Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

With 1080p full-HD resolution, a high brightness level and a high contrast ratio, the RCA 40" 1080p HDTV delivers true high-definition picture quality. Multiple types of connection options give you flexibility and the high-gloss piano black finish improves its looks. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation87%93 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

the worst ever i kid you not

11/26/2012
By ,
harlem
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i ordered this for someone it broke within 6 month i thought it had a warrenty appreantly not
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 2 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Excellent HD TV!

12/12/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this TV. It's my first HDTV so I wasn't sure of what to expect beyond a better and clearer picture, which is a monumental upgrade from my old box TV. The owner's manual was easy to read making the set up a breeze. I plugged it in and turned it on. WOW!! The colors are vibrant and clear. When the HD picture fills up the screen it looks, well, HUGE! I had to look at the box again to see if it was truly a 40" or if they had sent me a 42" or maybe a 46" TV by mistake because the picture looked much larger. Nope, it's the 40" TV I ordered. I easily attached my Roku internet streaming device via a HDMI cable to stream movies from the internet and it worked perfectly. I checked out the site reviews before ordering this TV and read the sound quality concerns by customers. I hear NO problems with the sound. The sound is clear with no distortion whatsoever. RCA has been around a long time and continues to make great products. This is a real bargain for the money. In fact, it's a steal for the money. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Good value - but a few shortcomings.

11/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off - dynamic contrast... terrible. There are very few TV's i've seen that get dynamic contrast right, and they all begin with "samsung", and even then, only at the high end. Do yourself the favor and turn it OFF. (this is a separate setting in the video settings, from the scene mode selection)
Set DC to off, and color temp to warm, and the picture quality becomes pretty impressive.
If you have the mans (ie: the tool) - calibrate the set.
Secondly - this new RCA model TV will NOT work with your FIOS remote. until and unless someone updates things - you'll be stuck either buying a good universal, or you'll have to live with 2 remotes to change channels and volume.
Other than that - very nice set, and i would recommend - especially at the sub-400.00 price point i snagged this at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Review 4 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ
09/30/2011
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tv for the price. The picture quality is a lot better than the Sanyo of about the same size. It has plenty of hookups for all the different electronic gizmos.
I only have two complaints: 1. The sound quality is not that great which seems to be a common complaint of almost all flat screens, however, it is still better than our other tv (Sanyo). 2. The simple wall mount bracket that is recommended for this tv doesn't really fit. The vertical part of the bracket that bolts to the tv isn't long enough to attach to all four bolt holes. I made mine work but only with some spare bracket material I had in my workshop.
Overall, if I could do it all over again I would have gotten two of these and ditched the Sanyo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+291points
Review 5 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ
11/09/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the cost. Excellent picture, but rather poor sound as adjusted by factory. It is possible, however, to readjust the audio frequencies by using manual user controls to improve sound quality considerably. Also, unlike other LCD sets, this one has a glossy screen (not matte).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 6 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Rca 40" class television great picture!

12/08/2011
By ,
Chicago Ridge Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was a bit skeptical and honestly did not expect a very good picture since the TV i bought was so cheap but was pleasantly surprised this television has a bright,colorful beautiful picture it actually looks better than my much more expensive Toshiba and sony bravia LCD tv's i own.
i would definitely recommend this TV to anyone looking for more bang for their buck awesome deal and timely shipping i bought site to store and received my tv in only 3 days the sound is not really great on this tv but the included "home theatre system" while not great, makes up for it and sounds pretty decent had a good experience with Walmart this time and will definitely use them again in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Great TV

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This RCA TV is a wonderful product. Great picture and sound, good price.
If you are not in a hurry for your order, it is great to order online and pick up at store when you want to. Much better selection online also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+124points
Review 8 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Incredible Value

11/06/2011
By ,
Sunny Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best picture I've ever seen on any TV at any price and I looked at alot of them before buying this one. Put this on a digital channel and be amazed. Turning this TV on for the first time was like watching color for the first time as a little kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 9 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

With home theater, great value for the money!

