an LCD or LED TV. I wish it had more options for set up, but for the price this has been a great addition and I can't wait to get my sound bar working for my XBOX!! Oh, gaming on this TV is amazing as well. I play a lot of Call of Duty and the images are life size, or so it seems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Ok tv depending...

01/13/2012
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this tv for 1 year now. I am satisfied with durability as it has been on almost all year. I have children and a wife who watch it constantly and I am an avid gamer (3d also) The tv performs well in picture quality IF you have your room setup correctly. It does not do well in well lit rooms. It doesn't glare but the picture is too dark to enjoy. Other than the brightness the sound is terrible. I had to go and buy a surround sound system just so I could hear it. It is absolutely enormous and you need a decent sized room for this. I purchased the 3d Starter Pack with this tv so I could enjoy some 3d. The pack cost me 400$ and included 2 pairs of glasses, an emitter, an adapter for your ps3/3d bluray player and an hdmi cable. 3d movies are still around 40$ each and in my opinion are not worth the extra $$$. This tv in 3d mode gets very dark. Alice in Wonderland looked decent on it but gaming is almost out of the question. Gran Turismo 5 looks like you are wearing dark sunglasses and shooters are just annoying in 3d. The newer passive 3d tv's are much better with this aspect. For gaming it is a NO but movies aren't too bad. Some online movie carriers are starting to carry more 3d content and they look decent. The best part about these DLP tv's is when they stop working, it is usually just the bulb and is a fairly cheap replacement whereas LED,LCD,Plasma's are expensive to fix. A bulb for this size tv will run you about 200 bucks and is a 10 minute job to replace. I like my tv but this year I think I will be buying a smaller LCD for gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 11 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

My best gift to me !

10/02/2011
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV is great, the only issue is that Wal-Mart doesnt carry the 3D glasses or a stand that goes with the TV. I had to go to another store (not going to say their name but you get a best buy from them lol)to purchase them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 12 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640
09/06/2011
By ,
Watsonville, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic buy for you money! It's been 4 months since I purchased this tv it's nothing but praises from friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brownwood
Mitsubishi 73" DLD 3D TV
Posted 12/20/2011
Love this tv!!! All of my family comes to my house to watch all the football games. Would definately recommend. Its a great value for you money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640
12/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal! Cheaper, light weight, very user friendly.
Buy one. You can't go wrong!
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 14 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640
03/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very good product, but it doesn't come with a 3D emitter, so you can't watch 3D until you buy it separetly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 15 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

AWESOME

02/12/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered on walmart.com and received TV ahead of schedule. Extremely easy to set up right out of the box. Completely impressed by this TV. The absolute most TV you can get for the money. Great picture, great sound. 26 people over for a Superbowl party and everyone loved it. I would recommend this TV to anyone and everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Very nice television!!!

04/10/2012
By ,
nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the size and picture quality this is a very nice set. Delivery wasn't an issue, they set up a time and date and brought it. The only negatives I can say about the tv are: Needs a few more places to plug things into it, and the speakers could be better. The 3d is exceptional! To bad that is also a separate purchase emmiter and glasses amazon ($200). Then you will need a blu ray player that supports 3d( $185) all the hdmi cables ($150) a large tv stand ($228) as well as upgrading your satellite dish to hd! Plus 3d movies are still around $40 a disc. Summing it up, if you want a nice tv go for it, but if you want the hd and 3d capabilities then expect to spend more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640
01/31/2012
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these but the first one has more foremat options than the second one. This concerns me that I got one old modle without all the screen size options
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

Great TV!

12/13/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had the TV a short time, but we love it and have had no problems with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Awesome TV at any price!
Posted 01/29/2012
We've had this TV now for three years, although we did not purchase it from WalMart. We have had no problems or issues with the TV...the challenge for us was to find a TV stand that was wide enough...but we did (hint - Omnimount 63" video stand on Amazon). The color and clarity are amazing and I agree with another reviewer that the sound is not bad (most large screen TVs do not have good sound), however, we have ours hooked up to surround sound speakers now.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640
02/02/2012
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 73 inch back in august of 2011 from online Walmart. I have HD satellite/reciever the black one and HD cables hooked up to everything. Picture quality and HD channels from dish net looks great. Sound you probably could buy surround sound if you wanted pending how big your living area is. The features on the DLP isnt bad at all easy to function and doesnt stay on the screen very long after messing with it while watching a movie. Also having a blueray for the first time is fn awesome on the tv picture perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
0points
Review 20 for Mitsubishi 73" Class 3D DLP 1080p HDTV, WD-73640

The picture is awsome. The quality is junk.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ozark, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took delivery of the TV on December 8th, 2011.
On April 26th, the tv video quit. Vertical bars only. On 5/1/12 Jim's TV came and got it. After 3 1/2 weeks, we got it back.
On June 15th, the tuner decided to pick and choose which channels it would get. (We have digital cable).
Jim's TV said we have to contact Mitsubishi for special authorization to work on the tv, as it was repaired once, and they won't work on it again without the special authorization, otherwise Mistubishi won't pay them.
After 35 minutes on the phone with CSR at Mitsubishi, my file was "escalated" and I will receive a call next week.
After spending $ 1285 on this TV, I wish I would have bought another Samsung TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next