11/04/2011
By ,
Washington NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ship to store is very efficient, and the Associate helped me to the car. This is my first large flat screen TV. Picture quality is very good but I don't see all the excitement over HD. I don't like the fact that HD only fills part of the screen. With home theater, I assumed I could hear TV in surround sound, but if I can, I haven't figured it out. Regular sound on the TV is OK but not great. Overall, I feel like it was a great value. Maybe I am "old school" but I still think RCA makes a good product, and to get it at this price is a true plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 10 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Love this TV

10/06/2011
By ,
Wake Forest, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV for my living room, and I'm glad I did. The picture quality is amazing. This TV has full 1080p and looks great no matter where you sit in the room. The sound can be better, but thank goodness my purchase came with the home theater system package. For the price of this TV, it is worth you purchasing it. You will not reqret this purchase. Take advantage of this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 11 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Great pic, price & good sound

09/30/2012
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 1st Flat Screen TV, as our 25 yr. old console finally bit the dust. We like the great quality pic (HD) & the sound is good enough that we don't feel the need to get a sound stick or additional speakers. The online site to store Walmart process was easy, although it took almost 2 weeks to arrive. The price was the best among any other big merchandise electronic stores. Be sure to buy the additional service contract, because now days you cannot get a TV repaired, you just replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

just sayin

09/15/2011
By ,
st. louis,missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound must be kept below mid range or it is poor to average. Will invest into sound bar or speakers to improve quality of sound.
TV clock is military time and always wrong! gave up on changing time everyday. I did try auto clock yet this did not help.
Great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
looking for specs. to this tv Hz, etc. go here
Posted 11/21/2011
http://tv.rca.com/product/spec.asp?modelnum=40LA45RQ
This is the manufacturers specs. for this model number
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ
07/04/2012
By ,
Campbellsville Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nothing about this tv was good, bad picture with blurred color, had to turn volume as high as it would go just to hear it. The only thing I liked about it was that it had a swivel base. I returned it and purchased a Phillips LED which works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 14 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ
09/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this tv. It was exactly what I wanted. This picture is great, clear, and color is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Review 15 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

bought for the name

07/11/2012
By ,
whitman, Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this because it is a name brand and a fair price. I did read a lot of reviews. We decided just to go for the home theater system as many reviews on all brands complained about the sound quality and the system provides us with enough speakers to do living room and kitchen. We have a small flat screen in the kitchen. We are thus far very pleased with both. I do find the picture on HD very clear for the most part but occasionally grainy and it may just be the nature of flat screen tvs of this size. We went for the 40" as I didn't want it to overwhelm the room. It is just right . So glad to get rid of the huge tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Great Picture, great sound!

06/03/2012
By ,
Hudson, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase. We've been using the TV every day for about a month and are very pleased. It was easy to set up, the picture is fantastic and the sound quality is excellent. We replaced a 32" screen with this 40" and what a difference it makes. So far, we have had no issues and we like everything about this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

awesome tv

11/23/2011
By ,
Farmington, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture and sound on this tv are out of this world. The price and quality are also great can't say enough on this tv. Other reviews said the picture and sound weren't so great have no idea what they are talking about because it is great on both.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Some settings are tricky to master color, tint,etc

10/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once you get the settings to your likeing, the picture quality is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 19 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ

Site to Store is cool.

10/05/2011
By ,
Middleton, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for duplex size livingroom. If you have a good ear for music and want bass, count on buying a sound bar. I was lucky to get a good sound bar at Best Buy for $100 and now it is complete. Having HDTV stations is a must, otherwise everything and everyone looks weird.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 20 for RCA 40" Class LCD 1080p Widescreen HDTV, 40LA45RQ
12/14/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an excellent TV, but has a white line across the top and bottom of the screen that we cannot eliminate. No issues with the sound that some of the other reviews mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next